DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
CRGE, Conjectural Roleplaying GM Emulator
by Mars S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2017 01:54:40

Although I have never gotten Mythic GM Emulator book and I wasn't sure if I should get it or not, I found that CRGE was free (pay what you will for it,) I decided to get this one instead and found that this is totally worth it! From what I read, it seems Mythic GM Emulator is exactly just like CGRE, so you should pick up CGRE first (be sure to give support such as donation or ratings!) This book shows you how to roll from tables based on yes/no questions you would normally ask the GM to make the game come to life. For example, you would ask yourself out loud, "Is there a door in this room?" and roll the dices. If it's a no, you would find another way and ask different questions to get out of the dungeon and such. It's challenging to come up with your own questions at first, but it becomes easier as you proceed through the game. I recommend you to get the 2 other companion books called BOLD and UNE that brings random NPC and stories to life in combination with this. It would seem like a LOT of paperworks and spreadsheets, but think of them as moving parts of an engine. It's a lot better than video games and computers on rainy days when you just want to use your imagination.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CRGE, Conjectural Roleplaying GM Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

UNE, The Universal NPC Emulator (rev.)
by Norman B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2016 10:24:18

while good, most of the matchups for motivation verb and noun that I have rolled require streching to be turned into a real motivation. for example weaken indulge, or support abduct. not sure that I would be able to use that part on the fly



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
UNE, The Universal NPC Emulator (rev.)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
No worries. That is first why I suggest rolling three motivations. There will be crap that comes out of the 100x100 possibilities. Cut the chaff or what doesn't make sense. If you have a minute or two, I also suggest looking up the definition of the word. I find that sometimes seeing the concrete definition in words, instead of whatever my mind feels, helps a lot in determining what it could mean.
UNE, The Universal NPC Emulator (rev.)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2016 14:00:30

It's a really well done product. It's simple, quick and do what It claims. If you are looking for a tool to build up engaging NPC's that have strong opinions on what your PC's group does or say, this product is what you need. No more boring-flat NPC's. Promise.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BOLD, Universal PC Stories and Deeds Generator
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2016 13:52:41

I enjoyed this title a lot. It's a very cunning, simple and effective system to build up what happens to a character between adventures or out-of-story periods (like a rouge nighttime ride to collect a necklace to impress the beautiful half-elf bartmaid!). Great result can even be obtained when you need to quickly generate a backround history for a PC or NPC. Very interesting indeed the system of connections to spice up roleplayng and interaction between characters in the group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BOLD, Universal PC Stories and Deeds Generator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

UNE, The Universal NPC Emulator (rev.)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2016 17:22:37

GM's; its very easy, you need this. Use it to kick start the prep process. Make a screen with it. I laminated mine to keep it in good shape. Such a simple product but will add depth to your stories. Make you think outside the bubble. Hope to see more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UNE, The Universal NPC Emulator (rev.)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CRGE, Conjectural Roleplaying GM Emulator
by Petr P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2015 13:44:52

Review of CRGE, Conjectural Roleplaying GM Emulator.

Description. CRGE is a universal game tool where you can emulate a GM's simple, basic responses to random events as they are created by the game's mechanics. It is NOT a replacement for a living, breathing human being, BUT it is a pretty good tool to create random events on-the-fly with simple questions and dice rolls.

Rules are easy to understand, simply laid-out for the reader. CRGE draws much influence from Mythic Role-Playing Game engine in the form of Yes / No questions and resolution chart. I think personally it does a better job of handling increasing intensity in the RPG game, but CRGE does not handle random events as well as Mythic. This is a tool, not a game - so, it is fun to use only if you think your RPG Core Rules are fun to play.

The Layout and Design of this product is simple, straight-forward. Nothing gets in the way of reading and absorbing the information. (A few more nicely-rendered illustrations may have helped, but not necessary.)

Is it worth the money? as you can Pay What You Want, I say it is definitely worth a few bucks. I suggest that you purchase this product, try it for yourself, if the reviews give you a clear idea as to what this game product can provide for your RPGs as a tool.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CRGE, Conjectural Roleplaying GM Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review!
UNE, The Universal NPC Emulator (rev.)
by Keith D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2015 04:24:38

I'm a great fan of products which rather than offer endless tables use a simple mechanism to force something unique out of your own imagination. The Universal NPC Emulator really sits well as the first product I go to (and sometimes the only one) when I create an NPC.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UNE, The Universal NPC Emulator (rev.)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review! It is very much appreciated.
CRGE, Conjectural Roleplaying GM Emulator
by Damian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2015 19:47:10

A poor man's Mythic GM; it's a universal [generic] supplement [not an all-in-one solution], not an actual full, detailed RPG. So no character creation, genre tables, XP, or anything detailed like that. Once again (see TOSS) it's pretty much a 25-page brainstorming blogspot post. I understand the author (who is a Nice Guy and very smart) spent two years drafting this, and it's pay what you wish, but this is a super niche product with hardly any reviews and community buzz. Don't get me wrong, you will probably take a couple of things from this for your solo adventures or if you are into random generations or coming up with character backgrounds. But this is no Mythic or Covetous Poet, even with the cool oracle charts.

FU (The FreeformUniversal RPG) is much more popular, but has similar flaws, as they are not really "systems" per se. John Fiore's 9Qs sticks to the basics as a kickstarter of plot ideas.

The author's goals seem grand, but CRGE is just one tool in your box. I'm getting tired of the 100% agnostic freeform supplements. Even GURPS has specific modules/themes/more specifics than the plethora of solo supplements that feel like untested thought experiments.

The sad part is you could combine UNE + TOSS + BOLD + TOSS, and you still don't equal MYTHIC or COVETOUS POET, or even a quick solo game on RPGSOLO.com.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
CRGE, Conjectural Roleplaying GM Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review! You are correct that this is just one tool, a mere GM emulator. I intended it to be as transparent as I could in overlaying almost any RPG I could think of. It was playtested with FATE, World of Darkness, and even Chuubo\'s to give way to those RPG\'s story mechanics first and foremost. Mythic RPG and Covetous Poet are way more comprehensive for sure, but I\'ve seen that solo RPG\'ers love to play around with tools in their toolbox to create the exact system for their needs. Happy solo gaming!
TOSS, a bus stop RPG framework
by Damian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2015 19:16:08

Two pages. Seems more like a brainstorming session/blogpost that something practical like the author's classic UNE system. Is there a community that uses TOSS? Feels like the author quickly came up with this and wanted to share it to the public for free. I get a bit disappointed when I come across solo gamers on blogs who come up with quick and dirty systems. Is agnostic/ambivalent/universal/generic. You probably already did a quick solo scene with a character before, so it seems unnecessary to publish this on DriveThruRPG. Plays like a 100-word creative writing assignment or 10-minute parlor game.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
TOSS, a bus stop RPG framework
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review! I always appreciate feedback even if it is based on expectations rather than the content of the supplement. As you might guess the name of the supplement is \"tongue-in-cheek\" because this was one of those ideas that did not make the cut of what I feel are the core three of Conjecture Games. Happy solo gaming!
CRGE, Conjectural Roleplaying GM Emulator
by The H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2015 13:42:57

Either for free or $5, this is a pretty solid product. It takes the meat of the Mythic GM Emulator and installs simpler elements based off of narrative structure to add variety without making things too complicated. I was especially fond of the three-tiered structure, allowing you to go from a sandbox game all the way up to a structured, plot-driven story if you so choose. Rather than Mythic's Chaos Factor (which most other GM emulators strip out) it includes three oracle tables based on the nature of the scene, with skewed results depending on if the scene is geared towards learning what's going on, coming into conflict, or tying things up. It's a neat little solution.

The system runs great in my test run, but it left me wanting a random event generator like Mythic's, which is an extremely useful tool for coming up with ideas on the fly. There's also the inherent paperwork which comes with managing any GM emulator (though far, FAR less than actually being a GM). Namely, tracking plot threads, NPCs, the kind of scene being played, etc. This isn't really a knock against the system, since most GM emulators are like that, but it's something to be aware of.

All in all, it's a great replacement for Mythic, though I'd personally use elements from both.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CRGE, Conjectural Roleplaying GM Emulator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

UNE, The Universal NPC Emulator (rev.)
by Damian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2015 16:04:57

Should have more reviews here...UNE is the inspiration and backbone for many solo RPG systems and generic systems. Find out why UNE is still the go-to for NPC creation and a major part of your GM toolbox.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
UNE, The Universal NPC Emulator (rev.)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

UNE, The Universal NPC Emulator (rev.)
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2014 16:13:25

Such a simple, yet deep story mechanic. I love this product. I can't wait to use it more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BOLD, Universal PC Stories and Deeds Generator
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2014 16:07:08

This is a spectacular product. It solves the "and then?" dilemma and so much more. The work Zach is doing on deepening the narrative is impressive. This has become a go-to document for me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BOLD, Universal PC Stories and Deeds Generator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates