DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
One Day Digs 5
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2015 10:01:25
Another awesome adventure for Mutant Epoch. I dont want to get into details, but it uses two common foes in the game. For the Game Master -you even get a choice of what the big bad guy really is at the end. A few minor typos, but nothing major. Great art & maps. Can be easily used for any post-apoc RPG, like Gamma World or Mutant Future.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Day Digs 5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Mutant Epoch
by Carles A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2015 07:53:19
I dont know why, but I love this game and many of my players do too; it manages to bring back all the innocence and epicness of the days I began to roleplay...20 years ago! The system is simple and oriented towards classic dungeon bashing kinds of game. You can see this is a work of love done by its author, who brings a unique and charming style to the illustrations and really manages to take you to his world of imagination.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tyrannosapien: Creatures of the Apocalypse 11
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2015 10:32:20
I really don't give enough love to Mutant Epoch, they've come up with another nasty to throw out into the wastelands. This time we've got a product of genetic tempering give form and function as a carnivore of incredibly dangerous aspect. These are monsters for an experienced party of adventurers easily taking on a party of four or five quite easily. The lethal aspects of these horrors is easy to explain, this is an apex predator plain and simple. The mix of weirdness here is a horror that moves across the landscape as one would expect, deadly and with one purpose to kill adventurers or anyone else who get's in the monster's way. And they seem to be very,very, good at doing exactly that taking down prey and ripping the face off of anyone who gets in their way.
The mutant menace from the bowels of the imagination of Outland Arts is grotesque, dangerous, and completely something original as any PC's running into this horror from the vats are going to have a hell of a hard time dealing with its wicked claws, horrid bite, and much more. This pdf clocks in at eleven pages and there are even more options on the table for the Mutant Epoch rpg. This product isn't any different with a wide variety of options are laid out before the DM. This is one thing that you get with this beast a wide variety of killer options. This including a d20 random mutation list and a d100 treasure table for discoveries at one of the beast’s feeding sites. Believe me, they have the beast's entire ecology, feeding habits,etc. all laid out in gloriously nasty details and it really adds to the product. This isn't a beast that your PC's are going to want to run into at all. This one should be used with extreme caution and don't think that the Tyrannosapien is any way, shape, or form a push over. This sucker is mean, dangerous, and nasty able to give many of the usual monsters of the waste a run for their money.
Is this horror well done? Yes and I do think that its worth your time and energy for a download now that being said I also think that Mutant Epoch or any old school wasteland DM should think very,very, carefully about using this horror and how it should be dealt with. The Tyrannosapien or Heaven forbid a pack of these mad bastards is capable of easily TPKing your group of wasteland warriors quite easily. This horror should be used with extreme caution or not. The monster evokes certain feelings of a combination of Pre code comics with the horror movie feel of the 80's put into a blender and set at Tyrannosapien then unleashed into the post apocalyptic wastelands. Grab this one and unleash it on your experienced PC's. This horror can do some damage add in the random mutations and you've got a complete night's adventure in one horrid package.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tyrannosapien: Creatures of the Apocalypse 11
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wailing Jhonny: Creatures of the Apocalypse 10
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2015 23:56:35
The Wailing Jhonny is a brand new mutant monster from Outlands Arts, this is a new take on the usual weird life forms that you often see in post apocalyptic monsters. In this case this monster seems to be equal part bat, bear, with bits of wolf, and all kinds of weird genetic material combined into bit of nightmare fuel given form. The seven page Pdf includes everything that your going to need to add this horror right into your Mutant Epoch campaign. There's a ton of potential on a hunter that depends on echolocation for its eating habits. Everything about this monster pretty much screams versatility and it does the job of filling in the mid level hunter and hazard quite nicely.
I have to say the Wailing Johnny has some real potential as a woodland, or temperate zone hazard. This sucker isn't something that your PC's are going to want to run into. There is some nicely done little additions to the monsters with a d12 additional mutations table that gives that nice random edge that Mutant Epoch is known for. This little addition keeps the players guessing and adds even more random mutant mayhem to your wasteland night monster.
In addition to the obvious uses for an echolocation hunting horror there is the addition of a loot table for lairs of the Jhoni's making this an even sweeter little download.
So is this a well done little monster? In a word, yes and does it fill in the niches that it supposed to? I do in fact believe it does. The fact is that its free is a nice added bonus. Grab this one and add it too your Mutant Epoch or old school wasteland adventures as an addition challenge for your parties in Mutant Epoch.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wailing Jhonny: Creatures of the Apocalypse 10
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Spiker: Creatures of the Apocalypse 9
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2015 09:26:40
The Spiker is a creature that I missed coming out a couple of months back before the release of the current Mutant Beastry One title. The Spiker is a different sort of mutant horror then one that parties of adventurers might be used to encountering. This bio weapon is sort of living security hazard for higher level wasteland targets. Places such as ruined military bases, underground cache bunkers, and other multilevel wasteland targets for looting. The Spiker comes in two varieties of horror, the brute and the armored variety. Both come with the usual Mutant Epoch boat load of optional creature additions. And the options of cybernetic systems of the armored variety.
The Spiker is definitely a mid level monster for adventurers and relic hunters. They are monsters well suited for the wilderness and wastelands of Mutant Epoch or any old school post apocalyptic campaign. They're bear sized and totally nasty from the ground up. These things are smart, dangerous, and apex predator mutants capable of dealing out a great deal of punishment to a party and coming back for more.
These things are deadly and insane for a mid level encounter for adventurers. The seven page free monster adds in a nasty surprise for higher levels of play in the wastes. These guys would be perfect for a party of adventures to run into in a ruined urban environment.
The fact is that the Spiker is a slightly different horror with a more fleshed out background and military history that adds weight to the monster's presence in campaigns.These are monsters that will live and lair around ruins and other post apocalyptic dungeons making them perfect antagonists for a number of old school adventure styles. The level of nastiness that the Spiker brings to bare on a party can be an issue. The party must be prepared to deal with the full commitment and sheer level of violence that must used against the brute or armored Spiker clans.
The seven page free pdf goes into the placement,background,stats, and everything necessary to place these horrors right into the back drop of your old school post apocalyptic campaigns and adventures seamlessly and with little issue. All of the basics are there with a ton of options for Mutant Epoch or with a bit of work any old school post apocalyptic rpg. Do I think its worth the download? Yes in point of fact I do. Grab this one today and get the Spiker working for you

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Spiker: Creatures of the Apocalypse 9
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Day Digs 3 and 4 Double Feature
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2015 11:23:06
Double Feature Digs are Mutant Epoch rpg side quests and adventures that can be played in a sitting or as a complete mini convention style set.
These are very well written adventures that develve into the darker heart of the Mutant Epoch wastelands. The artwork and writing are up to the usual Outlander arts standards and the full old school vibe is in effect with the PC's drawn into the plots and machinations of the NPC's behind the adventures, these two adventures can be linked into Pitford or one of the other locations within the Mutant Epoch World.
Though I've always loved the Mutant Epoch material, at the moment I don't have a group of players who are into this level of gritty comic book old school style play. Which is way too bad because these two adventures are very,very, well done.
Beneath The Spire is a perfect gateway for a party with a robotic or cybernetic PC. The plot pulls these characters deep into the wasteland backdrop of the adventure location.
Here's how these two back to back products break down.
Beneath the Spire is best suited to character parties with one or two cyborgs, and involves the investigation of a mysterious tower in the wastes, as well as the soothing promises to those of flesh and chrome, bone and steel. This adventure includes a full page map and new robotic nightmare to challenge your players. Tunnels & Skulls involves an assortment of adventure hooks, a random sewer tunnel generator, two grid sheets for your own sewer network maps, a random encounter table, d100 treasure table plus an all new creature (pictured on the cover).


Tunnels and Skulls is a very interesting variation on the classic post apocalyptic sewer crawl, a classic bit of old school adventuring that gets used to great effect in this adventure. On the whole this is a really nice set of adventures to challenge a party of Mutant Epoch adventurers and with the introduction of the new menace to the game this is a solid way to get some of the newer material injected into your Mutant Epoch campaign as a side adventure and that's where I have a problem.
The second adventure Tunnels and Skulls could be used as a perfect introduction adventure encounter. The adventure includes two elements that could be expanded into a full service adventure all by itself. See the adventure hooks, a random sewer tunnel generator, two grid sheets for your own sewer network maps, a random encounter table, d100 treasure table plus an all new creature are the perfect gateway set of variables that can be added into an evening's introduction to connect with the Mutant Epoch campaign setting Pitford. In point of fact Tunnels and Skulls can be back connected into the Pitford setting to get the PC's deep into the whole old school Mutant Epoch local. With Tunnels and Skulls the drop in effect of the adventure allows a DM to drop the whole menu into a campaign as an introduction to the city.This is where the PC's become the heroes and can stream line this whole package into the world of Pitford with the second adventure then being used as a gateway to even more of the goings on of that city.
Bottom line is One Day Digs 3 and 4 Double Feature worth your Mutant Epoch dollars? Yes I think so. The plot, artwork, maps, random tables, and more are perfect fodder not only for Mutant Epoch but any number of old school post apocalpyptic campaigns and retroclone systems. A four out of five for this one.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Day Digs 3 and 4 Double Feature
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Day Digs 3 and 4 Double Feature
by Jeff F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2015 12:51:06
One Day Digs 3 & 4 contains two smaller adventures in it - Beneath the Spire and Tunnels & Skulls. As the intro says, these are adventures written to be dropped into a convention style Mutant Epoch game or perhaps as useful diversions during a Mutant Epoch campaign. This is the second in the series (One Day Digs 1 & 2 preceding).

Both adventures included in One Day Digs 3 & 4 would be great for convention play or as a side adventure during a campaign. They are easy to drop-in and require minimal prep to be ready to run at the table - also making them great for last minute play. The first adventure, Beneath the Spire, drops in more easily if the PCs party has at least one cyborg in the group, but the adventure provides hooks for non-cyborg containing parties as well.

I really liked Tunnels & Skulls as well. Essentially a mechanism to build a sewer on the fly for under any post-apocalyptic/mutanty type city. Super handy and pretty quick to do on the fly for those times your PCs decide to head through the sewers instead of surface streets. A couple of adventure hooks are included to steer PCs into a sewer environ if need be.

The art for both adventures is excellent. The map included works well for Beneath the Spire. Tunnels & Skulls relies on the referee to make the map on the fly, but a blank page of graph paper is included for this.

One Day Digs 3 & 4 is well worth checking out for you post-apocalyptic game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Day Digs 3 and 4 Double Feature
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2015 09:37:07
Another fantastic set of One Day Digs. Two quick adventures your hardy band of explorers can play through in one night. I highly recommend these fun little adventures.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Handcrafted Dungeons:: Basic Dungeon Tiles set 1
by Olaf B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/04/2015 07:21:21
These maps are the most bee-you-tee-ful tiles I have seen so far. Absolutely stunning! I have purchased both set 1 and 2 and currently work with the VTT versions on Roll20.net. It's a blast. Whether you use a grid overlay or not, these beauties just look amazing. Like meticulously handcrafted by high-end miniature modelers. I just wish they were more customizable (like smaller room areas you could arrange according to your need by overlaying them, and wall section tokens) and that lighting highlights would match between connecting areas on all tiles but that is about all I can nitpick about them.
I can't wait to present them to my players on our next online session! Thanks for making them.

Suggestion: I love the lovingly detailed doors in both sets but please provide some top-down-view door tokens so that you can use them to block areas and corridors. That way you could attach a line-of-sight block on the door token. Once the door is opened in-game you could simply remove the LOS block.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Handcrafted Dungeons:: Basic Dungeon Tiles set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Handcrafted Dungeons:: Basic Dungeon Tiles set 1
by Christoph C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2015 03:56:53
I was highly dissapointed once I opened the archive to use with maptools for my digital battlemap. Here is why:

1.) The set is very limited in options.
The biggest room is about 6x6 (round) or 5x11 (rectangle). Doors are already placed on the map. No options there, but to remove them yourself (but you will need to use image editing software). Pretty much everything is set. You don't have any options to put walls or doors somewhere. There are different options for rooms (like: empty, skeletons lying around), but thats it.

2.) The visual appeal is low to middle standard.
Considering Dwarven Forge to be high quality in production quality and presentation this here falls way behind. The paint-job quality is low, eg. any object that is made out of metal will just be painted pure silver. The floor and walls are decent enough for play.

3.) The illumination is breaking apart the dungeon.
I cannot stress this enough. By illuminating most of the pieces individually every transition is visible and not in a good way. You put one straight piece next to another one and you will notice the extreme difference in illumination between the two. It is litterally breaking apart the dungeon. The tiles own their own look much better this way hiding the mediocre paint job quite well, but since tiles will always be placed together I cannot figure out why anybody would want to produce tiles this way.

Take a very close look at the tiles and consider the three points I have mentioned very carefully. Or otherwise you will end up like me, frustrated about spending 13$ on a product you will never use. I deleted the tile set as I will never use it.

In conclusion I cannot reccomend this tile set unless you are not bothered by points 1-3.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2014 13:42:33
As a game collector with fascination for the post-apocalyptic genre, I've got a ton of rpgs in my library, from classics like Gamma World and Aftermath to the more obscure titles such as Waste World. I've read and enjoyed them all, but I don't think I've ever encountered or played one as enjoyable as The Mutant Epoch. For me, this truly is the best post-apocalyptic game on the market.
The old school approach to the game mechanics appeal to my sensibilities, and the rules are flexible enough to survive any tweaks I need to make for own campaign requirements. And as for the content of this single book, I can only say I'm truly impressed. There's plenty of skills, a vast arsenal of weapons and armor ranging from the primitive and improvised to the highest of tech, and a broad enough array of monsters, robots and hazards to keep any group of players on their toes. With the tools this book provides, you'll easily have enough material to create and run any number of campaigns.
Give this game a look. You won't be disappointed.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mutant Epoch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wasteland Treasures 1
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/26/2014 08:58:07
A major part of any post-apocalyptic game is seeing what you can scavenge in your travels, and then working out how to utilise what you've found or at least trade it for something else that you want. This means that the GM has to be ever alert to leaving stuff around for you to find... and here's a collection of random tables to help the GM do just that!

The author describes compiling them by reading catalogues and visiting websites for military/survivalist suppliers, looking around campsites and even in his own garage - and indeed as you look around you right now, there's probably quite a lot of stuff that might interest a scavenger. Even if my desk is mostly piled with RPG books and computer equipment, the odd item within eyeshot might be of use (at least until I tidy the multi-tool away!).

Anyway, to get you started there are three tables here. Roll randomly, or read through them and select the things you want the party to have. The first one is quite general 'loot found in ruins' - and there's a motly collection of items that might be found in any ruined urban site. Each is given a variable value - if you do try to sell it you will probably have to dicker - and often some suggested uses. Oh, and no doubt in reference to my desk, it includes a fantasy RPG complete with dice AND a multi-tool!

The second table is slightly more focussed, as it presents items found in old warzones. As anyone who's visited a real battleground or military training area will know, there's a lot there that it is wisest not to meddle with... but copious details and options are provided to cope with those who do meddle, like your average player-character. Several options provide scope for a whole encounter or even side-adventure.

The final table covers items found on wasteland savages. Many of the things they carry are downright odd, and there's quite a lot of potential for fun with these items... and some are quite unpleasant!

A useful collection, giving a good balance between things that are useful, some quite bizarre stuff... and a fair few that are both!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wasteland Treasures 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Day Digs 1 and 2 Double Feature
by David b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2014 13:05:14
Brandon Goeringer has made quite a radioactive splash with his latest contribution to Will McAusland's wonderful game, containing all things apocalyptic!

The adventures are original, well written and are short enough to get you through one good session of gaming. The maps and art only make this gem that much more of a must have for TME!

I highly recommend the game, and products available. It's filled with wonderful art, and one of the better, if not best game systems in the genre! Will definitely knows how to back a system with free downloads, and pay what you want adventures, and he's smartly grabbed a new and up and coming, though slightly mutated Goeringer to help bring the masses a rich gaming experience!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Day Digs 1 and 2 Double Feature
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

One Day Digs 1 and 2 Double Feature
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/11/2014 11:00:17
Designed to introduce new players to The Mutant Epoch (perhaps at a convention or game store), the new One Day Digs line opens with a 'double feature' of TWO short adventures. Of course, you could use one to start off a campaign, or drop them in to an existing one, as you see fit.

The first adventure, Blood for Bellridge, sends the party to visit Bellrigde, home of one of their friends. Only its on fire when they get there! The local militia are all dead and the township's best technician has been kidnapped. Can the party trounce the bandits and get the techie back?

It's a simple set-up and straightforward to resolve, yet presents a coherent story with potential for further development should you choose to use it that way.

The second adventure is called Feast of Freaks. In this, the party takes on a mission to locate and return stolen goods (plus the boat they were on and the crew if they can manage it) that has gone missing from a riverboat that has failed to arrive on schedule. Again, it's a case of tracking the miscreants down and raiding their base, again it is nicely-put together and comes over as a 'proper' game not merely a demo.

Both are well-resourced with good maps of the respective bad guys' bases. There are notes for locating these adventures within The Mutant Epoch world or they can be run as is. Nice way to get people involved in the game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Day Digs 1 and 2 Double Feature
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2014 10:47:49
I am a huge fan of Mutant epoch. Im Blood Axe on the game forums. I have every Mutant epoch book out so far & will continue buying every single one. A great post-apoc game rivaling Gamma World & Metamorphosis Alpha.
The art is great as always! These short adventures are fun for a night or two of gaming. Great stuff!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 58 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates