DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Quicksilver Lite
by Kenneth S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2016 17:45:35

I bought this on a whime... because I liked the cover art and thought the 'psychic metal' idea sounded cool... lo and behold there's a pretty decent game and setting in there as well!
The other review here covers the details, 2d10 roll under, point buy character creation, magic system that's flavored more along the lines of psychic powers than the usual fantasy sorcery.
Even though the book isn't long (80+ pages) there's a LOT packed into it. No space is wasted on game fiction or wordy meanderings... this game is meant to be played!
There's a good bit of setting information and a bestiary. I also really like they way they've approached the races... right away I made a sneaky goblin character who happens to have a noblewoman as a trusted friend.
The text is very easy to read, no distracting background graphics or weird fonts. The artwork is sparse but very well done line art that got me wanting to play the game.
It's even got an index!
This is a tight product that aims straight at being useful and getting onto the table. The rules are quick and simple... just a bit more crunchy than I'd call 'rules lite' but most of that is because of the combat, which seems to favor the use of miniatures of some sort (like the cardstock figures the company also sells).
I hope there will be more coming for this setting, adventures and maybe more Quicksilver uses/creatures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quicksilver Lite
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

JD2 Darkland Moors
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/28/2016 17:15:00

Another mini-adventure, this time for a little bit higher lever adventurers. The basic idea here is to investigate the moor and defeat a cyclops causing trouble. There are three black and white maps. Given this is about a cyclops I could work it into the Giants series pretty easily.


Both Jeff Dee's JD Adventures are under $2.50. At just under 10 pages it is perfect for a quick afternoon game. It would work great while traveling to another adventure or in-between towns. Good for slotting in between other adventures or even to break up the campaign a little.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
JD2 Darkland Moors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pocket Universe
by Larry F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2015 11:12:07

Amazing game only complaint is the layout. I have found that it is very easy to convert other games to this for a quicker paced game. Also Jeff Dee is easily reached by enail if you have questions.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pocket Universe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sakbe Road Foamcore Kit
by Tom R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2015 12:55:45

this kit is easy to do and looks great when finished. I always thought about making one but never got around to it. Only about 40 yrs but who's counting. Well done. Hope to see more kits like this in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sakbe Road Foamcore Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pocket Universe
by Jason C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2014 23:00:50

This system would be more appealing were it 1985, but it's not. It's layout is confusing and it really needs to be edited for clarity. Not bad if you need something quick, but it's nothing I'd use long term. I'm not all into making my own every thing for games anymore.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Pocket Universe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bethorm: the Plane of Tekumel RPG
by Grayson R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2014 09:33:39

I got mine the other night, and it's beautiful! Very nicely laid out, chock full of information. I mean just dripping with details. It clocks in at 262 pages, and they are packed with rich information about the world and the game system. Lots of tables and charts, which I could spend days reading just for fun. It has lots of art too, which is more along the lines of the original AD&D monster manual—that is, old-school line art. But the pictures are great and the style has a definite charm. The maps in the back are GORGEOUS. I spent a long time poring over the city map of Katalal (zoomed up to 600% so I could see every street and hovel). That map is an AMAZING piece of art. It makes the city seem alive. The map of the surrounding countryside, and the hex map of Tsolyanu are beautiful too. All in all, I have to say this product really delivers. They have truly done right by Professor Barker, and by any fan who purchases this book. Whether you get the PDF or the print copy (or both!) you will surely be very pleased!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bethorm: the Plane of Tekumel RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cavemaster RPG
by Robert F. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2014 00:47:49

There's a section on my old World Of Greyhawk maps called The Land Of Black Ice. Maybe some of you grognards will recognize it. It's such a wonderfully evocative name and concept that I've been fascinated by it since I was about 12; I even hijacked it into my very first attempt at a homebrew world, when I was about 13. I've wanted to build a campaign around it for years, but it's always given me trouble.


See, the name calls forth images of a fantasy Ice Age: cave-halflings, woolly mammoths, shamans, and stone-age hunter-gatherers fending off the forces of darkness with inadequate tools and poorly-understood magic. And the problem with that is that it doesn't fit well with any version of D&D; in order to evoke the proper feel for an Ice Age campaign, I have to deny options (particular classes, tools, spells, skills, etc.) to my players, and no player likes having their toys taken away.


Cavemaster solves this problem. Rather than shoe-horning the Ice Age into a pre-existing rules-set by taking things out, Cavemaster evokes its primitive setting by providing a game with multiple options, powered by rules that help you get INTO character before you even HAVE a character.


The game makes the Stone Age into a compelling, viable fantasy setting, and is nearly flawless in its game design. Well worth the asking price.


I'm gonna go start planning out my "Time Of The Black Ice" campaign, powered by Cavemaster!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cavemaster RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

JD1 Cess-Pit of the Bog-Mother
by Ethan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2014 09:24:28

This is a great simple and quick addition to the library. A perfect side adventure or a great intro to the game for new players. Thanks for putting this together, Jeff!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
JD1 Cess-Pit of the Bog-Mother
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dinosaurs of the Lost Valley
by john b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2013 03:20:33

This expansion was well worth the wait. I hope they are able to develop more cavemaster adventures, and expansions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dinosaurs of the Lost Valley
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

JD1 Cess-Pit of the Bog-Mother
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/25/2013 16:38:20

Fun little adventure for characters level 1-3 for your favorite Old-School game.
At just under 10 pages it is perfect for a quick afternoon game. It would work great while travelling to another adventure or in-between towns. The map is repeated in b&w (blue and white) and full color versions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
JD1 Cess-Pit of the Bog-Mother
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cavemaster RPG
by James P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2013 16:31:19

Cavemaster is probably not like most games you've played - Basic Role Playing, D&D, Savage Worlds, heck, even the new Star Wars Edge of the Empire all try to do something innovative and different with dice. You role-play and roll dice to spice up the story telling.


The Habilis game system is something else entirely. No dice. But this is not a dice-less system, it's just that, well, cavemen didn't have dice so an authentic caveman game shouldn't use dice. What does a paleolithic gamer use? Sticks and stones. No really, you use little things you should be able to find just about anywhere to build up a "dice pool", distribute them on your awesome character sheet (an animal skin) and off you go.


Although you probably could explore a damp and menacing dungeon, you might want to first go hunting for the food your tribe needs to last one more day. Bag yourself a bison without getting gored? Good job, now how are you going to cook it? Fire? Who knows how to make fire? Yeah, forget the cave and gold. You need shelter and those crazy herbs the elder swears will cure the tribe's lack of offspring. They're easy to find. You just need to go to the Lost Valley. Gird your loins and take up your flint spear. It's off for real adventure - survival.


Ok, enough of that. Cavemaster is a truly innovative game that lets you tell and experience stories form a more primitive time. It is relatively easy to learn but contains a dynamic and rich resolution mechanic that allows a more invested style of play.


Finally, there is a bit of "stonepunk" to it that allows a cavemaster (GM) to introduce a bit less realistic elements into their campaign. There are unfamiliar races, rules for introducing magic, dinosaurs (but keep an eye out for the Dinosaurs of the Lost Valley coming out soon), and even visitors from another time or place. So whether you need a jazzy one-off for something different or a whole campaign inspired by the dawn of civilization, Cavemaster is a vital step in gamer evolution.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cavemaster RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cavemaster RPG
by john b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2013 19:03:05

a really good game, I look forward to the dino expansion up and running on kickstarter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cavemaster RPG
by Graham R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2012 14:48:54

A marvellous piece of work. Well researched, without being overly erudite, which makes it a pleasure to read.
The mechanics are innovative, simple and genre appropriate. In this last area, other game designers would do well to take note, a well written game can be ruined by mechanics that seem incongruous to the setting. That's not the case here though. The cavemaster mechanics use stones instead of dice, and a character sheet without words. This is evocative of the genre and not at all clunky.
The hominins (character races if you like) are presented with a good deal of depth, and enhance the scope of the game nicely. The setting is rich, and well presented, which is a boon in a genre that is perhaps more limited than fantasy settings.
This game presents prehistory in an entertaining manner, and the illustrations capture the setting nicely. There are no negatives.
Get out of the conventional fantasy rut, and give this a go.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Teenage Demon Slayers: Strength in Numbers
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/10/2011 16:58:20

Strength in Numbers is a free introductory scenario for Teenage Demon Slayers. Introductory scenarios have a lot of goals that they have to fulfill. They have to give the basics of the system, establish a tone, and make us want to come back and play more. Strength in Numbers fulfills all of these, and even has a few innovations that you might not expect.


First of all, though I'm not sure if it's intentional, the scenario sets a very serious tone. For a game about teenage demon slayers, the demonic problems and damage is presented absolutely straightfaced and without winks and nods. This is interesting, and something that I've often found helps comedic games - if the comedy lies in the characters, Buffy-style, then the situations have to be "real" in order for the game not to go crazily off the rails into nonsense. The Strength in Numbers scenario is presented with almost a grim tone, counting on the concept of the game and the players to provide any levity. That's a good choice.


A second unusual trait of Strength in Numbers is its timeline. Although many mystery scenarios are constructed around a timeline, Strength in Numbers gives specific time segments for different actions the player characters might try, such as questioning witnesses or pursuing suspects. This helps new GMs follow the timeline of the evil demon-summoning delinquents, a good tool for an introductory scenario.


A free scenario like Strength in Numbers is a great idea for any game, especially for cheap bastards like myself, and Strength in Numbers is a good way to get started with Teenage Demon Slayers!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Teenage Demon Slayers: Strength in Numbers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Teenage Demon Slayers
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/26/2011 23:13:03

I do not own or ever have played a Pocket Universe game, but I was working on a "magical high school" campaign for my players and I saw this. I saw Jeff Dee's name and picked up a copy.
It makes for a good resource and translating the ideas to other games or systems is fairly easy.
It can't comment on the playability of the material, the readability was fine.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Teenage Demon Slayers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates