DriveThruRPG.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
CCC-QCC2017 Delusions of Grandeur, Dreams of Revenge
by Anthony V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2017 07:02:04

played this at QCC then had to buy the module. The writing is great, story is fun some good twists. I LOVE the story award, even if we didn't earn in.

The major problem was the difficulty. Much of the encounters were too easy for t3, almost every encounter should have been scaled up or used smarter monsters. Given we are a group of dedicated players but it needed more umph to feel like we were needed, as it was I felt like it would have been more exciting for high level t2.

That said it was a really fun adventure and leads to good roleplaying and fun, leaps and bounds above most CCC which usually leaves me underwhelmed. GET IT! Just throw in a volo monster or 3 to mix it up!

also seriously the story award makes Season 2 magic items hip again :-)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-QCC2017 Delusions of Grandeur, Dreams of Revenge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monk Archetype: Way of the Ascended Sage
by Kristen L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 22:56:04

I love this. Especially since I was disappointed by the Way of the Four Elements path for Monks. I think Way of the Ascended Sage not only surpasses it, but really stands on its own. If I could offer two minor suggestions, they would be in the "New Spells" section. First, I feel as though Spitfire Aura should be slightly higher level given the power of the spell. Second, I would have liked more melee based, elemental damage-on-hit spells (i.e. Green Flame Blade from Sword Coast Adventures) Despite those two minor greivances, I cannot recommend this product enough. Very clearly laid out and thoughtfully balanced. 9 out of 10! Would devote myself to the Way of the Ascended Sage!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monk Archetype: Way of the Ascended Sage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monk Archetype: Way of the Ascended Sage
by Corwin L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 20:45:17

To start, given WOTC's love of mix and match spellcasting in Unearthed Arcana, I'm surprised we don't already have a monk with true spellcasting. And now honestly, I don't want one because I think it'd be a let down compared to this. Ascended Sage does a great job of weaving spellcasting into the monk's repertoire of melee focused combat and use of ki points on top of being another class that makes intelligence actually feel important. The new spells are both fun and interesting and just from a few reads over the class and new spells I've got a few character ideas kicking around for future characters and some NPC's in the current campaign I'm running.

Spellcasting in handled much like the other 1/4 casters, only without the restraints of the classes like Eldritch Knight or Arcane Trickster making build diversity much better. Esoteric Knowledge is great for DM's like myself who tend to let players use Arcana as a way to explore the more magic oriented parts of the campaign. Martial Casting is similar to the EK's War Magic and is a great addition to a class that weaves martial attacks with spellcasting support. I find Spiritual Admixture to be quite powerful and it makes crowd control monks and single-target debuff strategies more viable than some spellcasters. The use of this feature being balanced by need of ki-points is great, more evidence that the archetype is well suited to the monk's core features. Arcane Ascension is quite exciting for the final feature and feels better than some of the vanilla capstones. The ability to mix and match spell buffs per long rest is quite powerful, however the lack of concentration spells is a good balance from making things too powerful. My only criticism of AA is the wording. I believe it's meant to be limited by the spells on your spells known list, however its wording is just vague enough to be also seen as taking spells from the entirety of the wizard’s spell list. So some clarification there could be good.

The new spells added along with the class are unique and don't seem like rehashes of older spells. Spirit Arrow is a nice addition to the list of "damage cantrips with a bonus" and the location awareness is something not many people think useful until it happens. Spiritfire Aura actually is surprisingly useful given the sheer amount of enemies at later levels that have resistances to multiple damage types. It's also a spell that can definitely be used with AA to great effect. Substitution is adorable in the fact that it is essentially Naruto's substitution jutsu in D&D and it's done right. It's not overly complicated and feels really smooth in practice. Animate WEapon is in my opinion the most powerful of the bunch and definitely has the potential to be overpowered with the right build, but it is just so much fun to use. For those that want more balance, I suggest making it unable to work on weapon's with the heavy property. FInally we come to Sage's Battle Meditation, which feels like something straight out of a Jedi training manual. It's a nice alternative to Haste for spells that give massive buffs in a short time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Curse of Strahd - DM Guide - Elven Tower
by Jared D. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 19:48:17

I'm glad to have paid for this guide, it adds so much to the adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Curse of Strahd - DM Guide - Elven Tower
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DGSG30 Adventuring Days 1
by Isaac J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 16:29:42

These are very good. I'm very happy with the product. Well designed, compact, and I was able to run them with just about 10 minutes of prep.

As other reviewers have noted, these seem to run best when the DM and party aren't heavy into in-character roleplaying. There are a lot of things that normally are in a module to help augment roleplaying that are not in here. For example, physical descriptions of the NPCs, or speech patterns. So while I was able to run them with very little prep necessary, I had to add my own NPC quirks and such on the fly when it came to roleplaying.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DGSG30 Adventuring Days 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DGSG30 Adventuring Days 1
by Aimil M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 16:23:09

I ran the three of these in a total of just under seven hours. I can see how they could go longers, but my party wasn't really roleplay heavy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt (A Halloween One-shot)
by Amy D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 14:32:35

Ran this over the weekend. Highly recommended!!! We did use the youtube videos another user recommended for some amibant spookyness and it was great. Time seems accurate, took about 6 hours and we kept it light, had dinner and conversation. I will admit my group had some "specialized" weapons so combact was a bit easy and faster for them, but the passeing was great, the puzzels were just enough. I am going to "dumb" it down a bit to run with my kids (6 and 9).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt (A Halloween One-shot)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Wow, thanks for the review Amy! We are super glad that you and your courageous band of adventurers enjoyed it! Be sure to check out our other titles. Regards PB
Adventure: Unknown Whom
by Paul S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 14:13:25

What a brilliant idea for a one off game or even the start of a campaign. I love that the players start at pre level 1 and develop into full characters during the initial stages, great fun. Will be a good introduction for new players or a really fun and head scratching session for the more experienced.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure: Unknown Whom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Item Crafting Rules for 5e
by Brett K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 13:56:26

I think these rules are fantastic and plan to implement them in my game as soon as I can.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Item Crafting Rules for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Grounds 5E Class Feature Effects Coding
by Brant U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 13:08:25

Rob has once again done everyone who uses FG a massive service with his handling the coding of effects for you! Another exceptional product which is worth every penny. Make sure to check out his complete works collection for great savings and alot of bang for your buck if you're an FG user



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds 5E Class Feature Effects Coding
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Grounds 5E Class Feature Effects Coding
by rex v. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 13:07:27

exactly what i was looking for definatly makes life as a dm or even a player much easyer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds 5E Feats Effects Coding
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 10:18:28

The FG 5E Feats Effects coding was just what I was looking for and was pointed toward it from the FG College. I highly recommend it as I was thinking I would have to do all the coding myself for the effects not included in the 5e PHB.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds 5E Feats Effects Coding
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Grounds 5E Race Trait Effects Coding
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 10:16:53

The FG 5E Race Trait Effects coding was just what I was looking for and was pointed toward it from the FG College. I highly recommend it as I was thinking I would have to do all the coding myself for the effects not included in the 5e PHB.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds 5E Race Trait Effects Coding
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Grounds 5E Class Feature Effects Coding
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 10:15:58

The FG 5E Class Feature Effects coding was just what I was looking for and was pointed toward it from the FG College. I highly recommend it as I was thinking I would have to do all the coding myself for the effects not included in the 5e PHB.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds 5E Class Feature Effects Coding
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fantasy Grounds 5E Spell Effects Coding
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2017 10:13:20

The FG 5E Spell Effects coding was just what I was looking for and was pointed toward it from the FG College. I highly recommend it as I was thinking I would have to do all the coding myself for the effects not included in the 5e PHB.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Grounds 5E Spell Effects Coding
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3963 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates