DriveThruRPG.com
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Cleric Ability Sheet, Light Domain
by Mark T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2017 00:54:56

They just retyped the Light cleric Class information. Very plain, Glad i only paid .50.... If it was more i would ask for a refund.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cleric Ability Sheet, Light Domain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

{WH} Traders & Merchants! Inventories for 28 different types of merchant, indexed by quality.
by Kenneth R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 08:59:58

This is a fantastic document. There is a lot of great information in here, with links back to the proper books when possible. There are some great quick build tables and some fun stuff cover oddities and powerful magics. Its lacking a contents page, which make it clunky to find things onthe fly, but thats a minor issue for how great the rest of the book is.

I would suggest adding a table of contents for easier navigation and quick find book marks for the PDF i also think you could easily charge for this instead of PWYW. This is easily worth the 5$ of your suggested price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
{WH} Traders & Merchants! Inventories for 28 different types of merchant, indexed by quality.
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Additional Fight Clubs for the Pugilist Class
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 05:59:21

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This expansion for the pugilist class clocks in at 4 pages, 1 page front cover, 3 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

This pdf was moved up in my review-queue as a prioritized review at the request of my patreons.

The first of these fight clubs would be the Arena Royale – which creates an alternate persona. You make a Charisma (Disguise Kit) check at advantage. Creatures with passive Insight lower than that result will not recognize the character and unarmored AC is increased to 10 + Dexterity and Constitution modifier. 6th level may be a bit much: While in the alternate persona, you may make a Charisma (Performance) check to instill adoration or fear – all creatures within 30 ft that can see you must succeed a Wisdom save to avoid being charmed or frightened for 1 minute, with a long rest to recharge. Compare that to charm person, which has a fixed limit based on spell level used. That could use some nerfing. Why not tie the number of affected targets to proficiency bonus? Also, RAW, it does not end the charm effect upon being attacked, affects ALL creature types. This ability, in short, needs clarification and nerfing. Restricting affected targets, moxie point cost and decreased efficiency would make sense.

11th level yields +10 ft. speed when in persona, tripled jump distance and bonus action Dash – which probably should cost a moxie point. 17th level provides the ultimate mook sweeper: Signature move lets you jump into the air and smash down on a target – you crit if you hit and stun the target, no save (!!) – and you only expend it (requires a long rest to recharge) if you do not reduce the target to 0 hp.

The second fight club would be the bloodhound bruisers, who are basically martial detectives – 3rd level yields the options to spend moxie points for advantage on Intelligence (Investigation), Wisdom (Perception) in settlements or Wisdom (Insight) to determine when someone’s lying. 6th level provides a Sherlock Holmes movie style “in your head” planning, represented by Wisdom saves contested by Intelligence (Investigation), moxie-based attack evasion and moxie-based analysis of enemies (if they fail a save). 11th level allows you to attune yourself to a city: You cannot be surprised and add proficiency bonus to initiative; darkvision 120 ft; doubled proficiency bonus for aforementioned investigative skills and double movement rate to travel when not in combat. The doubled proficiency to skills used to negate attacks etc. is very potent and something I’d nerf. 17th level lets you spend 3 moxie points as a bonus action to get free access to all moxie-based features – no cost for 1 minute. OUCH. This tries to duplicate the Sherlock Holmes from the popular movies and I really like it for that, even though I consider it to be honestly a bit over the top regarding its power. The evasion tricks are better than those of comparable fight clubs.

The final option would be Salt & Vinegar, which gains an ability to infuriate targets via moxie-spiced insults, basically drawing agro and imposing disadvantage on attack rolls of targets not attacking you…oh, and the creature takes psychic damage. 6th level provides 3 moxie-based tricks to temporarily blind foes, slow them or knock them prone. 11th level increases the save DC for the insult by 2 and eliminates the moxie point cost for the insult….which means infinite psychic damage, which is almost never resisted. Not a fan. 17th level nets you the option to, as a bonus action, expend 3 moxie or enrage a target, forcing it to attack you. All in all, not a fan. Seen insults done better.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting re very good on a formal level, I noticed no serious glitches. Layout adheres to the PHB’s 2-column full-color standard and the pdf provides nice artworks by Ners and Alys Flock. The pdf has bookmarks, in spite of its brevity – kudos! Also nice: A printer-friendly version is included!

Benjamin Huffman’s new fight clubs for the already potent pugilist class leave me torn – on one hand, I love the Sherlock Holmes-inspired club…but the base class already is stronger than the monk…and these pretty much one-up the options. I have some concerns regarding all three fight clubs and they feel, as a whole, less refined to me than the options provided in the base book. That being said, this is PWYW as for higher-powered games, this may well work out. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 3 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Additional Fight Clubs for the Pugilist Class
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

the Pugilist Class
by Thilo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 05:57:23

An Endzeitgeist.com review

The pugilist base class presented herein clocks in at 8 pages, 1 page front cover/editorial, leaving us with 7 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

This review was moved up in my reviewing queue as a prioritized review at the request of my patreons.

The pugilist base class presented here gets 1d8 HD and proficiency in light armor, simple weapons, improvised weapons, whip and hand crossbow as well as artisan tools, gaming set or thieves’ tools. The class is proficient in both Strength and Constitution saves and you may choose two skills from Athletics, Acrobatics, Deception, Intimidation, Perception, Sleight of Hand, Stealth.

The pugilist gains fisticuffs at first level – a variant of the monk’s Martial Arts feature that increases the base damage die by one step – it begins at 1d6 and scales up to 1d12 for base damage and, akin to Martial Arts, the class feature does not gain the Dexterity modifier substitution. However, when using the Attack action to make an unarmed attack or pugilist weapon attack, you can make an unarmed attack or grapple as a bonus action. As a minor complaint: The rules-language here deviates slightly from the precedence of the monk here. Pugilist weapons are defined as simple weapons without the two-handed property. Weapons used as pugilist weapons do not benefit from the finesse property. Weird: The class gains the whip, but it is RAW not included in the pugilist weapons.

The class also uses Constitution modifier instead of Dexterity modifier to determine AC when wearing no armor or light armor, which is pretty potent. This would be as well a place as any to note that the rules-formatting is not always perfect: Attributes here are not capitalized. Starting at second level, you gain moxie points, 2, to be precise – and these are upgraded to up to 12 over the course of the progression of the class. Moxie points are replenished upon completing a short or long rest and three basic uses are presented. As a bonus action, you may spend 1 moxie point and roll your fisticuff dice, add pugilist level and Constitution modifier (why not proficiency bonus instead of class level?) to gain as many temporary hit points. After executing an Attack on your turn, you can spend a point for +2 unarmed strikes as a bonus action. Finally, as a bonus action, you may spend 1 point for a shove attack or Dash. 2nd level also nets you a form of streetsmarts – once you have partied in a settlement for 8 hours, you know the public locations as though born and raised there. Imho, this should have a variable formula to account for settlement sizes. I can see that for thorps etc. – but not for e.g. a metropolis like Sigil. At 13th level, after carousing thus for a night, you btw. gain advantage on Charisma (Persuasion) and Charisma (Intimidation) rolls in that settlement.

At 3rd level, when reduced to below ½ maximum hit points, you gain class level + Constitution modifier temporary hit points and regain all spent moxie points. This ability recharges on a short or long rest – and frankly, I think it should only replenish on long rests. At 9th level, you may also add proficiency bonus to damage for one minute when activating the feature, though this damage boost only recharges upon completing a long rest.

4th level and every 4 levels thereafter yield ability score improvements. Additionally, as a bonus action, you can grant yourself resistance to bludgeoning, piercing or slashing damage for 1 minute, but thereafter you gain a level of exhaustion. 5th level yields Extra Attack as well as the option to swing wild haymakers – you may only do that for attacks not suffering from disadvantage, since the ability imposes disadvantage on your attacks, but an attack that does connect hits for maximum die result damage. This is problematic when multiclassing or handling pugilist weapons that add damage dice to the damage caused. The ability would benefit from a caveat that makes it only apply to the fisticuff base damage.

At 6th level, unarmed strikes or pugilist weapon attacks are treated as magic and 7th level allows you to use your action to shake off the charmed or frightened conditions. 10th level yields resistance to psychic damage as well as advantage on saves versus the stunned or unconscious condition – weird: Shouldn’t this first apply to the incapacitated condition and then move on to the more potent ones?

At 14th level, you gain advantage on all three physical saving throws and whenever you fail a saving throw, you may spend 1 moxie (not even a reaction) point to reroll the save and take the second result. I am not sure whether this rebrand of Diamond Soul’s save rerolls should work for all saves. 15th level doubles carrying capacity, jump height and distance and when dealing damage to an inanimate object, damage is doubled – I assume before damage threshold? Or after that? At 18th level, when you have 4 levels of exhaustion or less and are reduced to 0 hit points, you regain ½ maximum hit points, ½ maximum moxie points and gain a level of exhaustion – with a long rest to recharge. 20th level yields a Strength and Constitution increase by 2 to a maximum of 22 and you recover 2 levels of exhaustion when taking a long rest and you also regain all expended hit dice.

At 3rd level, the class may choose a fight club, two of which are included herein. These net features at 3rd, 6th, 11th and 17th level. The first would be the squared circle nets 3 new uses for moxie points for reaction grapple breaks, using reactions in opportunity attacks to grapple foes or add knocking prone to grappling. At 6th level, when grappling, you can use your reaction upon being missed to make the grappled creature take potentially the hit. 11th level makes you count as one size larger for purposes of grappling (ouch!) and allows you to move at full speed while dragging/carrying grappled creatures and 17th level lets you score critical hits on rolls of 19 and 20 against targets you have grappled. Basically, a grapple specialist and its execution is pretty neat indeed.

The sweet science would be the second fight club, who learns to spend two moxie points as a reaction to reduce the damage of incoming attacks – once again, using class level as part of the formula, which may cause some purists to scowl. When reudicng an attack to 0 damage, you get a counter attack, which can be pretty cool. 6th level yields the option to, as a bonus action after hitting with the quasi-flurry, add another attack, but only if both attacks of the flurry hit – but interesting: The attack knocks the target prone instead of causing damage. 11th level nets you a regained moxie point when pulling off a counter attack. Due to the moxie cost of counter attempts, this remains kitten-abuse proof. Good! The 17th level ability lets you roll 3d12 + 1d12 per moxie point you expend when hitting a creature – if the result exceeds the creature’s hit points, you knock it unconscious for 10 minutes.

The class comes with multiclassing notes, 3 nice pugilist simple weapons as a couple of magic items: unarmored AC-bonus granting magic leather jerkins, an everfull stein (can I please have one IRL?) and the rerolls-granting loaded dice. An amulet grants you more temporary hit points whenever you gain them (which can be problematic), while fist-based weaponry can help dealing with fiends and undead. A rare potion provides a static damage boost for 1 minute and a grappling whip as well as thundering fist weapons can be found. The magic items, while not bad, feel a bit focused on number-bonuses.

Oh well, the pdf closes with a sample challenge ½, 3 and 5 NPC making use of some of the rules.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are good on a formal level. On a rules-language level, this is pretty impressive as well, often tackling complex concepts rather well. Layout adheres to the 2-column full-color standard established by the PHB, with solid art-choices. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. The pdf comes with a second, printer-friendly version –kudos!!

Benjamin Huffman, with support by Ners, has created a class for all those folks who want Rocky, not a WuXia dude jumping around. One of my players loves the concept of martial artists, but hates the whole Eastern mysticism etc. – and this delivers. Emphasizing Strength and some SERIOUS damage-soaking abilities, the pugilist presented herein is less flexible and versatile in his tricks than the monk, but more potent at the same time – whether you like that or not is a matter of taste. I actually thought it’d be worse and plays better than I expected – while I am not the biggest fan of using PF’s class levels and basically 4th ed’s bloodied style mechanics to trigger some of the abilities, and while I wished it tried to use formulae akin to those employed by the base classes, but it does work out and this complaint is mostly aesthetic.

Note that the class is pretty potent and will eclipse the monk’s straight damage output, but lag behind in other disciplines., and I am not the biggest fan of the magic items presented herein – but the matter of the fact remains that this pdf is PWYW, which allows you to check this out and then judge for yourself whether this is worth getting. My final verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars – and while the imperfections would make me usually round down, I’ll round up due to the fair PWYW-offering.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
the Pugilist Class
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Critter Compendium
by Jesse R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2017 18:27:01

This is really good, a lot of interesting creatures in here and creativity. Overall I was happy about my purchase of this product. I wish these were all in Kobold Fight Club.

Pros: Many creatures, significant creativity, alternative options and types of creatures already made, great matchup with other pdf's/books of monsters in 5e, similar formatting to other material on creatures for 5e.

Cons: Price tag feels a little steep, sometimes feels not in alphabetical order, none of these are on Kobold Fight Club



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Critter Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CCC-BLD 1-1 Bleeding Gate: Pandemonium
by Dustin G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2017 18:22:27

Ran the adventure for a group of 5 first level characters 4 of who are brand new to D&D. Everyone loved it. Using the encounter scale made it very balanced and the rewards are great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BLD 1-1 Bleeding Gate: Pandemonium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CCC-PDXAGE-01-01 The White Well
by Timothy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2017 15:46:21

I just ran this for a group of 4 on fantasy grounds. I found it to be a very well written and enjoyable adventure. It was easy to prep, and easy to follow. This adventure also had a suprising amount of backstory for a 2 hour mod, which I felt really added to the feel. The encounters were challenging, and the maps were well done. I definitely reccomend this adventure to anyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-PDXAGE-01-01 The White Well
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lost Mine of Phandelver: 6th Pregen Character
by Jim S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2017 12:22:27

It's an Elven Ranger. I presume it's rolled up as per the rules. Great. It looks just like the character sheets for the other pre-gens for Lost Mine of Phandelver. Also great. But the beauty of the LMoP pre-gens is that they all interact with the plot in certain ways. While this character's background gives a (rather unjustified) rationale for starting the adventure, it doesn't, as the other characters' backgrounds do, give the character incentive to advance the plot of the adventure. The only reason to (optionally) pay for a character sheet for this adventure is if the creator had put as much thought into creating a Personal Goal for the character that made as much sense as the ones for the included characters. That is not the case here. Plus, there are a couple of typos and awkward wordings that make the quality not match the product it's trying to fit into.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Mine of Phandelver: 6th Pregen Character
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Mystic Circle
by aaron w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2017 04:51:25

This was very fast, very straight forward, and easy to plug in to most generic fantasy settings, even with a few tweaks. This adventure includes a map of the general area, a map to the specific dungeon and its immediate area, and includes a map of the small dungeon itself. I ranked this 4/5 stars because it definitely delivers for a quick and broad one shot for newer DnD players (that is to say, I specifically used it for newer players).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystic Circle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Puppeteer
by Tyler B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2017 22:41:44
It requires you to use your ASI to acquire feats to get armor & weapons better then simple just for put on your puppets. I tried to talk to the creator and let them know what about the flaw but instead of talking about solution it was that would break the balance or be OP. I see potential, but do not buy this class. If you do i would recommend allowing puppets to wield and wear armor even if magical(as long as it doesn't require attunement). Change Nimble level 5 ability to Extra Attack and at level 2 add, if your puppet takes the attack action, a puppet can make one weapon attack as a bonus action. Those are the some changes that should be made if the creator doesn't come up with good solution. For those that think giving armor & weapon to puppets is OP, you have to use your action to attack with them and once the enemy realizes the person 30 feet away(which is the distance you can control a puppet, goes up to 60 at higher levels) is control the puppet or two, they going to ignore the fakes and attack the real problem. Now it is possible to be Throw Voice(ventriloquism, look at minor illusion to get an idea how it works) within 30ft but that has a DC but the great thing about this class is that the DC is Dexterity + Prof + 8. But heres the thing, these are not leaving creatures and do not get attacks of opportunity and can't give sneak attack to rogues. They, while considered constructs, can't do anything without a puppet master. The ability Automaton can do a little without the puppeteer, i gave an suggestion for 1 minute the puppet acts on it own completely but once used you need to complete a rest to do so again. Love the idea, i really do but i can't support a weaken class that relies on feats and only gives 5 ASI, maybe if they gave it more ASI but until a reasonable solution is found, i giving this a 2. Not the worst but not worth the 5 dollars.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Puppeteer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Character Sheet - MPMB's fully-automated Colorful character generator
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2017 19:17:08

This is so easy to use. It makes character generation and updating a breeze. The creator is also super redponsive to questions and issues. A must-buy for D&D players. Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character Sheet - MPMB's fully-automated Colorful character generator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OotA Random Encounter Battle Maps
by Hiten D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2017 16:33:05

Good job with these! Very handy for my purposes (We play on Roll20)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OotA Random Encounter Battle Maps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Character Sheet - MPMB's fully-automated Printer Friendly character generator
by Brandon H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2017 14:35:02

Easily the best character sheet out there bar none. The Printer friendly version is a must have for paper and pencil gamers, even using the pdf on your computer during the game is an amazing experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character Sheet - MPMB's fully-automated Printer Friendly character generator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mind Flayer Paper Miniatures
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2017 09:32:23

Classic Okumarts style applied to an iconic monster. I love it! The art style and bright colors make the minis really visible on the table while playing. They're more fun to use and easier to move around than flat tokens!

This PDF comes with the Mind Flayer in two poses, and three Grimlocks in different poses. There are six color options, and there are optional bases right on the page if you need them. If you've never built these guys before, he's provided instructions. You're going to want a craft knife and a cutting surface, some glue (like a glue stick, Super77 spray glue, etc) a black marker (like a Sharpie) and a little patience as you get the hang of cutting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind Flayer Paper Miniatures
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
by Jonathan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2017 03:46:38

This module has served to greatly enrich my Storm King's Thunder adventure. This adventure served to hint at many things yet to come while introducing multiple villains. Both the "beauty" and "beast" introduced ended up getting away from the party and continue to work their schemes elsewhere, introducing new enemy types that aren't all brute force (as the bulk of giants tend to be). As my party has slowly specialized in giant-slaying, the occasional curveball keeps things interesting.

This adventure, not only good in its own right, has been indespensible. I'd HIGHLY recommend it to ANYONE running Storm King's Thunder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kraken's Gamble - a Storm King's Thunder Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3550 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates