DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Blades in the Dark
by michael w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2017 05:59:17

yesterday I finished my blades in the dark campaign, and it was one of the best ones I ever ran.

the system took a little while for us to get used to, but once everyone knew the all the options and all the rules it was both smooth and consistently fun: my players loved dreading every single roll, and I loved coming up with consequences, offering hard bargins, mounting ever-increasing odds against them, and watching them plan (retroactively) elaborate ways of beating them, while improvising upon unforseen events.

at the beginning of the game the characters were weary and careful, but knowing every single roll can succeed let them take crazy risks non, by the end of the game most rolls succeed, but because of that they took MORE risks, so whenever they failed the consequences were dire. it worked beautifully so there was always pressure, always risks, always crazy stunts and always huge problems to plan around.

this is a wonderful game, and I personally rank it as one of the best game systems I've ever played. I could write a book on the things BITD does right.

the game world is very cool and interesting, but the system would easily lend itself to other worlds, and while I enjoyed it, I probably had enogh of this world in this one campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blades in the Dark
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blades in the Dark
by Adam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2017 17:44:18

A beautiful game design wrapped in a beautiful package. Blades is an evolution of the PbtA formula that adds a little complexity and a lot of flavor and feel. The extra mechanical crunch never feels wasted, and often feels like it adds an exponential amount of options and realness to play. I look forward to playing this game (and the many inevitable hacks) for years to come.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blades in the Dark
by Benjamin C. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2017 16:11:37

The PDF is excellent quality, just what I expected from this site.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blades in the Dark
by D J. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2017 14:04:07

A fantastically atmospheric, gorgeous and engaging game attatched to a great system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blades in the Dark
by Nawaf M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2017 16:05:00

If I could I'd give it 4,5 stars. On first glance, the premise is simple, perhaps even simplistic. Don't let that fool you. If I hadn't had a chance to page through this for free, I wouldn't have given it another glance. I am glad I did get that chance, and I'd strongly suggest the author consider releasing a demo version that showcases more of the mechanics and setting than the current preview available here, which is simply not enough to convey the elegance of this game.

I usually prefer systems that have a far stronger focus on mechanics, but I can appreciate a system that is light on them without feeling like it's trying to keep them to a minimum at every turn. The rules are very good at encouraging and empowering players, which I very much like. The world feels like a familiar fantasy world that hasn't been stuck in a medieval age forever but rather advanced technologically and culturally, without becoming a bland version of our real world industrial age. If you're familiar with the Thief series or Dishonored, that's the vibe I got from the game. I was surprised I liked it, let alone how much and you might be as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blades in the Dark
by Georg M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2017 03:35:09

This game has so much value, it's no wonder it's highly rated. The rule system is streamlined and well prepared for the theme, and it has so much to discover. I have my hopes up for a possible epub/mobi version of this, as the monochromous design perfectly fits on a e-reader.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blades in the Dark
by Karl M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2017 14:58:09

My new favorite RPG. Best thing since Apocalypse World. This is still what I would consider a Rules Light system although there are more rules here than AW but they do such a wonderful job structuring the play and laying down more "track" than the players can run down so it's always leaving you wanting more. The One More Turn idea so lovingly a part of Civilization video games is here so strongly you can taste it.

The system is a limited dice pool with lots of fun options.

The world is crisp and lively with lots of options and room for what ever your group would like to add. It's light enough detailed to give you an idea for yourself but not enough detail to tie you down to pages and pages of lore.

This system looks to be a new standard model, John should have coined a system with this when he published it deserves it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blades in the Dark
by kyle b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2017 14:07:17

Incredible. Very well-written, rules are clear and concise. Provided material allows you to dive right into Blades. Plays well with 3-6 PCs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blades in the Dark
by Torsten K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2017 16:02:05

My group picked this game up after one of us got super hooked on watching people play it on RollPlay and I write this review after receiving the update to PDF version 8.

First of all something that bothers me, there is an index and a table of contents in the book but the table of contents doesn't include hyperlinks, as such it is a bit of a drag to search through using a pdf reader and forces our little group to add them ourselves (certainly not a big thing, but it falls squarely under the category "nice to have".

The artwork used in the book is good and could remind avid gamers for example of the artstyle used in Darkest Dungeon, it is dark and gives you a sense of the atmosphere that Duskvol offers its inhabitants. Personally I would have loved to see more of it.

Layout and Font of the book makes it easy too read and enjoy.

I am particularily fond of the devils bargain mechanic.

I would recommend you buy the book if you enjoy games with less crunch and more narrative control (like people who always though that FATE could use more rules).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blades in the Dark
by Karl R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2016 17:51:31

I'm reviewing an early access edition of Blades in the Dark

I was looking for good rules for running a crime family in my Dungeons and Dragons campaign, and I found them in Blades in the Dark. I appreciate the heat, rep, trauma and coin systems as presented in the book and think they provide a great framework for those looking to run a game of scoundrels and city-based criminals.

I must admit I have not run a full-fledged Blades in the Dark game, but I am totally pleased with what I got for what I paid for it, so I'm giving it a full 5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blades in the Dark
by Vicki C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2016 03:33:36

We have just begun our first campaign in Blades in the Dark. We normally play more D&D(ish) type games that are very heavy on rules, dice rolls, and having every detail of the world already in place. In those cases I have always chosen to have someone else run the campaign, someone who is more of a rules lawyer and likely to remember every tiny little detail that applies to each and every situation.

I LOVE the face that Blades in the Dark is based more upon the story and narrative than it is upon rules and regulations. There is enough information given on the world to be used comfortably (should you choose to do so), but also so much left open to the imagination.

As I have a great love of story telling and was incredibly impressed with the potential that I saw in this game, I knew that I not only had to have it...but also that, for the first time in over ten year....I wanted to be the one to run the game.

I have banned the rules lawyers from my game (there are one or two that are still allowed to play, but they understand that they will be playing a very different style game and they need not refer to their rulebooks as I may choose to bend or alter some basics at times if it suits the story and situation).

We have only played two sessions so far, and while I did choose to start with the general idea of the quick start campaign I have added an interesting twist that seems to have the players totally intrigued.

In short: We are still getting the hang of the game and the rules that do exist within the game, but we are loving both the environment and the concept and in spite of my nervousness about running a game while being so out of practice i'm getting rave reviews on both the game and the story that I am weaving for them. I expect we will be having a great deal of fun with this for a long time to come.

Vicki



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blades in the Dark
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2016 09:59:04

This game is amazing, great game mechanics that start out slow, but get progressivly more chaotic and tense as the campaign goes on, until you're drowning in interesting characters and dark magics that work both for and against you. It's a blast. Would get 5 stars but PDF is in need of some better organization, as well as an index, will most likely be fixed in the final version though



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bootleggers
by christon s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2014 22:24:19

Love this game. Ran two sessions before an unfortunate series of about eight 6- led to an almost TPK... but fun was had by all, definately going to play again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bootleggers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bootleggers
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2014 23:02:43

This is a perfect example of a compact, focused game that you can actually run after one read-through without fumbling for ideas. Even if the subject matter doesn't interest you, the game's design is so clear that translation to a different genre would be trivial.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates