DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Teratic Tome $9.99 $6.66
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
10 14
7 0
2 1
1 0
0 0
Teratic Tome
Click to view
Teratic Tome
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/03/2017 05:56:37

An Endzeitgeist.com review

The pdf of this massive book clocks in at 118 pages, 2 pages of editorial, 1 alphabetical list of monsters, 2 pages of art-credit, 1 page author bio, 2 pages of SRD, leaving us with a massive 110 pages of content. My review is mostly based on the hardcover print version, but more on that in the conclusion.

First a word of warning: This is a tome of MONSTERS in the literal sense of the word; the creatures herein are not for the faint of heart and the target demographic of this book would obviously be adults. The artworks does contain gruesome nightmare fuel, the text mentions explicit and gory details and the pdf does feature nudity. So if any of those disqualify this book for you, well, you have been warned. If you have triggers, I'd also strongly suggest skipping this one.

All right, only people left that can take the look into the abyss? Great. Remember, you have been warned.

We begin this book with one page of explanatory notes regarding monster presentation - treasure tables, movement rates and a THAC0 (here called TAZ - target Armor Zero) should provide no issues. We have, obviously, descending AC here. The page also explains how to roll d10000, for example. In short - in all brevity, it makes reading the entries easy.

So, what exactly is this? The easiest way to picture this book would be as a dark fantasy/horror monster manual. Have you ever bemoaned that there is no LotFP-MM? Do you need creatures for a twisted dark fantasy game? Look no further. I am so not kidding you, but be warned - this is not for the faint of heart!

The monsters herein could be categorized in various ways, the first of which would be "twisted takes on classic creatures" - take halflings. They are thoroughly vile creatures that worship Elizabeth Lack-Heart as their patron goddess. They also arrange their settlements in a way that tries to spell, on a civilization-level, the name of their goddess...and all good deities beware if they succeed. Instead of providing whole classes of dragon, the book provides 10 venerable dragons, all of which are unique beings with their own powers, tricks and background story and range from over 10 K XP-values to a massive over 50K XP moloch, namely Uchorah-Thanaphor, atrous dragon. The arrival of this harbinger of doom is preceded by strange shifts in weather, unexpected outbursts of violence and suicides and worse...

How can you make gelatinous cubes, as a concept, weirder? Well, the pyramidal version herein sports translucent, blue eyes. Lesion ghouls would be charred corpses, coated in a layer of carnivorous insects. Obsidian golems are actually magical mechas, fused with elven warriors that can never escape their horrid prison- absolutely insane, elven pilots with even more bloodlust than their xenophobic brethren, mind you. Aquatic gnolls actually are lawful creatures with terrible, lamprey-like, ringed mouths.

What's the worst you can think of as an origin myth for beholder-like entities? Well, there would be the audiences as a monster class: Lumps of flesh, stitched together by the halflings of the tenebrous crypt, to act as collective vessels for the mad necromancers. "Then, Shauva Tiridan, the mad mage, took their eyes" - and created another creature, basically eye-spiders. Clever way to get past any possible copyright issues...and the audiences are disturbing indeed, featuring, for example, a lump of swollen, buboes-covered mass with a central maw and 5 perpendicular tentacles ending in moray-like snapping jaws.

You will have noticed at this point that the book makes excellent use of the space it has due to the relative brevity of OSR-stats, providing detailed, often inspiring and pretty dark angles to use the particular monsters, more than one of which has a serial killer style modus operandi to slay and choose its victims. Partially, these are explained in the way the creature was made, for there are quite a lot of unique adversaries herein - like the Tutor, who abducts people in love and tries to force them to kill one another...and even winning in this horrible game will not prove solace. Told you. Allcaps monsters. The grossly mutated and unstable Pearl Riverbend, with grotesque spitting serpent appendages and oversized hands may be considered to be tragic, while e.g. the Cruhardac, a being that abducts groups of people to create art from the viscera and leave the last one alive would be many things, but tragic is not one of them.

As you may have noticed, many of these beings basically have an adventure's seeds already included in their presentation. Another leitmotif would be disgusting creatures conjured forth to hunt down those that have sinned in some way: Whether versus a deity, by being unfaithful, etc. - chances are that some agent of retribution (read: Sadistic overkill levels of vengeance) can be found within these pages. More than one of these creatures is btw. not above inciting such events themselves, ensuring that they always have a sufficient amount of sinners to punish...

Speaking of retribution - the three kritarchs, dread servants of the goddess Nemesis (play the Arch Enemy song as boss theme), also get full stats here. Horrid amalgamations of flesh and steel like the Magistrate speak of the fall of mythic Mecha-Zel; several of the creatures within this book hint at legends and places you can easily discard...or develop further. The same goes for more than one of the legendary adversaries herein: Like Malchior, the thief that stole death's secrets - who is now looking for an anointed successor. Or Baskra, who seeks to goad powerful mortals into foolish decisions that cause untold misery by the use of his dream-implantation powers and his masterful wielding of most people's fear of death.

How would you picture the dread Chimæra queen? "[She] has the torso of a humanoid female. From between her shoulders juts a cluster of green tentacles ending in 3 black claws. Her arms are long, and her body is covered in pale, green thorns. Between her legs, there's a pale blue tentacle, from which grow several smaller tentacles. This main tentacle ends in her head, which is topped by white tentacles that writhe around her face. The Queen's tongue is long and grey and dry, ending in a wad of tissue tipped with spikes. Her legs are pale blue with dark brown spots, each ending in three spikes." The amazing thing is that the artwork manages to portray this monstrosity as a plausible, utterly alien and frightening THING. Though the angle presented for her is even cooler: You see, she is basically interested in forcing evolution's hand...and she likes the thrill of hunting armed prey.

There also would be demons and devils, particularly of the unique-and-very-powerful variety...or an insane, old hag that likes stitching her victims to her patchwork flesh...and her colorful house and giant stuffed animals in the yard make pretty clear who the intended victims of the seamstress are, right? Have I mentioned that these are MONSTERS? That this book is DARK?

Even ole' Pantagruel is not the gentle giant you remember. He has sailed the oceans and now he's back. Good news: When you lay eyes upon him and have less than 2 HD, you're dead. Bad news: The giant is utterly insane and on a killing spree of kindness: What he has seen beyond the seas has convinced him that all creation, every living thing, should get a mercy-killing post-haste...to avoid the horrors to come. He's btw. the titan on the full-color cover image, as far as I could tell.

The book also features encounter tables by type and level, just fyi!

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are impressively well-done, I noticed no grievous glitches. Layout adheres to a no-frills two-column b/w-standard that is pretty printer-friendly. Now, if you like dark artworks, then this will have you smile from ear to ear - each and every monstrosity herein comes with an impressive piece of b/w-artwork depicting the creature, the vast majority of which obviously are originals made for this book. The pdf version comes with excessive, nestled bookmarks.

Again, if you have a trigger, if you have issues with depictions of really dark and gory material, then this is not for you. This is pretty much a black metal -level dark bestiary full of thoroughly vile, despicable, dastardly things that literally not even the most righteous paladin would blink an eye at killing. Thought the BoVD's critters were bad? Pfff. Believe me, they are really tame in comparison.

If you're looking for nice creatures for a family-friendly game, this is not for you. This is the antithesis of that and you won't be happy with it.

What I'm trying to say is that this book has a very specific target demographic and those that do not fall into this demographic will probably be shocked, disgusted, etc.

That is very much intentionally the case. Rafael Chandler's book does not try to be a bestiary for everyone.

The teratic tome's mission statement is, I quote: "This enrichidion of entities should only be used by DMs inclined towards malfeasance, sadism, and base wrongdoing." I'd disagree there - sadism doesn't really have anything to do with it. The creatures herein are hard, deadly and often disturbing; an abundance of them will make a campaign feel dark indeed. But, from a design point of view, I did not consider them to be sadistic or dickish - they are easy to run and don't provide juvenile "Haha, you lose!" mechanics.

In short: If you are looking for creatures that are perfect for a dark fantasy or horror game, including a VAST array of unique foes, then oh boy, you won't find anything better or more vile out there. Even if you're playing another system like PFRPG or 5e or even Esoterrorists/Fear Itself/etc., you'll find your share fair of wicked ideas in these pages.

Not sure whether this is for you? Well, here's the deal: This is PWYW as per the writing of this review. When I got this book, I paid its former asking price of $6.66 for it and it was worth every cent. In fact, I got the hardcover as well - which, btw., is an orange-spined, gorgeous thing that seamlessly fits next to your old-school gaming material...and which can, at this point, be similarly bought for an at-cost price. That is damn impressive for a book of this quality and means that, if you're even remotely interested in a book of truly EVIL things...then you should definitely check this out.

Personally, I love some disturbing horror in my game; not all the time, but this book most definitely delivers that component in spades. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Teratic Tome
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by Aaron T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2015 21:31:47

I'm only part way through this book, and I'm blown away. This is the perfect cross between 1e AD&D and DCC RPG. I want to get this bound with an orange spine. The entire production makes it worthy to sit beside my old-school TSR books. This is what they should have put out instead of Legends & Lore. The writing, the art, the layout and fonts are all spot on.

I can't wait to unleash some of these horrors on my players!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Teratic Tome
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by Barbara H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2014 23:13:50

Two words: amazingly creepy! This is one of the few monster manuals I have ever perused that made me sort of creeped out for a moment. All I must say is pick the book up! I paid for my copy and the money was well spent, but it's available to everyone for whatever price they want to pay or free, for those who are so inclined. My only suggestion is that the author make a version that's Pathfinder RPG compatible with full-color art and it would be even more cool!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much, Barbara! I will definitely think the Pathfinder idea over. Best regards, Rafael
Teratic Tome
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by Nathanael C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2013 16:05:15

This is hands-down the best collection of OSR-compatible creatures I've yet read. After reading through twice, I'm definitely ready to inflict monstrous suffering upon my group's characters! My only complaint is the plethora of female-only sexualized creatures. I don't have a problem with that, except that it would be nice for more of a gender balance there. I hope that any future follow-ups might add more gender variety in its perversions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Teratic Tome
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by John M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2013 21:02:18

I found the horrifying monsters in this supplement to be quite refreshing. Gone is all the polish that I disdain. I receive visceral responses from my older, seasoned players when they see these things. I love that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Teratic Tome
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by Rich F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2013 09:05:08

The short summary: this book is great if you like tentacles, chitonous claws/exoskeletons, and exposed human female breasts, doubly so if you like two or more to be present on the same creature. Otherwise, not so much.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Teratic Tome
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by Steven S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2013 20:02:33

The long version, as pulled from my first Phylactery of the Unvincible Stevillord ( http://www.nerdtitan.com/2013/05/27/phylactery-of-the-unvincible-stevillord-1st-edition/ ):

The copy for this product starts off “This enchiridion of entities should only be used by DMs inclined towards malfeasance, sadism, and base wrongdoing” and it is precisely spot-on. Only $2.62 as of this writing, this may be the best few bucks you have ever spent on an RPG product.

Geared for the d20/OSR crowd, Teratic Tome can be used for just about anything– even as an inspirational guide for what to throw into fantasy fiction. This book is old school in tone and presentation, and with only a single page of explanatory text, this manual of monsters kicks off right away and does not fuck around. Things get real right off the dire bat with the Acronical and don’t let up until Zombie, Verminated. In between all of that are some of the most interesting and downright evil creatures my eyeballs have ever barely not popped out of my head, screamed, and ran away from, well, screaming.

Author Rafael Chandler weaves an astonishing web of pain amercements for gleeful Gamemasters to throw at their players. Aberrations, undead, fully whatthefuckisthat class creatures… Like the multi-stage Farrago, which is the gaming equivalent of chucking your player’s characters into a woodchipper. The Farrago is “universally hated by all life forms, it is killed on sight by nearly every intelligent being that encounters it; still, no one knows where the entity comes from, or why its worms are found in every part of the world” and if it’s left long enough, it turns into an HD 30 “nightmarish melange of arms, legs, limbs, heads, mouths, and randomly placed eyes and spines” reeking of eggs and vinegar.

The art of Teratic Tome is an excellent assortment from a variety of talented sources. It really does read like the vicious Monster Manual you always wanted. Well, if you wanted a vicious Monster Manual and listen to a LOT of Slayer. This book is laid out in stunningly simple-but-effective fashion and is easy to look at and read.

If I have to pick a gripe, it’s that this book needs bookmarking in PDF. The one I bought didn’t have it, anyway. Really,that’s my only complaint. It’s all in alphabetical order, and scrolling through the two-column format, 120-page book is a breeze. [[UPDATE NOTE: This was corrected, so this gripe is thankfully worthless now-- huzzah!]]

This sucker gets 4.5 Baconlich Kings out of 5.

The short version: This monster manual will kick your ass. Not for kids, and not for wimpy players or GMs. Get your badass on and get this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Teratic Tome
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by Casey J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2013 16:11:33

This has to be one of the most refreshing monster books ever published. The book is laid out very well with excellent artwork. Reading the monster descriptions conjures up all kinds of interesting and horrifically entertaining scenarios. Definitely worth every penny and more. I'll definitely be putting this to good use. The only thing that is missing from the book though is bookmarks. That is a necessity when trying to look up monsters quickly. Other than that, this book is stellar and I highly recommend it to anybody who has a love for monster tomes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words, Casey! I've added bookmarks -- great idea! Best regards, Rafael
Teratic Tome
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/20/2013 17:05:12

The Teratic Tome is an "old school" monster book for OSRIC or any old School "Advanced" version of the game. What do you get? Well a lot. Let's start with some of the things that others have not all mentioned first. This book is 100% OGC. So if you want to use one of these horrors in one of your products go right ahead. Just abide by the OGL. There are a lot of reasons why you might want to use these monsters too. They are some of the most original horrors I have seen outside of indie horror games.

The layout and feel is evocative of those "monster manuals" of old. It does quite a nice job of it too. The art though is much better than what you would have seen circa 1980. The art varies in style, but all of it is quite good. Now is a good time to point out that the art and the monsters they depict are not for the faint of heart. There is a lot of "body horror" here. The grotesque mixed with the commonplace or even the erotic. The feeling is more Clive Barker than H.P. Lovecraft and I think that was a great direction to go.

Truthfully I would have picked this up for the demons and dragons alone, but there are 120 pages worth monsters here. Even the halflings are evil little buggers in this tome.

If you like horror and new creatures, and your players can handle it, then this is a great monster book. If you like horror and monster books in general, then this is great to have as well.

Plus who can argue with a $6.66 price tag?

Who should not get this? I don't know really. I mean I am not going to use any of these creatures in my games with my kids. So that does lessen the utility for me, but I can still use some ideas. And that is just as good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Teratic Tome
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by brianna S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2013 19:04:37

Teratic Tome is one of the few monster manual style books I've purchased, and there are quite a few reasons why I did. First and foremost is the monsters within are terrifying - haunting and thrilling, skin-crawling and nightmarish, but few have cliched, stereotypical stories. These monsters have life in them - the smells, the sounds, and the motivations of these creatures is detailed and gives a fuller world to build scary stories and bad dreams off of. The art is awesome, and it feels right even when it's just so, so wrong. I fully recommend Teratic Tome, even if you're just looking for some inspiration!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Teratic Tome
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by Daniel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2013 17:22:05

The Teratic Tome is like the Monster Manual and the Fiend Folio mashed up, stripped of the dross, and dialed up to eleven. The monsters in this book are unique, formidable, and often truly horrifying. The art is top-flight, and the Tome goes the extra mile to create its own internal mythos, enough to fuel an entire bloody, grueling campaign. This is the best RPG product I've purchased in a long time. If you're any kind of fan of D&D or even just awesome monsters, you owe it to yourself to pick this up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Teratic Tome
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by William W. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/28/2013 11:42:29

Teratic Tome is a retro-styled monster manual compatible with OSRIC and other old-school fantasy role-playing games. The cover and interior have been designed to capture the look and feel of some of the classic AD&D hardcover books of the early to mid-80s – the fonts, organization, and colors are all there, and a dead tree copy of this tome would fit right in next to the original orange-spined core books.

The monsters within are truly monstrous, not just big and hairy, and could easily cover a shift to let one of Clive Barker’s Cenobites have a day off. There seems to be a strong theme of creatures that seek out specific victims – the Acronical, for example, is an insectile beast created by ancient priests to find and destroy those who have been unfaithful to their spouses, as well as any who have aided and abetted such activity. The Epexiant is a tentacled serpent who seeks out those who are so wracked with grief that they do not wish to carry on with their lives. (What it does when it finds one, I won’t go into.) And these are not even entries from the demon or devil sections!

These are not monsters for a cheerful, fairy-taleish dungeon crawl. The dragons feature a list of horrific events that occur to herald their approach – unnatural weather, animal slaughter, and much worse. The halflings keep hell hounds as pets, and torture their captives for entertainment. If you’ve been looking for a bestiary to flesh out a Lovecraftian mythos styled fantasy campaign, I think you need look no further.

The artwork is superb, and other than a few typos and a section where some paragraphs were repeated, the layout and content is excellent. It’s difficult to read most of the entries without getting ideas about how to work them into a game, even as you’re shuddering at the thought. And that’s really where Teratic Tome shines – the attention to the details and motivations of the creatures really brings them off of the page.

As a side note - there’s an interesting twist on the way treasure is handled that would be worth using in most of your OSR games, even if you don’t get a lot of use out of the monsters.

Because I review a lot of RPG products with young people in mind, I feel obligated to say that these are NOT monsters to put into a campaign that you’re going to run for your kids. Please don’t. Save these for the grownups. And only the grownups with strong stomachs. Please.

My two gripes: The beautiful retro-styled cover isn’t a part of the PDF, and I think reading the monster entries before bed every night for the last few days may have given me nightmares. And some plot ideas. Okay, make that one gripe.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Teratic Tome
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by Shane O. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/27/2013 10:52:38

Sometimes it isn’t enough for a GM to throw tough monsters at his PCs. Sometimes he wants creatures that shock, disgust, and horrify them; creatures so foul in appearance and action that the responses to them are visceral. Sometimes, a GM needs to break out the Teratic Tome, by Neoplastic Press.

This one hundred-twenty page book – written for OSRIC – is expertly constructed, featuring full nested bookmarks and has copy-and-paste enabled. Far more noteworthy, however, is the artwork. Ye gods the artwork. A talented team of artists illustrated this book, presenting us with a black and white picture for almost every monster featured herein (I think maybe one doesn’t have a picture). I suppose I should warn that there are a number of monsters that have a feminine form, and thus there are quite a few bare breasts here, but really such a warning is hollow – these creatures are universally twisted images of horror, and there’s absolutely nothing prurient about them. The images herein are the sort of things that would make H. P. Lovecraft recommend that the artists seek professional help.

Of course, the illustrations in this book are reflections of the writing of author Rafael Chandler. I can only presume that Chandler dreamed up these monsters while smoking weed mixed with the ashes of Ed Gein, since what’s here are uniformly twisted beings. Take, for instance, the curhadac. While not too visually arresting, this insect-man-thing will always kidnap seven victims, bringing them all together and letting them watch as he slowly, painfully kills the victim. He then breaks down the pieces into art supplies (e.g. bones for a stand, skin for canvas, blood for paint, etc.) and paints a picture of one of the remaining six victims. It then repeats this process until there’s only one victim left, to which it sets free, with the other six pictures given as a gift.

That’s basically a par-for-the-course monster in this book.

Fascinatingly, there’s something of an undercurrent to many of the monsters here. While some, like the aforementioned curhadac, simply do what they do, a number of these monsters seek out particular kinds of victims based around themes of punishing bad people. The ruqoloi, for instance, only hunts blasphemers, punishing them by ripping out the organ they used to perpetrate their blasphemy (e.g. tearing out their tongue if it was spoken)…of course, it will also punish those who knew of the blasphemy and didn’t speak out against it, but such people are, by the monster’s logic, guilty also. Several monsters operate like that, such as the altar beast, that preys on those who would divorce.

What’s even more interesting are the hints the author drops throughout the various monstrous write-ups that these all exist against the backdrop of a specific world. Proper names, of places and individuals, are casually mentioned, but given very little exposition. We hear about lunatic sorceress Shauva Tiridan, or the Tenebrous Halflings of the Infinite Crypt, or the gnomes of Mecha Zel. Given the number of unique creatures in this world – such as the ten Venerable Dragons, each of which seems to bring forth some sort of particular apocalypse (in the days before each dragon arrives, horrible things are listed as happening) – this campaign world clearly seems to be on that is doomed, and may always have been.

The book closes out with a set of encounter tables based on both the monster’s type and its level, along with a helpful list of who produced what artwork. A quick about the author is given, along with blurbs for some of his other works (both novels), but I suspect that I’m going to need some time before I delve into Rafael Chandler’s works again…though now I certainly will.

In closing, this is a book that GMs should use if they want to make their players feel uncomfortable and afraid. Used right, these will be the creatures that will give your PCs nightmares for a long time to come. Even if your brand of D&D isn’t First Edition/OSRIC, I still strongly recommend you pick this book up; these monsters are absolutely worth going through the conversion process. Open the Teratic Tome, and your game will never be the same.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
This is what I want my obituary to say: ‎"I can only presume that Chandler dreamed up these monsters while smoking weed mixed with the ashes of Ed Gein." Thank you!
Teratic Tome
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by erik f. t. t. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/23/2013 18:51:10

Wow.

Simply f'n wow.

The Teratic Tome is a monster manual of sorts for OSRIC - that's if you took Lovecraft, Barker, King and our own James Raggi , put them in a blender with the urine of a virgin and performed some unholy rituals that shall forever remain nameless.

The art is amazing. The art is disturbing. The art has lots and lots of boobs, and at least one female-like monster with the following accurately portrayed:

Where its genitals should be, it sports a glistening mass of foot-long tentacles that end in barbs and hooks. Its skin smells of lavender.

There is so much in here that I want to drop into my AD&D 1e / OSRIC romp through Rappan Athuk - thankfully BTB went out after the first session ;)

The descriptions are great. They literally have story hooks right in them for the most part. The default world that these creatures frequent must be one notch worse than the 3e Midnight Campaign.

I felt disturbed reading parst of this and uncomfortable in others, much like a good horror fiction novel. And yet I kept flipping the virtual pages. Like an addict. There can be no higher praise.

As a side note, it appears the art and the stat block for the Audience on page 9 are missing. Or maybe I'm blind just like the Audience is ;)

The price of $6.66 is total appropriate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Teratic Tome
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/23/2013 15:04:41

Looking for cool monsters for your old school games? Look no further than Evolved Grottoes & Griffons: Teratic Tome from +Rafael Chandler. This volume of new and original monsters was created for use with OSRIC, but as we all know it can easily be adapted to any old school game, with a little bit of effort.

Chandler has developed the (now free) horror RPG Spite: The Second Book of Pandemonim, from which a number of these creatures have been derived for use in Chandler's own old school fantasy campaign. These monsters are not your father's (or big brother's) old school monsters. Over one hundred monsters from Chandler's game and imaginings fill the Teratic Tome.

The illustrations in this volume are amazing and straddle the line between an old school and newer schools of thought. Honestly, I think that the art in this book is going to set a high bar for future supplements of this type.

As for the creatures themselves... If you would imagine, for a moment, if H.P. Lovecraft and Clive Barker collaborated on an AD&D monster manual, you would have the Teratic Tome. Honestly, I don't know if I need any more to this review than that one sentence. Seriously, but this buy already. These are definitely monsters with a horror influence to them, but for me that is what makes them cool. There is definitely a Lovecraft meets Barker meets Moorcock meets Warhammer 1e vibe to these creatures that makes me want to use them immediately in a game. There are definitely creatures in this book that are not for the faint of heart, or for those with children in their games, but that is a good thing. There need to be more gaming material produced for a variety of ages and maturity levels, particularly by writers who are as good at this as Rafael Chandler. From the creatures in this book, this man must have some doozies of nightmares, but for those of us who like a dose of the strange and disturbing in our role-playing games, I have to say that I am glad that he does.

All of these creatures have engaging, detailed and provocative write-ups and descriptions that make you want to use them. There are so many hints and suggestions about the worlds that these creatures inhabit that will add new depth and variety to your old school games.

[find more at the Dorkland! Blog at http://dorkland.blogspot.com/2013/01/from-fever-imaginings-of-rafael.html]



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates