DriveThruRPG.com
Browse









Back
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
 
$5.50 $4.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 4
2 4
1 1
0 0
0 0
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Click to view
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Sean B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2017 00:35:46

Fantastic module. Ran my guys through it and they loved every minute of it. Of the N-series this has to be my favourite.

Definitely recommended for players who want a little more 'role' in their 'playing.'

Good build up and mystery that leads to the inevitable Dungeon Crawl.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Preston H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/22/2017 16:48:47

If it concerns you, I do spoil some of the endgame information of the module, so be warned.

I think this really is one of the best starting adventures for D&D. You get a town, a mystery, some wilderness exploration, and some not-too-big dungeon crawls. This being an older adventure for 1e, it will require some not insignificant fixes and tweaks. You'll need to figure out stats for NPCs like Father Abramo, Misha Devi, the evil monks, and others, and you'll need to make some serious tweaks to either the 1e spirit naga or the 5e spirit naga to make the final fight both fair and challenging. Fortunately, conversions do exist online that you can use to aid this process.

Additionally, the module probably will have more magic items than your players will know what to do with if you leave it unchanged. While I don't think you should excise them all, as I think even low level player characters should have a handful of interesting magic items in order to evoke excitement and awe at the world's magic, I would advise that one exercise a smidgen caution about how many items they leave in.

Finally, I remain wary of any module that recommends that a high level NPC tag along with the party, as Against the Cult of the Reptil God does with Ramne. However, when I ran the module I was able to simply leave Ramne out (well, the party found him dead, killed by the cult), and they were still able to successfully maneuver the lair of the reptile god. The module even has recommendations on what tweaks to make if the party goes without Ramne.

Overall, Against the Cult of the Reptile God is a great starting adventure, and I'd recommend it to any DM interested in taking the time to work with the module to make it function for 5e (unless you're running a game of AD&D, in which case you're good to go and more power to you). Make the module yours, and you and your party will have a good chance of having a great adventure with a little intrigue, a good heart, and plenty of adventure and danger!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by James F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2017 05:58:51

Really enjoyed this old classic. So much so I wrote a conversion guide for 5e - so (utterly shameless plug) - here it is http://www.dmsguild.com/product/210806/Classic-Modules-Today-N1-Against-the-Cult-of-the-Reptile-God-5e



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Keith D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2015 16:24:22

The scan was very good. No problem with the transaction. The module itself was very well written and fun. I went through it with my group in about 3 or 4 gaming sessions. This was a much better way of getting old AD&D modules compared to finding old tattered ones on ebay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Martin K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2014 14:08:29

One of the best modules for AD&D. It's not just a location with a flimsy justification for the players to explore at their leasure, but actually provides a solid background for why the PCs went there in the first place and what they want to accomplish, as well as providing an explaination why there inhabitants live in the place as they do.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Petri W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2013 04:35:24

One of the best, if not the best introductory classic D&D adventure. Great mix of investigation, action, and sneaking around. While the module title does spoil the identity of the major bad guys, it's not a huge reveal (and of course the GM is free to tell the players what they are playing only after in becomes clear what they're fighting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/30/2008 00:37:08

Something's kinda strange about the people of Orlane village! Great classic adventure module for 1st edition AD&D. Decent scan.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bastian F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/08/2006 00:00:00

I really klike this adventure. I think it as a great starting point for a group new to the game. We had lots of fun with it. But I dislike the quality of the product. Its pretty badly scanned with bad contrast and 5$ semms to much for it. A betteer quality would make this a must-have, but as it is, I would consider searching for a original copy.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: scan quality<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Disappointing<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Matthew U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2004 00:00:00

For beginners. I didn't care for it (it uses mostly troglodytes and a naga) but many people like it as a starting adventure!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates