DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic II
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2006 00:00:00

I have Post-Apocalyptic Seeds I-V; Seeds II is typical, with 17 one-paragraph adventure seeds. I personally found 9 of them to be useful, but results will vary with the campaign.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic III
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2006 00:00:00

I have Post-Apocalyptic Seeds I-V; Seeds III is the poorest of the set, with 18 one-paragraph adventure seeds-of these 18, however, 5 are duplicates of Seeds II, mewaning that if you've the set, Seeds III delivers only 13 seeds.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Disappointing<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic III
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic IV
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2006 00:00:00

I have Post-Apocalyptic Seeds I-V; Seeds IV is one of the larger in the series, with 25 one-paragraph adventure seeds. I personally found 11 of them to be useful, but results will vary with the campaign.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic IV
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic V
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2006 00:00:00

I have Post-Apocalyptic Seeds I-V; Seeds V is larger than I-III, with 25 one-paragraph adventure seeds. I personally found 6 of them to be useful, but results will vary with the campaign.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic V
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2006 00:00:00

For $1.75 you get 24 seeds gathered into a few loose catagories. Of the 24, 8 were definate keepers, and a couple were maybes.


That breaks down to a pretty good buy.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Old-School Gazette #7
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2006 00:00:00

This was just a ton of fun to read. I gotta get caught up on these :) Feel like I'm reading a good ol' late 70's/early 80's gaming mag again<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: everything :)<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: that it isn't in print rather than PDF (but I understand today's realities)<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Gazette #7
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
by Francois L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2006 00:00:00

I thought this book was so good. I actually bought it as a hard copy when the special was on.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: It does cover the entire world building very thoroughly. Elements I would have never thought about in the realm of ecology mostly.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Pulp
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2006 00:00:00

Stat-free ideas for Pulp era adventures - very useful for harassed gamesmasters!<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: Really useful for ANYONE running Pulp games!<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Labelling it d20! Shame a page has to be wasted on the OGC licence when there are no stats in the product!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Pulp
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Pulp III
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2006 00:00:00

Another godsend for the harassed Gamesmaster running Pulp adventures under ANY gaming system - a generous host of statistic-free story ideas.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: The variety and universality of the plot hooks!<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: With this volume, ERP stopped putting headlines on all the seeds so the collection looks more "thrown together", and it's still branded as d20 despite having no statistics in it!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Pulp III
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Pulp V
by Tim K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2006 00:00:00

Yet more useful story ideas for the harassed Gamesmaster - statistic free as ever therefore useful to ANYONE running games in a Pulp setting.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: The universality and variety of the story seeds.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Don't even bother with "headlines" for the seeds by this stage; still insist on calling it a d20 product despite being thankfully devoid of any statistics.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Pulp V
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Advanced Adventures #1: The Pod-Caverns of the Sinister Shroom
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2006 00:00:00

From the design and layout right down to the story and creatures, "Pod-Caverns" resurrected those long-since-dead days of my youth, when playing the game was more about enjoying the adventure (Kill the evil monsters, take their stuff!) and less about munckin-izing your character.


For those who like "old school" D&D, this product is a "must have," but even if you're not an old school gamer, this adventure's worth the price of admission.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: Everything, but especially the way it seamlessly integrates old school gaming with "new school" sensibility.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Adventures #1: The Pod-Caverns of the Sinister Shroom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Society: Silk Road
by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/25/2006 00:00:00

Silk Road


The Silk Road brings upon great images of adventure into the unknown and with new and possible exotic civilizations. I like the adventure and campaigns the imagery of the Silk Road brings up. A mercantile campaign of exploration and diplomacy can be a very different style from what I see as a normal D&amp;D campaign.

A Magical Society: Silk Road is the latest book in the series by Expeditious Retreat Press. This one is written by Suzi Yee. The book comes in print as well as PDF like most of their products. The book is about a hundred and sixty pages long with a nice standard lay out and art. The PDF version is very well book marked. It does lack an index and a book filled with information like this one can really benefit from one.

This book reads a little better then the others in the series because of the tighter focus in the subject. There are editing errors in the book, but not enough to cause me any confusion or really even bother me that much. The gamers though that are more annoyed by this sort of thing will of course hold it as a much larger flaw then I do.

The book does a very thorough covering into what goes with a large overland trade route like the Silk Road. The first two chapters go into that very well. I especially like the emphasis on cultures and how geography can really influence how they develop and differ. There are good design notes that will help one to create their own overland trade route in most campaign worlds. I say most because the father away from an Earth like setting and assumptions the tougher it is to group all settings together. The book has a lot of nice ways for complicating overland travel. One of the themes that runs through the book is the importance and danger of the journey. This can really help out in campaigns that want to have that type of focus without worrying about the overall Silk Road topic.

Any overland travel that deals with merchants and their many goods for trade will involve a caravan. The book deals with caravans going through four of the more extreme environments. Traveling through a desert is going to have a lot different feel and dangers then traveling through High Altitudes, Swamps, or even the Underground. These sections deal with the different environments very well. They cover the many different hazards, types of animals a caravan would use both real and fantastic as well covering the landscape and what exactly each environment is. This section like the last will also be useful for DMs that are just setting a campaign or just and adventure in that area. It will offer additional problems for even a normal adventuring party and help bring the environment to life.

The book covers trade items trade systems like no other product I have seen. The economy of the D&amp;D game has never been a strong point and while this will not fix this it does help make it a little more realistic. The book has a very complete list of trade goods. This type of detail might be a little alien to some players but I like the idea of instead of placing coin in a treasure the players find to have them find tobacco or other items that can be worth good money but make the players work at it and involve them in new directions for the campaign.

The book does a very nice job of condensing the historical Silk Road and it makes a great example people can borrow from and read over to see how it all fits together. It also brings up a bit of a issue some can have with the book. It has more of a real world approach then a magical world one. It is not devoid of magic or the fantastic but it does seem to be a lower assumption of magic then the core rules presents. For instance I would have enjoyed reading about the different core races and their own unique approaches to some thing like a Silk Road.

I want to make a special mention of Section 15 of the OGL in this book. That is the part that lists other books used and built on. I was shocked to see a list of dozens of books there. Silk road was a very smooth read and I did not imagine that so many resources were used here. I am impressed by that a whole lot.

Silk Road is the type of book that has a very strong focus and on the surface seems like it will have limited use. However, the different sections each have information a creative DM can use in their normal campaign to enhance it in unique ways. Of course for me using the book all together to develop a single campaign involving the Silk Road will be the highlight of the book. There is a lot of adventure ideas and creativity for something different hidden in the pages of this book.

<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: It covers a topic that has been mostly ignored in the game. And it does it very well.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: THere are some editing gaffs and I would have liked additional info dealing with a more magical approach. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Silk Road
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Society: Silk Road
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2006 00:00:00

Absolutely enjoyable and helpful.
Recommended for any large scale campaign.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: The historical background, the associated tables and the underground caravan materials (actually the swamp caravans were fun as well).<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: not much.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Adventures #1: The Pod-Caverns of the Sinister Shroom
by Johnny H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2006 00:00:00

Having known about the OSRIC project, and having kept up with it's progress via discussion on the Dragonsfoot forums, I was interested to take a look ath the Pod Caverns module and see how Expeditious Retreat Press had handled the first release done under the OSRIC umbrella.


I downloaded this product with the hopes of actually converting it to the Castles & Crusades system for a play-by-email campaign I am about to start for my gaming group (as opposed to using it for with the 1st Edition rules a lot of us grew up playing). However, after reading through the module tonight, I will probably be using the original game.


I got such a nostalgic feeling when I saw the font, and read the text of the module, that it actually pulled me back to those summers where AD&D was king, and the only game we played...and play it we did, for countless summer hours.


I really enjoyed reading through the module, and feel that it does an excellent job of capturing the feeling of those early modules created for the AD&D game.


<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: The old-school look of the font and imagery. The actual setting of the module and way it was written to get the characters into the adventure with no muss and fuss...It's a cavern waiting to be explored without a lot of extraneous background. It's up to the Dungeon Master to fill in the background of his campaign, not this module.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I don't enjoy buying PDF products. I wanted the print version, but it's not available yet....so about the only thing I didn't like was the fact that I will be buying this module twice...the PDF and the print copy. What can I say, I like it that much.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Adventures #1: The Pod-Caverns of the Sinister Shroom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
by Benoit B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2006 00:00:00

Nothing more should be said on this excellent product. It is a must-have for any serious DM running "verisimilitude" medieval campaigns.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: There is as much deeply descriptive text as there are tables and practical rules to implement the background information. City layout, economic simulation, estate production yields and financial benefits, can be neatly and easily computed using the methods provided in the book.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The influence point system to define the influence centers in a city is not so well explained and does not seem completely self-consistent. However you can easily work yourself around this flaw.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 243 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates