DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
OtherWorldly Art Portfolio Volume Three
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2004 00:00:00
Excellent art that really sparked up our product. Keep up the good work, and keep releasing excellent products. I will certainly, budget allowing, purchase more of this line of art.

LIKED: The variety of the art was very nice. I find that the art which is just posed character profiles to be dull, and of little use in a dynamic layout. The action in this art is certainly a strong selling point.

DISLIKED: Two things: (1) I would have prefered these as TIFFs instead of a PDF (it would have saved me the step of converting in Photoshop), (2) more line art instead of grey scale. Line art reproduces better than gray scale does, looking a lot sharper than gray scale art will.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OtherWorldly Art Portfolio Volume Three
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OtherWorldly Art Portfolio Volume Two
by The L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2004 00:00:00
Definitely a superior product over the original when it comes to overall quality, but lack of variety is a sting. Most of these pictures are portraits from the chest up, and are in grey scale rather than B+W line art, which can hurt some publishers. Most of the book is of high quality, but there are a good number of very low quality images too, which hurts the overall rating. They would have been better off just keeping the higher quality ones rather than arbitrarily padding their book. The other big problem is the lack of a Demo, which is my #1 pet peeve. I took a chance and it paid off for the most part, but it is hard to buy something when you don't know if it will work for you or not.

LIKED: Good quality overall.

DISLIKED: a number of bad quality pics, and lack of demo hurts.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
OtherWorldly Art Portfolio Volume Two
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OtherWorldly Art Portfolio Volume Two
by Elton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2004 00:00:00
I looked at this product at length, and I'd like to say that it is a worthwhile buy. The images here in range from the highly fantastic (a cat humanoid) to the more mundane (someone in cowboy hat with a guitar in its case). Although they did not leave a preview of the product you are getting, I recommend it you any DM or fantasy publisher. Although you may have to create a cat race in order to use the furry-picture.

LIKED: High quality images for the price. Many of them seemed alive.

DISLIKED: The fact it was in PDF instead of a Tiff collection. UGH!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OtherWorldly Art Portfolio Volume Three
by James T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2004 00:00:00
The best of the group--this is fine, fine stuff. And in a genre (pulp adventure) that there is very little art available for from other companies. If you're putting somwthing together in that realm, then this product is probably a "must"

LIKED: Good art, hard-to-find theme, well-executed

DISLIKED: Would have liked separate files of 300 dpi images, but of course that's a trivial complaint.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OtherWorldly Art Portfolio Volume Three
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OtherWorldly Art Portfolio Volume Three
by Wesley A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2004 00:00:00
There are some really beautiful art pieces here and it is a great service to provide these to the independent publishers.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OtherWorldly Art Portfolio Volume Two
by Matt D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2004 00:00:00
So Otherworld Creations is hurting for cash, and decide to sell the art they've used in their games. If only we could cripple Wizards, and get them to sell their art. But until we can undermine the emperor of RPGs, this will sure as hell do. These images are very cool and more or less generic. I can use more than half of them, which is saying something for a four dollar art book.

LIKED: The art is great. I could (and have) paid for lots worse. And there are a good number of images in here for your money.

DISLIKED: You get a single PDF, which means you will have to extract the images if you want to use them. Not a huge deal, but I prefer a bundle of TIFs.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OtherWorldly Art Portfolio Volume Two
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OtherWorldly Art Portfolio Volume Three
by Matt D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2004 00:00:00
A very nice collection of images from Forbidden Kingdoms. The images may be a little specific to the game, since some of them even have signs representing various factions in that game, but many of them are perfect for an over-the-top pulp game. The art is quite good, though all of it has been published in the Forbidden Kingdoms game. An excellent value.

LIKED: The art was great, and there are a lot of images for your four bucks. Excellent stuff for a pulp game.

DISLIKED: A few of the images would have to be significantly altered before you could use them; unless your game has a 'Tesla Corp,' for instance, you probably won't want the shot of a group of employees in front of the sign.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OtherWorldly Art Portfolio Volume Three
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OtherWorldly Art Portfolio Volume One
by The L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2004 00:00:00
A fairly nice book. The artwork is very good, and all in black + white, which is perfect for my own needs. But make no mistake about it -- the quality of what you get is nowhere near as high as the quality of the cover, which can be a bit misleading.

The lack of a Demo/preview is suspicious at best, but overall I liked this product. However, I suspect that this won't be for everyone. I mean, can your really make use of a picture of cat-people?

I have to give this 3 stars (out of 5) because I really like this book for myself. But I knock it a point because you basically have to buy it sight-unseen. The lack of demo/preview is sad indeed. There is also the issue of usefulness. Although it is useful to me, I suspect it may be less useful to other publishers. The quality internally is good, but you could do better for the price. If I could give it 3.5 stars, I would.

~Le





Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
OtherWorldly Art Portfolio Volume One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OtherWorldly Art Portfolio Volume One
by Tim G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2004 00:00:00
If you're looking for images for a specific project, think about waiting for a demo to become available. (Sadly the company's site doesn't mention this product at all, though it seems to be having an overhaul just now.) You've got the work of 5 different artists here, varying a lot in style and quality, but none as impressive as the cover. The 23 images include 4 featuring cat-people (one in bondage gear!) and 4 of objects. Of course at this low price there's little to complain about. Perhaps best as a sampler of the artists' work, for possible follow-up.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
OtherWorldly Art Portfolio Volume One
by Daniel P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2004 00:00:00
As expected, the art is very much tied to the Diomin setting from the publisher. That said, the art is good, there are enough generic pieces to make it worthwhile, and hey, you could always create a race of feline humanoids and make use of the rest of the illustrations. Good resource for GMs/independent publishers for the price.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
OtherWorldly Art Portfolio Volume One
by Orval M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2004 00:00:00
A good product, but it is more an atmospheric product than something useful to a player. If you plan on using the art as a GM then this product will work for you. If you plan on using the art as a player, then there are only a few portraits of use to you.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden Kingdoms - Paris: The Spectral City Babbage Edition
by Angus M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2004 00:00:00
Okay, let me just say this straight up -- this is a FUN supplement! Even though I am not running a game currently using the Forbidden Kingdoms system, this city guide has given me literally dozens of ideas for games as far flung as Castle Falkenstein and Arcana Unearthed; heck, I could pull material out of here to spice up Ars Magica! There are so many clever characters, background stories, and just bits of fluff (like how one is supposed to truly appreciate absinthe and why the Eiffel Tower could be significant in a host of different settings) that I think I will get more mileage out of this than any other single city supplement I have ever picked up.

Bravo!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden Kingdoms - Paris: The Spectral City Babbage Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the great review Angus!
[d20 Modern] Countdown: Operation Dead Drop
by Jane S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2004 00:00:00
Good item if you enjoy role-playing based in current events. I would buy even though recent events have somewhat dated the concept.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[d20 Modern] Countdown: Operation Dead Drop
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Forbidden Kingdoms - Paris: The Spectral City Babbage Edition
by Dave A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2004 00:00:00
I would have liked to have seen the GM's Codex for Forbidden Kingdoms come out before the Paris sourcebook, but still, there is a lot of great material in here and beefs up the mystical content of the core game as well as provide a in-depth setting for adventures.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden Kingdoms - Paris: The Spectral City Babbage Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Forbidden Kingdoms - Paris: The Spectral City Babbage Edition
by Lowell F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2003 00:00:00
WOW.
I can't comment on the d20 mechanics here but this is a lovely book, with tons of interesting ideas. I'm really pleased that I picked this up.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
"It would have been nice to have a quick list of how many prints of type X or Y are needed to assemble the overview map." That's a great idea, Sean. Thanks for that! I'll have a word with the developers and see if we can't do that for future products. And thanks for the positive comments. I'm glad you liked the tiles. Happy gaming, -M- Martin, Talisman Studios Publisher
Displaying 76 to 90 (of 90 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates