DriveThruRPG.com
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
GORE
by Kenneth S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2017 12:34:08

For my purposes this is an excellent distillation of the early d100/BRP system and specifically Call of Cthulhu. It's clean and clearly written with capable illustrations establishing that it is primarily aimed at horror gaming, specifically of the Lovecraftian bent. My understanding is that it exists mainly as a platform for further game development, free of the concerns a license might bring. At this point it seems to have been nearly abandoned, but I have hope. Seeing as CoC 7e has changed the game somewhat, and not necessarily in a direction that suits all tastes, I hope someone will hit on using GORE to produce some good Lovecraftian horror that avoids some of the CoC-isms. Turn from pulp-action toward darker realms.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GORE
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Shadowbrook Manor
by Peter B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2017 13:09:06

While I enjoy the premise, I am not a big fan of silliness / hoke. I would have liked to have known that there is such a high comic factor to this module including constant references to humourous movies.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowbrook Manor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition (no-art version)
by Stefan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2017 09:35:02

The Best B/X clone by far. Very well written and easy to use. Which it would get more support though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition (no-art version)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Cryptworld
by Eric C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2017 14:16:26

Why I do not like the game is because they didn't fix the key problem that old Chill had. Numbers often exceeded 100 in this percentile driven game. Basically you never miss or fail a skill roll unless the CM puts a difficulty on what you are doing. This makes more experienced players hindered because they are more experienced. The whole sequence of combat was something nobody did, is outdated, and should've been redone. This really feels like the intention was to just copy the old game and put it out as something revised.

I loved Chill and wanted to love this but nothing was improved and everything taken out was missed. Basically 2nd edition will do just fine.

Positive note: Nice getting the artist from the original Chill to do this.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptworld
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Apes Victorious
by Stephen P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 16:09:04

I did a more in-depth review on my blog but here's the condensed version: Apes Victorious does exactly what it sets out to do, which is to create an OSR Planet of The Apes rpg. However it doesn't go beyond that goal to do anything interesting in either a mechanical or narrative sense. The final product isn't bad by any measure but on the other hand it isn't great either. It's just there.

The in-depth review is at http://buzzclaw.blogspot.com/2016/12/review-apes-victorious.html



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Apes Victorious
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Apes Victorious
by John T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2016 20:52:26

Mr. Proctor delivers the goods. It really is that simple. We are provided everything we need to play on a world ruled by apes with a clean and concise delivery. Better reviewers than myself will break down the intricacies of play if that is what you need to make a purchase decision. The only shortfall may be actually how clean this product is, really just a handfull of illustrations. But we must realize that pictures are just candy coating to actual content. If you want to play in a world of apes within the context of the OSR this IS the product. Now, take your stinking paws off me you damn dirty ape!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Apes Victorious
by Tamas K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2016 13:24:06

(This is the conclusion of a review of the PDF version)

I can say that Apes Victorious definitely lived up to my expectations! It has everything I wanted to see in it, it all seems practical and highly usable; a stand-alone niche game for people who love Planet of the Apes. And I think it has the potential to appeal to non-die-hard fans as well.

The writing is top-notch. Brief, to the point, yet personal. Formatting and layout is clean and readable. There aren't many illustrations (maybe 15 pictures for 120 pages?), all done by Mark Allen. This isn't eye candy... but it's easy on the eye. I think the book could have taken more pictures, and maybe included other artist (not that I have any problem with Allen's style - and it's a good fit for the theme). But it's a conscious laconic approach.

Read the whole review here: eldritchfields.blogspot.com/2016/10/apes-victorious-reviewoverview.html



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Monsters Macabre (Cryptworld)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/20/2016 11:37:10

64 pages, black & white interior, color cover. This is a monster book. For use with Cryptworld, but also compatible with Majus, Rotworld and yes even Timemaster and 1st ed Chill. There are so many good and new monsters here that it is worth it just for this alone. Really, there are such great things as the Mongolian Death Worm, the Batsquatch and plenty of old favorites. The book is more than just monsters. There are plenty of great ideas on how to play and use these monsters in your game. These sections are great for nearly any modern horror or urban fantasy game. I rank it right up there with "Chill Things" in terms of utility for my games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Macabre (Cryptworld)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Majus
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/20/2016 11:18:31

100 pages, black & white interior, color cover.

Author: Michael Curtis

Majus came out before Cryptworld and after Rotworld. It uses the same Pacesetter system that all three games share with Time Master and 1st Edition Chill. Majus though takes a different path and gives us a world of mages, magicians and high magic. So in sense, everything I have always wanted in my own Chill games. Like Cryptworld and Rotworld, the Pacesetter system is revised here to be quite easy to use.
What seperates Majus from the Cryptworld is not just the magic the characaters can now wield, but also the tone. This is described as "Magic Noir" so think hardboilded detective stories mixed with a global magic conspiracy. Whether you want to use this or not is upto the individual CM (in this case "Cabal Master") but I think you would be missing out on a really great feature of the game.
This game can also provide new background, magic and ideas for your Cryptworld games as well. The monsters in this game are largely a different sort that what is found in Cryptworld, so buying both games will give you extra monsters and features. There is some overlap, but that is mostly system related material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Majus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Cryptworld
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/20/2016 11:09:46

90 pages, black & white interior, color cover. Authors: Daniel Proctor and +Tim Snider. Cryptworld is the spiritual and brand successor to the first edition Chill game. In many ways it represents what Chill could have become if it had not gone down the path of 2nd Edition and Mayfair games. The Jim Holloway cover is very much in line with the original Chill boxed set. In truth it is less "iconic" but I like it better. The rules for the game are distilled down to their very essence. This is for all purposes a "retro-clone" of Chill. But it is more than that too. Where Chill 2 was about fighting all sorts of creatures organized into the Unknown and Chill 3 is a modern monster hunting tale of SAVE; Cryptworld takes it back to basics of humankind versus the monsters. This Kolchak the Night Stalker, Tales from the Crypt, Friday the 13th (TV Series), and all the wonderful tales of monsters and horror from the 80s. Character creation is faster than I recall it being in Chill 1 or 2. There are still plenty of options to create anytime of character you might want. Like all versions of Chill you are not going to make Harry Dresden style characters (that's for Majus), but making the Winchesters is easy. Goblinoid Games did not get the rights to SAVE, but that is fine really. There is a section in the book covering other organizations that characters can belong too and all are worthy replacements for SAVE. In particular, I want to run a game where all the characters are reporters for the Weekly Inquisitor. That would be a blast really. There are plenty of monsters, especially all the old favorites. There is also not a lot of duplication of monsters from other products so that is a nice value add.
There is also a great section on running games for the "Crypt Master" or CM. One of my favorite names for a Game Master ever. Crypt Master is not just a spiritual successor to Chill, it is a worthy one. If you have any materials from 1st or 2nd edition of Chill you will find them largely compatible with this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cryptworld
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Darkest Before the Dawn
by Stephen R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2016 22:28:53

This review is not on the content so much as the formatting. Unpleasant, cramped text in wide columns makes this adventure difficult to actually read. The publisher should reformat it with a cleaner modern font, or — at minimum — narrower columns as with the free Red Ace High adventure.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Darkest Before the Dawn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the feedback Stephen! I do plan to reformat this module, and when I do I\'ll send a notification so you can download the updated version.
Rotworld
by Martin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2016 14:40:14

Like Zombies in Movies or TV Shows? Then this is a must have in my opinion. Rotworld gives you all the information you need to start a 'Zombie Apocalypse' campaign. Causes of the outbreak, the breakdown of society, pre & post hierarchy, even some maps of useful locations. Rotworld uses the same Pacesetter/ Goblinoid Games system that covers Cryptworld, Timemaster & Majus, allowing you a vast array of source material. Its a great book on its own, add any or all of the other titles & just about any campaign, from any time, can be built.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rotworld
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Monsters Macabre (Cryptworld)
by Martin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2016 14:22:24

As a fan of Chill first edition by Pacesetter all those years ago I was over the moon when I found out they were back with Cryptworld. While Cryptworld was available to buy in the U.K. Monsters Macabre was not, then I discovered DriveThru RPG & possibilities became endless. Monsters Macabre is a great addition to the Pacesetter/ Goblinoid Games system, the added 'Things', variable damage system, much better than the 'stock style' combat in my opinion, rules for 'Thing' PC's & a scenario thrown in for good measure make this a must for Cryptworld & the others games in this vein. On a final note, I found it cheaper to download the PDF file from DriveThru RPG & get it printed, than buying the original, I'll definitely be buying more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Macabre (Cryptworld)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Monsters Macabre (Cryptworld)
by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/26/2016 12:26:21

Originally published at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2015/09/23/tabletop-review-cryptworld-monsters-macabre/

Monsters Macabre is the first supplement for Cryptworld, the spiritual successor to the first and second editions of Chill. This is not to be confused with the actual Chill, Third Edition which has the legal rights to the game’s name, but none of soul from the previous Pacesetter and/or Mayfair versions. My strong advice would be to forgo Chill 3e and instead purchase Cryptworld. it’s closer to the original spirit of the game, has better art, and costs less money. You can read my review of the Cryptworld core rulebook here. That way, we can get more supplements like Monsters Macabre, which was a mild success on Kickstarter that deserved more attention AND more money.

Monsters Macabre is essentially the game’s Monster Manual. There are seventy-one monsters to be found in the pages of this supplement, which should keep you busy for a while. Some of these are classic monsters like Banshees, Minotaurs, Gargoyles, Mothman, Liches and Mad Scientists. These are things you would normally expect to find as antagonists in a RPG, be it fantasy or modern horror. Then there are some that are less unexpected but fit the theme of Cryptworld perfectly. These are creatures like the Plague Bat which a giant bat that well… eats people and spreads virulent diseases. I’d also include things like the Headless Huntsman, Incan Mummies, La Llorona and the Vapour From Space into that category. Then you have the really weird things that even veteran gamers might not see coming. These are the creatures that are just so weird and unexpected that they are perfect to throw into a game because how the heck can you prepare for a monster like the Batsquatch, Mongolian Death Worm, Murdermobile or the Creeping Eye? As long as you can craft an adventure where these creatures make sense, you’re sure to knock both the players and their characters for a loop when they finally encounter them.

Every creature in Monsters Macabre is well done. There is a nice balance between background text and stat block, so you get a real sense of how to run one of these monsters and how difficult a time the PCs will have in dispatching them. Obviously no GM will use everything creature in Monsters Macabre, but anyone who is even remotely interested in Cryptworld will want to grab this supplement as it really adds to the overall feel of the game. Plus, less work for the GM who previously had to design his or her own monsters outside of the few in the core rulebook.

There is more to Monsters Macabre than just stat blocks for monsters though. There are five other sections of the book to consider. “It’s Alive!” talks about how to build your own things for Cryptworld. It’s some advice on designs stats, background information and how much experience to dole out once the thing has been dispatched. Meanwhile “Play Things” gives you advice on having monsters as PCs. Of course, Cryptworld is designed to be humans facing evil monsters, but this section gives you ways to work around that. Here you can get a feel for how the game would play if the PCs are sympathetic monsters or if they are playing irredeemably evil horrors as the regular version of Cryptworld supposes. Either way can be a lot of fun if you have the right mix of players and GM. There are also steps for creating a monster PC including the way that they will earn and spend XP. For those of you who like a lot of mechanics and rules – you’ll find a lot here in regards to monster PCs. What to do when there are witnesses to the creature, mundane reaction tables, what to do when a monster is outed to the general public and more. It’s all stuff I personally won’t use as I’ll keep monster PCs to World of Darkness games, but what’s here is really well thought out and written. There’s some good stuff here and it will really change the dynamic of your Cryptworld game.

Section Five is “Random Organizations. This is two pages of tables that will allow you to roll up that are helping, hunting or harming monsters. Section Six is “Tangled Threads” This is a full adventure for Crypt Masters (I wish it was Cryptkeepers) to run for players. It’s a quick one-shot adventure where the PCs must investigate a spooky house that seems connected to four disappearances in small-town Pennsylvania. Of course, this being Cryptworld, there is something not quite natural at the root of the problem.

Monsters Macabre is an excellent supplement and should make most Cryptworld fans very happy. I’m very happy with what is here and I know I more than got my money’s worth out of this release. Here’s hoping we don’t go another two years before we get the next Cryptworld release though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 09:05:36

My son was six when we started playing D&D. Digging my AD&D rule books out for the first time in 25 years, I quickly realized what an overly complex, disorganized, and over-explained mess they were. So I went back for B/X books and we played with that for a year. Until I discovered this excellent "retro-clone" / rewrite, which expands on the two slim original books just the right amount - reorganizing, refreshing, and extending the game without changing the tone. In the past year I've used Labyrinth Lord as the foundation for some house-rules and more substantial edits (e.g. imported concepts from Dungeon World) and 20+ year old ideas that I've always wanted to have in place. Labyrinth Lord's simplicity allows this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Labyrinth Lord: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 137 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates