DriveThruRPG.com
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Dark Camelot
Publisher: GRAmel
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/28/2017 18:10:59

Off the charts imaginative setting. Just waiting to be updated to 2nd edition. Made for classical mid to late middle ages mythology present in such movies as First Knight or Excalibur. I am presently running a solo campaign geared more towards dark ages Britain in the 400s AD. Don't have to change much more than add Sub-Roman Britons.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Camelot
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2017 16:58:13

Free and complete version of the revised Adventurers! rules. These rules use 2d6 plus stat modified by Skills (skills generally don't add + this or that they give "Advantage" roll 3d6 drop lowest).

With just three stats Strength, Agility, and Mind this is dead simple to choose your stats starting with just 6 points.

You have derived stats Attack, Defense, Endurance (Hit points), and Heroism

The first three are easy to understand. Heroism gives points per session that the players use for agency to affect his rolls either a +1 to his roll or she can re-roll (in the case of Learning Skill they can use Heroism points to declare facts about a setting). Or use Heroism points to change something about the scene, "Theres a fireplace? Then there must be fuel I can set fire to!"

There is a short list of powers available for players. Small Gear list. Etc. Each table and each set of rules is complete enough. Meaning that a GM or player can extrapolate anything easily. Yes there is even Scale and Mass Battle rules!

This is a great tool for quick play created by GMs and PCs alike. If you add the various settings you have hours and hours of fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised 2Pages Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventurers! Revised Kickstarter Edition
Publisher: GRAmel
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2017 15:16:46

Why are they charging for this? There is a free version (available from the KS) on this site that is more complete and compact. Notice I said free. I love the system. It is compact, neat, and easy to understand.

Having said all that I understand that this is a part of the book that KS supporters got. I hope that it was proofread more diligently than this version. There are more errors in this version than in the above mentioned free version.

If you want to use this game and its settings then get the free verision.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised Kickstarter Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars Without Number: Core Edition
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2017 22:34:35

Perplexed by the System. Why do I need to roll 2d6 for skills and 1d20 for combat? System is full of inconsistencies, but don't worry the author is preparing a new Kickstarter for summer 2017. He has made lots of changes just visit his Google + page to see all the changes he is planning, including a total revamp of the system. Don't buy this. Download the free version and wait for the new updated version to come out.

The setting is a blast. The generators for worlds, factions, and adventures are great. Just get the stuff for free.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Core Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Strange Stars Fate Rule Book
Publisher: Hydra Cooperative
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2017 23:04:34

Splendid. In the review of the Setting Book I stated that Art took precedence over content. Way more art in the first book than in this one. This book however is chock full of content. Everything is fully explained in Fate Core rules.

The first section of the book is taken up with how Strange Stars differs from regular Fate (not much). You could even run a game without the Fate Core rules if you wanted (but why since you can get the Fate Core rules for free on this site?).

The remaining sections cover character creation. You have High Concept, Trouble and Stangeness as your first three Aspects. Strangeness should add some weirdness to the mix. Life in the Strange Stars is going to leave you affected--maybe you have an unusual gadget, or ethos, what have you.

Clade templates--Each clade is referenced with page number in the Setting Book. There are aliens galore in the Strange Stars and most of them are "human". Every clade mentioned in the Setting book is here and encouragement abounds to make your own.

Adventures and campaigns. If you are used to Fate Core the lightness of this section will not daunt you. There are enough ideas here to get your juices flowing.

Threats. A plethora of threats to use, but not enough to fill a universe. Just enough to figure out how to create your own to match your weird universe.

Worlds and Cluster creation I'll lump together. If you have played Diaspora (for sale on this site) you will understand how this works. Several differences bear mentioning. You are not tied to just the worlds of a cluster. Hyper Gates connect to at least one other of the areas in the Setting book. Higher technology is sought after not feared.

Finally, Factions are given several pages and a reason for existence. Many Fate Core books mention factions but this is the first time I remember any one discussing how they impact the PCs during roleplay.

Overall this is a very good addition to the Fate Core products that exist out there. It will take a bit of work to create your universe, but that is unlikely to deter anyone used to many of the Fate products out there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strange Stars Fate Rule Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Strange Stars
Publisher: Hydra Cooperative
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2017 10:04:18

A bit expensive for just 32 pages...if you want your books to be jam packed with writing. If you go with the author's "bottom up" method of universe creation it won't be such a problem. And if you like evocative art to get your juices flowing then this is right up your alley.

If you were to cross Guardians of the Galaxy with the Heavy Metal movie and toss in a dash of MST3K you are begining to get the idea of what this setting can be. However, since this is a Player driven creation you could really use whatever comparisons you want.

This would be a great framework for any group that wants to explore/create their setting as they go, because it has enough info to get your creative juices flowing without putting you in a strait-jacket.

There is a Fate Core add on that you can purchase separately, because this is a system agnostic product.

I didn't give it 5 stars because I wanted more. However the concept is intriguing and well executed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Strange Stars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Solo
Publisher: Cabbage Games
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2017 00:08:08

This product needs a lot of work. It is very confusing as written. There are three "modules" for Fate Solo. First is the Oracle or engine for answering yes/no questions. A yes/no question is asked about a situation roll Fate dice and based on your roll and what odds you have determined for the answer to be true you get a result of yes or no. This yes or no can be modified by getting a plus + result or a minus - result. How? I am not really sure. Examples aren't given within the module on the Oracle. However, at the end the author gives a very quick example of play, but doesn't explain how he arrived at his results that aren't contradictory. Also in this section he refers to using a randomizer for framing questions but gives no examples of such randamizers.

In the Character Module the author describes his recommendation for generating characters. This is straight forward. The characters are initially quite over-powered in comparison to a normal character. This is so they can handle a variety of activities without being stuck for the lack of other players.

The module on Surprises relies on figuring out surprises based on results from the Oracle module. Since the explanation of the Oracle module was muddled this module isn't any better.

Recommendation: Don't buy this. Don't get it for free. I would recommend getting Mythic or something similar.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Solo
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savage Worlds Deluxe
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2017 00:41:10

If you are looking for a simple yet not simplistic universal rules system that gives you plenty of tactical crunch for you combat; this is it. If you love using polyhedral dice definitely the game you want. If you are tired of getting stuck in a class based advancement system this is worth the price of admission.

This game system came out of a mix of the very detailed Deadlands and a table top game called the Great Railwars. The designers used the experience gained from the above mentioned games and came up with a streamlined rules system that covers a lot of ground and presently has dozens of settings.

This game is for gamers who like to push miniatures around on the table top, but don't want to spend an hour fighting a battle between a half dozen figures. I have consistenly been able to run combats with in excess of 2 dozen figures in a half hour or less. The action is Fast, Fun, and Furious. A great game for grognards and neophytes alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OneDice Universal
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2017 00:15:08

Simplistic not simple. I can't imagine why anyone...including myself spent money on this.

I checked out the quickstart. I for some reason thought that there had to be crunchier rules in the actual settings/universal rules...there aren't. No ranged combat. Even though weapons are given ranges. I figure the GM is supposed to SWAG that. Since it appears that despite PCs having a movement rating there seems to be no apparent reason given for having one. No rules for covering distances on foot at all. No rules for cover. Although the GM can arbitrarily determine if a roll has advantage or disadvantage. This book has no setting, but costs as much or more than the setting books. Here's the catch the setting books have the same set of minimal rules in them. I bought this Universal set of rules on sale for a little over 5 USD. Each setting book is regularly 7 USD. You can get the entire Fate Core set of rules and Fate Accelerated, over 400+pages of complete rules, for pay as you want. You can presently get 25+ complete settings for Fate Core each pay as you want.

The price point of this material is grossly overrated. Give it a pass. Spend a bit of time shopping on RpgNow and find something worth your money. This ain't it. I also bought another setting book from OneDice brand; Steampunk. Again, way over priced. You can get other settings with complete rules for steampunk such as the original Space 1889 from GDW.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Universal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Dillard, I'm sorry you didn't find the game to your tastes. To clarify, there are Initiative, Ranged Combat and Movement rules included. Some of it is covered here: "...they won't be able to start fighting until someone moves into the range of the other sides weapons." p.19 and Moving on p.20 "If a character isn't in a hand-to-hand fight and wants to move, up to his or her Move in metres, they can (instead of attacking - you don't get to do both). This includes moving into a hand-to-hand fight." We always welcome queries and try to respond in a timely fashion. Often rules queries can be aired on the OneDice Google+ page and the Renaissance and OneDice Facebook page or simply email or message our company. All the best, Peter Cakebread
OneDice Steampunk
Publisher: Cakebread & Walton
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2017 23:55:05

Disappointment and buyer's remorse. Definitely not worth the price. This is one of two OneDice products I have bought. Neither are worth the price of admission (and I got it on sail).

The art is adequate. The production values are good. Tidy.

The setting is barely adequate. You can get a great VSF setting with a complete set of rules (on this site) for just about 8 USD (with 200+ pages). Good old Space 1889 from GDW. GDW's rules are clunky but can be easily replaced by other rules, but are pretty much complete.

Which brings us to OneDice Steampunk. Rules. Not complete. Simplistic not simple. Simplified to the point so as to be useless. Characters are given a movement rate. How many meters in a turn. Why? Not really sure. No rules for movement are presented; other than moving out of close combat. We aren't even told how to move into close combat. Ranged weapons have ranges. Awesome. Why? To what purpose? I don't know because they are listed but have no context or discussion and no rules. The Attribute+Skill+die roll is ok, but in combat is woefully unexplained in that a GM can dictate that a roll can be at an advantage or disadvantage (+2 or -2) but no real examples are given. They certainly aren't discussed as part of combat where they may or may not be for cover or range (not even mentioned).

More thought was given to the setting, but barely. That is why I gave it two stars instead of one. There are some great Spacepunk settings out there for way less. Spend your money on them. If this is an example of all the OneDice games...I am sorry. Don't buy them. I also bought OneDice Universal so I have a feeling this is endemic of the brand.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
OneDice Steampunk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Dillard, I'm sorry you didn't find the game to your tastes. To clarify, there are Initiative, Ranged Combat and Movement rules included. Some of it is covered here: "...they won't be able to start fighting until someone moves into the range of the other sides weapons." p.22 and Moving on p.24 "If a character isn't in a hand-to-hand fight and wants to move, up to his or her Move in metres, they can (instead of attacking - you don't get to do both). This includes moving into a hand-to-hand fight." Also, the +/-2 advantage/disadvantage is covered by exactly the examples you wanted - see p.23 Having the Advantage "fighting an enemy climbing up a slope, having cover from ranged attacks, etc.)." We always welcome queries and try to respond in a timely fashion. Often rules queries can be aired on the OneDice Google+ page and the Renaissance and OneDice Facebook page or simply email or message our company. All the best, Peter Cakebread
Space: 1889 Core Rulebook
Publisher: Clockwork Publishing
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2017 01:41:04

I really want to give this product 5 stars, but I can't. I am having difficulty figuring out just what the authors want to accomplish.

Space 1889 came out way back in 1988 published then by GDW. Heliograph Inc. still publishes those old products in pdf format on this site. That original had a great story of an alternative universe powered by liftwood and aether propellers. The core rules created a sandbox world (solar system) with rules for invention that made the PCs capable of affecting the overall technology of the campaign. There were rules for creating aetherships and vehicles. There was even a short campaign; exploration of the Moon.

Those things are not present in this version. What is present is a slightly changed history. USA and CSA exist after Lincoln dies in 1862 and President George McClellan surrenders to the South in 1865. Other than that the history is much the same, but better. The history and background on current events are quite detailed. The examinations of flora and fauna of the various planets is fascinating and more detailed than the original.

If you are the kind of GM who likes to create adventures from scratch this is a good book for you. You will have plenty of detail to pique your curiosity and stimulate your imagination. If you are the type of GM who wants to have some example adventures already created; you are out of luck.

The equipment section has a plethora of tools, weapons, and vehicles presented in the original game. What isn't present is the multitude of inventions that could be created using the invention rules from the old GDW version.

This game uses the Ubiquity system. I am not familiar with the system. I am coming at this with experience with the original game, the Savage Worlds system, and Fate Core. Truthfully the level of detail in the setting pleases me. It makes a great addition to the other versions of this setting that I already have. It also makes me want to modify this for use with Fate Core. But, it still means I am going to have to figure out how to simulate creating inventions. (You may have figured out by now I consider this to be one of the best parts of the original game--and am disappointed it isn't present in this version).

Overall the game gets a 3 star rating because, it throws out some of the aspects I really enjoyed in the first version. No invention rules. It also lacks some premade adventures to emphasize the kind of campaigns the game could be used for. What saves this game from a no star rating. Good production values and art. Good background information and history.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Space: 1889 Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Triniton the prequel
Publisher: Christian Ahlin
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2016 20:33:21

Imaginative and very fun. Really sets the stage for the game. Basic version for kids and very big words for adults. Both really great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Triniton the prequel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aether Sea • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by D. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2016 01:00:23

4/5 Stars. Because I don't really understand how to apply approaches in FAE. I feel really comfortable with Fate Core skills. FAE almost seems "handwavium" at times in its approach to approaches (oh yeah I went there). I know folks have made all sorts of comments about "This should have been called FAE." "Or it really doesn't matter Fate Core and FAE are the same thing." I don't know about that. Personally I cannot get the hang of FAE. Approaches seem to be open to entirely too much abuse especially by players with the gift of gab.

Be that as it may, truthfully this is a delightful setting. First and foremost, this is a Fate Worlds of Adventure setting that means it is spare in detail. Typically Worlds of Adventure Settings are only about 50 to 60 pages. You can cram a lot into that many pages and Evil Hat and its contributors typically do so. But that still means there is only 50 to 60 pages and only so much setting material is going to make it in there. Especially if there are new rules or new ways to use old rules. Another thing typical of World's of Adventure Settings are they are professionally done. Production values are through the roof. Great art. Great editing. Each Book follows an almost identical format. Each is crisp, clean, and with enough detail to get you started.

Which brings up point number two; this is to get you started and your creative juices flowing. This is not that stack of Warcheese 20K books, or B&B 10th Ed, that require a stack of books as tall as I am. (I am about as tall as a half-welf from B&B). Worlds are yours to do with as you please.

In this setting you are presented with a Firefly meets Spelljammer type setting. You have a ship that is magic enough to fly through space and reach its destination barring any GM spawned distractions. Problem is that magic is expensive to maintain and you are on the fringes of the core worlds, maybe because your Ship's captain and a large percentage of the crew were on the losing side of a war with the Royal Hegemony or your mage has a problem with the Spell Casters Union. You gotta do what it takes to keep the ship flying (sailing?).

There are rules for spell casting. Not like B&B. More like "My Goblin Mage has the aspect, 'Fire, Fire, Fire' and the stunt 'Focused Flame Evoker' so I think I will set the pirates on fire." Then you roll your appropriate action/approach combination as per the FAE rules. There are rules for dabblers, focused users, raw magic users, or prepared spell users. I will not waste a bunch of time explaining all this.

There are rules for making a ship! This ship's aspects will be based on the aspects of the crew (meaning player characters). Very cool. Very straight forward. Your ship is pretty much like another PC.

If you want an FAE version of Firefly meets Spelljammer this is for you. If you are going to play beyond the first adventure you are going to have to flesh it out some more.

If you want a Fate Core version PWYW for "Sails full of Stars" another great Worlds of Adventure setting and combine the two. They don't match exactly but making changes and creating a new storyline can be a blast.

There is a vibrant Fate community on Google+. There are tons of good ideas percolating there for this setting. It's a great setting and it isn't going to cost you much. Having said that I am a Patreon supporter and I would really encourage you to pay something. The folks that make these settings are top notch and the monetary support they receive will go a long way toward encouraging them to make more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aether Sea • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Red Planet • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by D. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/11/2016 17:33:36

First, I am giving this a 4 out of 5 stars not for any production issue or for any game play issue. I am a Patreon supporter of the Worlds of Adventure for Fate Core and FAE. This setting meets or exceeds all the game play criteria of any of the Evil Hat Settings out produced to date.

There are some well thought out new additions to Fate's version of skinning the cat. If you are a Fate fan you know that the is game is all about fun and not so much about the rules. The first or Golden Rule of Fate is to describe what you are trying to do before trying to come up with the "proper" mechanics. Fate is flexible on so many levels in dealing with obstacles, problems, dice rolls etc. Skills, or aspects, or even declarations of fact (using Aspects and Fate Points) can solve problems. So when a setting introduces new mechanics (or a new way to solve a problem) it is fun to see how Fate can accomodate those new mechanics. Pilot Skill isn't really something new. It is Drive skill reskinned. Several other settings include a very similar reskinning of the Drive skill. Renown skill is new in that it kind of mashes up some effects of Rapport, Contacts, and Resources. It represents your fame and how readily you can cash in on it. This is important because your characters live in a Communist Utopia. Resources no longer represents personal wealth; you don't have any. Resources represent how readily you can acquire the use of resources from the state to achieve your missions.

Conversion rules is an interesting wild card. You run some pretty typical Fate challenge to get NPCs to join your cause (Communism). You can do this even while the death rays are splattering the hull all around you. These rules add a fun touch to the pulp action for characters who aren't necessarily combat heavy types. How much more fun can you have as a Commisar than engaging in materialist dialectic with evil Americans while your brawny New Woman takes apart uses her immense combat prowess to pulp the less enlightened American mooks.

Here is where the four star rating comes in. Ideology. If you are an older gamer who remembers the Cold war and Communist rhetoric a bit more immediately than younger gamers who only know it from history books; this setting may leave you a bit cold. Jess Nevins always does a stellar job on his settings. He even dedicated a page to the evils of real life communism. That page can not make up for a lack of real life experience of communism's heinous record. On the Fate Google+ community there have been commentators that feel this setting seems akin to playing Nazi PCs. Those individuals who lived through the Cold War are probably going to have some strong reactions to the premise of this setting.

Remember once you have it, it is yours to change. It is a pulp setting so it doesn't really invite you to look under the hood at ideology all that much; it is about square jawed heros punching weak chinned ne'er do wells. If the setting doesn't tickle your fancy change it up. Maybe the Communists in the setting are more akin to the Empire of Space Opera fame and your PCs look more like a Rogue unit trying to throw a wrench in the works. So all the setting material in the book becomes self promoting propaganda instead of the actual truth. The great thing about Fate is its ability to mimic just about anything you care to throw at it. Frankly the price is right.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Red Planet • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Baroque Space Opera
Publisher: Mark Kowaliszyn
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2015 22:37:41

Bottom Line Up Front: This is a Beta. Still quite a bit of work to go. Under normal circumstances I'd probably only give this a 2 star rating. However, The setting is fun and despite being a mash up of a lot of different stories from different media it hangs together surprisingly well.

Needs a Beastiary or equivalent. The varying antagonists are spread out throughout the book and therefore difficult to find quickly. The Archetypes are pretty limited considering the vastness of the Dominion. The Archetypes use the standard 3 refresh 3 stunts and +4 pinnacle skill pyramid. You don't use a standard phase trio but this is adequately explained and appropriate for the setting. However, these rather pedestrian beginners are supposed to represent the God-like Deipotents and their Exalted-Human minions. Regular old Humans don't even get a mention.

The book would benefit from changing the chapter on themes into something more closely resembling the "Game Creation" chapter from FATE Core. The history is given in some detail but there are no pre-made campaigns. The author shows some possible themes, but doesn't elaborate on how to turn those themes into a campaign unique to the setting. If he doesn't do that then this book needs some pre-made campaigns or some varying story seeds. Why? The history and the setting is huge. Having a way to create a starting point or barring that having some actual starting points would be helpful.

Initiative is handled quite differently in Baroque. You roll your Tactics skill and whoever scores higher goes first. Then they get to choose who goes next. If someone wants to interrupt they can use a Fate Point to go next.

The Notice skill has been removed. In its place an new action has been created; Notice. Each skill has a Notice element. Use Tactics to Notice and Ambush. Use Technosophy to Notice a malfunctioning system. Etc. In most situations Notice can be used at the same time other actions are used so you don't lose your normal actions in a round.

I sometimes feel as I read the book that new rules were added for the sake of adding new rules without gaining any real benefit or without highlighting the really unique setting. I also feel as if there wasn't a great deal of time spent playtesting.

There are other niggling things that the author will probably fix in the near future. No character sheet. Paucity of Art (it is evocative what there is of it). No back cover.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Baroque Space Opera
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 63 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates