DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Writing With Style: An Editor's Advice for RPG Writers
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2018 12:00:14

Full disclosure: Ray edited my work when I wrote for WotC.

That said, I got spoiled by his input (and learned a great from it). This guide provides a great deal of his insight directly to writers. As he points out, Ray didn't write THE definitive style guide, but focused on the areas that he frequently sees when editing gaming material. Many authors setting out to make a name in the RPG/tabletop publishing realm bemoan the fact that they cannot afford an editor. In the earliest days of your career that can be true. But you CAN afford to pick up Ray's advise and I highly recommend you do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Writing With Style: An Editor's Advice for RPG Writers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rick Hershey: Art Rates 2017
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2018 11:50:18

I got in touch with Rick about a small logo I needed and some basic ideas of what I had in mind. Rick was very responsive and had some useful input. The rate was very reasonable, he communicated well throughout the process, and he delivered quickly. I highly recommend his services and his talent. -Ross



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rick Hershey: Art Rates 2017
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Curse of the Weaver Queen
Publisher: Eldritch Enterprises
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2013 13:29:34

This adventure makes for a good old-school dungeon crawl that can be adapted to nearly any fantasy system with just a little math. With a nice selection of creatures, traps, and encounters that could just as easily be handled through roleplaying as they could through combat, the adventure is built on the premise that the GM will tailor it to his or her group’s particular style of play. I have posted a more in-depth review here: http://www.brokenbinding.com/2013/02/06/review-tim-kasks-curse-of-the-weaver-queen/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Curse of the Weaver Queen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Outpost
Publisher: Eldritch Enterprises
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2012 14:26:55

A wide-open sandbox setting with an over-arching plot, Dark Outpost is suited for any system but a GM should be ready to put a little work in converting monsters with the suggestions provided. The sprawling orbital station is mapped out and discussed in detail. Although I prefer my maps a little slicker, the product falls in line with the "old-school" feel and would be suited to those who prefer that approach to their games. A full review can be found here: http://www.brokenbinding.com/2012/10/09/review-dark-outpost/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Outpost
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lich Dungeon - Level One
Publisher: Eldritch Enterprises
by John R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2012 07:30:45

This adventure is an excellent throwback to the old days, or it’s part of the new OSR movement, all depending on your perspective. It is easily adaptable to various iterations of D&D or Dungeon Crawl Classics Roleplaying Game, but is system neutral and the mechanics lend themselves to straightforward conversion.

This is the first level of Frank Mentzer’s megadungeon, and it’s quite sprawling with a variety of encounters, wandering monsters, and puzzles. Further levels would certainly be something to look forward to in the future but there is material here to last a group of old school delvers quite a while and cause a casualty or two (or six).

For more of my thoughts on this product, a longer review is here: http://www.brokenbinding.com/2012/09/21/review-frank-mentzers-lich-dungeon/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lich Dungeon - Level One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 5 (of 5 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates