DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Castles & Crusades CK Screens
by Derrick L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2011 11:47:07

As mentioned by the other reviewers, this is the Castle Keeper’s Screen for the Castles & Crusades game. This product includes all of the most important charts the CK will need to run his game, including but not limited to: Character class abilities through level 12, Attribute Checks (the Siege Engine), Combat Actions and Modifiers, Surprise Chart and Effects, Situational Combat Modifiers, Experience Point Charts, Intelligence Chart, Giant Strength Chart, Encumbrance, Saving Throws, Vision Charts, Weapons and Armor Statistics and the based Treasure Chart found in the Monsters & Treasures book.
All in all, this is a classic example of how a GM screen (CK screen in this case) is supposed to function.


All of the charts needed to adjudicate a C&C game are here. These charts are well placed and not crowded (perfect amount of white space). Every CK should own one of these.


Troll Lord Games have included the front, artwork side of these screens in this download.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades CK Screens
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Castles & Crusades Aihrde: Cradle of the World Map
by Derrick L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2011 11:29:00

This map is for TLG's home setting of Aihrde, and the default world for many of the Castles & Crusades modules. The level of detail in this map is exquisite. Artist Peter Bradley has created a valuable resource for Aihrde fans, as well as fantasy gaming map/setting aficionados. This is a large map file for sure, with lots of details. Though I am a bit sad that there are no major roads depicted, that fact alone does not take away anything from the great piece of art, and valuable Aihrde resource that this is. 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Aihrde: Cradle of the World Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Castles & Crusades CK Screens
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2011 02:50:15

This screen has everything you need to reference for the game. I own the actual screen, but recently bought a Hammerdog Games customizable screen; I bought this pdf so I could insert them into the screen. Unfortunately, I bought this pdf just as much for the masterful artwork by Peter Bradley, but only the interior screens are included in this product. I was told that this will be corrected in the near future. Otherwise it would have been five stars.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades CK Screens
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Castles & Crusades Castle Keepers Guide
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2011 02:46:07

A very long time in the coming, but worth the wait. This is an exhaustive tome covering an incredible amount of material, from expanding classes, equipment, and dealing with such things as hirelings and so on. The real beauty in this book is that it is just as much a toolbox kit as it is a DMG type of book. It has multiple rule variants, giving alternate options to magic (mana points vs Vancian), wound levels, hit location, multiple critical hit systems, optional skills, optional feat-like abilities, alternate armor rules (ie armor doesn't add to armor class, it soaks damage, etc). You really can design your own game with this book. The optional combat manuevers are a cool tactical option as well.


So besides the standard gamemaster type of subjects you would expect, you also get a lot of stuff to customize the game to your liking. Castles and Crusades is a rules light game but for folks who want to crunch it up a little (or A LOT) can mix up a batch of homebrew goodness with what is in this puppy.


A classic!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Castle Keepers Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Castles & Crusades Aihrde: Cradle of the World Map
by Ben G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/04/2011 08:14:06

The Aihrde: Cradle of the World Map published by Troll Lord Games is a beautifully rendered map generated for the Castles & Crusades world, but great for any campaign, or just to look at yearningly. Seriously, this is one very nice looking map - suitable for hanging on a wall, laminating on top of your gaming table or any other number of worshipful things.


With two PDFs available, one weighing in at 40MB and another at 92MB, the two files are scaled for different print sizes. The larger map is suitable for printing out at 55" x 36" at 300 DPI. That's a big map!


The map is well constructed, full of high level details, easy to read and great to look at. At a scale of one inch to 24 miles, it will give you plenty of room to move your campaign about in.


I'll admit that I'm not terribly familiar with the Castles & Crusades games. Regardless of whether you'll be using this map with C&C or in another system, if you're looking for a large campaign area with plenty of details, opportunities for exploration, delving and adventure, you'll like this map.


The only turn off may be the price. At $19.99 (plus the cost of you printing it out if you're not going to use it electronically) it's a fairly expensive purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Aihrde: Cradle of the World Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Castles & Crusades Castle Keepers Guide
by Ronald B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/26/2011 09:13:26

If you want to tweak your C&C game, look no further than this book. Basically the Castle Keepers Guide takes a toolkit approach to modifying the Siege Engine. Much of the optional rules re-introduce elements of the full 3.x SRD, but the real beauty of the book for me is in the analysis of the game engine. Highly recommended for anyone interested in spicing up their C&C game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Castle Keepers Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Castles & Crusades Castle Keepers Guide
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2011 21:25:40

Like every one else I have been waiting a long time to get my hands on the CKG. I could not get in on the pre-order.


I really struggled with the idea of paying $32 for the PDF. In the end my better judgment lost and I got it.


After reading through it I have got to say Its a great book. Part DMG part campaign planner.


For me the expanded rules for character building is great. As well as options for fine tuning the siege engine to taste is great too.


My only complaint is the price really. Too much for a PDF. If this was any other book. And any other company I would never have paid so much. $20 or even $25 I would have not hesitated.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tainted Lands
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2011 21:15:18

I really like C&C and the siege engine, And I'm a long time fan of dark fantasy.. So picking this up was a must. It is what it is, a small campaign setting for C&C. Its dark and the over all power level is kicked up a notch or two. For what it is its a lot of fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tainted Lands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Harvesters
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/08/2010 17:26:55

Harvesters does a lot of stuff well. It has full-playability and simplicity, coupled with a simple, Redwall-esque setting. You can play it with any group you wanted to, though its simplicity and style markets itself towards children.


It doesn't have loads and loads of stuff to make it bulky (think about game systems which go to 400 pages and detail the exact effects of a Cobra Venom Poisoned Spike Trap (Lesser), which means that while it's easier to use, it's also harder to run, but if you want a game to play with a younger audience without outright alienating older audiences (assuming, of course, they're open-minded enough to take the thought of playing as talking animals seriously), Harvesters is a one-stop shop.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Harvesters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Castles & Crusades Where Cool Waters Run
by Peter I. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/12/2010 12:15:09

Castles and Crusades - Where Cool Water Runs is a short stand-along encounter from Troll Lord Games for the Castles and Crusades gaming system. This encounter is suitable for 3 to 5 characters of levels 4 to 7, and sees the characters being hunted by several cunning and deadly creatures as the PCs inadvertently approach their nest. As one would expect, the encounter takes place in a single setting - in this instance a refreshing glade through which a gentle stream runs. The presentation of this product is top notch, sticking to the format maintained throughout all Troll Lord Games' products. My only quibble here is the lack of a scale on the map provided. This encounter can be used in any campaign setting, and very useful and interesting adaptations are included in the 6 page product for Troll Lord Games' own world of Aihrde.


The encounter is a fairly simple one but very well detailed to make sure that CKs will know exactly what to do with which creature and when. I thought the tactics of the creatures involved, a new creature called the charon fiend, were very good, suiting both the nature of the encounter and the details of the creatures themselves. Often the best encounters are those that use the terrain well, and some elements of that are present here. The tactics will give the PCs some thought, and make for an entertaining encounter where the PCs won't know where the threats are coming from. The charon fiends themselves are probably the best part of the product as a whole - I liked their flavor, their description and their mechanical details. I think these creatures can be both terrifying and dangerous at the same time, particularly if used with the tactics described in the encounter. One weakness of the encounter, and really with a lot of products of this nature, is that the encounter is by and large telegraphed. If the CK starts reading blocked text in a seemingly innocuous clearing, there's little doubt the PCs and the players will expect something. It would've been useful if the encounter had been scripted to not be so obvious, or at least given the characters a non-mundane reason for stopping in the clearing and hence triggering the encounter. Overall, though, a very clean and neat product with some uniqueness in the new creature involved and some decent encounter design.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Where Cool Waters Run
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Castles & Crusades Where Cool Waters Run
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2010 17:32:16

A random encounter with a new creature, not particularly water-related, vividly written and (credit where credit's due) cleanly edited. I found the creature's name a little distracting, but otherwise it's a fine addition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Players Handbook (4th)
by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2010 00:21:36

This is a really great system for someone that loves 3rd edition but wants something a lot simpler and easier to manage. It's also really easy to house-rule, and I think I'm going to start running this game over any other rules system from now on (and that's a big deal, because I was really sold on Pathfinder up until now). The game is just way too easy to run and understand for new and younger players, and you don't need a 600 page rulebook to play it. If you love "crunch," this probably isn't the game for you, but I don't see why you still wouldn't love playing it. Classic fantasy roleplaying at its finest!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Players Handbook (4th)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Castles & Crusades Monsters & Treasure
by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2010 00:19:12

I love Castles & Crusades! It's a really great rules system, and this book doesn't disappoint. The book is extremely well-organized and easy to read, and you can tell the author put a lot of thought into the rules. The treasure tables are quite simply some of the easiest to understand that I've ever seen. There's enough art to keep the book looking beautiful, but not so much that the pages seem cluttered. Great job, Troll Lords!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Monsters & Treasure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Castles & Crusades The Umbrage Saga
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2010 21:26:41

This is a solid old-school campaign, with interconnected adventures and a sandbox adventuring area and mini setting introducing players to the world to Aihrde. It really has incredible depth, tone, and material for months of gaming. An excellent product. I now also own the boxed set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades The Umbrage Saga
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Harvesters
by Andrew B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/08/2010 12:30:01

In Harvesters, players take on the roles of anthropomorphic animals who go on D&D-like adventures. It's basically Redwall meets Dungeons and Dragons. The game uses a slightly paired-down version of the Castles & Crusades rules system. It is intended to appeal to children ages 6 and up, although there's nothing here that would keep adults from enjoying it. The first half of the book contains the rules. The second half is an adventure.


I played this game with my two children; boys ages 10 and 7. They both have some experience with RPGs, having played a handful of games with me before. The bottom line is that my boys had a great time. We were up past midnight playing and Harvesters was the very first thing that my 10 year old son talked about the next morning.


I'll start with the adventure, which is really the meat of this product. The plot focuses on the mystery of a group of missing animals, who've disappeared while bringing in the all important fall harvest. The players explore the countryside, following clues to find the lost harvesters. The book details an area with lots of things for the players to encounter and explore. If the players pick up on the clues, they can go from point A to point B, skipping a lot of the superfluous regions. Alternately, they can wander around, meeting hostile snakes, a noble skunk, and other interesting creatures. With all the detail about the town of Wheat Hollow and the surrounding regions, Harvesters has the makings of an interesting little Campaign Setting. I really enjoyed what is here and I'd like to see more.


Also, I have to mention that my kids got right into the adventure setting. My 7 year-old was playing a River Otter Knight named Sir Otter. His first order of business was visiting the locale colony of River Otters, helping them fish for a while and collecting a few fish of his own to take along on the adventure (he carefully wrote “3 fish” on his character sheet). He also used his swimming ability to his advantage during the adventure. I think both kids got into the role of their specific animals.


My older son grabbed on to the plot right away. He picked up on the clues presented in the adventure and came to the right conclusion about what happened to the harvesters. He was very excited to find evidence of a wolverine's involvement (his Badger Cleric's natural enemy!) and spent the whole adventure looking around every corner for wolverines. I think this adventure is perfect for kids and mine are very eager to finish it.


The rules are pretty much copied right from the Castles and Crusades Player's Handbook, only paired-down to cover a smaller range of levels. I'm a fan of C&C and its simplicity lends itself well to a game for children. There were a couple of places, though, where the rules relied too much on the C&C books. For example, Harvesters only describes spells very briefly, forcing me to crack open my Castles & Crusades Player's Handbook to find out the distance, duration, and specific effects of various spells. The product blurb claims that Harvesters contains “all the rules you need to get started”, but a GM is on his own for all but the most basic spell info.


In other places, the rules are complete but not distinct enough for my tastes. I would have really liked to see some elements unique to Harvesters. I was expecting to see clever animal-themed spells, equipment, and classes. Instead, we get the typical D&D tropes of fighters, wizards, chainmail, etc. Don't get me wrong, I LIKE those things, but it would have been nice if the game put a more distinct spin on them and made them its own. Harvesters, while certainly very playable, doesn't feel as complete as it should. It's good, but I want it to stand truly on its own and be great.


I give Harvesters 4 stars. If the idea of playing a Redwall-inspired D&D game appeals to you, or you're looking for an RPG that you can play with your kids, give Harvesters a try.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Harvesters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 121 to 135 (of 243 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates