DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Seeds: Modern
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2008 11:06:08
Not bad-a bit basic, but these are hooks, ideas around which you flesh out a plot. And the price is certainly right!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Modern
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds Compilation: Post-Apocalyptic I-V
by Jose L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2007 00:00:00
Most people are familiar with the Seeds line of products. This one compiles all fiveof the Post-Apocalyptic Seeds volumes into one set. Basically, you get a paragraph or two describing some scenario. These can help you come up with an idea for an impromptu session, or provide the basis for an adventure.


LIKED: Large variety of Seeds can keep the ideas flowing for a long time.

DISLIKED: Some can be too "over the top" or disruptive to some campaign settings.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds Compilation: Post-Apocalyptic I-V
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

1 on 1 Adventures #1: Gambler's Quest
by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/29/2007 00:00:00
Modules seem to be a good place to see a company shine. It is most often the clearest example of how the writers see the game. D&D has many different playing styles and ways groups play. I like a good adventure. I enjoy well crafted Dungeon Crawls to the plot and character heavy role playing driven ones. I like to read what ideas other people use to craft an adventure and to see how they bring it all together. Gambler?s Quest is a new adventure by Expeditious Retreat and it is interesting and a good read.

Gambler?s Quest is a twenty four page adventure. The PDF is put out by Expeditious Retreat who are well known for their Magical Medieval Society series of books. The book is black and white with borders and some good art. It does consume a bit more ink then average with the borders but it is not that bad as all things go. The book is well organized and book marked making it easy to use from a computer or laptop.

Gambler?s Quest is a solo module. That is the module is designed for a single player and a rogue one at that. That will make the module a little less useful for people. It is possible to make this for a group of players but it will not work as well. The module is well written and really does a nice job of crafting an interesting adventure with lots of possibilities and options for a rogue character. The character should be a rogue as that is what the module is designed for but it can work with other characters. The rogues skills are a highlight of the module, many encounters are designed to be able to use stealth and cunning and not just brute strength. Any other class will have problems in the module, a bard might be the second best for this adventure though things like trap finding might be a problem. The adventure does have good advice for scaling it for higher levels. The adventure is designed for a character of second to fourth level. They do have advice for characters up to seventh level and for multiple players to be run through it.

The adventure is nice and simple. It really allows for a lot of player freedom and lets a rouge be a rogue. The adventure starts when the player either gets invited or finds out about a gambling event a lord is hosting. The module has good rules for gambling allowing a rouge to use many of his skills like bluff and sense motive for instance in the game. There are rules for gambling in here using a specific game. The rules allow for cheating, lying, and everything one would expect in such a competition. While the gambling is not going on the character can try to access other parts of the castle and learn lots of interesting information form the many NPCs here. There is a lot of good opportunity for role playing and solo investigation. The character should be able to get some good information and make quite a bit of money along the way. The gambling part is just the beginning but can really be fun for the right people. There are other things going on here and the character has a chance to really impress some important people.

I have run many solo adventures and even a long running solo campaign. I have found that in these games character interaction is important and it is good to be able to offer the character plenty of options. Sometimes with out a lot of different people to talk with a solo player character can be at a loss for what to do. This module has plenty of both: character interaction and options for the character. This seems like a really good and fun solo adventure. The plot is nice and complete and it has many options for the player. The NPCs are well defined and written up and I really like that there is a lot of non combat solutions to be had.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
1 on 1 Adventures #1: Gambler's Quest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
by Bryan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2007 00:00:00
Excellent Product, purchased a hard copy as well. I use this when I am trying to figure out environmental factors for my worlds.


LIKED: Excellent resource for world building.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Liber Artefactorum
by Philip R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2007 00:00:00
An excellent addition to True20. Highly recommended.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Liber Artefactorum
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Advanced Adventures #1: The Pod-Caverns of the Sinister Shroom
by Philip R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2007 00:00:00
A classic-style adventure for OSRIC and 1e AD&D games. XRP always does great work and this adventure continues their track record.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Adventures #1: The Pod-Caverns of the Sinister Shroom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Society: Beast Builder
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2006 00:00:00
This is an amazing book. It's awesome, want to work up soem new monsters for your game and not be too far out of whack ...this book will help you immensely. Want a new monster but don't want to put a ton of work into it?...pick a few special abilities and BANG all done. Ther eis a wealht of inforemation on monster abilities and solid information on monster creation.


LIKED: Far more special abilities then I actually imagined.

DISLIKED: The random monster geenration was a little weak. Certainly useable but given the quality of the rest of the book it seems a little bit underveloped and bolted on.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Beast Builder
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Sci-Fi
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2006 00:00:00
This is my 9th Seeds product, and the first Sci-Fi. It conforms in layout to the others, but of the two dozen seeds, far too many are based upon campaign dominateing considerations, rather than scenario seeds which can be plugged into a planned or existing campaigns. The writers definately lost their concept of scale.

Still, for $1.75, its not a write-off, either.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Sci-Fi
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic II
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2006 00:00:00
I have Post-Apocalyptic Seeds I-V; Seeds II is typical, with 17 one-paragraph adventure seeds. I personally found 9 of them to be useful, but results will vary with the campaign.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic III
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2006 00:00:00
I have Post-Apocalyptic Seeds I-V; Seeds III is the poorest of the set, with 18 one-paragraph adventure seeds-of these 18, however, 5 are duplicates of Seeds II, mewaning that if you've the set, Seeds III delivers only 13 seeds.

QUALITY: Disappointing

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic III
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic IV
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2006 00:00:00
I have Post-Apocalyptic Seeds I-V; Seeds IV is one of the larger in the series, with 25 one-paragraph adventure seeds. I personally found 11 of them to be useful, but results will vary with the campaign.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic IV
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic V
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2006 00:00:00
I have Post-Apocalyptic Seeds I-V; Seeds V is larger than I-III, with 25 one-paragraph adventure seeds. I personally found 6 of them to be useful, but results will vary with the campaign.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic V
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2006 00:00:00
For $1.75 you get 24 seeds gathered into a few loose catagories. Of the 24, 8 were definate keepers, and a couple were maybes.

That breaks down to a pretty good buy.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Post-Apocalyptic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Old-School Gazette #7
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2006 00:00:00
This was just a ton of fun to read. I gotta get caught up on these :) Feel like I'm reading a good ol' late 70's/early 80's gaming mag again


LIKED: everything :)

DISLIKED: that it isn't in print rather than PDF (but I understand today's realities)

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Gazette #7
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
by Francois L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2006 00:00:00
I thought this book was so good. I actually bought it as a hard copy when the special was on.


LIKED: It does cover the entire world building very thoroughly. Elements I would have never thought about in the realm of ecology mostly.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 236 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates