DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Dragon Isles Poster Map (Pirates & Dragons)
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2016 09:34:27

I had this map printed full size (2 feet x 3 feet) at a local print shop on glossy poster stock. It is gorgeous!

If you are a Pirates and Dragons players, or just a map geek this is one to add to your collection. High resolution, full colour art work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Isles Poster Map (Pirates & Dragons)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beyond the Wall - Further Afield
Publisher: Flatland Games
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2015 17:09:21

Further Afield is hands down the best "how to set up a campaign" sourcebook I have seen.

Building off the life-path character generation system in Beyond the Wall Further Afield ensures that every character is tied into the campaign world and that every player is invested in its development.

This supplement also includes four major campaign nemeses that can be used to provide background and overarching plot hooks if desired.

Combining this with Beyond the Wall it should be possible to roll up characters, create a campaign world, and just maybe even play the first adventure in a single long play session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall - Further Afield
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2014 11:07:17

A rare treasure. Based on the familar rules mechanics of the early editions of D&D, this is not a retro-clone. It truly does something different. Lloyd Alexander, Ursula LeGuin and JRR Tolkien in his lighter moments shine through. "Farmer Giles of Ham" could be a scenario pack for this game. I would add the Princess Bride, Ladyhawke, the Beastmaster and a healthy dollop of folklore to the inspirations.

Beyond the Wall does an excellent job of building characters who are real people with a reason to adventure together. The Village is built along with the characters in a fluid manner. There are hints of a deeper and broader world scattered through the game, "The Endless Pit of the West", the "Sunken City", the deserts of the East. None of these recieve any more fleshing out besides the name, but the names evoke a sense of adventuring possibilities.

This would be an excellent game to introduce new players to RPGing with. I think it would also shine as a convention game. Instead of being handed pregenerated characters with potted backgrounds the players can quickly build their own characters and backgrounds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OneDice Steampunk
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2014 13:33:51

A complete Steampunk RPG in a digest sized book.

One Dice provides a nice light RPG requiring only 1D6 per player. It covers skills, combat, experience and more. Resolution is a dice roll+Skill+Ability vs Target Difficulty.

The book is illustrated throughout in the style of the cover art.

The provided "skins" for Automatons, Lost Worlds and Gothic Horror provide good guidelines for any GM wishing to create their own Steampunk world. An alternate 19th Century background is provided as well. These are all optional and the game will not suffer at all if a GM decides to create his own campaign world.

Overall a nice light game to serve with tea and crumpets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Steampunk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OneDice Pirates & Dragons
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2014 13:24:20

Five reasons for Five Stars:

  1. The One Dice a Universal game system. Quick, easy, straightforward, but surprisingly robust rules light generic core mechanics.
  2. Pirates! Arr Maties, here there be pirates.
  3. Dragons! Flying, magic using, fire breathing, gold loving dragons.
  4. Extensive background. Almost the full background from the Pirates and Dragons Renaissance game is in this little book.
  5. Stand alone complete game. No need to buy the One Dice Universal core book or the Renaissance Pirates and Dragons book, this is a complete game.

One Dice provides a very quick to learn, easy to run system. The base mechanic is 1D6+Skills/Attributes vs Target Difficulty. It includes magic, character experience, skills, combat, ship bs ship combat and more.

Pirates and Dragons provides exactly what it says it does. Lots of pirates, from four different nationalities plus native Islanders, sea monsters, mythological beings, and of course Dragons! The setting is a riff on the Caribbean of the Golden Age of Piracy, but with magic, spirits, monsters and more. Little detail is given to the world beyond the basic setting, but that is covered in rich detail.

Each of the dragons detailed is a major personality with its own quirks. Some are worshipped by tribes of Islanders, at least one is Undead, some are shapeshifters.

For those who like the idea of Pirates and Dragons but want either a less expensive entry, or a lighter set of game mechanics I highly recommend One Dice Pirates and Dragons.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Pirates & Dragons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OneDice Universal
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2014 19:06:25

Should be 4 1/2 really.

A nice light game that I plan to use as filler while waiting for the full crew to show up on RPG night.

The rules are complete, but not ready to play. The GM will need to do a bit of world building first. This is why I knocked off a half-star. Even the three "skins" provided are just enough example to set the ball rolling, they are not complete.

People looking for a ready to play light game would likely be better served by picking up one of the forthcoming genre adaptations.

I am actually planning on using this most with the settings from other games that I don't want to have to teach yet another set of game mechanics to my players to enjoy. Once they get these rules down, which should be all of five minutes, they can jump right in to any setting.

I thought the inclusion of supers as a skin was an interesting choice. It is not a genre I play much an I wondered how such a light game would handle four-colour action. It actually looks to handle it pretty well. As I read through the powers and skills I found myself mentally building certain famous comic book heroes who matched the traits. Not every power that I would have liked to see was present, but there was a good list.

The Sci-Fi skin is for a humans only universe, which is a bit of a disappointment to me. I like aliens in my soap opera. But it should be easy enough to borrow some abilities from the Fantasy and Supers skins. The rules for starships could easily be used for Mecha or other vehicles and are surprisingly elegant.

The fantasy skin presents fairly standard Elves, Dwarves and Humans, with a spell casting system. I think that "Magic" an optional attribute for worlds with spellcasters could form a good basis for psionics as well.

No art beyond the cover, which is a pity as that is fun and it would have been nice to see more.

Rating: [4 of 5 Stars!]



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Majus
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/25/2013 15:44:16

Majus is Goblinoid's venture into urban fantasy, specifically Fantasy Noir. It covers much the same ground as Dresden Files or Mage:the Ascension.

Like other games in the Pacesetter line this one is based around the Action Table. A simple percentile dice roll on a one page table determines the outcome and degree of success of almost any action in the game.

The game is truly Old School in that it sketches but does not detail its background for GMs and players. There is a background included in this game, and it is a good one, but it can easily be ignored without causing major problems.

There are separate systems for Paranormal Talents and Magic. This is because they represent different abilities. Paranormal Talents tend to be narrowly focused psychic abilities. Magical "adits" are broad skills at using Magic to alter reality. Because magic is treated as skills there is no need for pages and pages of spell lists, components, etc. the components, chants, props etc used to invoke magic will vary from Mage to Mage depending on their tradition and training. Powerful and experienced mages may be able to cast magic merely by focusing their will upon the desired result.

The descriptions of the background to the Great Game and the Towers of the Maji are worth reading even if this background will not be use as they contain a number of examples of magical items, enchantments etc which will provide guidance for CMs and players to create their own.

The bestiary chapter includes a number of familiar creatures, but with new origins and abilities. These can provide some surprises for players who think they know it all.

A final note is that the game uses the same mechanics as Chill, Rot World, Crypt World and Time Master allowing elements from those games to be brought into Majus or magic to be brought into those games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Majus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate of the Norns: Ragnarok -- Fafnir's Treasure
Publisher: Pendelhaven
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 12:09:29

This is the adventure that I played for 16 hours straight! We ran hero ugh it three times at Carnage convention and each time it felt like a different adventure.

This is an excellent introduction to Fate of the Norns:Ragnarok.

Players will soon get a handle on the Runic Gaming System which is a large part of what makes FotN:R both unique and so rich in Biking character.

Somewhat unusually for starting quests this adventure allows the players the chance to grab some famous artifacts and to run shoulders with the more-than-human representatives of the gods and giants, possibly even choosing to work for one, the other, or both.

The art is also worth a mention. The cover gives a taste of the style. I find that it enhances the immersive feel of the game, looking very reminiscent of period artwork.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate of the Norns: Ragnarok -- Fafnir's Treasure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate of the Norns: Ragnarok
Publisher: Pendelhaven
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 12:02:15

If I could give this game six stars I would. I played it for 16 hours straight at Carnage last year and felt I only barely scratched he surface.

The presentation is first rate with a unique style of art that really evokes the feeling of period artwork.

The Runic play system is full score for evoking the Viking feel. It provides ever changing tactical engagement and allows players to be involved continually, even when in other rules the character would not be active.

The game is set during the End of the World. A bold move, but one that strongly encourages epic play. This is the saga of heroes, not the story of apprentices gone adventuring. Players are free to choose alliance with either the gods or the giants. Neither is entirely siding with the "good guys" or the "bad guys".

If you like epic tale telling, Vikings, and heroic adventure, this is the game for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate of the Norns: Ragnarok
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Age of Arthur
Publisher: Wordplay Games
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2013 13:38:47

I am a great fan of Arthurian myth, legend and history. This game hits a fantastic standard for that. Where King Arthur Pendragon takes Mallory and Morte d'Arthur as its starting place Age of Athur reflects Cornwell, Whyte and the Mabinogion.

This is not the Arthur of High Chivalry, this is a gritty, savage Dark Ages Arthur. The world of Age of Arthur is a world in darkness. The light of Rome has gone out of Britania, the savage Saxons threaten invasion, and petty kings and warlords bicker over the ruins.

The game runs on he Fate mechanics, derived from FUDGE. I am familiar with the latter, but this is my first encounter with Fate. I was very pleased by how well the game mechanics seem to support the style and feel of the game. This is a game about characters and their stories, with few if any arbitrary limitations imposed by dice or game points. Begining characters may be princes or beggars at the players' choice. Powerful wizards, apprentice Druids, knights, hunters, even scribes and clerks.

The game includes several styles of magic, which may be accessed by characters depending on their backgrounds. As befits the dedication required to work magic such characters will have fewer potencies in other areas.

I may not entirely replace King Arthur Pendragon with Age of Arthur, but they definitely will sit side by side.

And it is hard not to enjoy a game with such specialisms (special character bonuses) as "Be where the arrow isn't"



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Age of Arthur
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Harvest: Legacy of Frankenstein
Publisher: Iain Lowson
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2012 18:22:15

This game is Edwardian Science Fiction done right. I hesitate to call it "steampunk" although it has a very dark, dystopian setting.

What I like best about Dark Harvest is that it remains focused on its central conciet. This is not a kitchn sink steampunk world with magic and steam lords and secret societies and smoke and steam and... Instead thE focus is on King Frankenstein's brave new world of Promethea.

The first half of the book is system agnostic setting material. The works of fiction are very evocative and set the mood well. The details of Promethea are nicely done including maps of each county.

The game makes no assumptions about which side teh Players will be on. There are at least three major factions and the campaigncould feature any of them as central. These options are the opressive regime currently running the show, the Resistance, and the "true Prometheans" who follow Victor's original utopian viswion.

The game system is a d6 based dice pool system and includes the feature of Black Dice which represent situations and factors acting against the players. GMs and Players who favor a different set of mechanics should be able to use the setting with no difficulty.

This is a game fornhorror afficinados, buit offers plenty of politics, intrigue, and action as well as the horror.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Harvest: Legacy of Frankenstein
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beware, The Viper
Publisher: Rarr! I'm A Monster Publishing
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/25/2011 14:38:35

At Michael's advice I also purchased and played this. This adventure is no walk in the park.

The Viper is the scariest villain since Big Erik. Beware! He is coming...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beware, The Viper
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rotworld
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2011 13:13:52

Rot World is 65 pages of information dense zombie RPG.

The book contains almost no background, flavor text, setting or "fluff". It is almost solid rules, mechanics and examples of play.

The heart of the game is the Action Table, a single table that can be used to resolve any action or conflict. Much of the rules text is examples of how to implement and interpret this table in play. Everything from determining the contents of the Kwik-e-Mart on the corner to combat against a horde of zombies.

I am not a fan of crunchy games, but in this case I will make an exception. This is not crunch for the sake of adding extraneous detail or rules for the sake of rules. Every rule and piece of crunch is here for a reason and will likely be used in play.

The sections on creating zombies and the breakdown of civilization are gems. A very wide variety of options and styles are presented with individual gamers being free to mix and match to suit their own tastes. Fast zombies created by a toxic waste spill out to eat your liver in a slow spreading infestation? Radioactive, intelligent, but slow shamblers consuming all flesh in a fast moving apocalypse? Psychic zombies from outer space? Take your pick.

Rules describe the rate of spread of the infestation, and the effects on various aspects of society. Very useful for those who wish to set their games at the beginning, middle or end of the outbreak.

This is the best product to come out of the OSR I have seen yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rotworld
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Death Phrogg Attack
Publisher: Fabled Worlds
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2011 09:14:08

A fun fantasy romp. Very much a Ken St Andre adventure. Some good laughs, plenty of choices, and the deadly Marshkeetos. My one real complaint is that it is too short. But for a free adventure it is well worth the price of admission.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Death Phrogg Attack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cellars of Castle Cassoulet
Publisher: Fabled Worlds
by David C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2011 09:06:56

BEAN! Goes Gothic. This fun little solo brings a gothic horror dungeon crawl to BEAN.

"Zombeans" and ghosts a plenty, a horrible secret to uncover. Chills, thrills, and even a few laughs.

This is an excellent little solo and well worth the price of admission.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cellars of Castle Cassoulet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates