DriveThruRPG.com
Browse









Back
Masters of Umdaar • A World of Adventure for Fate Core Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
16 6
7 1
1 1
0 0
0 0
Masters of Umdaar • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to view
Masters of Umdaar • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2016 08:57:52

The World of Adventure series is a great Pay What You Want series of various worlds to adventure in and to inspire other games. Master of Umdaar is one of my favorite, reminiscient of the fantasy / future cartoons of the 80s. This is certainly one of the best worlds created though I recommend all of them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of Umdaar • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Paul O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2015 17:53:24

Packed with great material and an interesting Cliffhanger mechanic for FAE, Masters of Umdaar offers a great chance to revive the pulpy sci-fantasy world of 80s Saturday morning cartoons. Though it's very slim, it includes a solid starter adventure which can be run or picked apart for ideas and examples. I've been inspired by this Fate World, I hope you will be too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of Umdaar • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Peter D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2015 10:59:03

Loving this fun evocation of adventure story tropes, from Edgar Rice Burroughs through Thundercats & Avatar to Dark Crystal resonances in the setting. The character creation pushes towards the nicely odd, looking forward to hitting up my players with some cliffhangers from the new system. Thoroughly recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of Umdaar • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Jon F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2015 16:05:12

A great little package, Masters of Umdaar is certainly my prompt to try out Fate (accelerated Edition) for the first time without delay. Much inspiration for anyone who wants to play games based on pulpy planetary fantasy of the John Carter, Flash Gordon, He-Man and Thundercats variety. A small book cannot contain everything you might like, but despite this being only 50 pages long it is bursting with ideas, random tables, strange magi-tec and rules for hero beast-people, people-beasts and creatures of all sorts, AND a complete introductory adventure that could easily form part one of an epic series. Dave Joria has done good work here creating an exciting and enticing setting, designed to work as a pick-up or one shot game, but quite worthy of prolonged play. As a final endorsement, what is NOT to like about a game that has the self-professed motto and philosophy; "When in doubt, dinosaur" ?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of Umdaar • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2015 20:18:51

Full Disclosure: I got this as a "pay as much as you want" and spent $1USD. Secondly, I don't know the system all that well, I own the Fate Accelerated booklet, and my personal experience was a disastrous Dresden Files demo (due to two players backseat DM'ing, and the system being harder than advertised) and will be reviewing this as a stand alone product.

First off, I am a little disappointed because I was under the impression that this book would have a full setting in it. Instead we get seeds and suggestions, maybe a hint or two of a real setting. That being said, however, what it does have is a series of very useful character creation tables, and ideas for a Do-It-Yourself world based on various 80's and 90's power science-fantasy cartoons and movies. What you get is really well done, but I personally want more. Perhaps more Masters detailed, what the world is like, some kingdoms both good and evil and maybe more super-tech/magic, it doesn't matter what, just more than what this booklet offered.

Still, you're allowed to spend as much as you want for it, which means you decide how much value it has. Personally, I found it worth the U.S. Dollar I spent.

I wouldn't complain if this turns out to be a primer for a fully fleshed out setting down the line, however. That would definitely get more of my money.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of Umdaar • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Jake L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2015 12:33:53

I love Masters of Umdaar. I'm a Patreon subscriber to Evil Hat's various new Fate settings, and this is the one I love the most right "out of the box," so to speak. The random character generation is compelling, and this scratches my Masters of the Universe / Kamandi / John Carter of Mars itch. Good stuff!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of Umdaar • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Scott A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2015 20:33:06

A wonderful homage to 80's adventure cartoons like Thundar, He-Man, and Thundercats. Just perfect.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of Umdaar • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2015 18:15:40

I do like it. The set up uses the TV shows of the 70's and 80's adventure shows. Although the pictures show a lot of humans and the rules seem to imply they are rare.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
A lot of humanoids are depicted, tho I\'m not sure they\'re pure human when it gets right down to the biological(/mechanical/etc) brass tacks. :)
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates