DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 006 (May 2016)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2016 15:33:44

I really love this magazine and there's a ton more to love with this release. You can read a more complete summary of my thoughts here. The Sector Agents and the tools they give you to run it as well as the amazing Vehicle section (which I think should be integrated into the official rules) are amazing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 006 (May 2016)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 006 (May 2016)
by Darcy R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2016 11:40:12

The CypherCaster has been a solid magazine from the start, with a sprinkling of exlusive news and heaping piles of great fiction, adventures, art, GM advice, hacks, and more. This issue more than any, though, knocks it out of the park with 60 beautifully-laid out pages chock-full of content for Numenera, the Strange, the Cypher System generally, and a spectacular new setting Sector Agents.

Sector Agents is fundamentally cops in spaaaace, with lots of aliens running about the starsystems. The 5 detailed alien writups are awesome. Each comes with really nice art, biological information that's interwoven with cultural/societal information, details on how they would work as a PC or NPC, etc. The Kiln and the Shardfolk (pangolin-like aliens) made me want to drop everything and go to there. The issue makes that easy, by suppying the reader with tables for randomly generating (or randomly inspiring) starships, star systems, and missions, as well as providing two full adventures in the easy-to-use Instant Adventure-like format that MCG pioneered.

Marc Plourde's Vehiclular hack for the Cypher System is also really really cool and elegant - it lets you mechanically flesh out important vehicles, like the Millennium Falcon or Moira from Farscape, where system malfunctions or combat can be important and fun to play out. The article takes the core mechanics for PCs and tweaks them finely to serve a vehicle. Vehicles get three stat pools and a character sentence with a Type, Descriptor, and Focus, and Marc gives plenty of examples to illustrate how you can use what you already have in the MCG books to characterize a vehicle. It's awesome.

I could go on and on, but it's 60 pages and I'd Rather Be Reading the rest of it :-)

Disclaimer: I'm friends with a lot of the contributors, and a Cypher System junkie, but I'm pretty sure this is the first time I've given anything a review, so trust that this is really an exceptional product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 002 (July 2015)
by Kenneth S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2015 08:28:11

There is not enough printed adventures for the Cypher System and these guys are providing that. The lay out of the pages is not very engaging, though what they hold is pretty good. Maybe a few more articles on the specifics of the systems, game mastering, play styles and the such would be helpful. But they are still only on issue #2, I have every belief that they will become the go to magazine for the cypher system games. If the fan base lets them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 002 (July 2015)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 002 (July 2015)
by Darcy R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2015 10:26:08

I am incredibly impressed at the quality of this fan-made product - the layout, the content, and the art are seriously professional and a joy to sink into. This issue starts with an interview with Monte Cook himself about the just-released Cypher System Rulebook and is 100% worth a read! I loved the space opera setting hack walkthrough, this is exactly the kind of practical examples and advice I want as I go forward hacking everything left and right into the Cypher System. I will be lifting elements of it wholesale for my upcoming CypherSpace game, and just you try to stop me, Andrew Cady!

There's an excerpt from a Numenera short story to hold us all over until Monte Cook Games starts producing its soon-to-fund-on-Kickstarter line of Numenera novels! There's a Numenera adventure seed handout (handouts are the best!), a list of fantastic oddities, full written-out adventures.... Read the table of contents, this thing goes on forever!

In short, there's a truly stupid amount of content packed beautifully into this product, and I think that any type of game master or player can find the content in this product that excites them. Buy it, now!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 001 (May 2015)
by Greg S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2015 18:56:26

CypherCaster magazine issue 1 had everything that I want from a "fan" magazine: It had "insider" information, in the form of interviews. It had new ways to approach the hobby, through an adventure, a campaign entry, and some really good "don't describe, show" narrative insights into The Strange. Plus it had some very well done fiction.

The one things I'd hope to see in future issues is some reviews or at least overviews of the myriad 3rd party Cypher system books, or even a "what's in here that you don't expect" from the the official releases. Something that will help people understand the landscape of what's available.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 001 (May 2015)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 001 (May 2015)
by Megan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2015 10:37:30

I reviewed this product on my website (http://www.theredactedfiles.com/?p=1192), if you want my thoughts on the different sections within the Fanzine.

I think this is a great product with a lot of useful ideas for me to integrate into new campaigns. I really like the news and updates it includes for MCG products, and I hope they can get some exclusive information as the magazine grows. I am very happy with this purchase, and can't wait for the next issue.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CypherCaster Magazine - Issue 001 (May 2015)
by Rob E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2015 20:52:29

I was pretty pleased with this product. There is an interview with Robert Schwalb about Shotguns & Sorcery, a Numenera adventure, a pretty decent Numenera short fiction by Jim Ryan, a discussion of building a hard sci-fi campaign with the Cypher system, a series of The Estate reports, and a goth-horror recursion for The Strange. The Estate Foundation Field Reports outline agents discovering a cluster of recursions based on norse mythos. The recursion went farther than typically is seen, and includes a discussion of the gothic-horror genre, as well as 4 location seeds with rumors, along with a number of media inspirations.

So far I've read the article by James Walls about his hard sci-fi campaign, the short story, the Holstenwall recursion, and the Estate Files.

I would rate this one higher, but the artwork and layout in some of the articles are uneven, which is really absolutely fine and doesn't detract from the usefulness of the product. I'm definitely going to buy Issue 002 in July.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 7 (of 7 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates