DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
2013 Fantasy Female Calendar and Print Set
Publisher: Stainless Steel Dragon
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/26/2012 13:38:41
Just what is says on the cover. 2013 calendar.
Each month is presented as a "Wall Calendar" and "Desk Calendar". So 50+ pages.
Models are the same as other products, but new poses and shots. Also the models names for each month are listed.
For 5 bucks (or under 3 on sale) its a great deal.

There is some scantily clad women but still more tame than similar products.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
2013 Fantasy Female Calendar and Print Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Dragon Names
Publisher: Ennead Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/26/2012 13:28:27
100 names, 50 cents. What could be better?
Exactly what it says on the cover.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Dragon Names
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Clipart Critters 251 - The Last Straw
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/19/2012 11:45:44
I love Clipart Critters.

Often times I am in need of something special for a project, I want to pay for it and have to rights to publish it with my work but I don't spend a ton of money on a custom piece.

These are great. They are more often than not exactly what I need when I need it.
This one is no exception.
Great piece of art with easy to understand license at a great price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clipart Critters 251 - The Last Straw
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bathory - AoV Solo (M&M3e)
Publisher: Xion Studios
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/16/2012 19:21:36
Vampires have an odd role to play in a supers game, something this book recognizes.
This takes one of the most iconic vampires in myth and one of the most notorious real-life killer and adds her to the Mutants & Masterminds 3.0 game.
The author gives us an interesting back story that should be familiar to most anyone with an interest in vampires. There is a new, more up-to-date backstory of her activities from 2001 and on.

The crunch part, her stats and powers are good and they look "right" to me.
There is also a template for a Bathory-lineage vampire, which is a good one to use in a game. Her PL is 12, which makes her a good threat against most supers.

I am not 100% sold on her being in a Goth Metal Band myself, but it certainly looks like it works here.

6 pages: cover art, condensed OGL statement and a lot of stuff to use in your game. You are getting a lot for your buck here.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bathory - AoV Solo (M&M3e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

True Naming: A supplement of magic, language, and power [PFRPG]
Publisher: Lee's Lists
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/16/2012 16:11:15
I really interesting supplement on an alternate form of magic for your Pathfinder/3.x game.
The changes are mostly flavor, but it is a very interesting one.

There is a complete class and how they use the secret names to have magical effects.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
True Naming: A supplement of magic, language, and power [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vicious Villains II: Mystical Monsters
Publisher: Aegis Studios
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/16/2012 16:06:05
Eight villains with stats and backstories ready to go for Mutants & Masterminds 3.
These could also be used as NPCs but really they work best as bad guys.
There is a magical bent to all of these, so if that is your M&M game, like mine is, then these are good to use.

The art varies from line to cg to color. The crunch is great and the back stories interesting.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vicious Villains II: Mystical Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Champions of Magic
Publisher: Little Red Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/16/2012 14:17:51
Three new magic themed classes for the Pathfinder (or 3.x) game.

The Wytchblade is something like a spell-sword or magus only related to witches. It is a full 20th level class, but I think I would have enjoyed it more as a prestige class.
The Maven is a prestige class that warps and changes the spells it casts. They trade off total number of spells they can cast for flexibility on their remaining spells. I like the idea, but I'll have to see how it plays. In game terms they are metamagic masters.

The Time Traveler is another Prestige Class. This one manipulates time and it's assorted effects.

There are no new spells or feats, just the classes.
The layout is good. Nice and clear, easy to read so the product looks great.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Champions of Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Feats of Seduction
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/16/2012 14:04:30
Abandoned Arts has a number of books for under a buck. The great thing is that for the price of a 24ox bottle of Mt. Dew (in some places) you can have a some crunch. Since they are grouped by theme and use you can usually get exactly what you are looking for.

Feats of Seduction is one of those products that you already know if you want or not. I will contend that there is enough here to for ANY class to use and gain benefit of outside of seduction. I few I read and though they would be great for an illusionist or a cleric as well as a bard or a rogue. I would also say that if you are playing in predominantly urban environments then there is a lot here you can use.

As will all of the AA books this one has a cover page and an OGL page. The rest is dedicated to the 10 feats. Nothing crazy here, these can be added to any game without worry.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feats of Seduction
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Undead Slayer
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/13/2012 08:03:38
Barrel Rider Games (and I will admit I love this name) is in the biz (so far) of producing a new class for a buck. Not a bad biz to be in really. There is always a new class that can be made, there is demand and people will part with a dollar pretty easy.

The newest class I picked up is the Undead Slayer. I love undead and all the classes and trappings that go around them; so slayers and necromancers are great in my book.

This class is a very specialized one, against other monsters it has the fighting prowess of the a thief (which isn't bad), but it shines against Undead. I felt the powers it received were fine, I think I would have started them at lower levels to be honest. The feel of this class is akin to the ranger. It has some sneaking ability, some magic and bonuses to fight undead.
If the Cleric is modeled off of the Hammer-era Van Helsing, then this class is more along the lines of a Captain Kronos.

The class might be a little under powered in some respects to be honest. But that is only a read-through and the proof would be in the playing. For example it does have some thief abilities that would aid a party in non-undead adventures.

In earlier reviews of products from Barrel Rider Game I mentioned that I didn't see the Labyrinth Lord Compatibility License. That was an error. It is very clear on the same page as the OGL. This book has it.
I also mentioned that in some of the other classes that I could not find the to-hit and saving throw progression for the classes. I also could not find it in this one. There is only about a page and half of text and about a page of tables. I am sure I would have seen it. I suspect that the undead slayer uses the Clerical to hit and saving throw tables.

I would like to try this class out sometime. I think it would work well in the right kind of adventure. Care though needs to be given that it does not interfere with the cleric's role of hunter of the dead.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Undead Slayer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Timothy - Thanks for your purchase and for catching that formatting error regarding Attack Values and Saving Throws. This has since been corrected!
Red Cross Hurricane Sandy Relief Charity Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Roleplayers Chronicle
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/07/2012 06:11:55
Almost $500 in RPG titles for $20? AND you are still giving money to a worthy cause? How could you NOT do this?

There are plenty of titles here that are worth the 20 bucks alone. But you also get some games that you might not know about.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Red Cross Hurricane Sandy Relief Charity Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Wizards
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 20:45:48
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. 32 new Arcane discoveries. I haven't played a PF Wizard, but these look fine to me. Certainly a lot of varieties of powers.

There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really.
In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Wizards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Wizard Archetypes
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 20:45:46
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. Two new Archetypes. Not much in the way of new ground here though. Animist is new-ish and the Guild Scholar has been done in the past. Would have liked to have seen more I think.

There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really.
In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Wizard Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Witch Archetypes
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 20:10:37
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. Obviously one I am very interested in. The Desert Witch is a very neat one and one I need to try out sometime. I even have a great name picked out. The Grisly Fetishist is very cool and familiar ground as is the Maleficium. All three are good and look like great fun.
There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really. In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Witch Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Witches
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 20:10:34
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. Obviously one I am very interested in. This one has 18 new witch Hexes. All of them look good and I'd love to try them all out. Scrying Cauldron is one of my favorites, very witchy.
There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really. In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Witches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class Acts: Barbarian Archetypes
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/06/2012 19:55:50
4 pages with 1 page for the cover, 1 page for the OGL and the rest the bulk of the new class material. Three archetypes. Favorite is the Viking Marauder It might not really be historically accurate but it does look fun.
There is no art, but really it doesn't need any. Perfect for under a buck really. In my mind this is for the die-hard fans of the class.
In all cases if there is a class you like get the "Class Acts" for it and the "Archetypes".

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Class Acts: Barbarian Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 256 to 270 (of 755 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates