DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Gamescapes: Story Maps, Sci-fi Set 1
Publisher: Savage Mojo
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2007 10:30:57

A good clean tile set, great art, good value for money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes: Story Maps, Sci-fi Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Flatlands: Fire for Effect
Publisher: 12 to Midnight
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2007 00:00:00

A nice collection of tokens and floorplans, especially for those intending to run the scenario they complement so well.

Having put together 2 seperate lots of these suckers I cannot reccomend enough printing the tokens and mounting them on some sturdy card. My firs try was printing on cardstock and the results were okay but not inspiriing. Mounted on card they do a very fine job. The selection is as advertised, the alien critters look suitably nasty and you get choices of style of print. Not bad. Not bad at all.

But I will confess I still prefer paper miniatures to tokens, I think that is down to personal taste but it is a factor in my rating.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The dragon. My word. On its own worth the price of the set, now all I go to do is find an excuse to use it a lot more<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Flatlands: Fire for Effect
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Orc Horde!
Publisher: Forever People Digital Press
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2006 00:00:00

Wow. This product is toss. And it hurts me to say so, really it does because I really wanted it to work. I love the idea, the concept is pure gold. But the execution is severly lacking.

Basics:

The resolution of the image could be better, you'd probably never notice on a table top but the image is not stunning.

Instructions, actually stop before you are done making the model. Now granted the last steps are not hard to figure out but come on guys, that is clearly a mistake but it makes you look like rookies.

Details:

Fidly? Do you think!? I don't know, maybe I've got fat fingers and I am not fit for paper modelling put the annoyingly intricte cutting out - on card stock no less as per reccomendation, is nothing short of painful. Getting little paper locks to fit together was consistently deeply frustrating - I couldn't even get the head to go together - I'd have needed tweesers and four hands for that. Glueing instructions - although apparently not needed, were sparse.

The base construction, while cunning in design I've got to wonder what was wrong with just making a box, that is easy and feet tabs could be glued within and the miniature even weighted with a coin for those that felt it useful.

The arms - again way fiddly and would it have been so terribly hard to have a print pattern on both sides?

The legs - perhaps my cardstock was too heavy, but 'rolling' them tight enough took some effort, and something to roll them around, a tip that I was surprised was not in the instructions.

The instructions - start great and then faulter. Once you hit the torso and head the useful pictures and clear descriptions dry up to be replaced with vague instructions and just one picture each.

The end result - hard to say, I haven't really finished one, couldn't get the head together properly and putting it altogether proved near impossible. I can't imagine these thing will be robust when put together. I speculate that putting a dozen or so in a box for tranpsort would not be wise.

The final effect - these guys lack the beauty of a real mini, and although once you practice a bit I guess you could put them together fairly quickly, my attempt certainly wasn't, having once been in the mini painting club I wonder how much difference there is between an experinced quick painter and an experiencd quick modeller. And they also lack the simple efficiency of paper stand up mini's. In the time it took me put one kinda together I could have had 14 or so 'regular' paper minis finished.

2 models on the page and a whole lot of white space. And the two guys didn't even have a slight variation on the colours used. I mean anyone with a coloured pen or gosh almighty photoshop skills could create variations so you might say be able to make a boss type orc, or be able to visually tell the difference between two units and it would not have been hard to include a couple of variations. And at that few figures per page costs do rise - given these are paper figures after all!

At the end of the day, from my perspective at least this product sits in a failed middle ground between paper and real minis having none of the strengths (looks pretty / cheap and fast) of either and sharing the weaknesses of both (slow / desetructable).

It was cheap and a cool idea, it just didn't work. But that doesn't mean it couldn't work...<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: cool concept<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: it failed<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Poor<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Orc Horde!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Powers & Perils #1: Orwell Industries (Savage Worlds Edition)
Publisher: Reality Blurs
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/06/2006 00:00:00

Okay I only just downloaded and skimmed through this - I'll try and get round to reading the sucker properly and edit my review as needed at a later date.

This product is awesome. I'll confess my expectations were pretty low - not sure why but I just didn't expect much from a supers supplement focusing on an organisation. But after just skimming a couple of pages the proffesionalism of the product is already shining - the layout is clean and crisp. A pleasure to look at AND to read. The art is suitably in theme and very nice, there are a number of useful sidebars containing handy information and from the little bits I did pick up this is clearly a very well developed and thoroughly interesting organisation complete with an interesting history and a lot to offer. I'm really looking forward to digging in and reading up on all the juicy details.

The stats for characters use the powers from necessary evil - which is awesome for me as I already own it and am presently running it so having some extra cool stuff to throw at my players is a definite bonus. If you don't own it I guess it wouldn't be too hard to deduce most of what is needed but you'd probably be better off picking up the necessary evil players guide and even though it is pretty cheap it might add a bit of extra cost to this product for some people which I can understand being a little annoying. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: This is one meaty product. I guess if it were a physical book it might have been laid out differently to reduce the page count or something but there is wealth of information in here, about the company, about the people, departments, operations, locations, equipment etc etc and where needed stats for such things. The only thing I didn't spot was an appendix which might have been a nice addition to summarise some of these things into a convenient reference. But yeah more than once I thought I was getting near the end of the pdf (paying no attention to page numbers) only to start another section. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Powers & Perils #1: Orwell Industries (Savage Worlds Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

12TM: Skinwalker: Savaged edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2006 00:00:00

What can I say about this adventure? Lots really, but not without giving too much away. Herein you will find 12 to midnights fine attempt at creating a scenario that is 'open', that is there are all sorts of different paths through it made possible by a well fleshed out timeline, set of npc's, and motivations. Did I say fine attempt? I meant successful. Successful because it manages to do so a clear and concise fashion. The open nature might worry some gms who think they are likely to spend forever flipping through pages but 12 to midnight's style of presenting an adventure and layout is well tuned and frankly a pleasure to work with. Sure you are going to want to read throught it well once on twice but the same should be true of any module really. The art is great throughout, the enemies varied and interesting, and the horror is definitly in there. Whether your players respond better to psychological games or descriptions of visceral gore there is the option in there for you as a gm to inject either to suit your group - not that either is written directly into the module you understand. The descriptions and flavour text are atmospheric but not over the top which I take as a good springboard for my own tailoring as needed.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: It is the layout and design of this that really makes it shine, and that is no criticism of the story/art/editing/anything else because they are all top notch too. But because of the far less linear nature of this module over regular modules I think all the other stuff could have been in place but poor design would have killed it stone dead as something that just didn't quite work out as planned. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Making characters for savae worlds is pretty quick and easy, and there is a fair chance groups playing this will have exisiting character in a pinebox campaign but even so there will be folks out there that want to run this as a one off or even as an introduction to pinebox and/or savage worlds. For this reason it would be nice if there were some sample characters either included or free for download from 12 to midnights website.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
12TM: Skinwalker: Savaged edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern Floorplans Volume 1: Office Spaces
Publisher: Fabled Environments
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2006 00:00:00

The description of the product is pretty clear and you do get what it says, several different versions of blueprint style lay outs of building interiors. Different scale versions and the ability to print out the whole building in a useful combat scale spread out over several pages of a4. I?ve got some very nice well illustrated terrain but the simplicity really is the beauty here. Its quick and clean to print, low impact on your printers vital juices and I know full well they will be very handy for me.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The different versions of rooms ? with/without furniture etc really extends the lifespan of this product and gives you the power of customisation much more easily than might otherwise be the case. Also the full size and ?combat? scale print off (much bigger than a4) is very nice to see included for those that have access to a copy shop that will print off the whole building on one sheet of paper. I?d love to get it done. This feels to me like a good value for money product.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Floorplans Volume 1: Office Spaces
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern Floorplans: Cyber-Cafe
Publisher: Fabled Environments
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2006 00:00:00

The description of the product is pretty clear and you do get what it says, several different versions of blueprint style lay outs of building interiors. Different scale versions and the ability to print out the whole building in a useful combat scale spread out over several pages of a4. I?ve got some very nice well illustrated terrain but the simplicity really is the beauty here. Its quick and clean to print, low impact on your printers vital juices and I know full well they will be very handy for me.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The different versions of rooms ? with/without furniture etc really extends the lifespan of this product and gives you the power of customisation much more easily than might otherwise be the case. Also the full size and ?combat? scale print off (much bigger than a4) is very nice to see included for those that have access to a copy shop that will print off the whole building on one sheet of paper. I?d love to get it done. This feels to me like a good value for money product.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Floorplans: Cyber-Cafe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern Floorplans: Diner
Publisher: Fabled Environments
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2006 00:00:00

The description of the product is pretty clear and you do get what it says, several different versions of blueprint style lay outs of building interiors. Different scale versions and the ability to print out the whole building in a useful combat scale spread out over several pages of a4. I?ve got some very nice well illustrated terrain but the simplicity really is the beauty here. Its quick and clean to print, low impact on your printers vital juices and I know full well they will be very handy for me.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The different versions of rooms ? with/without furniture etc really extends the lifespan of this product and gives you the power of customisation much more easily than might otherwise be the case. Also the full size and ?combat? scale print off (much bigger than a4) is very nice to see included for those that have access to a copy shop that will print off the whole building on one sheet of paper. I?d love to get it done. This feels to me like a good value for money product.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Floorplans: Diner
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Modern Floorplans: Nightclub
Publisher: Fabled Environments
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2006 00:00:00

The description of the product is pretty clear and you do get what it says, several different versions of blueprint style lay outs of building interiors. Different scale versions and the ability to print out the whole building in a useful combat scale spread out over several pages of a4. I?ve got some very nice well illustrated terrain but the simplicity really is the beauty here. Its quick and clean to print, low impact on your printers vital juices and I know full well they will be very handy for me.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The different versions of rooms ? with/without furniture etc really extends the lifespan of this product and gives you the power of customisation much more easily than might otherwise be the case. Also the full size and ?combat? scale print off (much bigger than a4) is very nice to see included for those that have access to a copy shop that will print off the whole building on one sheet of paper. I?d love to get it done. This feels to me like a good value for money product.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Floorplans: Nightclub
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

King Arthur Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2006 00:00:00

Wow.

That covers it. This set feels so complete and the qualit of the minis has not dropped at all. There might be things you want for a arthurian or even medievil type setting that are not here, but I can almost guarantee they are in other sets. Whereas many of the other sets have left me saying, this is great, but I want more! it is not the case with this one.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The green man, not quite what I expected but I've had a soft spot for the green man tale for a very long time so it did me good to see him in there.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
King Arthur Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Science Fiction Soldiers II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2006 00:00:00

A great addition to the sci fi line, fills in a few gaps and has some very familiar pieces in there. But I'm sure that is just an artistic coincidence ;)

Not sure how much use I'll see out of them but if / when the need arises these guys will do the job admirably. Could be rather handy for miniature war gamers too.

Sorry - I don't get terribly excited by soldiers so I don't have masses of enthusiastic things to say. They fill a need, they look damn good, I'm pleased with them.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Science Fiction Soldiers II Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ninja Burger: The RPG 2nd Edition
Publisher: aethereal FORGE
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2006 00:00:00

The system is pretty uninspiring but it does the job it needs to and is not bad for it. Just nothing new or especially interesting to it. When the book breaks down into a guide of san francisco I found it rather dull dry readin, 99% of it could be factual, had it been ninjaburgerified it might have been fun and I think that was a missed opportunity. The rest however, it delivers the goods, it is good clean fun, well written and executed plenty of scope for one offs and mini campaigns - still not sold on long haul campaigns though. Maybe I just ain't ninja enough for the job.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: its pdf man, I only have to print off the first bit of the book that I really liked - and I did really like it.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I had hoped for more somehow. Don't know what per se but I was a little let down by the wafer thin 2d6 system.Yeah I know its not a system that makes a game but ninja burger has so much novelty and coolness such a plain common all garden system wrankled and the tour guide - really not my thing at all.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ninja Burger: The RPG 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Victorians Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2006 00:00:00

This is actually a set I requested some time ago and it is good to see it finally made flesh so to speak. The variety in the set is particularly nice with people from most parts of the Victorian era represented which is just what I needed from the set. The images themselves are clear, crisp and detailed.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: the gentleman and cabby are both posed in quite a lively way that makes the stand out. Also the number of female models is good, a more even mix really benefits this set<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Really not so sure about the thugs dress sense, I don?t know if it is the pose itself or the odd looking partial sleeves but his arms look kind of awkward and out of proportion.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Victorians Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Heroes II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2006 00:00:00

Well now, some, nay, most of the figures in here are beautiful and rendered in to the same high standard I now expect from Arion games. These figures have a lot of style to them, they would be well suited high fantasy high jinks ? many are just begging for characters or colorful npc?s to go with them. Perhaps the best thing this set does is bulk up the number of non standard kit combos ? i.e. less average sword and shield types and a few duelists with rapiers, axes, spears two weapon fighters and other such variations there was not so much of previously. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: female elven rogue with a short skirt and legs spread wide ? its about time there was an honest portrayal done ; ) and the real adventurers adventurer ? fresh from the campsite backpack full of kit and all.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Heroes II Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

YotZ Gunfight at the OK Diner Minis
Publisher: Arion Games
by Alan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2006 00:00:00

It?s a set with an entire page of assorted zombies. As if I wasn?t going to buy it, especially with how cool the zombies in the undead set were. I am pleased to say the rotting nastiness that we all know and love zombies for has been nicely expressed over a good range of zombies ? everything from the massive orderly type zombie down to zombie kids. The set also includes some named characters, presumably important people from the module this set is for and includes a couple of nice archetypal characters that could see use in many different games.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Toilet Zombie. Absolute gold. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: some of the zombies look a bit highly animated and agile which won?t be to everyone?s tastes<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
YotZ Gunfight at the OK Diner Minis
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 44 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates