DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Malevolent and Benign
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2009 16:32:57
Excellent collection of monsters from Expeditious Retreat, statted for use with OSRIC (and therefore 1st edition AD&D). I am using the monsters with my C&C campaign right now, and the conversion is trivial.

PROS: the book is cleanly illustrated and the monsters all get some great write-ups. There are a lot fo interestign creatures in here, and the book is not an eyesore...even the retro cover, reminiscent of Erol Otus (by peter Mullen, whose got the Otus look down pat) is actually rather quirky and fun rather than an eyesore as in other retro games where the need to emulate the bad art of the 70's and 80's accompanied the retro-rule feel. The book is navigable as well with full bookmarks, a big plus for laptop-equipped DMs. Finally, as a resource designed fors classic style AD&D play, it both looks and feels the part, with all the appropriate bells & whistles, right on down to the layout and design. But the art in this one is much, much nicer than anything in Fiend Folio, I assure you!

CONS: I found that putting the monster description at the end of the entry rather than the beginning was a bit disconcerting....sometimes I needed to reference it first to figure out what the heck the creature's weird properties were. A few of the creatures are very...ah...complicated, which is to say, my head started throbbing thinking about managing the creature in-game, but don't take that as a con unless you are keen on simplicity of design.

Appearance: 4/5 - good cleanlayout, design, and nice art; a portion of it is definitely royalty-free and been seen elsewhere, but it's still good

Content: 5/5 if you need new monsters for OSRIC, C&C, or 1E/2E games.

VALUE: 5/5 for old school gamers.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Malevolent and Benign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds Compilation: Modern I-V
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2009 15:13:35
As with the Fantasy compilation, another great set of adventure seeds. Really fun to read and I’ve already expanded on a few to use at a future gaming session. Definitely worth the price!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds Compilation: Modern I-V
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds Compilation: Fantasy I-V
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2009 10:11:39
This product absolutely delivers on its promise, and contains some really useful adventures seeds to kickstart creativity, especially on those nights when it’s simply not flowing. A really nice variety and each seed contains enough info that it can be expanded upon. Great job!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds Compilation: Fantasy I-V
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pozas Art Pack: Fantasy vol. 9-Cityscapes
by Julie D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2009 13:08:56
OK line art. Not a lot of detail and a couple pieces look like work-in-progress.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pozas Art Pack: Fantasy vol. 9-Cityscapes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pozas Art Pack Fantasy vol. 3: Landscapes
by Julie D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2009 12:18:30
Decent collection of line art with generic settings. Fair enough for general filler art but nothing exceptional.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pozas Art Pack Fantasy vol. 3: Landscapes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Malevolent and Benign
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2009 11:19:55
A fantastic 1E supplement full of monsters. It is worth the price of admission:).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Malevolent and Benign
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe Second Edition
by Scott B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2009 14:59:39
EXCELLENT! Well done! Great job! I wet my pants I was so happy!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Military
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2009 13:00:21
Not bad. Like all EPR seeds products, its a collection of ideas presented in a couple paragraphs. Worth $1.31

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Military
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe Second Edition
by Pekka A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2008 04:35:35
If you have ever found yourself mapping a kingdom and wondering "How close to each others should this large cities be?" or "How wide would be the kingdom with this many people?", this is exactly the product you need.

In addition to that this book made me understand a lot more about how the medieval justice system works, how guilds fit into a (magical) medieval society, what is the hierarchy inside them...

Really, I can't recommend this book enough to anyone who wants to DM a medieval fantasy game. Be it 3rd or 4th edition DnD or some other system alltogether.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lava Rules! Fire and Brimstone
by Patrick P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/22/2008 02:51:12
These rules are some of the most logically written and usable rules I've seen for dealing with lava and volcanoes. Really. After getting this download, you'll never need another word on the subject. And it is portable to almost any game system in existence (even LARPing, though I might not recommend it too far depending on your group's insistance on realism). And the download comes loaded with numerous charts and graphs to explain the rules to your players. I've got an itch to put my players though a Hawaiian-themed adventure, and this is just what I needed for those times where the PCs are dumb enough to go traipsing around the caldera of Mauna Loa...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lava Rules! Fire and Brimstone
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Western I
by Jenette D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2008 17:21:53
As an adventure Seed book it delivers on what it promises, providing a good mixture of adventure hooks a gm can flesh out into an adventure with a little effort. (or even campaign)

Like the name implies this particular product focuses on western themed adventure seeds, providing a good mixture of ideas and inspiration for their game.

It;s also worth mentioning many of these adventure concepts can be applied to the Serenity RPG setting with a little bit of effort, making this a definite benefit to those playing the system or running any other kind of space game with a "frontier feel" to it.

The only down side is it's rather steep price of $1,75 for only 5 pages of adventure seeds. (the sixth page is license and legal info) At this size $0.75 would have been a much better price. Still, it delivers what's promised, and is a handy reference.

Quality: Satisfied
Cost: Not Satisfied

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Western I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Sci-Fi
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2008 10:32:07
Some neat story ideas; I've mined this a few times now, for when I was running D20 Future, GURPS Space, and most recently with the new Traveller from Mongoose. Good mileage for the price!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Sci-Fi
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

1 on 1 Adventures #1: Gambler's Quest
by Jonathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2008 09:07:34
This was a decent product. I bought it because my son and I will frequently play D&D and I needed something that I could just run out of the box. It was well thought out and the plot hooks were adaptable to any campaign setting. That being said however I do have one thing I have a problem with, I own several of the 1 on 1 adventures, and while they are all good adventures, it is regrettable that they dont have a continuing series for a particular class or group of classes. This adventure was for a rogue, it would be nice to see higher level 1 on 1 adventures for rogues.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
1 on 1 Adventures #1: Gambler's Quest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Jonathan, glad to see a review of our products. I wanted to drop you a note letting you know that the Olindor series of 1 on 1 Adventures (Star of Olindor level 6-8, Shroud of Olindor levels 7-9, and Vengeance of Olindor levels 8-10) are for a Rogue. The series can be played as a single story arc or as stand alone adventures. I hope you and your son continue to have fun gaming and I'm always happy to see a new generation doing what makes all of us so happy. Joseph Browning Expeditious Retreat Press
Lava Rules! Fire and Brimstone
by Darkwing D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2008 13:25:53
This product has helped my game tremendously. Now when my players fall into lava, I know exactly what happens. And if they complain? I just point them to this mini sourcebook.

It has very complete rules regarding lava, magma, and superheated rock. It even has a helpful sidebar for creatures with fire immunity. Neato!

Overall, I think all DMs (and players even) should give this one a read. Well worth the $0 they're asking for.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lava Rules! Fire and Brimstone
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Old-School Gazette #1
by josephdamian f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2008 13:45:57
found it informative, additional information on the inner workings of the goblin community. Liked the magic items that I read I havent read the intire thing yet...wish I had this years ago..

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Gazette #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 236 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates