DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition $0.00
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
32 11
1 2
0 1
0 1
0 1
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Click to view
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2017 13:06:31

Huge, crowd sourced compendium. It's great. So much art, so much creativity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by William L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2016 21:13:42

This book was an excellent resource for my campaign. I even re-directed much of it to fit the tone of this great book.

The layout is excellent and the price of FREE makes it an incredible bargain.

This is an excellent read even if you don't use it directly. I translated it to 5E — which isn't hard.

I heartily recommend this book.

-bl



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Neil P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2016 22:14:39

Actuall old school is not my thing to play, but I still enjoy a good read. And this is one. Full of imagination, thrills, and a few good laughs as well (gives ol' Disney a what for). I don't expect much for free, but this is the quality of a major for sale product. The production is darn good as well. If you are running an old school game get this fer sure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Bob P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2016 19:38:31

This is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would have happily paid $30-40 for this free product. I have been waiting for this for YEARS!! and it was worth the wait!!!!!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2016 14:04:41

Incredibly comprehensive. It has more petty gods thanyouwill everuse. A must have!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Torsten O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2016 19:20:34

This has everything I had been hoping to add to the game I'm running. Gorguos art and layouts. The writing has been consistantly clever and evocative. I'm a fan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by patrick m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2016 20:57:11

A fun way to look at some interesting lesser gods. With the AD&D feel it filled with me with nistoligia



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2015 12:16:26

Highly creative and humorous in a snarky way, but ultimately unusable for what I was planning. The gods I wanted to portray in my campaign would be ones from Earth history, including as many of the "petty," or household gods we still know about. I didn't get past the "B" gods before I lost interest, since I felt like I was reading a compendium of someone's demonstration that they have far too much time on their hands. Maybe somebody who is trying to make a campaign filled with dark humor could find this list useful.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Corey W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2015 20:23:19

I thought it was going to be more planned out and useful. It uses the words "petty gods" in the wrong way. When used in the past, it referred to gods warring over petty rivalries at the expense of men. Thus, I thought I would find a lot of good antagonists and bosses, but found little in that regard. It's a book of humor to entertain yourself on a monday night, not a useful role-playing supplement.

The book includes the mostly useless demi-gods, servitors, cults, magic items, scrolls and spells.

There are things there of use, but several themes are repeated and many of those "petty" (or rather, "pitiful") gods and other individuals and items would be best served as a simple list of gods and other stuff with unstatted single paragraph descriptions, like a glossary. I'd be far more interested in one or more mythologies demonstrating the petty rivalries of lesser gods, common or previous unheard of, that earn them the name, rather than a loose assortment of demigods most of whom are absolutely meaningless to game play. I was hoping for some bosses, but barely 1 in 10 are worth any use. The listed magic items should be related to the gods shown, but most are just simple useless magic items that don't really belong in a book about gods.

As the Preface indicated, they were rather enamored with the name, just as I was, (It's a great name,) but had absolutely no plan in its execution. (A great name is meaningless if you are not inspired to a great plan.) Like the box, Reflecting on Unknown Gods, indicates, its not very exciting.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by David T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2015 22:02:10

Pros:

  • Tons of awesome content
  • Very Helpful
  • Free
  • Even Better than D&DG

Cons:

  • Not Applicable

A real Must-Download. Get it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Zero C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/19/2015 22:30:33

This is a really big book of weird godlings. It is rich with ideas and contains a good dose of humour, too. It is OSR-based; I would like to see stats for related game systems.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Matt D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2015 07:25:18

Wow, really blown away by the sheer size of this. Lots of stuff you can pull into your old school style game right away and the best part is it's FREE.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Legion M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2015 21:03:46

This is one of the most impressive outpourings of creativity I've seen in a long while. If you don't appreciate the likes of Neub, Azwa, the Patchwork God, Ochlos Volgus, Quachil Uttaus and Saint Biritus (I'm going to stop there) you must be a follower of Sovereign Bastard.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by n8 m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2015 20:47:01

Some cynical minds may review this and only see a few 'joke' gods, and decide that is all it is, but anybody who has run or played in a ground-up old-school D&D game has probably had more than a few puns and personal amusements sprinkled into the games myth and lore, so such a complaint is hardly worthy of consideration. Furthermore, although some of the deities listed within this volume are certainly campy or tongue-in-cheek, many are surprisingly serious and even significant.

The core function of this volume is not to act as a stand-alone pantheon of deities for your campaign (although one could be produced from it's many entries), but to give you the tools needed to fill in the gaps and give you an immediate answer to what quirky cult is dominating this strange little village in the swamp, or who the mysterious guests at the inn are supplicants of.

Dismissing a volume of this size with numerous entries and beautiful illustrations as farcical demonstrates that the volume was not thoroughly read or comprehended, and more so, failing to appreciate how a supplement like this can enrich a game where nothing in it is used verbatim.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Petty Gods: Revised & Expanded Edition
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Thorin T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2015 19:38:46

F*ckin' amazing! 400 pages of pure imagination fuel! The minute I dove into reading a lot of the entries I was immediately trying to figure out how to put some of them into my current campaign. Feels like I'm back in middle school, picking up the Deities and Demigods book for the first time again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates