DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Shaintar: Legends Arise $24.99
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 8
2 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Shaintar: Legends Arise
Click to view
Shaintar: Legends Arise
Publisher: Savage Mojo
by Franklin T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2017 17:59:32

Printed on the deluxe, extra thick and fine looking parchment paper, this setting book is perfect for anyone wanting to run a traditional high fantasy session. If you don't plan on using the aboslutely top notch races, rich lore, or fantastic and well balanced arcane backgrounds, I still highly recommend this book for the great edges and the arcane backgrounds, to take into consideration for other sessions, regardless of genre. The additional rules make the game fit the original tag line of Savage Worlds. Fast, Furious, and Fun.

Keep in mind that creating Shaintar characters may take 20-40 mins longer than normal characters, only because of the amount of detail and choice for character creation. It's worth it, this setting is perfect for sessions you want to run over a long period of time.

Only criticism is that the book could use additional pre-gen plots or campaigns. It'd be nice to get a few general quests to send novice adventurers on, with a small range of character alignment-adjusted concepts. Not everyone wants to play the hero, after all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for your thoughts, F.T. - appreciated. If you're interested in some free-to-download adventures for Shaintar, we've got a bunch :-) Looks like they've disappeared from DriveThruRPG's pages (it happens sometimes) but I'll arrange for them to reappear asap. Just search for Savage Mojo as a publisher and click "Free" under price. -M- Miles M Kantir Publisher, Savage Mojo
UPDATE: The adventures are back up and available, and they're free so you can grab them any time :-)
Shaintar: Legends Arise
Publisher: Savage Mojo
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/25/2014 12:21:37

WHAT WORKS: Even if you have no desire to play Shaintar, if you're running a fantasy game in Savage Worlds, there's some heavy duty stuff to strip-mine here. At least a few Edges will make their way into my Savage Midnight game, and maybe even a couple of the Setting Rules. A lot of it feels very familiar, sure, but there's a lot of cool tweaks (like the Korindians having their own martial art), and the ready made excuses to put folks together (like Grayson's Gray Rangers). I would also be doing the book an injustice if I failed to point out that it's gorgeous, with an absolutely amazing cover by Tomasz Tworek. Did I mention there's not a laundry list of "More Powerful Than Your PCs" NPCs to have to explain your way around? Although, they may be coming in the next book for all I know. (See? Told you I'm not in the loop.)

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: The Talisman Studios version had a really sweet random adventure generator that used cards that this one lacked. Not that I won't just swipe that from that book, of course...but YOU don't have access to it. In MY copy of the PDF, there were still a lot of "see page XXX" left, which may have been corrected by now (and which will hopefully be corrected by print for sure). The information for the setting itself gets painted in pretty broad strokes, which some folks are going to hate and some folks are going to love. Given that I'm just really getting started with one Savage Worlds fantasy game, I doubt I'll get to actually run Shaintar myself anytime soon.

CONCLUSION: For Pete's Sake, at least get the Player's Guide so you can rip liberally for your own Savage Worlds fantasy games. Then if it looks good enough, there's the full version of the book and the Kickstarter to consider. I love a lot of the tinkering Sean did with the Savage Worlds rules, and I seriously cannot wait to see what happens with Legends Unleashed and how it opens up magic to fit an "epic high fantasy" feel.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2013/07/tommys-take-on-shaintar-legends-arise.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar: Legends Arise
Publisher: Savage Mojo
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2014 13:12:02

I'm Darren W. Pearce, you might know the name (or not) from various RPGs over the last 13 or so years. I've seen a lot of RPG settings, I have worked on the Doctor Who RPG for Cubicle 7, Lone Wolf with Mongoose and Joe Dever and I've been kicking around in the RPG field for about 34 years or so.

I have seen a lot of settings, but Sean Patrick Fannon's Shaintar is one of the best High Fantasy Epic settings I've seen. I picked this up recently and it's a superb take on fantasy in general, packed with information galore on Shaintar and so many nice touches. I know my players are going to enjoy playing in a world that's not about murdering kobolds for gold coins, or slaughtering hordes of orcs.

I'm a big fan of Asprin's work, of Leiber and Shaintar is one of those rare settings that gives me the same chills as I got when I found the adventures of Fafhrd and the Grey Mouser, or delved into Sanctuary for the first time.

So Sean's really knocked this one out of the ballpark and I can't wait to spring it on my players. Top quality writing, good art and excellent setting information combine to really make this shine.

Credo.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar: Legends Arise
Publisher: Savage Mojo
by Robert H. I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2014 19:37:28

I really Love this game setting. I like how that it is truly high epic fantasy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar: Legends Arise
Publisher: Savage Mojo
by Chris J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2013 15:37:30

I have to say i was very impressed with Shaintar: Legends Arise. For years I have played different fantasy table top rpgs in many different systems. It was only recently that I discovered Savage Worlds and sought out a fitting fantasy setting that suited my needs for epic style storytelling. Shaintar fits that role very well with its elaborately detailed world containing a thorough history and rich background.

The world itself reminds me of the sort of high magic you see in settings such as Forgotten Realms. The cosmology is unique and I love the different styles of magic that are available in the setting. I love the idea that there are powerful beings called the Ascended that are not truly gods but risen mortals into a higher immortal state, that watch over the forces of the elements and nature. Heroes begin in a time where various factions are at war with one another and there are shadowy organizations engaged in clandestine operations behind the scenes trying to tip the scale in favour of their respected factions.

I love the unique adjustments that Sean has made to the magic system which basically allows magic users to combine powers and alter their effects beyond the core powers we normally see in the Savage Worlds system. This goes beyond mere trappings and enables players to create truly unique applications for their powers and mimic the variety of spells one might see in another popular fantasy role playing game. I can't wait to see the expanded magic rules for High magic in the Legends Unleashed book and the Magic and cosmology guidebook when they come out. Im sure they will add to the sheer awesomeness already given to us in this book.

The author also runs a living campaign in which players and gms can participate in shaping the official canon of the world of Shaintar in future sourcebooks through the events that take place in their games.

Thanks Sean for creating such an awesome setting for me to run my games in. I cant wait to get the next books when they are available.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar: Legends Arise
Publisher: Savage Mojo
by JR T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2013 15:34:06

I am sharing why my favorite game was created and why it is my favorite game. This testimonial is what I love about Shaintar, so anyone and everyone has permission to quote me and talk about it to get word of the Kickstarter out there. That’s why I put so much work in this post, because I am hoping that people sense my passion as I talk about Shaintar below, and that it’s so strong they are motivated to give it a try, and that is why I am going so far as legally relinquishing all rights and claims to the material on this page. This means this testimonial belongs to all people in general, the public, aka: Public Domain!

This is a quote from the game’s creator: “I created Shaintar, not for Adventurers. Not for perfectly-balanced parties of Dungeon Delvers. Not for Self-Centered Rogues and Murder-Bent Warriors. Shaintar is a land for Heroes. Shaintar is a crucible of Legends. Leave the dungeons for the grave robbers and the mercenaries. You have greater, finer things to do.” ~ Sean Patrick Fannon also described his game as: “The world of Shaintar is not a place for killing kobolds for their copper pieces. The world of Shaintar is for Heroes. More than that, it is for Legends. LEGENDS. NEVER. DIE.” Now I am going to share my views of the game:

Shaintar lets you be part of something different. Just look at their KickStarter where everyone who backs it, even for a single dollar, gets to name someone for one of the books. We’re not talking just a mention; you get a full NPC including name, description, and stated! Talking about making you part of the game, I have never seen a setting so inclusive, nor a designer so daring! And if that don’t get your fire started then your wood’s wet. It truly is Epic, just look at their “Justice and Life” campaign that ties directly into the ongoing “living” style campaign Sean Patrick Fannon is running at cons everywhere, as well as online via the Roll20 Virtual Tabletop System and Google Hangouts. This is the campaign site for the whole thing: https://sites.google.com/site/justiceliferoll20/home There are also the Shaintar All Stars who are all daring and determined experts in the gaming industry: http://www.evilbeaglegames.com/products/shaintar/the-shaintar-all-stars/ They actually listen to their players and create what we want. Just look at the discussions on the pages linked here. That’s level of customer inclusion is not just rare in games, it’s rare in life! To do this, Shaintar has evolved from a game to a community. Community links thorough this article! This has made it the most inclusive game I’ve ever had the pleasure of playing. Even if you don’t want to play with the Savage World rules, they will help you customize the Shaintar setting to the rules that YOU WANT TO PLAY! I’ve already seen this a few times. This means Shaintar is freedom, and other games feel like a dictatorship when compared to it. Most of my adventures in Shaintar have taken place in towns, free from the restraints of having to mug Kobolds in yet another dungeon. This is another way Shaintar shines, not only do you have these epic battles in cities, fields, forests, swamps, etc… but if you are craving that consistent nostalgia of a Dungeon Delve; you have that option too! Here’s more information a specific example of one of these bonus options you can expect: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1473667415/mythical-lairs-the-next-step-in-dungeon-terrain/posts/532958?ref=email&show_token=2d5bbed6a380a8c9

This is why I love this game. And this is why I am asking that people share and like this content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar: Legends Arise
Publisher: Savage Mojo
by Tommy G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/11/2013 14:28:10

This is a fantastic gaming asset. The first version of the Shaintar setting was pretty good and a lot of fun to play. It was Shaintar: Immortal Legends. This latest version however takes a lot of what was good in Immortal Legends and really moves it to the next level. As I understand it, this book (Legends Arise) is Novice through Veteran while there will be another book (Legends Unleashed) that will cover above Veteran. This is actually a great thing because now gamers and Game Masters (GMs) can get used to the basics before they rush into the Legendary things.

Savage Worlds is already the best system I have played and easily handles so many aspects that bog down other systems. Since Shaintar builds on the Savage Worlds framework, it allows the author to skip a lot of the mechanics. Normally, skipping some mechanics might be a bad thing but here, it is what i believe makes this one of the best setting books i have seen. Where a normal setting might have spent time explaining minute terms or repeating all of the edges, hindrances and powers from the core Savage Worlds book, the author here only highlights when something is different. He explains why it is different and how to handle it. Then he gives practical, clear advice throughout the book on how to GM the aspects of the game. The tips in this book about GMing apply not only to Shaintar, or not even only to Savage Worlds, but to any person who wants to learn to be a good GM.

Although I think the setting is well crafted and very fun to play or GM, I found this book to be a great primer on how to be a good GM and player. It shows how to emphasize the STORY and FUN over mere technicalities. People who rely too much on the rules end up with a hollow skeleton that bores all involved. Those who ignore the rules conversely end up with an amorphous mess that quickly bores the players because it is impossible to really plan. Shaintar, and the author's advice, strikes that perfect balance.

I recently played in a game where the GM had not prepared a specific event for that night's gaming. There is an excellent guide (available separately) to let a group just each do their own thing as "A Day In the Life". We all had a terrific time, it really focused on each character and allowed the player to really invest in the character and it went smoothly. To me, that is a great compliment to how the setting is established and is only one of the many reasons I strongly recommend this book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar: Legends Arise
Publisher: Savage Mojo
by Jimmy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2013 22:05:27

Shaintar is nearly legendary among the expanding Savage Worlds settings. It is sometimes referred to as Savage Worlds' Forgotten Realms and I can see why; Shaintar is high on the fantasy scale, with numerous races, nations and a thick history. However, I found Shaintar to be more refined and more focused on the heroes than the well-known Dungeons and Dragons campaign setting.

This is not the first iteration of this setting; I have owned the old edition and this one is a huge improvement - not that the old edition was bad.

For those who do not know the setting, SHAINTAR is a medieval fantasy setting for the super simple Savage Worlds rules. In there, you will find your paladins, rangers, elves, dwarves, orcs, bastard swords and spellcasters. However, do not expect classes or levels: Savage Worlds works on a free-form advancement system.

What I liked: -The author's comments and advice inserted all over the book -The huge selection of Edges -The races write-ups and specific racial Edges -The Art is gorgeous, with very few ''meh'' pieces -After a quick skim thru, I felt like playing in this Universe - right away -Nice selection of equipment -An interesting alternate (and purely optional) way of handling money (à la d20 modern's wealth system) -Evocative professional Edges and related organizations -Proper PDF structure (with links for each chapter in the layout section)

What could be improved: -More Hindrances. Most Savage Worlds settings have a very small list of those, which is unfortunate as it helps define a character. It sure sucks having three characters out of five with the heroic, loyal and stubborn hindrances... -Some chapters would need more art or a layout that would make it an easier read. Some parts appear a bit cramped up. -No character sheet included

Overall, very impressed with this product. A must-own for any Savage Worlds fan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you. I am very humbly grateful for the kind words, and I sincerely hope you do get a chance to play soon. The character sheet was one of those things we realized we should do, but ran out of time. ~SPF
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates