DriveThruRPG.com
Umschauen
 Verlagsinfos











Zurück
Andere Kommentare über diesen Verlag:
Castles & Crusades Lost City of Gaxmoor Digital Maps
von david w. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 03/30/2018 06:19:02

A bit disappointing. There is NOT a map of the city in this set of Maps for the CITY OF GAXMOOR. Come on man.



Wertung:
[3 von 5 Sternen!]
Castles & Crusades Lost City of Gaxmoor Digital Maps
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Kommentar des Verlages:
David -- Our apologies! The city map was somehow omitted from this map pack. I am in the process of uploading a new PDF with the map included. Thanks for bringing this to our attention! ~ Tim
Castles & Crusades Players Handbook 7th Printing (Alternate Cover)
von Timothy B. [Häufiger Rezensent] Hinzugefügt am: 03/14/2018 13:19:04

It is often said that Castles & Crusades is the Rosetta Stone of Old School Gaming. It certainly is that, but there is a lot more going on here than just that. Castles & Crusades is very much a stripped down version of the basic 3.x SRD. As such there are lot of concepts that are modern including a one-roll mechanic for all sorts of situations. Though if that were all then there would be nothing separating this from say True20 or other "lite" d20 iterations. Castles & Crusades plays like good old fashioned D&D. The aesthetic here is 1st Ed. AD&D, with the simplicity of Basic era D&D. The concept is noble and one we see in many of the retro-clones. But where the clones attempt to use the OGL to make an older version of the rules, Castles & Crusades makes it's own rules and instead goes for the feel or nature of the game. So while you will see Thieve's abilities represented by percentage rolls in Basic Fantasy or OSRIC and as a skill in 3.x in C&C it will be a Dexterity check. Simple, elegant and easy. The Ability check, whether your abilities are Prime or Secondary, are a key element of C&C.

The Players Handbook is the first book you need for Castles & Crusades. At 140+ pages it is all about getting your character up and going. The abilities here are the same six you have always used and they are even generated by rolling 3d6 and assigning. If you have a different method that you liked back in the day OR if you have adopted some point by system from a new version I see no reason why it would not work here. I am a fan of 4d6, drop the lowest myself. The ability score modifications are a bit different than new OGL games, but are in fact much closer to older games. Bottom line is just pay attention to how many pluses that 18 gives you if you are used to playing newer games.

Next you will choose a class based on your abilities. Each class has a prime ability; one that is most associated with it. So fighters have strength, clerics wisdom, wizards intelligence and so on. Speaking of classes, all the "classics" are here and some new ones. So you have Assassins, Barbarians, Bards, Clerics, Druids, Fighters, Illusionists, Knights, Monks, Paladins, Rangers, Rogues and Wizards. There are some minor tweaks that make them different from other versions of the same class in another game, but nothing that made me scream "That's not right!" in fact in most cases I was more inclined to agree with what they did. For example I like the Barbarian for the first time ever. Each class has some special abilities and skills. In C&C it is assumed that if a character wants to do something that instead of a skill roll an ability check is made. There is Target Number, 12 for Primes (something you are good at) or an 18 for Secondary. You add your mods, any class or race based modifications and there you go. Simple. Skills are no longer of a list of things you can or can't do, but now potential to do or at least try anything. This is something we did back in the old days, but the newer twist here is that this is just the same as any d20 based roll. Be it skills or attack. So Rangers and Barbarians are good at tracking, wizards at arcane lore and so on. makes things pretty easy. So improvement over 3.x games, no tracking skill points. I have to add, that there is such a cool old-school vibe here that it is just like reading a book from the early 80s. Only with far better layout and art. As another aside, the art is fantastic. I love my old school games and wizards in pointy hats and all, but the wizard in C&C looks AWESOME. I would not mess with that guy, I don't care if he looks like a farmer or not.

Races are up next and all the usual suspects are here. Races and Classes are built in such away that customization is REALLY easy. If I wanted to play a Goblin here I bet I could rather easy. Every race gets two Prime stats. Typically you want one of these to correspond with your class. Humans get three allowing for their flexibility. All other races also get modifiers to abilities and/or special traits. While the modularity of 3.x is obvious, the feel is still more 1st ed. We end character creation on completing the character with persona, gods and alignment. Up next are some lists of equipment and rules on encumbrance. The rules are some of the easiest encumbrance rules I have seen. So far so good? Well we have by this point gotten through roughly a third of the book. Not too bad for 50 pages.

Magic and Spells take up the remaining bulk (65 pages) of the book. Not a surprise given four spell casting classes. Spells are listed alphabetically and range from 0-level cantrips to 9th level spells for each of the four classes. That is a major break from their old-school roots when only wizards had access to 9th level spells. The spell format itself is also closer to that of 3.x, though no XP penalties that I could see. The nest 20 or so pages deal with the Castle Keep (GM) of the game. This includes all sorts of advice on how to handle conflict, award XP and even how to set up an adventuring party. Good advice all around to be honest and enough to keep most groups going for a long time. There is also an appendix on multi-classing as an optional rule. I have not tried it yet, but it looks solid. Not as elegant as what you see in 3.x, but better than what we had in 1st or 2nd ed.

The Players Handbook is all most players will ever need and even some Castle Keepers.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Castles & Crusades Players Handbook 7th Printing (Alternate Cover)
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Engineering Castles
von Mixed S. .. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 01/17/2018 12:02:10

A great little book about all the different kinds of castles that you might want to have in your world. It's a good mix of text and tables. It includes useful information about construction materials and what that might mean to both physical and magickal attackers, and it covers both castles based on the real-world as well as purely fictional principles (for instance, what might a demon lord use to construct a castle?).

A worthwhile read, and not a bad book to have handy at the gaming table for when your players stumble upon a castle that you hadn't planned on.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Engineering Castles
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

A0 The Rising Knight -- Adventures for 5th Edition Rules
von Mark L. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 12/29/2017 16:13:07

I'm happy to see some content being created for 5E outside of the official sources made available by the original publisher.

This adventure is both complete and engaging, allowing the PCs to become familiar with the town in which the adventure is centered and the surrounding areas that will lead them to further adventures in later modules. As mentioned in one of the discussions, Hommlet comes to mind while reading over the characters and locations. I’m grateful that the level of detail isn’t nearly as granular as that module, though. There’s enough material to allow the PCs the freedom to explore nearly at will without need for the GM to steer them in a particular direction.

My one complaint would be the desire for better proofreading and editing. Consistent misuse of homophones indicates the writer and/or editor ensured the words remained the same throughout the test, but they are still incorrect. I’d welcome the opportunity to work up a list of changes or corrections whenever I read through this one again, or any of the subsequent adventures If I had a contact willing to accept them.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
A0 The Rising Knight -- Adventures for 5th Edition Rules
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Kommentar des Verlages:
Hello Mark! Yes, we would welcome any proofreading corrections you may have. You can send it to productsupport (@) trolllord. com. Thanks!
Castles & Crusades: 100 Treasure Troves — Treasure Type 1
von Brian H. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 12/26/2017 08:09:11

6 Total Pages. Page 1 - Title, Author and Description page. Page 2-5 - A d100 type 1 treasure table. A decent listing of some nice type 1 teasures already laid out for you. Just toss the dice and point to the result and there you go. Baubles to Coins to weapons and a few magical items. It's a good spread with enough detail to give your players something good to oggle over especially the lower levels. Page 6 - Credits, contact and licensing. I got mine as part of a bundle for free but this table is worth a buck for any C&C CM.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Castles & Crusades: 100 Treasure Troves — Treasure Type 1
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Castles & Crusades Arms and Armor
von Tim B. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 12/15/2017 13:18:42

A neuronphaser.com review.

Arms and Armor was updated during the Castles & Crusades "Three Sisters" (AKA core rulebooks) Kickstarter a couple years back (circa 2016), even though the cover pictured on this product page doesn't show it. What this means is that it is a COMPLETE reference for all mundane armors, helmets, shields, and weapons for the Castles & Crusades system, and with scads of pages of descriptive text noting physical features, measurements, and the history of each piece of gear, this is a useful reference for any OSR game, and probably most any D&D-derived system. There may be some historical inaccuracies -- I didn't note any, but that's not my field at all -- and you may see a lot of items with effectively the same stats, but any duplication in game stats is ignored when you have so much good detail on such a wide variety of items. In other words, the fluff is great, the stats are great, so anywhere you find duplication or superfluous distinctions can be ignored because the whole of the work is fantastic.

Opinion only, but I found a few stats wacky...but literally only a handful. And this opinion is almost strictly formed from having the same general damage notations for said weapons for YEARS. For example, the battle axe in Arms and Armor is rated at 1d6+1 damage and has a throwing range (albeit very short!), and the throwing axe is rated at 1d4 and has a slightly longer throwing range. These numbers are comparable to a shortsword and a dagger, respectively, and the low damage numbers on axes across the board suggests...I dunno. Maybe the writer has a problem with axes? Or maybe they were thinking of some weird critical hit rule that makes axes double their damage more often than swords...? I really don't know, but having played with battle axes dealing 1d8 damage for about 30-ish years just made this stand out, so I personally would take a look at things like that and consider them.

Now, as an off-hand mention, I'm planning to use this book in my Dungeon Crawl Classics games. In comparing the AC bonuses, the damage ratings, gear costs, and all that other stuff to the same in the DCC RPG rulebook, I found most things were a 1:1 match, and the few that weren't were rarely off by much. I quick skim of games like Swords & Wizardry suggests much the same. Point being: if you want to pick this book up and use it in your OSR game of choice, your conversion work is either non-existent or involves flipping a handful of numbers here or there, at most. That's hugely beneficial, and opens up hundreds of weapons, shields, armor, and helmets for any OSR game you care to play.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Castles & Crusades Arms and Armor
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Castles & Crusades Players Handbook 7th Printing
von Keith G. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 10/06/2017 08:48:08

This is a great book (and system) for old and new players alike.

I recently (about 3 months ago) started up a "D&D Night" group at work. Myself and another we old greybeard players/GMs from the olden days and the others never played tabletop. They were all familiar with RPGs in the context of computers and consoles, but playing a tabletop, pen-and-paper RPG was new.

So in looking around, I wanted a rule set that was easy but still invoked the old school feelings. Most of my tenure was during the 2nd Edition days [mostly pre-Player's Option 2.5], with a smattering of AD&D 1st, BECMI D&D [where I cut my teeth initially], and some 3rd Edition. I originally though LL or OSCRIC to get really into the nitty gritty, but unless you were into that sort of thing back in the day, there is a bit a goofiness and complexity that may turn off the uninitiatied.

So I looked into C&C. It fit the bill perfectly. It plays like a lightweight AD&D 1st, mixed with some elements of 2nd, with the Seige Engine mechanics cribbed from 3rd's basic machanic. It's lightweight, plays to classic archetypes and mechanics to the point you can basically throw OD&D, 1st, 2nd, or 3rd materials at it with little thought or modification, and it works. Characters roll up quick, order of play is very straightfoward and a good deal of the rest can easily be roleplayed, ruled from the table, or house ruled in no time flat.

Although I have a soft spot for retro-clones and simulara (or amped up ones like DCC), C&C is an awesome fit for anyone wanting a simple, streamlined, yet classic D&D experience in the modern day.

In regards to this book, it is laid out well, covers everything it should, and not overburdened by too much. It is quite literally what I expect in the Player's Handbook. The art is of good quality and the quality of the PDF file is good as well. I was never a real fan of the faux parchment finish of a lot of RPG books, but since it is so ubiquitious, I will let that criticism slide.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
Castles & Crusades Players Handbook 7th Printing
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Castles & Crusades Players Handbook 7th Printing
von Bruce M. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 08/11/2017 15:32:45

This is a great book with some great material. It is filled with excellent art and is very well written and put together. I highly recommend this book for both collectors and regular gamers alike.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
The Domesday Book Issue VIII
von Matthew S. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 06/28/2017 13:18:25

This is a fanzine for Castles & Crusades and it is 63 pages of fan created content including character classes, house rules, adventures and artwork.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
The Domesday Book Issue VIII
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

A1 Assault on Blacktooth Ridge -- Adventures for 5th Edition Rules
von Martin W. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 04/26/2017 12:42:37

I love this module. It's everything an introductory module should be.

I own the original C&C print version, but also picked up the 5e conversion in PDF. This modules is very reminiscent of introductory modules of old like T1 Village of Hommlet or B2 Keep on the Borderlands. The parallels between Hommlet and the Moathouse are striking, but that is not to say this isn't a fresh take on a classic RPG trope.

It has a main town with description of a multitude of NPCs. Many of the NPCs also have some other minor hook described where the detail is left up to the GM to flesh out. They are a great source of inspiration for any GM building up a "starting area" for any campaign. The module also describes the surrounding environs with a few encounter sites (aside from the main dungeon). There's enough detail for a GM to make this town the basis of a new campaign, but without over-explaining or giving so much content that a new GM might be overwhelmed.

Lastly, the main dungeon is just the right size. It's not so large that if feels like a slow, grindy dungeon crawl, but it has enough meat to keep the party busy for a few sessions. I honestly can't say enough good things about this adventure. I really couldn't come up with any solid "cons" that weren't just nit picks.

If you are looking for a new low-level setting to start a campaign, you absolutely have to pick this up. Even if you never run it, it is full of great ideas and hooks that will inspire you when building your own "home base" village for your campaign.



Wertung:
[5 von 5 Sternen!]
A1 Assault on Blacktooth Ridge -- Adventures for 5th Edition Rules
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Tainted Lands
von Michael D. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 02/09/2017 16:21:13

Not very good. I expected better from the author of Metamorphosis Alpha which was the first rpg I purchased in 1977



Wertung:
[2 von 5 Sternen!]
Tainted Lands
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Castles & Crusades Brindisium Adventures
von Michael D. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 02/09/2017 15:45:53

  Nice to see some colour maps for a change in a Trolllord.com product, welcome to the 21 St Century



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Castles & Crusades Brindisium Adventures
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Castles & Crusades Town of Kalas
von Tom H. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 01/07/2017 15:54:53

Wordy anachronistic high-fantasy pap. If that's what you want it'll serve, but it's not a setting I see myself enjoying running.

Plus: lots of suggested hooks. Minus: sense of humor.



Wertung:
[2 von 5 Sternen!]
Castles & Crusades Town of Kalas
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

5th Edition Role Playing -- Mystical Companions
von Gary W. [Verifizierter Käufer] Hinzugefügt am: 10/06/2016 16:43:16

I would not advise purchasing this product. It states that it is a 5th edition supplement- but the rules and mechanics are foreign to the 5e system. For instance the new bard colleges have abilities for bards at level one and two, but cannot be taken till level three. I question whether the material was ever playtested as a 5e product. I had a conversation with the lead writer on the conversion, and he thinks my objections are probably due to typos. I will review the material again as changes are maid. My advice is to definitely wait to look at a hardcover before purchasing this product, make sure it meets your needs and expectations.



Wertung:
[1 von 5 Sternen!]
5th Edition Role Playing -- Mystical Companions
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Kommentar des Verlages:
Hi Gary, Just wanted to let you know we've updated the files on this, so hopefully it is more in line with 5e. Thanks! Troll Lord Games
Victorious Phantasmagoria
von Timothy B. [Häufiger Rezensent] Hinzugefügt am: 10/06/2016 08:20:51

This is a 36-page supplement from Mike Stewart. This supplement details a number of NPC, both good (9 total) and vile (12 total). They can be used as allies, villains, or even as Player Characters. Not as interesting as the NPCs from the Core book, but then again how could they be! Couple of nitpicks here, some the characters are described as having children, though the ages of the kids and the heroes don't always work. For example one heroine, Spellbinder is described as being in her late 20s and having a 12 year old son. She is also described as having a Ph.D. Having a kid at 18 and then continuing to get a Ph.D. THEN getting sucked into the past? It is DAMN hard to work on a Ph.D. when you have kids. I know; so does the author of the book. So it struck me as odd. Make her "late 30s" or better yet "mid 40s". I know the core book talks about the slow aging effects of supermankind, so say she is in her 40s but looks younger. Also detailed is the secret organization "Sceptre"; used to fight the enemies of Queen and Country. A prison, Darkmore Prison, is given as a place to lock up all these bad guys you catch.



Wertung:
[4 von 5 Sternen!]
Victorious Phantasmagoria
Klicke bitte hier, um die Produktbeschreibungen anzuzeigen

Zur DriveThruRPG.com Bestellung hinzufügen

Rezension 1 bis 15 (von 276 Rezensionen) werden angezeigt Suchergebnisse:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Nächste >>] 
0 Einträge
 Die heißesten Produkte
 Gift Certificates