DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Dungeon World $10.00
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
83 33
12 8
3 2
3 0
1 0
Dungeon World
Click to view
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Robert E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2018 16:21:05

Some notes and suggestions.

  • The game itself is topnotch. Excellent system. Well written. Five stars. Buy it.
  • The e-book version, which is greatly appreciated, has some wonky graphical issues and missing headers (I'm using Google Play Books), but it reads fine.
  • A number of downloaders are confused by the multiple files. Although it seems pretty straightforward to me, maybe some explanation is required. I would, however, eliminate the "all files" zip archive since DriveThru zips the files anyway.
  • If there is ever a second edition, I recommend having the cover artist do the interior illustrations as well.

None of these quibbles diminish my wholehearted enthusiasm for this book. Enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Why C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2018 23:50:36

I love using this system to introduce new folks to the world of tabletop RPGs. Fast and fun, while still retaining a familiar flavour that even seasoned gamers can enjoy. Dungeon World nudges the unique Apocalypse World resolution system into more comfortable territory, making it a solid way to shift traditional gamers into a more narrative system as well. This book has everything you need to run a game-- any game-- with minimal prep and maximum enjoyment. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Theodore S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2018 11:21:20

Im new to the system but not roll playing games and I found this to be a breath of fresh air. This is such an easy setup, simple rules to get new folks to game and a very fulling move and pacing system that I've fallen in love with. I'm not sure I can go back to traditional D&D any more...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by gabriel o. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2017 06:18:53

Just played my first ever session as a GM with a group that had never played an RPG before (myself included) and we all loved it, it's the day after and the entire group are already asking me when out next session will be!

The rulebook makes starting very easy for new players but I can see how easily it can have more complex levels added to it, I highly reccomend Dungeon World.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by James R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2017 16:02:33

Great game so far.

We have only run one session, but very keen on continuing. It plays fluid and instrinsically keeps interest in a way that some games don't.

Some transitioning awkwardness came from falling back into D&D routines, but I'm sure with a bit of experience these can smooth out. The game coaches you through a lot of this implicitly anyway.

The rules are a bit squishier than I am used to, and I'd say if you like games like Torchbearer, Dungeon World might be a stretch.

It very much looks like a smaller publisher's game, as while the art is nice enough, it is clear they haven't poured money into artists, so don't expect Pathfinder-style art. But this publishing style also allows for a more conversational book, which makes a lot of sense, considering the nature of the hobby.

In short, liking it a lot. Not a revolution in gaming, but if you like D&D, or similar games, and you're sick of pausing the game to do some research because someone decided to grapple, you should definitely check this out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Gary C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2016 15:22:28

Dungeon World is such a light free system. I'm using it to introduce my brother to rpgs, because it's simple to learn and full of possibilities. I loved hearing it played on Friends at the Table, and having tried it for myself now, I like it even more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Tomer G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2016 11:43:34

If I have to run any sort of game that feels anything like Dungeons and Dragons, it's going to be Dungeon World. This is the perfect RPG that has all the elements of classic D&D lore and feeling, and for whatever reason just exudes the flavor I felt playing D&D as a kid 30 years ago. Additionally, it's a great starter system for anyone familiar with classic RPGs, but looking to get into the Apocalypse World style of GMing and games. The book reads partly as a how-to for the system itself, but so much of it actually reads as a how-to for GM-ing in general. The advice here is great for running almost any role playing game. Absolutely fantastic game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Jaan E. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2016 13:05:24

Dungeon World is one of the best indie RPG's out there. It combines celver mechanics with a strong poetry layer that darws you in. It is also a very diverse game playbol both by pepole who never played a RPG in their love as well as pepole who have played RPG's for most of their lives. It takes the best parts of Apolcalypse World and adds it's own flavour to it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Joshua F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2015 17:18:34

Been playing since ad&d1e. These rules support what I always wanted out of the tabletop experience. This is a great entry point to tabletop, easy to learn and fast ro set up, it is deeply satisfying for veteran players as well. Cheap enough to be an impulse buy, but after using it online I wanted a physical copy. The approach to running a game directly translates to any system, and has flatl out made me better GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Spencer S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2015 12:29:08

Great system to introduce people to the DnD genera.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2015 01:47:03

This is such a good book. I learned a lot about dming from this. The partial successes and interesting failures really add to a game. The section on fronts completely changed the way I run campaigns / adventures. I've recommended the front section to many people off the back of "My campaign isn't working how I expected it to." conversations. I'm running a lot classic D&D adventures using Dungeon World and I no longer have so much of an issue waiting until my players are a specific level before throwing stuff at them. First level characters are more powerful than 1st level D&D characters, there isn't such a gap between levels, and the way monsters are designed means the game runs in a narrower power band than D&D. There are bits about this game that are obviously good and there are bits about this game that are subtly good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2015 20:59:34

I played this game several times with different roles. I found it easy to learn with clear language and instructive book. For those taking the role of GM, Dungeon Worlds great mechanized tools for great game mastering techniques written in a plain language. I recommend it for anyone who wishes to learn the role of GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Jody C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2015 13:15:39

Great system, even if your not going to play it is a wealth of ideas and information for players and game masters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/10/2015 11:19:38

Dungeon World is a "D&D-like" game based on the Apocalypse World game engine. Like a favorite of mine, Monsterhearts, the base system has had some changes to reflect the nature of the game being played. So DW features stats named "Strength", "Constitution", "Dexterity", "Intelligence", "Wisdom" and "Charisma". This makes playing DW a little more familiar to those of us that cut our baby teeth on D&D. DW is a large book, 400+ pages and it basically details the sorts of things one can do in a D&D-like game. I keep saying D&D-like because that is really what this is. This is not D&D, nor is it a clone. It is a different system to achieve the same sort of stated goals. Though there are other things you can do as well. There are a lot of reviews for DW out there. It is a well reviewed game with good reviews. I have not played DW myself, so I can't speak for the game play, but the rules read easy enough. In DW there is a very basic mechanic (The Move) and it is up to the player to describe what that is. After that it is a simple Attribute+die roll vs. Target Number roll. In this case the Target Number is 10, but things happen if you roll a 7-9 or below a 6. This is similar to many modern games. The attribute modifiers for DW are the same as most Old-School D&D/Clones, ie 18 = +3 (not +4). This makes using your current character a bit easier in some respects. Chapter 3 covers the Character Creation. Chapter 4 covers Basic and Special moves. Each chapter after that is dedicated to each of the character classes and their class-specific moves. Each class gets about 8 pages, and then some more for spells. All the classics are here. The Barbarian is even added as a seperate file as a value add. Chapter 13 covers how to Game Master, Chapter 14 covers the first session and Chapter 15 covers areas or Fronts where the action will happen. Not bad chapters actually. Chapter 17 covers the monster creation and use guidelines. After the monsters are divided up by locales or by theme. Chapter 18 cover equipment including magic items.

What does DW offer the D&D Player?
Given the more narrative focus (and less crunch) of DW, D&D players can get some more tips on role-playing, setting up adventures and more immerseve play in general. It seems to me that DW was created as a retort to 4th ed D&D and it's focus on battle-mat play. It is rather compatible though with 5e. Many of same ideas in terms of playing a character or running a game are in both games. For $10.00 for a PDF and at 400+ pages it would be a nice resource for a group wanting to continue in the same world or the same characters, just looking for some more depth and faster play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World
Publisher: Sage Kobold Productions
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/02/2014 07:02:14

WHAT WORKS: Holy smokes...talk about taking the World Engine and running with it. These guys clearly have a fondness for D&D tropes, because you don't write a 400 page book about emulating D&D tropes in a different game system without having some kind of fondness for it. Again, speaking from experience, the World Engine does work pretty well, so long as you're not afraid to improvise. The bestiary is impressive and covers a LOT of ground (not surprising, given the context of the game). Lots and lots of explanations.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: They may have updated it since then, but the PDF I've got had some clickable bookmarks and page numbers that went back to the first page instead of where they were supposed to go. This is still going to be an exhausting game if you can't improvise well (or your group just doesn't want to play along).

CONCLUSION: This is D&D for folks who don't want to play D&D. If you like the D&D tropes but want something lighter and more free flowing, this is a really good choice. If there's something that isn't quite clicking with the game, some folks made a Dungeon World Beginner's Guide as well that'll help you out. Given my experiences with tremulus, I'm inclined to consider Dungeon World for my group's eventual visit to Ravenloft, though part of me really just wants to go into an open setting and see what happens. It covers a TON of ground...before turning around and giving enough advice and examples for you to tinker with it however you need to in order to fill out the game you want to play. Adding it to the short list of games I want to get to the table sooner, rather than later.

For my full review, please visit http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2014/01/tommys-take-on-dungeon-world.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 43 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates