DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Vintage Art Collection: Page Decoration
Publisher: Unza RPG
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2015 15:23:51

A collection of decorative public domain elements.

It contains whats promised. However the quality is very bad for some of those elements - low resolution and noise. And some of those elements are also very specific and need a lot of work if you want to adapt it in your publications. A big number of all elements are capital letters which is nice if your specifically looking for this. But your not getting a whole alphabet of those capital letters, so your not getting something if you want a cohesive style in your documents. Other elements however are very nice and can be used without a lot of preprocessing.

The special offer price (50c) is whats this collection is worth and therefore 4 stars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vintage Art Collection: Page Decoration
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vintage Art Collection: Animals
Publisher: Unza RPG
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2015 15:11:19

A very fine collection of beautiful public domain pictures.

It saves you a lot of hassle to find some nice animal pics. However given the quality not all pics are suitable - some are quite small, some are only fitting for a very narrow window of quality of publications and a lot of them are highly situational and hard to transfer into your own work. I expect to be able to use maybe a dozen of those pictures, but then again this is already a good number. Also the price is okay for whats delivered.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vintage Art Collection: Animals
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Inkwell Stock Art: Skeletons (4)
Publisher: Inkwell Ideas
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2015 09:55:14

Nice set of stock art. The skeletons do look a bit unnatural and could use some refinements but are okay. However if you look closely you can clearly see that this set is just ONE skeleton in ONE pose with different equipment sets.

All in all not a bad set but considering that it is just one pic with different cloth layers the price seems a bit high.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Inkwell Stock Art: Skeletons (4)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the feedback Christian. I know your comment is a couple months old, but for a while I just wanted the product to stand on its own and not give a knee-jerk response. However, we get so few reviews that I felt I should point out the below: Let me share with you our pricing strategy: basically, our stock art has a list price of $9.95, with a dollar extra per version when we do alternate versions of the creature. In this case we\'re doing 3 extras, so the list price is $12.95. I hope that the preview shows that it is the same skeleton/pose with varying clothing/weapons. We\'re not trying to hide that. We think $9.95 is fair for a generous stock art license of some very good art and the alternates add a bit more versatility/value. So my main point is we\'re not asking for 4x the price because there are 4 skeletons. We\'re not even asking for 2x the price.
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2015 05:54:20

T&T is an easy fast to play P&P. And this is the condensed version of the complete rule set. The Rules are simple and kept very clean. In T&T character creation takes 5 Minutes. You only need a minimal set of paper to document your character. Fights are fast paced and simple. It's intended to be used in Solo-Adventures and Group-Play.

However in my perception the design of the rule set puts T&T clearly in the Hack&Slay corner. Of course it is possible to make deep roleplaying with each ruleset but T&T does not support or encourage such play. For a Solo-Adventure this is no problem - since solo-adventures are told differently - but for a group T&T might not be enough to keep them in the game with this rules for a long time, like a complex campaign.

This condensed ruleset comes with a free small Solo-Adventure. However all illustrations are missing from the PDF. But it's free, so who is complaining? :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vault of Wonders: Gnomeslayer
Publisher: Zaboom! Press
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2015 12:23:04

Nice Idea. Well executed. Enough of background infos and gameplay infos. Layout is plain. And it's free so no way to complain.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vault of Wonders: Gnomeslayer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kanthor's Den
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2015 05:45:22

This adventure is a very classical old-school 'on the road' adventure. Nothing troublesome, but plain fun, fighting and being heroes. It is short and could be played within a few hours. It fits within most settings and works fine. Just don't think too much about some of the occurences...

Formating is fine. Illustrations are old-style and nice. Writting is someties sloppy and full of errors (and that comming from a non-mother-tongue-reader).

Nevertheless it is a "Pay what you want" product, so you probably are not paying too much and get what you payed for.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Kanthor's Den
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review!
DN-01: Mirror, Mirror on the Wall
Publisher: Drunken Nerdery
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2014 15:45:34

It is a short quit uninspired adventure for a group of 4 players.

The core idea of this adventure is that player characters fight their evil twins. There is a meak story around that but it is mostly battle driven. The characters are strongly challenged in every encounter and have next to no room to regenerate.

The layout is solid, not nice but everything is readable and where you expect it to be. Graphics are very poorly done. At the end is a very nice one-page overview of the adventure, which might be a very good help if you want to run it.

Besides all that negativity: It is a free to play adventure, that might give a decent group a challenge for one game session. So enjoy it if your into intense fighting.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DN-01: Mirror, Mirror on the Wall
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the feedback! I would only reiterate that this adventure was based on my entry to the one-page dungeon contest so the focus was on combat and the mechanics of the rooms - the story was sort of an afterthought and the battle maps are pretty bare bones for similar reasons. However, I promise that my other adventures/maps are of MUCH higher quality and more well rounded with respect to combat vs. role-playing.
The Pirate GM's Taste of the Treasures
Publisher: Black Shark Enterprises
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2014 15:51:21

It is only 4 pages of tables with ideas and information you might already have when your planning an nautical/piratical adventure. It only gives the very basic ideas and then falls very short on delivering any more. You cant really use this. Also it is kind of based on the real world, so many names (like: The Dutchmen) and locations are worthless if you want to aplly those into a fantasy background.

Not really necessary in my point of view. However their other nautical products might be more suitable to create thrilling adventures at sea - containing also encounters and more information about ship classes.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Pirate GM's Taste of the Treasures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your feedback, Christian. I\'m sorry that this product did not meet your needs. I hope that you might find other products in our growing line more appropriate to your wants and desires.
Lost City of the Dwarves Part 1:Discovery
Publisher: Pen & Forge Productions
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2014 15:46:00

Very extensive Adventure. A lot of Events, Enemies, Equipment, Riddles and all of that hold together with a nice story-line and several story-fixpoints. It is defenitely worth the money if you like the old fashioned "Choose your own adventure" books.

The authors try their best in creating a strong adventure, that will keep you occupied for several hours. They fill it with lots of sneaking, fighting and well written story parts. However it felt at some points very repetitive (... go down that way, fight enemies, go to the next, fight enemies, ...) And this repetitiveness really made me skip some encounters and tore down my motivation to keep playing this adventure (hence it took me months to finish)

The games system is a unique simplification of what could be considered classic DnD. This siplification makes the game very fast and easy to start. Only problem i faced later on was a classic DnD situation: You gain so many special materials, items and stuff, that it becomes increasingly complicated to keep track of all your modifiers and options. This counteracted the original intention of the gamesystem: to keep everything so simple, that you can compute everything in your head.

The layout is decent. The interior is kept in back and white. The illustrations are all well drawn - not to many but the right amount to support you reading the adventure.

Overall: Still pretty good!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lost City of the Dwarves Part 1:Discovery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pits & Perils Wilderness Worksheets
Publisher: Olde House Rules
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2014 05:01:26

Seems quit pratical to quickly draw out an encounter map. It is nothing special, but if you keep some of them ready it could help you in managing quick encounters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pits & Perils Wilderness Worksheets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

"Bad Elves" (Additions to the Legion of the Lithe)
Publisher: Cranebump
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2014 04:52:25

A short and free supplement for any fantasy-system using Elves.

It contains a short discussion about elves and two sub-races of elves described on a very rough level. Both subraces are no bad ideas by themself, but neither is really original (I remember Grey-Elves and Wood-Elves from quit old DnD Sourcebooks, which are quit similar to the new subrace) This supplement might be really useful if it gave more information to work with when you want to create a charaktere deeply emerged into the game world, but it fails at that. The focus is more on appearance and equipment used than a solid background.

Another drawback is the title: Bad Elves. It hints on some evil, sinister way to play elves but does not deliver.

Layout, writting and graphics are of good quality.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
"Bad Elves" (Additions to the Legion of the Lithe)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Serpent Amphora — Free Adventure in the Scarred Lands
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2014 15:00:56

Compact elegant adventure.

It is written quite compressed and a lot of details are missing. Nevertheless it is enough to keep a party occupied for several sessions.

The adventure starts with a big celebration in which the characters can participate in all kind of games. The suddenly it turns dangerous, when enemies appear searching for an artifact. An evil cleric. A long journey over dangerous planes. A powerful hag with many minions.

I haven't had the chance yet to play it, but i will keep it around. It seems like a lot of fast fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Serpent Amphora — Free Adventure in the Scarred Lands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pumpkin Golem
Publisher: AAW Games
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2014 07:09:42

Another Golem Variation. Whats special about this golem is, that it also counts as a plant being. Sure there might be more fitting plant types than pumpkins for a plant type golem, however this specific golem seems to work and might be suitable for special occasions (such as Halloween gaming sessions).

Layout is nice. Drawing is awesome. Monster is well explained and ready to use in your adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pumpkin Golem
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lost City of the Dwarves: Finale
Publisher: Pen & Forge Productions
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2014 14:59:28

The finale of the short free adventure is quit dramatic. However a huge part of this chapter is fighting. You get up in powerful armor - up to the point here it becomes practically impossible to hit you - and then an endless army is released.

Not as much fun as the previous adventures but still 1,5 hours to enjoy. I like the exploring, riddle solving and occasional fighting more then the brute mass combat, but hey it is free and their main book promises to be all of that.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Lost City of the Dwarves: Finale
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lost City of the Dwarves: Multi-Player Rules
Publisher: Pen & Forge Productions
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2014 03:49:12

The idea of the whole choose your own adventure genre is, that you can take a nice relaxing adventure, when no one is around. Just drink some tea, roll some dice and enjoy. If your looking for party based action you should look for another game.

Nevertheless the guys from pen & forge offer the option to play their Lost City Dwarves as a party, where one character has to take the leading role of the books protagonist and all other players are his loyal helpers. This rule supplement explains how to make this possible without changing the source to much. And it seems valid - i expect it to be working. But i imagine it to be a slower game with very weak roleplaying and all together quit shallow. There is just too much good stuff out there for fun group play that this can not compare to.

While i appreaciate the offer of playing the awesome adventure with a party, i refrain from doing so.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Lost City of the Dwarves: Multi-Player Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates