DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - FREE SNEAK PREVIEW
by William W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2018 20:24:57

It is somewhat challenging to do a true review of a Sneak Preview for a yet to be released game. I think the art is fantastic, and the overall look and feel of the game has definitely sparked my interest. I now have a good idea of the classes (includes Anthropomorphs yay!!), and powers that will be available, and a solid feel for the art. I would, however, like to know a bit more about the mechanics (OSR based) but again this is an early sneak preview, with presumably more information to come. I will definitely be looking hard at the Kickstarter for further details about the game, and at this point from what I have seen in this early sneak peek I intend to jump on board the kickstarter for this product. Thanks Eric for this early preview. I can't wait to see and learn more about this game, which to me equates to this preview being a success.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - FREE SNEAK PREVIEW
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
by CONRAD H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2018 14:45:16

I purchased this and read through it but haven't played it yet. They have taken the D&D system (Str, Int, Wis, Dex, Con, Chr, HP, AC, etc.) and have added skills system that is just enough and not too much to get the job done they want to do. There are no revolutionairy game mechanics in here but that is a good thing because that means you probably know how to play this already. Should you purchase this? If you loved Netflix's Stranger Things then YES. Stop reading now and go purchase this.

The real magic that they have baked into this game is everything beyond the rule system. I honestly they believed they watched every 80s kid adventure movie that I wanted to be a part of and made a game for me. And I know why they did it. See, and I got this from the Stranger Things "Behind the Scenes" interviews, the '80s was the last time when kids could go have these kind of adventures. Parents were not as concerned where you were. Cell phones and instant data wasn't there so hearsay, rumors and superstition was still a parge part of our life. There was just more mystery back then. Things were just starting to get computerized and 2048 bit RSA keys were not in the way. You just had to sneak into the school office and turn on the computer to look at someone's grades. If you wanted to know about a kid, you had to go to the file cabinet.

Being a kid in the 80s in a strange rural town was awesome and I believe they have captured all that with this game.

I couldn't stop thinking of adventures I wanted to write and run. I think this game and setting is best for investigative type adventures. It takes only a little more than a beginner GM to write and run those but if you can then you will rock your table with this book and the other add-ons.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire Sourcebook - DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS & other OSR games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2018 10:41:47

When I think 80's horror, I think of bloodsuckers. Many of my favorite vampire movies are from the 80's: The Lost Boys, Fright Night, Near Dark.... and let's not forget The Monster Squad (though it's not just vamps). That's why this book interests me so much.

The book starts by talking about the saturation of vampires in 80's entertainment and then gives stats classic vampires. After this section was are presented with a great collection of vamps presented in a monster of the week format. With A Stranger Comes to Town we're given a Salem's Lot inspired adventure idea. Technically Salem's Lot came out in 79 and isn't from the 80's, but it's close enough. This is followed by Ancient One. This vamp is very Dracula-like. Bump In The Night is an homage to the classic, Fright Night. The Lost Children section might be my favorite. If you couldn't guess, it's the homage to The Lost Boys. These are the weakest vamps in the book and there's a great chart about what happens when they die because "when a vampire bites it, it's never a pretty sight." Nosferatu - The Devourer of Beasts is a new pet eating beast. The Sangiest - The Blood Spirit is a rare breed of vampire that needs to bath in blood. Finally, The Thrall Keeper is just a creepy addition to any game. This vampire doesn't create vampiric brood but rather has a group of bonded mortals in it's service.

If you like vampires this book seems like it would be an invaluable addition to any Dark Places & Demogorgons collection. Even if you don't play that game, this is a great OSR vampire book. You can definitely take stuff form this to use in B/X or Labyrinth Lord.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire Sourcebook - DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS & other OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Zombie Hack (EXTRA BLOODY MCDEVITT COVER)
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2018 11:53:15

The Zombie Hack is another adaptation of The Black Hack by Bloat Games.

The pdf is 38 pages counting covers, legal text, dedications/acknowledgements, and such.

The rules are a stripped version of OD&D. There are a few new rules (such as Usage Die) and some familiar thing from modern games (Advantage/Disadvantage). Players do all of the rolling. Armor is damage reduction. This also has the Bloat Games Hack variants, such as multiple advantage and disadvantage. These are the classes: Fixer, Leader, Scavenger, Slayer, Survivalist, and Tracker.

The enemies section of the book is full of the obvious... zombies!!! We're presented with rules for infection and 7 different types of zombies which do a great job emulating zombies from a variety of movies (such as Night of the Living Dead, 28 Days Later, and Return of the Living Dead). There's also a bonus pwyw zombie that you can grab here

The book ends with a short piece of in-universe fiction.

If you want a nice, simple set of rules to play a zombie game, The Zombie Hack is the game for you. It's simple, concise, and seems like a lot of blood fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Zombie Hack (EXTRA BLOODY MCDEVITT COVER)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WHITE BOX ZOMBIES Dark Elf Zombies - by request
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 10:02:30

A neat little edition to S&W White Box. Even if you don't have White Box zombies, this gives you dark elf stats for White Box, which is nifty.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WHITE BOX ZOMBIES Dark Elf Zombies - by request
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Vigilante Hack
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 10:00:23

On it's surface, The Vigilante Hack by Bloat Games seems like just another supers game. The cover is rather plain (which a thing with The Black Hack and it's alternate versions) and features a Captain America-esque woman. However, this is not a supers game. Seriously, if you turn the book over the first sentence you'll see is "THE VIGILANTE HACK IS NOT A SUPERHERO GAME."

This isn't the Spider-Man rpg. This is the Kick-Ass rpg.

The pdf is 37 pages counting covers, legal text, dedications/acknowledgements, and such. Like The Black Hack, the rules are a stripped down and stream-lined version of original D&D with a few new rules (such as Usage Die) and some familiar thing from modern games (Advantage/Disadvantage). Other than (optionally) villain damage, the players do all the dice rolling in this game. Armor doesn't make a character hard to hit, it reduces damage. While I don't really want to use the original Black Hack to game because that's now how I want to D&D, these rule modifications make for excellent non-powered vigilante play. There are a few different ways to play the game. For example, damage can be determined by class or by weapon. Also, there is a nice house rule about advantage and disadvantage.

You might be wondering about characters in this game. As mentioned they're regular folks that have no powers. They can choose from several classes though. Here are those classes (with comic book examples).

Archer - Green Arrow Dark Avenger - Batman Martial Artist - Elektra Mercenary - Deathstroke Protégé - Nightwing True Vigilante - Kick-Ass

The book then gives a page of goons, mooks, and thugs with relevant stats. Because of the simplicity of the system these are super light. After this we get some named villains. These are presented with HD, backstories, weapons of choice, and other useful info. A few have other abilities and one or two are something more (or less than human). These villains feel like Batman villains and that works just fine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Vigilante Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A CITY FULL OF SINNERS - Game Master's Guide for The Vigilante Hack
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 09:59:19

A City Full of Sinners is the game master's guide for The Vigilante Hack. It's roughly the same size as the core book. While you don't need it to run a game using the hack, it's a damn fine book that's really useful.

The book starts with a discussion of city building and dice drops. This is followed by a brief description of Dreamsend, the worst neighborhood in the corrupt Apollo City. The book then presents a drop table and several pages of tables. These let you decide what buildings are in the neighborhood, then give you unique aspects of the buildings, denizens, and activities. There's also a handy little worksheet to go along with it. This is followed by an instant street gang drop table and a useful random villain generator.

The book has things for the players too. There are some nice kits that make vigilante work a lot easier. There are also rules for utility belts and additional equipment. The most important thing on this list is boomerang, because now I can alter the Archer class and make a heroic Captain Boomerang (that has trick boomerangs instead of arrows). There are also some gadget rules, which makes sense because many non-powered vigilante aren't much without their toys. These equipment rules are all optional. This is followed by vehicle rules, including things you can use to pimp your ride. The Vigilante Hack is a dark game and there's discussion of drugs, as well as some super drugs (primarily named after comic book heroes). This includes simple addiction rules. Since vigilantes are street level there's a page discussing contacts, which is a wonderful addition.

Finally there's a one page adventure for 1st level characters which is followed by a 3rd level Martial Artist that can bail the party out if they get in over their heads.

If you play The Vigilante Hack, you definitely need to pick this up. Actually if you play any gritty modern games, I think this is a useful book to have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A CITY FULL OF SINNERS - Game Master's Guide for The Vigilante Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Vigilante Hack - SANCTUARY ASYLUM
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 09:57:56

Sanctuary Asylum is a supplement for The Vigilante Hack.

The bulk of the book discusses the titular asylum. There's a description of the asylum which has a slight continuity error with A City Full of Sinners. The description says the asylum is near the city of Dreamsend, but according to A City Full of Sinners, Dreamsend is a neighborhood in Apollo City. This isn't a big deal and the books were written by different folks. The asylum was built in the 50's and is independent of all government support or aid. It is divided into five wards and each is unofficially ruled by a "Baron." Each of these barons gets a one page write-up (and have HD listed, like the villains of the core book). Interestingly enough, there isn't an actual floor plan for the asylum. However, there is a nice random table to help you generate it. This is followed by a quick asylum patient generator which is super useful. Drugs are often used in the treatment of mental health and this book includes some new ones. However, unlike the somewhat beneficial drugs of A City Full of Sinners, these "Psychochaotic Drugs" are meant to "induce sanity" and are full of nasty effects and have no benefits. The description of the asylum ends with two short adventures.

In addition to the asylum content, the book includes more material. There's a new class, the cat burglar, which is basically Catwoman. There are also 10 pregenerated characters with artwork (which is color in the pdf and black and white in the OBS print on demand version). While these are cool, especially the new class, they seem really out of place in a book about an asylum. It feels like they're just there for padding and because they didn't have another book to go in.

I know this review is a bit more negative than my previous reviews for The Vigilante Hack, but I still loved this book and really recommend it if you're running the game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Vigilante Hack - SANCTUARY ASYLUM
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
by Sergio N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2018 10:05:04

This seems like a fun game. I say 'seems' because I have not played it yet, but hopefully will, soon (bought it yesterday). It is a fun to read book, and the pdf adapts well to a 10 inch tablet (even 5' mobile phone), although the pdf does not have a proper table of contents with links for easy access during play (please include one in a future update!). I like the OSR feel, which emphasizes the 80s style. The descriptions and new mechanics/rules seem to adapt very well to the setting. If I had to mention cons, one would be that there's not much description on the product page. For example, what is the vampire source-book about? I still remember The Lost Boys movie, and would be very interested to know if it is an adventure/campaign, separate setting, etc. As there are no reviews or discussions, I cannot tell. These, some minor typos I already forgot about and the lack of a TOC with links are not enough (to me) to take a star from this 5 star product. If, like me, Stranger Things brought you back to RPGs, then buy this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WHITE BOX ZOMBIES - A source book for SWORDS & WIZARDRY and all OSR games
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2018 16:18:29

48 pages, 38 are the content. The 'variety' of different zombies are similar to Survive This! Demihuman zombies (P20-41): quite good.

ArtworK: from Survive this! But still looks good. Good piece on P4.

P18 (P19 PDF) errors?: 1: Truth is though, they are a lot of zombified children (should that be there are?). 2: It's up to your referee to decide if and when you run across. (Incomplete sentence?). Should that be 'when you run across them/zombie children?

Nice variant OSR rules for zombie 'apocalypse' setting.

For £0.96 (sale), £1.44; $1.34 (sale), $2.00: worth getting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WHITE BOX ZOMBIES - A source book for SWORDS & WIZARDRY and all OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WHITE BOX ZOMBIES - A source book for SWORDS & WIZARDRY and all OSR games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2018 15:21:51

White Box Zombies by Bloat Games is everything you need if you want to include a little thing like the zombie apocalypse into your White Box game (perhaps as the result of Death Frost Doom).  At 48 pages this is a pretty meaty pdf.

The book begins with zombie infection rules. These are pretty deadly but it's essentially get bit/clawed by a zombie with it, make a save or die and become a zombie. This is pretty intense, but no one said zombie apocalypses were for the weak.

We are then presented with a the Classic White Box Zombie and a brief discussion of why it's different than one of the new infection causing zombies. After this we get into the Infected Dead. Stats are given as well as a suggested pack size. These are the infected (with a brief description or what they remind me of):

Living Dead Zombie (classic Romero shamblers) Groaners (tougher classic Romero shamblers) Walkers (weaker Romero shamblers, similar to Walking Dead zombies) Runners (Dawn of the Dead remake) Rage Zombies (28 Days Later) Fleshless Zombies (the Tarman from Return of the Living Dead series) Screamers (7 Days to Die, they have a scream that can paralyze players with fear and attrack other zombies) Bone Zombies (Dry Bones from Mario, skeletons from Castlevania) Mutated Bone Zombies (what happens when multiple Bone Zombies combine) Boss Zombie (Dawn of the Dead remake, but stronger and more cunning) Legend Zombies (unique intelligent infected) Melting Zombies (advanced decayed zombies that have acidic goo) Zombie Children (Cooties)

After the special zombies we're treated to a page with demihuman and monster infected zombie rules. This is followed by a collection of demihumans and monsters. We get (living) stats for the monsters, as well as two infection zombie variants (from the group mentioned above). The demihumans/monsters presented are bugbear, centaur, dwarf elf, cloud giant, firbolg, fire giant, frost giant, hill giant, stone giant, storm giant, gnoll, gnome, goblin, hobgoblin, kobold, lizardman, ogre, orc, and troll.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
by Ruben F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2017 14:50:27

Great game! Lots of fun! Defiantly recommend to anyone that wants to take a fun brake from the hack and slash and have an easy going laid back not so serious adventur.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks Ruben! Very glad to hear that you enjoyed it.
OSR Deluxe CHARACTER SHEET - free
by Akeisha R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2017 17:50:11

I absolutely love this old school style character sheet for BECMI! The notebook paper background is a wonderful asthetic touch and adds to the overall "flavour" of the sheet. Great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OSR Deluxe CHARACTER SHEET - free
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much! :)
SURVIVE THIS!! - Zombies! Zombie Master's Guide - PWYW
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2017 15:45:18

Out of 28 pages, 21 are the content. Typos: p10: rewards survivors for in (survivors in) 5. This xp is giving (given). p11: act or (of) valour. p14: For that (what) is important. p21: However, for (all) STZ weapons. p22: types weapons (weapon types).

Artwork is pretty much OK. The ZMG give Zombie Master (GM), some options for things like initiative. Pages 22 & 23 give you melee and ranged weapons. P25 lists some armour (the max a player can have is +4). The PDF lists mending wounds, difficulty checks, house rules, etc.

Worth the purchase.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SURVIVE THIS!! - Zombies!  Zombie Master's Guide - PWYW
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SURVIVE THIS!! - Zombies! Survivor's Handbook - PWYW
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2017 15:08:43

Out of 36 pages, 26 are the content. Typos: Fixer, p18 quickly access (assess), usuall (has) a backpack. p19: taking to (two) broken. p21: out (in the) woods, in discreet (a) place. p22: as (a) team, spotted twice. p27: that they (the) Slayer. kill the (a) number of zombies. p30: These choices such (should) be thought.

Players have 6 stats: Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, Charisma, Survival. Survival: is used as survival points, re-rolls. Artwork: evocative of the theme.

Players start out with some money, but no equipment (find it, buy it, steal it). Some good classes. Worth the purchase.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SURVIVE THIS!! - Zombies!  Survivor's Handbook - PWYW
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates