DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info











Back
Four-Color to Fantasy (Revised) $9.95 $4.98
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 5
0 7
2 0
0 0
0 0
Four-Color to Fantasy (Revised)
Click to view
Four-Color to Fantasy (Revised)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/15/2010 12:54:03

Four Color to Fantasy was one of the first superheroic games to come out during the d20 boom and it showed a bit in its earlier edition. This, the Revised Edition, cleans up the system and presentation quite a bit, while expanding it further.

Essentially, 4C2F is a bolt-on system to D&D Third Edition. It can be used as a standalone or in conjunction with the 3E class rules. The core engine that 4C2F introduces is the "hero" class, which gives the character points which can be spent on superpowers, similar to many other point-buy superhero systems. Thus, if you want to introduce superheroics into your fantasy system, you might have a Fighter 3/Hero 6, to reflect, say, an experienced soldier who was given an alien power ring after rescuing a crashed pilot.

Fantasy in the D&D mold and superheroics have a lot in common - the heroes may or may not be paragons, but they are a cut above the common folks, and they take it on themselves to protect the innocent. Often they have magical powers and loads of cash. And the setup for most adventures is similar: here is a problem, it threatens people who can't protect themselves, and there's an opportunity for you to do good.

The "hero" class can also stand on its own, allowing a more modern-day presentation, with some substitution of skills.

Impressively, this purchase contains two versions of the material: first, a landscape format with graphics and bookmarks, intended to be used on-screen for those that use laptops at the table. The second is a more printer-friendly, bare-bones format without graphics, bookmarks or color. Rather than try to adapt a single file to two purposes, EN Publishing has really embraced the idea of customization for different methods of use at the table.

4C2F is a classic, with all the good and bad that entails. At ten dollars, you really owe it to yourself to see how d20 superheroics got its first nod, and the versatility of the purchase at the table is a major plus. I'm giving this one my highest rating because it has stood the test of time and I still reach for it when I'm thinking of superheroic fantasy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Four-Color to Fantasy (Revised)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Justin S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2009 18:59:51

Excellent book overall.

Few things were missed in the revision, which is good. I had hoped the Damage Reduction rules in 4CtF would be updated to 3.5, but that's about all I have to say I'd change.

Like I said, excellent book overall in my opinion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Four-Color to Fantasy (Revised)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Darwin B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/30/2004 00:00:00

I enjoyed this book, it's a welcome update to the orginal.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Four-Color to Fantasy (Revised)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Brian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/31/2004 00:00:00

I was very impressed with Four Color to Fantasy's Modern Revised, especially the interior art work. I've seen the art work before in Power Corrupted and Power Corrupts. I'm looking forward to using this product in my superhero campaign and I hope it goes well with D20 Modern.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Four-Color to Fantasy (Revised)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2004 00:00:00

Very cool! I didn't really like the Hero class presented in the book but the super powers are really well done and blend in well with the d20 system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Four-Color to Fantasy (Revised)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Patrick G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2004 00:00:00

Not too much different from the original product.

I was disapointed in having to pay full price for this product when I paid full price for the original one as well.

It's a very plug & play type of supplement that allows you to use as little or as much as you want. I realy like that about this series.

All & all this is a well put together product. The only short comming is for those who have gotten the 1st edition, this realy was not worth the full price tag. But if you have not gotten the original, now's the time to pick this up!!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Four-Color to Fantasy (Revised)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Greg I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2004 00:00:00

I purchased this product a while ago, and I've been itchin' to put it to good use ever since. I'm finally statrting a campaign which will use this great suppliment.

It integrates with the core Modern rules well. If you want to add a superhero element to your game, whether it's just a touch, or a full fledged affair, this will do the trick. You could even use it as an alternative form of spellcasting. I'm using it to create a character with psionics without the whole points issue.

The PDF format is well organized and easy to read. A print friendly version is also included.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Four-Color to Fantasy (Revised)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2004 00:00:00

While its certainly not as ground breaking as M&M, using d20 to create supers, it is still a very good and solid game. Kudos for the print version, I wish more publishers on here would do versions optimized for print. The only real problem I had with the print version (which is what I use) was the lack of a table of contents and/or index. I think that the book could be greatly improved by the addition of both of those things.

I was a bit dismayed that I have to buy Elements of Magic if I wanted to use a Mage character. I would have prefered guidelines on using the Modern or Fantasy d20 rules for a Mage character instead of having to get another book.

But, still, a very good work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Four-Color to Fantasy (Revised)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by John B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2004 00:00:00

One of the best buys I've ever gotten in PDF. Now if someone will just convince them to PRINT the dang book, I'll be happy...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Four-Color to Fantasy (Revised)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Joshua T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2004 00:00:00

I was initially disappointed to hear that they were not going to be reissuing this product for free to people who bought the first one.

However, considering that a) they released the conversion information to D20 Modern as a freebie, b) they more than doubled the length of the product, and c) they sent a coupon to the original purchasers,

I got over it.

And I'm glad I did. This is a great product, which allows the addition of a little bit of super-power, all the way through a lot of super-power, to your campaign. While I think that Mutants and Mastermind presents a better mechanic and game for the playing of straight-up all-supers game, this is great for those games that walk the line between a modern game and a supers game. And my supers games always wind up resembling "Die Hard" with a bigger CG budget, so that's a good thing!

Good work!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Four-Color to Fantasy (Revised)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Andy A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2004 00:00:00

It has a few revisions to the first one. The modern adaptation to the rules is very good, and this is an excellent read that I would strongly recommend to anyone who wants to run a supers game. My only gripe about it is that they advertised a discount to anyone who bought the first FCtF, and I payed full price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Four-Color to Fantasy (Revised)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2003 00:00:00

Fantastic. This is an excellent product and I recommend it to any d20 player. It offers an incredibly flexible system to create not only superheroic games but to add that little something extra to your fantasy game. Currently my d20 players are using the hero class to turn their fantasy characters into a half dragon and a fay. Go ahead and buy it, the only limit on this one is you imagination.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates