DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Hc Svnt Dracones Core:Extended
by Frank N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2016 11:13:41

If your main complaint with the core system was that it needed MORE, this is your salvation. In fact, the only complaint one could have with it is that it needs MORE... which probally says we are ravonous beats who will never be satisifed, but if the shoe fits...

The new familes are welcome, with the indetail lore attatched to the species even more so. Cogs are wonderful to see finally, as are nyphms and cogsune. And blips... are blips. It's good it's there, but only for people who aren't me. The rather longish short story at the back that helps flesh out the day to day life and knowedge of the world through the perspective of a ten year old girl and a pale man was very enjoyable... and just as strange as reading that previous sentence was to you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hc Svnt Dracones Core:Extended
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hc Svnt Dracones
by Frank N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2016 10:41:28

Word of Warning: I most use RPG sourcebooks as a pleasure reading material and rarely get to actually play games. With that said...

Hc Svnt Dracones was... well first thing poorly named, but not being able to actually name the product to friends and family when talking about what you've been reading up on is more a personal problem. More importantly, it's an interesting setting whose flaws can easilly be overlooked.

This is mostly because it's lore and backstory suffer from building an interesting world and then justifying it post execution. The further back you go, the worst it gets. One can look at the various MegaCorporations rising to power and justify them without even making a "susped disbielf role", but going back to the origin and trying to justify the actions that got us from our world to Vector world are... thin. Small things like why did they stick with a corporate structure rather than transitioning to a post money economy? And not just Mars; money is a human invention, so when faced with global bankruptcy against a coproations whose main power was just that they were rich, why wouldn't the goverment toss currency aside? And let's not forget China; they shouldn't have been lumped up with the 'other nations' as far as predictable behavior.

Thankfully, small problems are small, and the further one gets away from ancient issue the writers just wanted to sweep under the rug and into the real meat of the fururistic setting, the better things are. The MegaCorps serve their roles of being in the background unless you want them in the foreground, the morphs and implants and genetic modifications are well written out, and the slight touch of eldrich horror is interesting even to someone like me who normally isn't into that sort of thing. Additional grain of salt, the descriptions on the gear is less throughly fleshed out than the stuff being put into your character's body; push frames in particular were very difficult for me to envision, and with the existance of quadreped sentient animals in need of such tools to deal with their handicap. Descriptions of the families also leaves one wanting, particularly if one reads this book alongside the expansion where we not only got descriptions of families but engrossing details on the species as well.

The dice system is curious and personally I think it has a lot of potential for definining a character. But as said before I haven't actually played any game sessions yet and possibly never will. The idea of "get as many eights as possible" does scare me a little, so does the rather popular storyteller system as well. Friends and family I've talked to about the issue say it has a similar construction to the Marvel setting, only they use larger dice becasuse... well literal superheros.

Overall, I think this setting has a lot of potential with a Guide that is willing to write their own material. If it doesn't seem that way given what I've written, just remember that one can normally say a dozen things about how something is wrong, but most of the time descriptions how of something it good boils down to "it's good".



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hc Svnt Dracones
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stars over Landria Contract
by Kris S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2016 17:41:22

Haven't actually played/run this yet, but I'd like to. This book is a straightforward adventure to get a thing and get out in a hurry, of course with something going wrong along the way. (Looks like it was inspired by Vernor Vinge, which is a good thing.) I had to flip around in it to figure out where everything was -- room tags like "A1" might have helped -- but otherwise it's laid out well. The writer spells out alternate endings, a red herring, and ways to blackmail your employer or tie this story into a larger plot, and those things are marked with convenient icons. So, this adventure would work well as a one-shot or as part of a campaign. It's also written to work as an intro to the game, partly because of how the payment works: "Here, borrow this starter equipment and you can buy it at half price afterward if you want." (That, and it doesn't rely on knowing a lot about the setting in advance.) A good adventure at a low price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stars over Landria Contract
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eon Contract
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2016 13:21:33

It's nice to have a contract focused more on combat and strategy, the other two contracts are nice don't get me wrong, but both are basically somewhat murder mysteries, and so for doing a one night thing this contract is practically perfect!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eon Contract
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hc Svnt Dracones Core:Extended
by Sean G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2016 12:21:18

This is a solid expansion to the main Hc Svnt Dracones rulebook. The addition of Cog playable characters alone is a treat, but the expansions to character creation are a must to anyone who enjoys the game. The writing and art continues to be solid, and the addition of Compulsions makes for some interesting character options.

It is worth noting the story towards the back of the book is an excellent read for new players who are trying to get a feel for the world. I enjoyed it, and make sure all of my players give it a once through.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hc Svnt Dracones Core:Extended
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hc Svnt Dracones
by Philip D. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2016 15:23:45

I've played Dracones for about 4-5 months, in the seat of a player. The group i was playing in was looking for a new game to play, and we enjoyed the first taste (a one-off) we played in this system. Unfortunately, the system and book aren't really as we originally thought. Allow me to list my primary grievances...

1: The book is poorly organized. Rules and lore flow together, with no clear end or beginning. If you're trying to find a specific rule, the chance is very real that you will have to read one or more paragraphs to find the single sentence you are looking for.

2: The rules are extremely dice-heavy. While this isn't bad in itself, it leads to a very complicated system of roll upon roll upon roll, with a different character stat used for each time and each roll having different results upon a bad roll. The crafting system is the perfect example of this. Combat is another, where large numbers of dices end up being rolled.

3: The setting is set in stone, and can not be altered. The introductory lore in the book reads a bit like the beginning of a novel, and this is the feeling the rest of the book gives as well. It's only a small number of pages however, and not a full-size novel; when it ends, dozens of questions have been asked and nothing answered. Normally i would assume the player and guide then work with that, but in this case the creator of the tabletop game has made it clear more story will be put out over time, in different adventures. This creates a situation where you can't add to the setting without later "canon" overriding it, or going apart from the canon and creating your own homebrew

4: Balance is in many regards rather poor. Transendent tech is a fine example: if you take a transcendent implant, it's entirely possible you won't be able to activate it without killing yourself. Even if it works out slightly better, it's liable to cause a TPK due to a poor roll from one PC, or even a single enemy. Nerves is another: an interesting idea, but in the end not used as nerve damage rarely/never happens by the rules

5, by far the biggest grievance with this product and its author: the consistent ignoring of feedback, ignoring issues and pushing the "one way to play" into the basic rules and system. When an actual improvement is attempted, it comes in the form of another product to buy. First the extended rulebook, and now today it has gotten even more ridicilous with the "guide screen info" being made available for the price of $2.5. When a rules index of 4 pages (which has been missing from the rulebook since the beginning) is sold separately you really are simply nickle and diming your customers.

In essence: Dracones is a tabletop RPG system that is largely unplayable in later stages of the game, especially if you enjoy making your own story and roleplaying. While it includes a good setting to start off from, you will find yourself disregarding and/or houseruling the majority of the rules to be able to enjoy it.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Hc Svnt Dracones
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hc Svnt Dracones Core:Extended
by Reed B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2016 07:48:56

I was waiting for a while to see HSD Core:Extended arrive, and I was not disappointed when it did.

The core rulebook hinted at many different things they had yet to flesh out in the first book, which is hard to immagine since the original book is nearly 300 pages long on its own. Core:Ex fills the promise of even more diversity till the cup is full and stuff is dripping off the table and across the floor. The new possibilities for characters add an even greater arsonell of faces, styles, temperments and dispositions to both the players' ability to create interesting PC's they can be invested in, and the Guide's locker of possible NPC's that emerge the players more into the universe of HSD.

Now, one heads up to people looking at this book: This is primarily an expansion for available "families" (races) and rules for the cyborgs called "Cogs". The later quarter of the book has some expanded and better difined rules that can make things interesting and add further varibility to how things are done, but Core:Ex is almost more of an "Advanced Race Guide" for HSD. I can understand why though, as the HSD system already gives you a few dozen ways to attack everything from locked doors to tight-lipped people.

If you have the core HSD book and want to be able to get your paws on everything HSD has to offer, or if you're a player that wants to really wants to stand out as a unique character, you'll want this book. Actually, I'd recommend getting your mits on it reguardless, because this stuff is awesome just to read about.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hc Svnt Dracones Core:Extended
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hc Svnt Dracones Core:Extended
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 15:40:55

I really like the design of the game and the books. The rules are simple to follow. The book has an attractive layout and beautiful artwork.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hc Svnt Dracones Core:Extended
by Evan N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2016 20:30:27

This is some fantastic additional content for a great system. If you have ever done some homebrewing for a special game session, this is the kind of creative content that really gets the gears turning. Would highly recommend



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hc Svnt Dracones Core:Extended
by Alice B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2016 01:16:22

Combat revamp and some great new options make for a fantastic edition to HSD.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hc Svnt Dracones Core:Extended
by Amanda N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2016 01:13:41

I'm really digging the new morphisms, species (COGS!), and also the combat revamp is really handy. Also there is some great lore tidbits in here if you enjoyed the story of the world from the last book which is one of my favorite parts <3 a great addition to a beautiful setting!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hc Svnt Dracones Core:Extended
by Arokha S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2016 15:12:04

A lot of good additional rules for the game! And I love the new cog rules, as well as all the new families/species.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars over Landria Contract
by Amanda N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2016 13:55:54

Has lots of good tense moments, nothing like being in a spacesuit to keep you on edge! Really loved the story with this one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars over Landria Contract
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Echoes Contract
by Amanda N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2016 13:54:25

Love the story with this one very suspenseful and well planned out! Great adventure to run some friends through!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Echoes Contract
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hc Svnt Dracones
by Cory S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2015 18:33:51

Absolutely fantastic! I'm incredibly excited to start playing, the artwork looks great and the rules seem unique and very fun to play with..



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hc Svnt Dracones
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 36 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates