DriveThruRPG.com
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Fragged Empire - Core Rule Book
by Tim H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2016 20:22:04

I'm really excited to play this system, so I'll start with the positives. It's got a rich setting which is brought to life well through the short vignettes scattered throughout the rule book, with a real focus on interesting themes (and plenty of scope to explore other ones). A lot of the mechanics looks like they should work quite well, too. It's also a pretty straightforward system, which should make it good for players newer to tabletop RPGs (there's a good chance many members of whichever group I manage to cobble together will fit this description), but with enough depth and customisation in character creation to satisfy a more experienced gamer who wants to have fun with the system. All the production values are stellar, the artwork's great and the pdf has all the bookmarks/navigation aids you could want, with a really clean, logical design.

The only initial reservations I have are the resource system and odds of success/failure. The only game I've played with a similar allocation-style resource system was the Mistborn RPG, but I really didn't like how that one did it and I don't think it was a matter of execution so much as style. Maybe this one will win me over, we'll see. As far as success rates go, it looks like by default failure is far more likely than success on even simple skill checks unless you're trained in that specific skill, and even if you are trained in the skill you'll want every possible bonus to even attempt a difficult check (if you're untrained, you can just forget about it). This could make each check feel more significant and success more satisfying, or it could make the whole thing an exercise in frustration and really pigeon-hole players into only playing the role they're optimised for. It's easy enough for an experienced GM to just tone down the DCs a bit, but I'm not sure I'd want a newer GM setting difficulties with this system. All in all though, these are very minor quibbles with what is otherwise a fantastically well-thought out game.

Fragged Empire gets a lot right. If you're looking for a great system for a sci-fi RPG, look no further.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire - Core Rule Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fragged Empire - Protagonist Archive 1
by Vincent Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2016 00:57:39

My only complaint is how amazing much of the art is for the majority of the book, but takes a massive dive on some of the Three archtype pages for each race. What happened?

This expansion is by and large absolutely amazing, otherwise. It adds so much more life into the game through it's new races and settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire - Protagonist Archive 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fragged Empire - Protagonist Archive 1
by Richard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2016 23:52:02

Expanding the Fragged Empire setting, the Protagonist Archive delivers 4 new races, expanded rules, new Traits, and does it brilliantly and beautifully with Wade Dyer's excellent eye for design.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire - Protagonist Archive 1
by Marcus C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2016 20:02:12

Expands the Fragged Empire sandbox with four more playable races that introduce a great range of character options and more items for the players to spend their down time on. Expanded locations, factions and personalities show strong plot lines and conflict lines that the PC's could engage with, and assist a GM in creating their own view of the Fragged Empire. A very solid addition to the Fragged Empire setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire - Protagonist Archive 1
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2016 17:17:56

Proof that the Fragged Empire universe isn't small, Fragged Empire - Protagonist Archive 1 delivers a new cast of races each with their own history and culture. This is complimented with extended rules (new keywords, perks, skills, etc.), setting guide revolving around the new races and interactions with the initially playable races, new factions, new locations, new prominent NPCs, and new character & spacecraft lists. Tying it all together are the wonderful short stories and narrative examples.

This is a must have for GMs and players alike to dig deeper into the post-post-apocalyptic setting of Fragged Empire.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire - Core Rule Book
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2016 00:10:54

This is a good system, with a great background and campaign setting. It is a sci-fi setting with a non-human element.
I recommend checking it out if you are looking for a good sci-fi setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire - Core Rule Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fragged Empire - Antagonist Archive 1
by Des S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2016 20:18:45

This is an outstanding Companion book. Chock full of factions for your character to run afoul of or befriend, Interesting locations to visit and fully statted NPC's, both generic encounter npc's (with options to tweak them quickly) and Fully statted and named characters.

And to top it off the art work is worth it alone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire - Antagonist Archive 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fragged Empire - Antagonist Archive 1
by Alistair C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2016 18:33:02

This expansion to Fragged Empire RPG is awesome. beautifully presented it is an essential purchase for collectors and gamers alike. The Antagonists Archive is filled with fluff, art and horrifying traits to add to your campaigns. A stupid amount of fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire Adventure - Genetic Spectres
by Richard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2016 23:45:33

Just a brief review; I hope that's alright.

I'm running this for my group right now and I have to say this is probably the best published adventure I've ever read. It's goes beyond just the adventure with optional background hooks to develop PC relationships with NPCs, which does a great job of building tension and making the game much more interesting than a dungeon crawl, or a 2-sided conflict.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire Adventure - Genetic Spectres
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fragged Empire - Core Rule Book
by Richard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2016 04:25:08

I'm not going to rehash everything you can read from the website. I'm going to assume you've read that; if you haven't, you should.

Setting It's hard to come up with truly original settings these days, but Wade has done a good job of using familiar ideas and assembling them in an inspired and engaging way. The setting is delivered in examples, various short stories, and more thoroughly in the racial write-ups.

Mechanics This is what I like to call a 'crunchy' game. By that, I mean that there are a lot of rules. I love me some rules-lite story games, but I really enjoy the rules presented here. There is a lot of versatility with what you can make of your character and what they can do in the game. There are details, such as weapon and armor modifications, research, ship configuration, henchmen, contacts, etc. Then, there are abstractions such as how the different types of resources/wealth are handled. He's found a really nice balance with these aspects which makes dealing with these details interesting and not tedious.

One thing I want to add is that he managed to avoid everything I can't stand about d20 systems. While characters do grow in skills, influence etc, the power creep is nothing like d20 systems.

Artwork While there are a few pieces that don't quite meet the standards of the rest, there are enough of high quality to really give one a good idea of what the creator is going for and to make the book simply gorgeous.

Production Value The production value of this book is really outstanding. I still gave this book 5 stars because, in addition to the great setting and very strong mechanics, the production value is incredible. Wade's skills as a designer have really made this book noteworthy. There are charts that help explain concepts in the game, and they not only fulfill their purpose, they look extremely good, while doing so.

Complaint My only issue with the Fragged Empire rules is that only one piece of Utility equipment is allowed per character and that no justification is given for this. Other restrictions are justified. If there is a justification for this one, I managed to miss it. This rule is for balance, I totally get that, but I feel that if a justification can't be made, the restriction shouldn't exist. However, considering all the rest of the goodness in this book, this is a minor complaint, one that can be house-ruled or given a non-canon justification.

To summarize: If you've read all the way to this point, you should probably just buy this book. If you're still on the fence, join the Subreddit and/or the G+ communities.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire - Core Rule Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fragged Empire - Core Rule Book
by Muchembled N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2016 06:32:13

An great sci-fi setting with an incredible well written background !

The four basic races are quite balanced and really fun to play with. Rules are clear, fast to learn and offer several interesting options if you like playing with minis and tactical maps. The different artworks filling the book are just awesome and the page makeup and layout are both really well though, allowing quick search without have to fold for hours for a specific information.

A must have !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire - Core Rule Book
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2016 23:19:19

Love this book, it's beautifully illustrated and well written. Lot's of information on the setting and an abundance of short stories to further set the scene. Interesting races and a wonderful variety of equipment with lots of modifications available to customise the base items.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire Adventure - Let Sleeping Gods Lie
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2016 17:48:38

Had a test run of this a while ago. It played quite smoothly for us and a very strong vibe of the kind of sci fi horror one encounters in "Aliens" or Prometheus. I gave it a bit of a Lovecraft spin with the whole elder races kind of style for the Nephilim and hints of the ancient "humans" etc. the players quite loved orientalizing humanity like that, along with the creepy horror of the bio weapon ship. It worked wonderfully for atmosphere after the more laid back station set up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire Adventure - Let Sleeping Gods Lie
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fragged Empire - Core Rule Book
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2016 17:31:18

This is a remarkable innovative exercise in world building but, unlike may others I have tried in the past, it requires little introduction to understand and has a straightforward intuitive rule system which is easy to run. It also is remarkably flexible, incorporating a variety of play styles from near wargaming level combat (indeed a spin off squad based war game would suit this well) to rules for a flexible story teller based roleplaying system allowing for much more theatrical exercises. The blending of far future space opera and post apocalyptic setting is quite well realized and allows for a variety of story telling styles ranging from horror to hard sci fi to space opera.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire - Core Rule Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fragged Empire - Core Rule Book
by jeff F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2016 17:07:38

Substantial. Beautiful. Meaty.

This is a high bar to set for the indie RPG side of things, but wow - Fragged Empire is a bit art, a bit science, a lot of fun to read and seems to hold together as a ruleset.

I look forward to getting even more into it, with hopefully what will be a rich community and support.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates