DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The ALGERNON Files Deluxe Edition: Blackheart
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2017 12:58:21

A great addition to your M&M 3e roster - great concept and great artwork - I just wish there was a collected addition of all Algernon Files for 3e!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The ALGERNON Files Deluxe Edition: Blackheart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The ALGERNON Files Deluxe Edition: Amalgam
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2016 01:14:01

Another solid release from this company. Lots of ways to use the character in a game that are interesting and easy enough to adapt to any setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The ALGERNON Files Deluxe Edition: Amalgam
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The ALGERNON Files Deluxe Edition: Brainchild
by Jae C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2015 12:12:53

This is a must buy - a villain that has been around for decades, able to jump from body to body until one day he accidentally finds himself trapped in the body of a young girl, his powers mutated and changed. How do the heroes take down a villain hiding in a little girl's body (even one hiding inside a robotic exo-skeleton) with the press watching?

There is an excellent character with a detailed background and interesting adventure hooks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The ALGERNON Files Deluxe Edition: Brainchild
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The ALGERNON Files Deluxe Edition: Alphamech
by Dominique S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2015 11:13:57

Alpamech is the latest release in Word Monkey Studios ALGERNON Files Deluxe Edition line of releases. As with previous entries in the line, we get the standard entries covering his backstory/origin, personality, goals, powers/abilities, and sections with advise on integrating him into an ongoing game. Sidebars on some of the many companies, (namely the ones who had a hand in constructing Alphmech), populating the Algernon Files universe.

Alphmech is a robot housing the consciousness of a former Marine Corps officer, created using reverse engineered alien tech. Due to certain unforeseen circumstances, such as the meddling of a hi-tech criminal organization, he's now trapped in this robotic body, and has a mad on for those he feels responsible for his current situation. He's literally on a warpath to make them pay, destroying any and all who get in his way. Equipped with a wide range of exotic weapons systems and coming in at PL12, he's more than capable of dishing out damage to any heroes who cross his path. His defense ensure he can take a beating just as well as he can dish it out.

I like this guy, he's a tank, but a smart one. He uses his brain as much as his brawn. And if characters do a little digging, they'll find out there's more to him than just some crazed robot out to tear up the countryside.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The ALGERNON Files Deluxe Edition: Alphamech
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The ALGERNON Files Deluxe Edition: Abraxas
by Dominique S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2015 11:00:09

Abraxas is another release in the updated version of Word Monkey Studios line of Algernon Files releases. Like other entries in the series he includes information on his history and background, personality, powers/abilities, his goals, and resources available to him. We also get sidebars on characters and organizations he's worked or come into contact over the years, as well as several of his many enemies.

To be blunt, Abaxas can best be described as is a con man, a modern day mystical snake oil salesman out to get over on you. He's the type of guy that if he shakes your hand, check to see if you've still got your wrist watch on. He brings a lot of baggage along with him, as he's managed to tick off pretty much every mystic themed character in the Algernon Files universe at some point in time. Namely because he can't be trusted.

Overall I like him, as he'll make for an interesting bit of role playing. If played right, I could easily see him making for some interesting comic relief, as well as bringing a bit of unintended danger to a group of PCs as his enemies come looking for him. I can definitely see him stirring up some trouble and then taking off for parts unknown while leaving the PCs holding the bag.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The ALGERNON Files Deluxe Edition: Abraxas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The ALGERNON Files Deluxe Edition: Blackbone
by Dominique S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2015 10:03:08

Blackbone is another of the mystically themed villains appearing in the Algernon Files universe. Like other releases in the Algernon File series, the PDF provides information on the character’s origin, his motivations, personality, a brief quote, a description of the character’s powers/abilities, a set of stats for 3rd edition M&M, as well as a snippet of conversation between the two of the denizens of the setting discussing Blackbone. There are also a sidebar providing information on some of the various characters and organizations discussed in his background, tips on how a GM can integrate him into a game.

As far as Blackbone goes, he’s the “Michael Myers” of the mystic world, as this guy hates magic users, and just can’t seem to die. Burn him, crush him, cut him up into little pieces, banish him to another plane, and he just keeps coming back to cause the heroes problems. He makes a nice recurring foe for mystic/magical heroes (and villains for that matter), as there’s no easy way to get rid of him.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The ALGERNON Files Deluxe Edition: Blackbone
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The ALGERNON Files Deluxe Edition: The Alchemist
by Dominique S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2015 05:15:57

The Alchemist is the latest addition to the Word Monkey Studios Deluxe Algernon Files line. Like previous releases in the series, it contains some standard elements such as the character’s background, powers, and tactics, as well as a few unique tidbits of info to allow GMs to integrate him into their games.

At Power Level 14, the Alchemist is definitely one of the Algernon Files heavy hitters. He’s got a very nasty array of mystical abilities, which when combined with his experience, and attitude (I’m evil and I like it), make him an extremely dangerous opponent for players to face. Make no mistake about it… this guy is not to be toyed with.

As far as his possible use in a campaign goes, The Alchemist fills the role of the evil master mage. He’s embraced his role in the world, and revels in it, flaunting his power and toying with his victims. I can easily see him as a recurring villain for a group, or powerful mystical/magical themed character.

His background, which is deliberately vague in certain areas, leaves a number of options open for GMs to insert him into their games, as well as giving them a bit of “wiggle room” as to his exact origin.

Over all, I like this one and give it five out of five.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The ALGERNON Files Deluxe Edition: The Alchemist
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The ALGERNON Files Deluxe Edition: Carapace
by Dominique S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2015 02:52:24

I'll tell guys this up front. I'm A long time fan of the Algernon Files series of products. I was a playtester for the 2.0 version and a backer of the 3.0 Kickstarter from Blackwyrm. But, with that said, I think I give any product I review a fair shake. On to the review itself.

Carapace is the ingural release from Aaron Sullivan's Wordmonkey Studios. It's also a continuation of his long running Algernon Files setting originally published by Blackwyrm Games, for Green Ronin Games Mutants and Masterminds RPG. The PDF itself consists of 6 pages. The first page is a cover displaying a small image of what appears to be a holographic image, of who I'm assuming to be Algernon, (for those of you unfamiliar with the setting, Algernon is a sentient A.I. computer system used by the settings default hero group, the Sentinels), as well as a partial image of Carapace. The second page consists of information on the publisher, as well as the now standard OGL information required to be included in any OGL product. The third page provides a full sized color image of Carapace, a truly menacing one at that, as well as a snippet of an email conversation between Algernon and Magnus Challenger, of the Challenger Institute, describing a recent encounter between Carapace and the Sentinels. Pages 5 and 6 provide Carapace's background information, info on his personality, his combat tactics, goals, and overview of his powers/abilities, and suggestions on how GMs can employ him in their games. the 6th and final page provides his 3rd edition M&M gaming stats (I'm suspecting this particular layout choice was made to allow the last page contain gaming stats for other systems at some point in the future).

While I do like the layout, I do have one gripe, it's the font size used for the conversation between Algernon and Magnus Challenger. I've got near perfect eye sight and it was hard for me to read, I can't imagine what it's going to be like for someone who wears glasses or whose vision is worse than mine. Don't get me wrong. I like the release, and will pick up more, as their released, I'm just hoping that any future releases will take this into account.

For those of you wondering, Carapace is a PL14 character, and he is to put it simply, a beast. Even powerful teams of characters will be hard pressed to slow him down, much less actually defeat him. He's an almost unstoppable juggernaut, which is exactly the roll he's designed to fill in a game. Aaron's done a good job of capturing the "feel" of this type of character, as well as providing some suggestions on how PCs can deal with him if he's encounters.

Overall, I'm giving this one four out of five stars, as I feel confident that GMs will be able to get some mileage out of this one.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The ALGERNON Files Deluxe Edition: Carapace
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates