DriveThruRPG.com
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Tianxia: Blood, Silk & Jade $14.99
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
10 7
2 1
0 0
0 0
0 0
Tianxia: Blood, Silk & Jade
Click to view
Tianxia: Blood, Silk & Jade
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Clint F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2015 10:22:27

I was part of the kickstarter for Tianxia, Blood Silk and Jade, being a big fan of Vigilance Press and Jack Norris from their Mutants and Masterminds products. I was a backer at the digital level, but kind of wish I'd gone for the printed edition now that I've played it.

When I did this, I didn't know anything about FATE, other than it was used in Dresden Files, Spirit of the Century and the old Fudge stuff. I knew it was story focused but that was about all.

I did not really do more than picture browse the Tianxia core rules until the Path of Destiny came out for the backers. This is a life path generator to make your kung fu characters. I have always felt random character generators can you help you learn the system fairly well. This got me to read the book in more depth, look at the kung fu system, but still was not enough to get me to investigate FATE enough to use the system.

So now that I've studied FATE enough to jump in and run it, I can say this book is truly awesome. It takes the flexible system and gives you all the wires and guides you need for easy, high flying Kung Fu action!

It only adds one skill, Chi. Gives you the framework for building a Kung Fu style based on two forms, one Element and one Body. Fun and flavorful options like Iron Tiger, Ghost Dragon, Storm Crane and Forest Serpent. 36 combinations in all from six elements and six body styles. Not only that, but it suggests alternate names for the element and body styles. Don't like the sound of Lightning with your Monkey style, call it Fire Monkey.

The book also provides a lot of campaign options for handling weapons, armor, your body as weapon and even how to approach firearms (so if you prefer your Jet Li to be a little less Hero and little more The One or War, it can accommodate you, because FATE is that flexible).

I was thoroughly pleased with my first game, which I set out to meet in the middle of the epic-ness of Hero and the over-the-topness of Man in the Iron Fists (1 & 2).

Throughout the book, their are great narrative introductions to each chapter where one of the provided characters interacts with the setting. These are a wonderful joy to read, and the example of play was a true gem in that regard as well.

This book is just all around fun if you want to Wuxia / Kung Fu fun and awesome, without a lot of rules getting in the way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tianxia: Blood, Silk & Jade
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Sophie L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2014 14:49:40

Tianxia: Blood, Silk and Jade is based on the Fate Core system, with a martial arts system layered on top. Since this system primarily uses aspects with free invocations, stunt-like techniques, an extra skill (Chi), and the optional Weapon and Armour ratings from Fate Core, it’s actually quite easy to handle for Fate veterans.

The book is simply gorgeous, thanks to the gorgeous illustrations by Denise Jones and an attractive, legible layout. It may appear like a slim book at first (181 pages not counting the appendices and index), but that’s because it doesn’t have to spend much time on system since it does not repeat the Fate system basic rules. Since Fate Core is available on a pay-what-you-like basis from Evil Hat Productions, gamers are not saddled with an excessive cost. Author Jack Norris packed a lot of goodness in these pages, 36 kung fu styles, numerous locations and characters to use, story seeds, a random adventure menu, and good insight into the genre.

The story seeds are open-ended, built exactly right to go with my philosophy of player-driven adventures: they offer a situation, some antagonists, and ideas for ways to embroil the heroes in the plot. Where they lead is up to your group, not a predetermined scenario.

The characters are well-designed, and thanks to the stunt-like techniques, are relatively easy to play. Let’s not kid ourselves, martial arts games always require a little extra effort for the GM to familiarize herself in advance with the characters so she’s ready to rumble in the big fights, but thanks to the Fate system this is not too onerous. This has been the most satisfying wuxia system in my gaming experience, flexible enough that re-matches between opponents don’t generate the same fight every time (unlike games like, say, Weapons of the Gods where you always have the same optimal combination against a given opponent), lighter than Hero or the old Feng Shui, yet more structured than Wushu so each character has a specific flavour.

In short, I absolutely love this book, and I’m really glad I was able to afford the hardback print version during the Kickstarter funding campaign. If you like wuxia games, this is the book for you, and I can’t wait for the planned supplements to come out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tianxia: Blood, Silk & Jade
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/06/2014 21:50:48

WHAT WORKS: A very creative martial arts system layered onto Fate, providing some good mechanical depth. Lots of optional rules that you can take or leave as you see fit. Great examples. Very pretty production values. Enough setting to get you going without overly detailing it.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: If one isn't into the setting, then I don't think the rules are enough to sell one on it. I always prefer a random adventure generator.

CONCLUSION: One other thing I didn't mention is the Lifepath Generator, which I have already as a Kickstarter backer. I love Lifepaths, and that's another nice piece to the game, one I would probably use in most games. It is still distinctly Fate while feeling notably different from other Fate games, such as Dresden Files or Agents of SWING, and that's a good thing. I don't remotely regret backing this Kickstarter, thanks to both the turnaround time of the product and the quality of it, and can't wait to see what's coming in the line (well, I know Mass Combat Rules are coming, and that's awesome). In the aftermath of the extremely successful Fate Core Kickstarter, folks have been concerned that there's becoming a D20-like glut of cheap cash-in products, but I really don't believe that's the case here. A lot of care and effort went into the book and it shows. If you like martial arts films and you aren't already deeply locked into Wu Xing or Feng Shui, try Tianxia...it's like Fate kicked you in the mouth.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2014/06/tommys-take-on-tianxia-blood-silk-jade.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tianxia: Blood, Silk & Jade
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/05/2014 20:09:14

Tianxia is a rules-light to rules-medium Wuxia game that introduces the genre in a friendly, easy-to-learn fashion. The book is written well, with a clear language devoid of unnecessary flourish that could distract of obscure the information needed to run the game, something that I certainly find to be very helpful.

The game itself applies minor rules adjustments and a fully formed Martial Arts system on top of the FATE Core rules in a relatively seamless manner, and feels like a system that was intended to work with FATE from the get go rather than being welded on forcibly. Fans of the FATE Core system will find this to be very easy to learn.

Fans of the genre will find that Tianxia covers all the bases when it comes to Wuxia. There’s a little lack of emphasis on the tone and themes of Wuxia in the book, but that’s a minor nitpick on my end as I wish it was brought up a bit in the start of the book rather than at the end with the GM chapters.

There’s an awful lot of mechanical support for GMs, from a campaign creation worksheet, to an adventure menu and pre-generated characters and antagonists to work with.

As a relatively new person to FATE, I feel that I’ll need to get a couple of test sessions to really get comfortable with the combat system to find out the true extent of the various Techniques in the Kung Fu system of Tianxia, but from what I’ve seen they’re certainly formidable.

Overall, Tianxia is a great start to a Wuxia RPG. There’s enough to run a campaign, but plenty of white space around for GMs and the authors to add on new elements. If you’re a fan of Wuxia, you’d be doing yourself a disservice if you didn’t pick this up for your collection.

If you're interested in checking out an in-depth 5 part study of Tianxia, check out my blog: http://philgamer.wordpress.com/category/roleplaying-games/tianxia/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tianxia: Blood, Silk & Jade
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2014 17:38:47

As a Kickstarter backer, I am entirely satisfied and then some. The loose pastiche of cinema, folklore, and history is absolutely perfect for my needs. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tianxia: Blood, Silk & Jade
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/23/2014 02:09:16

http://www.teilzeithelden.de/2014/04/23/rezension-tianxia-blood-silk-jade/

Mit diesem Spiel hat es ein weiteres Kickstarter-Projekt erfolgreich bis zur Umsetzung geschafft. In diesem Settingband für Fate Core bereisen die Spieler als Kung-Fu-Künstler, wohlhabende Händler oder warmherzige Mönche die gefährliche Grenzprovinz des Reiches. Zahlreiche Abenteuer in rechtlosem Raum erwarten die Männer und Frauen des Grenzgebietes. Zu ihrer Verteidigung können sie auf mächtige Kung-Fu-Techniken zurückgreifen. Techniken, bei denen selbst Bruce Lee oder Jackie Chan der Atem stocken würde. Willkommen zu Tianxia: Blood, Silk & Jade.

Inhalt

Mit Tianxia erscheint für Fate Core bereits das zweite Wuxia-Setting. Tianxia entführt uns nach Shenzhou, einem fiktiven Staat, der dem imperialen China nachempfunden ist. Aus mystischer Sicht existieren drei große Religionen innerhalb des Reiches: Der Legalismus, der dem Konfuzianismus nachempfunden wurde; die Jünger Bodhisattvas, die den Buddhismus als Vorbild haben sowie die Anhänger des Tao, die, wenig überraschend, ihre Wurzeln im Daoismus haben. Die Vorstellung der einzelnen Religionen wurde auf wenige Grundprinzipien beschränkt, um Gläubigen der echten Religionen nicht versehentlich auf die Füße zu treten. Ebenso wie sein Vorbild aus der realen Welt, ist Shenzhou ein Kaiserreich. Zahlreiche Handelswege durchziehen das Land, um kostbare Waren, wie zum Beispiel die Namen gebenden Handelswaren Seide und Jade, in die Hauptstadt zu transportieren. Die Rolle der Frau ist im Vergleich zur historischen Vorlage wesentlich liberaler. Frauen können die gleichen Aufgaben übernehmen wie Männer und auch homosexuelle Partnerschaften werden allgemein akzeptiert.

Das Reich besteht aus insgesamt neun unterschiedlichen Provinzen, aber nur die Provinz Jiangzhou wird in dem Settingband näher besprochen. Dieses wilde und gesetzlose Gebiet ist durch den schwunghaften Handel ein sehr attraktives Pflaster für allerlei Volk. Auf den Lebensadern, dem Seidenfluss und der Jadestraße, gibt es großen Bedarf an abenteuerlustigen Männern und Frauen. Große Handelsketten, verschlagene Diebesbanden, mysteriöse Kulte und verschwiegene Kampfkunstschulen bilden ein explosives Gemisch, das nur auf die Einmischung vorlauter Spieler wartet.

Die Beschreibung Jiangzhous vermittelt die Situation in der Provinz recht anschaulich, jedoch bleiben die Ausführungen sehr vage. Lediglich Bao Jiang, die größte Stadt der Provinz, wird detaillierter beschrieben. Die beschriebenen Charaktere sind glaubhaft und immer mit etwas Hintergrund versehen. Insgesamt wird eine glaubhafte Welt umrissen, die aber leider etwas zu vage gehalten ist, um ohne viel Vorbereitung ins Spiel einsteigen zu können.

Die Charaktererschaffung hat nur wenige Neuerungen gegenüber Fate Core zu bieten. Zum einen beginnen die Charaktere durch einen gestiegenen Grundwert an Schicksalspunkten das Spiel etwas mächtiger. Zum anderen erhalten sie Zugang auf die neue Fähigkeit Chi, die die mentale Ausgeglichenheit eines Charakters beschreibt.

Es ist jedem Charakter mit Chi möglich, eine Chi-Rüstung, eine Art übernatürlichen Schutzpanzer, zu erschaffen, der physischen Schaden vom Charakter abhalten soll. Dies ist ein Automatismus, der zu Beginn jeder Auseinandersetzung als freie Aktion ausgeführt werden darf. Es ist natürlich auch möglich, Charaktere ohne Kenntnis in Kung Fu zu erstellen, dies ist aber ausdrücklich nicht empfehlenswert. Je besser ein Charakter in den Kung-Fu-Künsten bewandert ist, desto höher ist sein Jianghu–Rang, ein grober Maßstab, an welcher Position der Charakter in der Hackordnung der Provinz steht.

Ein besserer Kung-Fu-Kämpfer kann seine Gegner davon abhalten, gegen ihn zusammenzuarbeiten, er erhält freie Anwendungen auf seinen Kung-Fu-Aspekt und erschwert es seinen Gegnern, eine Chi-Rüstung zu entwickeln.

Eine besondere Erwähnung verdienen auch die Kung-Fu-Regeln von Tianxia. Für einen Punkt des Grundwertes darf der Charakter einen Kung-Fu-Stil wählen und seine erste Technik erhalten. Durch die Ausgabe weiterer Schicksals- oder Stunt–Punkte können weitere Techniken gekauft werden. Hat ein Spieler alle sechs Techniken seines Stiles als Stunts erlernt, kann er während eines bedeutenden Meilensteins auf die Erhöhung eines Grundwerts verzichten, um die Meisterschaft eines Stils zu erlangen und damit die dazu gehörige geheime Technik zu erlernen.

Bemerkenswert ist auch, wie ein eigener Stil gewählt wird. In einer Art Baukastensystem kombiniert man ein Element mit einem Tiersymbol. Jedem Element und jedem Tier sind jeweils drei Techniken zugeordnet. Als Elemente existieren Wald, Geist, Eisen, Blitz, Stein und Sturm. Stilgebende Tiere sind Kranich, Drache, Affe, Phönix, Schlange und Tiger. Der daraus gebildete Aspekt darf durchaus poetischer formuliert werden, solange die Herkunft noch erkennbar ist. Der Stil Waldaffe darf also durchaus auch mit einem poetischen Titel wie zum Beispiel Der Affe steigt auf den Baum umschrieben werden. Auch weitere Besonderheiten wie z.B. Letzter Überlebender der Sturmdrachen-Schule können einzelnen Stilen in der Kampagne eine besondere Rolle einräumen. Zu diesen gewöhnlichen Techniken kommen für jeden Stil noch eine weitere geheime Technik sowie noch ein paar verlorene Techniken hinzu. Gerade diese verlorenen Techniken können unabhängig der gewählten Stile erlernt werden und dienen der weiteren Individualisierung der Charaktere. Nach der Vorstellung einiger beispielhafter Charaktere widmet Tianxia dem Spielleiter ein ausführliches Kapitel. Hier wird erklärt, wie die im Fate Core beschriebenen Grundregeln zur Kampagnenerstellung auf Tianxia umgestaltet werden. Als Beispiel werden einzelne Kernthemen des Genres hervorgehoben. Auch der Umgang mit Niederlagen verdient ein eigenes Kapitel. Ein Kapitel über die mögliche Opposition sowie eine Liste mit Inspirationsquellen aus Film und Literatur runden den Spielleiterbereich ab.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis

Für 15 USD erhält man einen liebevoll gestalteten Settingband, der gemeinsam mit dem Fate Core–Grundregelwerk zu vielen spannenden Geschichten einlädt. Neben der liebevollen Aufmachung, stimmungsvollen Grafiken und dem oben beschriebenen Inhalt bleiben kaum Wünsche offen. Insgesamt ist das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis ein Vergleich auf Augenhöhe. Es werden zwar keine Informationen verschenkt, aber der Leser wird auch nicht über den Tisch gezogen.

Erscheinungsbild

Der Band präsentiert sich ansprechend. Der Hintergrund ist schlicht und zugunsten der Lesbarkeit wurde auf eine aufwändige Hintergrundgrafik verzichtet. Die Kapiteleinstiegsseiten werden hingegen durch einen roten, edel gehaltenen Hintergrund hervorgehoben und mit schönen Zeichnungen untermalt. Randinformationen werden entweder in einem dunklen Grau oder dunklem Rot präsentiert. Aspekte werden im laufenden Text rot dargestellt und fallen daher sofort ins Auge. Insgesamt sind die Texte sehr gut zu lesen, nur die Kapiteleinstiege sorgen durch ungünstige Kontraste ab und an für Lesefrust.

Die Qualität der Zeichnungen ist überdurchschnittlich und fängt den Geist des Settings sehr gut ein. Dabei ist der comichafte Stil das ausschlaggebende Merkmal. Damit ist deutlich zu spüren, dass das Setting sich selbst nicht so ernst nimmt, sondern vielmehr kinoreife Aktion und Spaß in den Vordergrund stellt.

Das Inhaltsverzeichnis ist voll verlinkt und auch in der Datei zur Navigation hinterlegt. Leider gilt dies nicht für den Index und auch im Text angesprochene Verweise sind nicht verlinkt.

Insgesamt ein sehr gelungener Band, der leider noch nicht vollständig im medialen Zeitalter angekommen ist.

Fazit

Mit Tianxia bekommt man ein solides Wuxia-Setting ohne große Schnörkel. Die Welt ist liebevoll gestaltet, die Regelerweiterungen sinnvoll, ohne übermäßig kompliziert zu werden, und der Schauplatz bietet Zündstoff für viele spannende Geschichten. Die grafische Aufmachung ist sehr gut, die Illustrationen stimmungsvoll und inspirierend. Technisch patzt die PDF-Datei leider, indem Seitenangaben im Text und im Index nicht verlinkt wurden.

Wie bei den meisten Fate Core–Settings, ist ein direktes Losspielen nicht möglich, da die Kampagne auf die Charaktere zugeschnitten sein sollte. Im Spielleiterbereich befinden sich aber genug Ideen, mit denen eine Kampagne in Gang gebracht werden kann.

Leider wird zu keiner Zeit die Aussprache der Wörter lautmalerisch dargestellt, weshalb je nach Aussprache die einzelnen Begriffe sehr ähnlich klingen. Gerade bei Namen wie Shenzhou, Jiangzhou und Jianghu ist die Verwechslungsgefahr schon sehr groß.

Für die Zukunft sind zusätzliche Materialien geplant. Im Rahmen der Kickstarter-Kampagne wurden bereits einige Bestandteile wie ein Lifepath Generator erstellt und befinden sich bereits im Test. Weitere freigeschaltete Stretch Goals sind Settingbände zu den nördlichen und südlichen Provinzen sowie ein Sonderband für ein spezielles Kung-Fu-Magiesystem. Es bleibt also spannend in der Welt von Tianxia.

Für Fans des Genres lohnt sich Tianxia auf jeden Fall, aber auch Genreneulinge können durchaus einen Blick riskieren.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tianxia: Blood, Silk & Jade
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2014 13:30:57

Having been an avid and loyal customer to Vigilance Press for some time, I was already very eager to see what they had to bring to the FATE Core community. Add in the fact that I am a very passionate individual when it comes to Wuxia style fiction, I had some reservations as FATE had yet to really delve into such a realm and this would be among the first settings to do so.

Immediately upon opening the pdf for review, I was absolutely amazed with the Typography, Layout, and upon delving into the fiction and details behind the world I was absolutely blown away. Everything is explained in fine detail, and even if the style is a bit foreign for some people it becomes fairly fluid to pick up on. Stat blocks for key individuals are laid out with relative art that lives up to and exceeds expectations.

Among my favorite mechanical bits involves the translation of flavor of common elements within Wuxia (Flashbacks and Montage being among the most common) into the FATE system. It is very clear that great lengths were put into the detail and precision of each use of the mechanics to reflect the style of the setting, and is a prime example that many other authors should strive to live up to.

Going further into the book one can find details on how to assemble their own personal style by combining extremely accurate Elements and Body (Stances), each with their own mechanical and flavorful alternatives. Even beyond that are examples on how to build each one with appropriate mechanical explanations and even ways of explaining lost styles and techniques as they relate to the history of the already rich world.

By the very end of the book, a well layed out collection of example characters and play are provided that can provide the much needed insight for both players and game masters alike. For Game Masters, there is a complete Bestiary, collection of tips for running games and how to sustain various parts of the world. There is enough material here to really get into a one-shot that can flourish into a full on campaign. Optional rules abound, with optional check-lists to help put together entertaining and fulfilling conflicts for the players to run through.

Having been one of the investors for the Kickstarter Campaign I am absolutely thrilled with the amount of content this setting provides and will be a foundation to which can act as inspiration for just about any game placed within the world or to provide a reference on how to truly embody the Wuxia genre!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tianxia: Blood, Silk & Jade
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Joshua R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2014 10:00:35

We have had a lot of fun with the game, especially one shots!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates