DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Fragged Empire - Core Rule Book
by Norbert P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2018 13:11:20

You want hard sci-fi...you get hard sci-fi....see the link below for my YouTube review of Fragged Empire.

Fragged Empire review: https://youtu.be/-tdMMX7CUa4



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire - Core Rule Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fragged Seas
by Phillip A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2018 16:27:26

I backed the kickstarter, and Fragged Seas was the first one I messed with, managing to create within a hour of sitting down with the book, a naked wizard in a fancy hat who raised zombie servants to fight with as a starting PC, and a ship fit for a starting crew of budding pirates that coincidentally would also be usable as the base of operations for Scooby Doo villains pretending to be ghost pirates. As far as I'm concerned this is all goals met for this expansion and then some.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Seas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fragged Seas
by Jason G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2017 06:12:08

We've been really enjoying this, its very well put together



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Kingdom
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2017 16:42:10

Its a very good book. If you like the core rules this is a great add. The Author did not waste space rewriting all the same rules over and over in his new books and that is great. So what you read in these new books is all new stuff and not copy and pasted rehashed stuff.

Can't wait for more new stuff! I'll be looking forward to the next Kickstarter!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Kingdom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fragged Aeternum
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2017 12:48:31

Overall: 4 stars
The nitty gritty: This review presupposes that you are familiar with the FE core rules.

This is a big departure from the normal FE setting Aeturnum is an endless world city, set with a similar tone to the movie Dark City (if you haven't seen that, stop reading this and watch that) combined with a more lively, populated version of Dark Souls. The buildings are gothic, the outlook bleak, and several anachronistic elements set amidst cleqr evidence of the supernatural but with the supernatural being unknowable.

You play the role of the Tethered, humans who have bonded their souls to mystic lanterns/flame, gained extended (unlimited?) life spans, and are far more powerful than a human. None of which makes you a good person. Your charge is the shepherd humanity, to let them live their best lives admidst the threats that face them.

The good: the game simplifies several of the more complicated elements of the FE action system, adding in a momentum mechanic and a more flexible, clear set of action choices. The research mechanic is modified into becoming something a little less abstract, with a clear transactional element. Resources are more limited, which means that equipment carried is simplified.

The combat is much more lethal despite the increased power of the PCs, the challanges rise to the occasion, and as the game states, TPKs happen and should be expected. Death is just the betinning, and death of PCs is less about individual survival, and much more about the story goals of the combat. Dying to save 1,000 citizens of Aeturnum is clearly preferable to surviving, but letting 500 people die. The choices and dilemmas are well reinforced in the mechanics and tone, reinforcing story beats over raw combat. Much of the artwork is fantastic.

The bad: If youre not a fan of tactical combat, this suplement does little to change things. Certain elements are still calculation heavy, and while the abstract systems exist, they have very little page count.

I think my biggest complaint is that the abstract "magic" system is not developed enough there are a couple pages, with brief explanations, but a couple examples would have gone a long way, as it is challanging to know what the creator envisioned. Minor typos, and some ok artwork in places, is a small detractor as well.

One element of the game that is hard on players and a GM is that as all the tools and pieces to make your equipment/attack spells/defenses are abstract pieces, there feels like a small hole in the setting. the equipment examples are great, and i would have liked to see more examples to flesh out the world.

The finish line: Ths certainly is a worthy addition to the fragged continuum, and if you ever wanted to play a Dark Souls rpg, you could do a lot worse.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Aeternum
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fragged Seas
by Party L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2017 21:34:21

This is the best system (and arguable setting) for a piratey-campaign. Anyone needing some "Arrrrr" or "Land HO!" in their life should get Fragged Seas!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Seas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fragged Empire: HACKED
by Fredrik S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2017 16:17:36

22 pages that brings a few things from Fragged Kingdoms into Fragged Empire. You can build space stations and colonies, great stuff!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire: HACKED
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fragged Aeternum
by Benjamin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2017 07:57:04

I really like the setting. It is very unique, the horror is well done (and not overdone), the stakes are clear, but the actual morals can get murky very fast. E.g.: There exists such a thing as forbidden knowledge. Do you aquire and use it in your fights against the fiends? It might prove usefull. But then again, it is forbidden for a reason, and could be your first step down a very dark path of madness and corruption.

Maybe I should write more about the setting, but I think the official store description summarizes it pretty well. The story and the setting get 5/5.

The rules support the feel of the game well, but they are anything but simple. Note the simplified in the description. Yes, to some extent that is true, but the result still isn't simple. You have to have both rulebooks. Some rules are exactly the same, some rules only apply to one system, some rules exist for both system, but are modified in aeternum (e.g. how splash damage or cover work). If you want to have a smooth game you need to know the rules pretty well, because "quickly" looking up something can take several minutes. There are the simpler Theatre of mind Rules. But sadly, these obsolete about half of the traits (special characteristics you can pick each level). And some traits give non-combat bonuses + combat bonuses, so it isn't always clear what to do with a trait if you use theatre of mind instead of miniature combat.

But the rules get some points right:

  • You play characters with superhuman abilities. Every character has those. You can expand on them, or leave it at the basekit and take more mundane traits.
  • Fights are dangerous and may very well lead to character deaths, you play immortals with the ability to rebirth, so dying isn't the end of the game, but it still has consequences.
  • I like how resources are managed in this game. It is a more abstract system, where you don't have to count every coin you own.
  • I also like the madness and corruption rules. As your characters fight against fiends, they will at some point get mad and or corrupted, as the human psyche isn't made to stand this terrors for eternity (-> these are immortals who could fight against fiends for hundreds of years).

So, because the rules get the impotant thing right (supporting the feel of the game), but are complicated and spread across 2 books, I substract 1 star and rate this 4/5.

The story and the setting are the reasons why I really would like to actually play this game. Sadly, I won't have a group to actually play this system in the foreseeable future.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Aeternum
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fragged Kingdom
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2017 07:43:48

Great book with tons of setting info and flavour. The system is easy to learn and to use. Highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Kingdom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fragged Kingdom
by Tim R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2017 06:10:50

The Empire strikes back, with new themes. Outstanding.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Kingdom
by Tristan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2017 23:06:57

A great way to introduce new players with only fantasy RPG experience or interest to the mechanics of Fragged: Empire. Brings forward welcome innovations, such as holdings and massive combat, to an already rich rules system. An excellent addition to an excellent game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Kingdom
by Neal J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2017 17:17:07

A fantastic (pun intended) addition to the FRAGGED universe. The introduction of holdings and mass combat looks great. I told my gaming group about Fragged: Kingdom and they too are excited to start a campaign. The book is well-written (just like Fragged: Empire) and the rules are clear. The helpful page-length rules summaries are a great help.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire - Core Rule Book
by Daniel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2017 15:57:54

This is a great game with an awesome background. The short stories in the book give a good idea what the universe is like and I am especially fond of the game system that provides a lot of freedom and has a lot of fresh ideas. I can only recommend it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Empire - Core Rule Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fragged Empire - Core Rule Book
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2017 11:21:29

Fragged Empire - Core Rule Book is a great game that is very simple to use. I am a huge fan of the "Theatre of the Mind" that the author has added into all his book to simplify combat and in my feeling makes the game less DM / Storyteller vs. Players.

This is a great game and easy to start up with little to no time prep.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Seas
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2017 11:15:18

Fragged Seas is very smartly done. The author wasted no space rehashing what was done in his core book. This book has all the story and everything you need to run a great game. It's worth the cost.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fragged Seas
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 35 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates