DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Fate Accelerated Edition Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
55 19
5 4
5 0
0 0
0 0
Fate Accelerated Edition
Click to view
Fate Accelerated Edition
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Rix W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2015 13:49:42

I'm a huge fan of Fate Core, and I wanted to give this slimmed down version a try. While some things you might be used to in an RPG like "rolling for Lore" don't quite fit this model and have to be reworked (which can be a good thing,) pretty much everything else you want a player to do (as an active action) is simplified greatly in Fate Accelerated. I ran this with a group of people who had never played a tabletop game before, and in 5 minutes, I had them invested in the story and making choices for their characters while accepting what the dice revealed as the story progressed. I don't think FAE replaces Fate Core for every story possibility, but there are some circumstances where it just can't be beat for it's elegance and simplicity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2015 12:35:15

I got both Accelerated and Core. Fate is a different enough system you really need the explanations and examples from Core. But once you understood the terminology, Accelerated really took off and worked better and faster.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Jon L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2015 21:18:54

I have never used FATE Core rules yet but I am playing a game that will be utilizing those rules this weekend. They are easy and simple to learn, its a great system to use when trying to engulf your players in the story of your game. The accelerated edition expands on the rules a great deal. Very good system to use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by John K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2014 13:30:59

Fate Accelerated is just the RPG I was looking for when I got it, fast, easy to learn, easy to run, you can teach the rules as you generate characters, you can write your first adventure while the players make their characters. The best part, it's free to try, but if you like it, buy some of their other stuff, even if it's for Fate Core it's still very compatible. The print version is absolutely amazing for $5! For five dollars you're probably expecting cheap paper, poor printing and saddle stapled binding, well, Evil Hat's production values on this book blow your expectations out of the water! The binding is glued, no staples at all, the print is dark and clear and the paper quality is good. Well worth the price of admission, and at a price that there's really no excuse to not have more than one copy at the table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Benjamin M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2014 06:02:28

FATE Accelerated is fantastic! I have yet to play a game of it, but that will be remedied in November. I have never read a game or a system that allows so many possibilities for players and GM's. Literally any kind of setting can be played in using this system, not just the published settings. Whatever the imagination can conceive can be accommodated by this system. Character creation is likely the most open and quick that I have ever come across in over 30 years of gaming. The only limits the players have is their imagination. All in all, FATE is a well-designed and extremely user-friendly game. I recommend it to anyone who favors lots of options, lots of role-playing, and very little crunch. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Christopher D C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2014 15:05:39

FATE Accelerated Edition, or FAE, is a good introduction to Evil Hat's FATE game engine. While it's different enough from FATE Core to be a stand-alone RPG in its own right, FATE Accelerated is similar enough to its parent so that once you feel you're ready to tackle the more advanced mechanics of FATE Core, you should be able to make the transition with little effort.

FAE is extremely liberating from other RPGs, in that there are no Character Points to spend, no endless lists of skills, powers, talents, traits, or extras to choose from, no defects/disadvantages/flaws to burden your hero or heroine with just for the sake of balancing out a character's point totals. Character creation is simple and easy: you choose a "high concept" (a phrase that sums up your character's role in the game setting), a "trouble" (another phrase that identifies a primary weakness of the character), and one to three other "aspects" (additional concepts that help round out the character's background). You then set six "approach ratings," which represent how your character deals with various challenges (Cleverly, Sneakily, Forcefully, and so on). If desired, you can choose anywhere from one to three "stunts" (things your character can do extremely well). In a matter of minutes, you have a fully defined character with a general suite of abilities which have been established by his or her approach ratings, high concept, trouble, and other aspects. All without the numbers crunch you have to deal with from other RPG systems.

The task resolution system follows the general path of "roll-high-and-hit-a-Target-Number," only in FAE, you roll four Fudge/Fate dice and apply the result to whatever approach rating you're using for a particular task. Having an appropriate stunt can improve your chance of success, as can the expenditure of Fate Points. If you're trying to accomplish something that fits your character's high concept (or other aspects), you can spend a Fate Point, which either gives you a bonus to your roll or allows you to roll again (this second option is best if you initial roll was very poor). You gain Fate Points during the game by accepting "compels," which is when your character's adversaries find a way to use your trouble (or even your other aspects) against you; if you give in to your weaknesses, you're rewarded with a Fate Point, which is a great way to encourage good roleplaying.

Combat is quick and easy to run. Instead of worrying about how much damage this weapon does against that sort of armor, everything is resolved with a single pair of attack/defense rolls; the greater the attacker's margin of success (or "shifts"), the more damage done to the target. A target can stave off defeat by checking off stress boxes or accepting "consequences" (penalties which give the attacker additional weaknesses to exploit); when the target can take no more stress or consequences, he or she is at the mercy of their attacker. A neat option allows a would-be victim to escape this fate by voluntarily conceding the fight before the coup-de-grace is actually delivered, allowing them to exit the scene with at least a modicum of dignity--and they also get a Fate Point for doing so.

Overall, the system is very free-form, with all kinds of room for innovation by both the players and the gamemaster. This is arguably the most cooperative RPG system ever created: everyone works together to weave an exciting narrative, using aspects, troubles, and the like to take an adventure in all kinds of unexpected and enjoyable directions. This can be a bit daunting for gamers who are used to more rigid systems, but once you get into the spirit of the thing, you'll find yourself having more fun than you could have imagined.

FATE Accelerated Edition is a terrific game, and definitely worth checking out. The list price for the published edition is $5.00; I recommend paying something in that neighborhood for the electronic edition, as it's well worth it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by James L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2014 08:19:13

While it's a little too brief in some areas, especially for those new to RPG's, overall I really like the way FAE modifies Fate Core to use approaches rather than skills. Fate Core has the better advice and plenty of examples, but for the actual rules I'll always use FAE.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Nicholas C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2014 08:04:34

This system is amazing! I could not be more impressed with it. There are many universal systems out there that claim to be able to mix in with other rules systems, but this one is easily the most compatible. The evil hat team has done a very very good job here, and after reading this I am now a true, hooked fan. Thanks for making available as pay what you want! Please kick in a some bucks to these guys if you like it- they deserve every penny!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Dave T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2013 00:00:00

Just what I needed to introduce new players to the fun of RPG's. From my experience it's awesome with kids. Definitely glad i added it to my tool kit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Eon F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/07/2013 21:19:42

FAE is a game that stands on its own- it's not just "The Intro to Fate." It's an interesting take on the Fate system, for sure. As others have written, instead of Skills you use something called Approaches- the system isn't interested in simulationism whatsoever. It's all about fast action and playing to your character's strengths. Fate has always been good at emulating genre, but FAE is particularly focused on the broader details of the setting and less so on choosing skills and stunts and whatnot.

It's especially good for one-shots, but be aware that the rules are different enough from Fate Core that they really are different games. If you want more rules crunch, I suggest going straight for Fate Core (personally, I also think Fate Core will give a stronger full-length campaign). Fate Accelerated stands on its own as a fast, rules-light game that gets to the action fast without soaking up prep time. If that's what you're looking for, FAE is perfect.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Dean K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2013 10:59:11

I have been playing the Fate Core System for over a year and have had a very enjoyable time. Either playing or running my own games it is a system that allows for excellent roleplaying opportunities. Some people may not like the lack of a rigid structure of skills and equipment but I find it allows for greater flexibility to do whatever you and the players want. When I saw the Accelerated Edition I had to pick it up. I haven't had a chance to use it yet but, if it follows after the Core, it should be a great experience.

-Dean



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2013 18:32:23

Fate Accelerated Edition is a rules light game that allows you, the GM, to run the game you really wanted to run. I've run several games using FAE everyone of them is been a great game. It's is a game to create a character in. It's an easy set of rules that let you run your game the way you want to. And, it's an easy set of rules for creating an adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Will S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2013 18:29:54

Fate Accelerated is a fun and simple system for pick up games with little to no prep, depending on your flexibility running a game with no holds barred and only a vague idea of the goals. That being said, it's very fun. Come up with a genre or plot and have your PC's build simple characters that are versatile as only FATE allows without complex rules that bog down the story!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Timothy a. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2013 17:54:28

Evil Hat is such a great company, I have been running a Dresden RPG for the past 3 months and have loved it. When they released Fate 4.0, I had to scoop it up. I work a job that is an overnight job and we have alot of down time, so I have been running the FATE Accelerated game on our downtime and we LOVE it!

The game is so quick and easy to set up. You can literally run ANY kind of game using this system. We've done games ranging from a Super Hobo RPG(don't ask) campaign to a watered down Dragon Ball-esque campaign using this little baby. Thanks to it, I bought the Fate CORE book and am super excited to expand on my current games using that book. The book is also well written and is great for new players who have never touched a FATE game as well as for people who have never Roleplayed in General. My wife even has played in a couple of games using this system, and she has never TOUCHED a RPG book in her life. I can't recommend this enough, and with the Pay What you Want Model, what have you got to lose? Try it Out today!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by James M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2013 17:06:36

I participated in the Kickstarter for this after reading favorable reviews of the fate system online, and I was not disappointed. Fate is quickly becoming one of my group's favorite systems. I'm running the more complex Fate Core, but I absolutely love the design of the Accelerated Edition as well. It takes an already fast, easy to play system and streamlines it to where you can take it, give a brief scan, and start playing with almost no prep, and have a fun adventure or even a whole campaign by the end of your session. I definitely recommend it if you're looking for a fast, fun, system that caters to fun storytelling and ease of use, or even if you want a simple to understand universal system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates