DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Festival of Magic
by Andrew N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2018 07:51:14

This is a fun, lighthearted adventure that will be a great introduction to the game or a fun one-shot for low-level players. I could easily imagine running this adventure for younger players, or for adults who want a more whimsical adventure. The adventure is clearly presented, each encounter is well-described and contains all of the information you need. The original art and maps are beautiful. The document is well-laid out. The writing style is clear and concise.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Festival of Magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CCC - Anime - 1-1 Legend of the Sword Bandit Surprise
by John T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 21:59:46

I love the central religious festival at the heart of this mod, and the legend that the writer has created for it. This is one of the more immersive takes on FR religion I have seen in an organized-play mod. The players had remarkable fun in a 10-minute theological discussion about the underpinnings and implications of the upcoming ritual in the adventure.

There are also some fine NPCs in the town of Hawksroost. The main mission of the PCs is also inventive and interesting. However, the mod would be helped by being a bit less formless in Act I and having a few more branching points/red herrings in Act III. It is a minor quibble, but the copy editing could be improved. Still, a creative mod with an unusual mission and some nods to Kozakuran culture.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CCC - Anime - 1-1 Legend of the Sword Bandit Surprise
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

5e Encounter Sheet
by Tony E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 15:51:53

Seriously useful. Exactly what I was looking for.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5e Encounter Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Journey to the Summer City
by chris c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 15:20:55

I ran this shortly after running Journey to the Buried Vale during a Free RPG Day event. In addition to the 3 players that played the Buried Vale journey, 2 more joined us.

With 5 players, the battles were rather easy for them, if I ever run it again with 5 players, I'm going to increase the difficulty of the encounters.

The players had a blast though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Journey to the Summer City
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Journey to the Buried Vale
by chris c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 15:18:39

I ran this module at mylocal stores Free RPG day event. Had 3 players (Cleric, Rogue, and Paladin), and they had a blast. They felt bad for killing the snakes, and were totally surprised by the end.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Journey to the Buried Vale
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Guide to Out of the Abyss
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 14:15:58

This is exactly what I was looking for. I'm about to run this campaign, and having the full adventure and chapter synopses already assembled so clearly and concisely is a godsend. Though I will of course do significant prep, this guide has saved me hours of work. The guide offers an outstanding overview and highlights the main threads of the storylines offering well-reasoned and useful tips along the way.

As a busy parent who loves to game, prep time (...make that ALL time :-) comes at a premium, and this work is both a huge time saver and an excellent addition to the Out of the Abyss campaign book. Kudos to the author.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Guide to Out of the Abyss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The High Moor: A Forgotten Realms Supplement
by Jon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 11:30:29

This is a great compilation of several editions of Forgotten Realms info on the High Moor, liberally intersperced with unique and innovative little tidbits of new content. I own the Elminster's Ecologies Appendix for the High Moor, and while in many ways this is a 5e update of that product, this was still very worth buying as a DM planning to run his party across the High Moor.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The High Moor: A Forgotten Realms Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Book of Dragons for 5th Edition
by Isaac D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 08:13:38

I think this book provides great player options, magic items, and dragon lore. I just wish there was more of it, don't by this book without knowing that there is only like 70 pages of content and 150 pages of stat blocks. But overall a great purchase that inspires plenty of new characters and adds bunches of dragon themed flavor to any dnd world.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Dragons for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D&D 5e Mass Combat System
by Leon F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 07:54:34

Hi, I just want to say that I've been preparing for a Battle session that will begin next week and am using your rules on Roll20. These rules are awesome and deserve a 5-Star rating - hands down. The rules are both rich and simple.

Consider it a great compliment that I have modified the rules to scale to a larger war. The smallest token that I am using is a regiment and that regiment is larger than the regiments that you define (10 units per token). Additionally, I scaled it up a futher size and added basic rules of army movement. 20 regiments make up one of my brigades. This allows the players to direct armies over a much larger combat theater where each hex will be 5 miles across.

This system will be used to run the final war in The Rise of Tiamat game. I've built a rudimentary Roll20 character sheet for the tokens in the game. I will add some more commentary after our first session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D 5e Mass Combat System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
by Matthew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 07:23:01

Firstly, Id like to call out this scenario for it's superb production values. It's use of art that does not appear stock is to be applauded plus the use of detailed maps (both of encounters and a visual map) is to be commended. I hae not noticed any other scenario to date which has these level of values .. and that includes much bigger producers that SHOULD

Secondly, I love the fact that each of the titles in this quadrology has a set purpose. Far too often a trilogy in a CCC series runs foul of a middling middle scenario because it seems the story isnt long enough to keep it going. Not this series. It nails what it intends to do right off the bat. THe central issue of the issues between Torm and Bane are on show and some roleplaying can be used to get the point across (and even some info for characters who worship Torm or Bane)

At this point however, I do want to point out an issue I have.. and its not just with this scenario. but occurs in a good chunk of CCCs. From the tone of the story we get that these 3 platinum discs are objects of great power.. tied to the portfolio of Bane (great use of his old holy symbol btw). As a DM and as a player Id probably expect to be fighting direct servants of Bane in each of these scenarios. Bane much surely sense that the time is right to put the smack down on the agents of Torm. Yet in this scenario we are treated to a battle with Xvarts, possible Ogre encounter and a Goblin Encounter. I will admit, this adventure is located in THar so all of these creatures COULD be encountered there , but I would honestly of replaced the optional encounter with an encounter with a kill team sent perhaps by a Banite priest to kill the defilers or something similar (reasoning isnt as important). I think it was the perfect opportunity to make an encounter here more important to the story. THe varied combats while interesting just seem to make it more about Thar then about the story. Ive no issue with the Story driving monster selection. I was originally going to give this a 4 star but this issue meant 3 stars.

Many scenarios suffer from these issues with poor/ strange monster selections for encounters.

Finally this scenario ran well to time, although 16 Xvarts was a bit of a time hog. I dont mind a lot of monsters, but I prefer more powerful and fewer if Im honest.

Im lookinng forward to reading the next in the series to run and I greatly appreciate all these Tier 1 scenarios coming out. Keep them coming!

Matthew



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Death Pit of Moloch - 5E Adventure for Beginner Dungeon Masters & Players
by corey L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 03:09:57

first time dm, modified the beginning making the story work fantasticly



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death Pit of Moloch - 5E Adventure for Beginner Dungeon Masters & Players
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
by Robbie P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 02:23:17

One of the better tier 4 modules I've run. The fact that Dagon is the boss is a fantastic addition, and he gave my players a run for their money even at their levels, so that's always good at higher level play.

If the players know or figure out how to bypass most of the encounters, they'll clear it in well under the four hour timeframe; my players got it done in two and a half at most, thanks to plenty of Greater Restorations and the occasional bribe. Though I did find that the encounters that are easiest to bypass are also the ones they'll bother fighting because they can clean them up so quickly.

I mean, we have adventurers who can and have stabbed gods in the face, a few Nalfeshnee mean nothing to them.

But the saves and skill checks were high enough difficulty to give them some trouble, and the stacking exhaustions were pretty nasty. The final battle also proved fittingly epic, with Ubtao granting them a magic item to battle against Dagon.

Fantastic choice for a magic item, by the way. I made sure to print out a high quality cert for my players just because it's that worthwhile.

Overall, good challenges, good mission, great magic item and final boss; the only thing keeping this from five stars is the lack of threat from the 3/5 of the demonic forces to encourage players to think smart about bypassing them. But this is definitely a worthwhile t4.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Murder in Harrowdale
by Ken C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2018 01:04:57

I know this is free so I won't hammer it too much. 10 pages could come down to 6. Although the story is ok (nothing original with a predictable ending), your spelling and grammer is letting you down. I'd also go back over your creatures and pick something more appropriate ... blink dogs will not work for hags or redcaps.

Good effort ... a lot of minor things let you down.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Murder in Harrowdale
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CCC-PHA-01 Six Summoned Swords
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2018 17:46:54

I enjoyed running this for AL. The encounters were challenging and there was plenty of debate at the table re: who to trust and which side to take. I read it quite thoroughly before running it and I wouldn't recommend "winging it"- the plot is complex and the final combat has a lot going on. Well worth the purchase price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-PHA-01 Six Summoned Swords
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

5e Paladin Oath - Oath of the Thunderous
by Victor J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2018 17:22:36

Seems pretty solid! I really like the the Oath spells chosen, definitely a nice selection. Very handy Channel Divinity options and other class features as well. Of all the thunder/lightning themed Oaths I've seen, this is the best one yet.

My only gripe is Thunderous Presence, it translates to a free 15 damage per turn with possible knock down (which is very strong in 5e) if they fail a save. It seems a bit much, but I've yet to playtest this fully.

Overall very flavorful and mechanically sound! Well done.

P.S. on the PDF itself It says Oath of the Thuderous. I'll edit this out once you correct it...unless it was on purpose??? lol

UPDATE: You make a valid point, and I did forget about spellcasters being able to do the things they do at that level. With that in mind, it actually seems pretty fair and balanced. Updated rating to 5, it's just such a cool and flavorful oath that's actually useful. Hope to see more from you in the future!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5e Paladin Oath - Oath of the Thunderous
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi victor, thank you so much for taking the time to review the oath! Unfortunately me, nor the 3 people i asked to check over the oath noticed the typo! It is indeed meant to be Thunderous, i will rectify this as soon as possible. As for the reasoning behind thunderous presence, it is not more damage than a storm sorcerer from xanathars guide can also do as a reaction, their 14th level abillity is what this one was based on, but i tried to change the flavour of it so that it wasn’t too similar. I agree it is quite a powerful abillity, but at 15the level full casters have access to 8th level spells, and characters are meant to be rather strong. If you feel this is too mcuh for your campaigns then feel free to change whatever you don’t like, however at present i feel that it isn’t too much for the power level of the character. Should more reviews come in suggesting that it is then i will adjust it accordingly. Many thanks for your kind words and your time to playtest this subclass, i really hope you enjoy it!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 6764 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates