DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Action! System Core Rules (Full Version) $4.95 $0.99
Average Rating:3.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 5
4 3
2 1
4 0
0 0
Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
Click to view
Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
Publisher: Gold Rush Games
by Gerhard B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2012 14:14:29
I got these rules years and years ago it seems and they've always been a favorite with me. The mechanics are very simple and easy to use. There's also a quick-start rules set for jumping right in that uses only three attributes (I think) and seems very fast. I've always wanted to make a sci-fi game using these rules under the OGL. There are some supplement ebooks out there for this I think but I haven't really looked into it. The quality of this full version rule book is very good, it's got some nice b&w illustrations and is definitely worth the the small price. What I like about this system is the simple 3d6+attribute+skill against a set difficulty number. The attributes and skills range on a scale of 1 to 10. All in all I'm very satisfied with it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
Publisher: Gold Rush Games
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2012 16:56:43
It was a shame to see this system and this company go belly-up. Action! (Mustn't forget the exclamation point!) was to the Hero Games rules (nee Champions rules) as Champions was to Superhero: 2044. That is to say, a huge leap forward, and quicker to deal with.

Very adaptable, very useful, and - during its time - very well supported. Thank goodness that its supplements and adventures are still carried here as PDFs.

There's even a free PDF which includes almost every rule. But download the Full Version, throw a couple of bucks. The interactive links alone are worth it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
Publisher: Gold Rush Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2010 13:35:57
I have been a big fan of GRG enjoying both Sengoku and San Angelo immensely, so I may be a bit biased. The system is easy and quick to learn, especially those coming from the HERO/Fuzion end of the spectrum.

This is simply a solid system that I do not think get enough breathing room in the crowded realm of game systems. I have used this system for pre-WWII pulp and Western - both did very well. I would not want to use this system with high fantasy or superheroes as there are other systems better suited. For normal to heroic is where this system shines.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
Publisher: Gold Rush Games
by Jerry L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2007 00:00:00
Nice product for the price but not a lot of extras.


LIKED: Uses six-sided dice, "familiar" feel, low cost.

DISLIKED: Uses Metric System instead of standard measurement (feet, inches, etc.), no magic system, no Bestiary. But I think the latter two are on the back burner (SPACR should have magic, and there was mention on a post somewhere about the idea of a monster book of some sort) so they might appear EVENTUALLY.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
Publisher: Gold Rush Games
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2006 00:00:00
A great system to work with. The games that can be played with this system or quite, quite good. Well worth the time and effort to learn. worth every red cent of the purchase price to buy.


LIKED: All

DISLIKED: None.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
Publisher: Gold Rush Games
by Colin M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2004 00:00:00
I downloaded this expecting to be greatly dissatisfied - core rules systems don't usually impress me, but at fifty cents I figured there was no harm.

Wow! Action! is easy to understand, yet reasonably comprehensive. Also, unlike some other companies who are releasing their core rules here at reduced prices, GRG claims to be offering license to use their system for free, a boon to beginning authors.

Action uses a straight forward 3d6+Attribute+Skill roll vs a set DC, and shows some signs of GRG's former association with Fuzion (which in turn had a brief alliance with Hero Games.) You get a set number of points for attributes, and a separate pool for skills, advantages, disadvantages, and in high-powered campaigns: powers.

It's combat system is very well done, though in settings where armor may not be appropriate (modern, or Trek-kish, or similar) it can be brutal.

By itself, Action! may not be enough to run on for GMs used to a small library of information at their disposal. It's a core system, much like GURPS or Champions/Hero, and therefore the GM has to add any detail. (Though it does come with complete and reasonable skill lists for a fantasy, modern and sci-fi campaign.)

I think it's well worth the money!


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
Publisher: Gold Rush Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2003 00:00:00
Okay I'll admitt that I only picked this up when it was being offered for a penny. I'm glad I did. Its a nice alternative to the slew of d20 material and is open to boot so you can do what you want with the system.

I hope more publishers take advantage of Action! If it can manage to hang around, I think it can fill a niche as a very viable alternative.




Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
Publisher: Gold Rush Games
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2003 00:00:00
A great product. I love the Action! System and I eagerly await new product to come out for it. I reccomend it to anyone for the flexibility of the system and the amount of support that you can find for it, both in print and in the online community. Also, the people at Gold Rush Games (Mark) are very nice to deal with and take the time to answer the questions of fans.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Action! System Core Rules (Full Version)
Publisher: Gold Rush Games
by Stacy F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2003 00:00:00
Very cool. I particularly like the completely consistent and therefore easy to use and expand Advantage/Disadvantage system. Overall it looks fast-playing and fun.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates