DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Monster Geographica: Underground
by Yair R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2005 00:00:00
I was very impressed with this work. There is a wide variety of monsters, and although some were banal or uninteresting there were lots of ones I could definitely use and a few I was tempted to base a campaign on. They are very easily and comprehensively referenced, and it's easy to print just the ones you want.
Note that it has lots and lots of creatures in it, but no pictures. You'll just have to rely on that rusty imagination of yours.

LIKED: The ability to print out just the creatures I want, the campaign-making monsters.

DISLIKED: Some of the monsters were not different enough from existing monsters or did not fit the underground theme. A few simply made no sense to me.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Geographica: Underground
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Supers
by Bobby F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2005 00:00:00
Simple layout with little graphics. The ideas are somewhat usable and it should come in handy. Each idea has three extra options to make some good ideas.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Supers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Supers II
by Bobby F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2005 00:00:00
Simple layout with little graphics. The ideas are somewhat usable and it should come in handy. Each idea has three extra options to make some good ideas.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Supers II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
by Dave M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2005 00:00:00
This is an outstanding supplement that no GM should be without.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Fantasy II
by Mary J. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2005 00:00:00
I just enjoy the concept behind these "Seeds" so well. I like reading through them; I suppose I'm just nosy that way. I've not utilized any one "seed" as of yet, but they are worthy of consideration when I do eventually need one!


QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Fantasy II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2005 00:00:00
If you haven't bought this yet, get off your kiester and do so! This is one of the best products ever written!

I mean that.

Buy it.

Now.

This is a wonderful look at the whole "realism" thing and will most likely change the way you look at things in your campaign for a long time to come. It is chock full of forms and worksheets that are easily printed out or cut and pasted so that you can use it to model your own campaign.

Now get to it!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Horror
by Marsha W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2005 00:00:00
I've written reviews on this site for the Seeds series before, so that should tell you that I certainly like them well enough to keep buying them. :)

Seeds: Horror is another useful tool for GMs looking for adventure/campaign ideas. I've never run a horror game before, so I bought this product hoping I could get some ideas for a one-shot adventure for Call of Cthulhu d20, or perhaps a mortals adventure for the new World of Darkness. I immediately saw the possibilities: you can take one idea and flesh it out into a one-, two-, or three-session adventure; you can take another idea and use it for a jumping-off point for a campaign; you can take still another idea, flesh it out, and use it for a PC or NPC's background; you can string ideas together for a campaign, or merge them together for a complex, epic adventure.

Remember that idea seeds presented in this product are exactly that: seeds. You have to plant them, water them, and nurture them in order to get the final product. If you can't take a basic concept like, "The PCs are invited to a Hallowe'en night seance in an allegedly haunted house; when they arrive late to the event, all of the other participants have vanished, and on the seance table is a tarot deck of nothing but Death cards"*, and nurture that into a full-blown one-shot, this product is not for you.


*That's not a seed from this product, by the way; it's an idea for one of my own adventures.





LIKED: Everything. Particularly good for the GM starting into the horror genre for the first time and looking for ideas. Very flexible: I saw ideas that are appropriate for everything from Call of Cthulhu to the New World of Darkness to All Flesh Must Be Eaten.

DISLIKED: Nothing.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Horror
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Modern
by Marsha W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2005 00:00:00
I'm one of those game masters who can take an idea and run with it, but has a hard time coming up with the idea in the first place. The Seeds series is a great way to get those creative juices flowing, and for a low, low price, too.

I hadn't run any kind of modern adventure before, and so Seeds: Modern was especially useful to me; this product helped me develop and flesh out a one-shot adventure. Don't buy it if you're looking for a full-fledged module. That's outside the scope of this product. But for something to help you break your game-writer's block, this is just the thing.

Also: it's well laid out, easy to read, and comes in both full-color and black-white options (which helped me save on ink when printing.

LIKED: Everything

DISLIKED: Nothing

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Modern
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Supers
by Marsha W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2005 00:00:00
I bought this because I needed something to help kick start my brain for my first-ever Mutants & Masterminds game. I'd been very happy with Seeds: Modern and figured this would be helpful as well.

It wasn't quite as helpful to me as Seeds: Modern, but that was because of my personal taste, not anything wrong with the product. While I do like superhero games, I tend to like them dark, gritty, and fairly realistic. The adventure seeds presented in this product are more geared towards four-color superhero gamees, which is perfectly cool if you're into that. It's a testament to the flexibility of the ideas presented in this product that I was still able to adapt one of the ideas from Seeds: Super to the kind of gritty adventure I wanted to write.

In the end, I'd still recommend the product, especially to anyone who likes four-color games. If you're pretty creative, the Seeds series won't do much for you, but if you're prone to bouts of writers block, they sure can help you get unstuck.

LIKED: Flexibility of ideas

DISLIKED: A little too four-color oriented for my taste, but that's just me. As far as four-color goes, I think those adventure seeds would be pretty fun as games or one-shots!

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Supers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Sci-Fi
by Marsha W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2005 00:00:00
Another strong idea-generating product from Expeditious Retreat Press. As I've said in previous reviews: if you're one of those lucky souls with an active imagination that never runs dry, these will be worthless to you. But for those of us who need something to help kick-start our imaginations now and then, this is a nice product.

Seeds: Sci-Fi presents 22 adventure seeds for use in Sci-Fi oriented RPGs. These are not full-fledged adventures, so don't buy this product if you're looking for pre-written modules. The ideas are generic and flexible enough to help the sci-fi game master get inspired for a one-shot, a campaign episode, or even a full-blown campaign.

That said I like my sci-fi to be gritty and realistic (Transhuman Space is my favorite science-fiction setting) and I felt like Seeds: Sci-Fi was geared more towards the deep-space, galactic empire, less-science-and-more-fiction sort of RPG, rather than hard SF. A couple of seed ideas (namely "Ship of Fools", "Ship of Sandwiches", and "The Hearts is a Lonely Hunter") were in my opinion just plain silly, reminding me of things like "The Trouble With Tribbles" episode of Star Trek than anything else. It would've been nice to see some harder SF ideas thrown in there.

For that matter, it would have been nice to see Sci-Fi adventures that didn't involve going into space. Sci-fi is a pretty broad term, after all; it doesn't just mean "people in space". Perhaps ER Press has plans for a Seeds: Cyber product or a Seeds: Future product, but I guess I had it in the back of my mind that they might touch on those genres here.

LIKED: Good ideas to get you going, even though they didn't meet my needs.

DISLIKED: Very little that's useful for the hard SF gamemaster, and nothing for GMs looking for help in Cyberpunk or Near-Futuristic RPGs. A few ideas just plain silly. Probably better to title this product, "Seeds: Space Opera".

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Sci-Fi
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
by Aaron S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2005 00:00:00
This was an excellent purchace, and I'm very glad I made it.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
by Russel H. Date Added: 06/02/2005 00:00:00
I have never found a book so useful. I would list this book as a #1 must have for any DM who runs games anywhere outside of a dungeon.

LIKED: Cover to Cover useful information

DISLIKED: The building design system isn't exceptionally original, but that fact doesn't take anything away from how useful this book is.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
by Game M. B. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2005 00:00:00
If you want to bring your fantasy gaming world to life, THIS IS THE BOOK. Every GM of ANY fantasy system has to have this. It's the detail that you crave, without having to spend 2 years researching(and still never finding all the goodies in MMS:WE).
EXCELLENT PRODUCT - Don't hesitate, buy it.
This is the best resource of its kind!

LIKED: EVERYTHING.

DISLIKED: Nothing.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Beast Builder
by Jason K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2005 00:00:00
I found this product to be exactly what it was advertised to be: a definitive guide on the construction of monsters for my campaign and maybe even future publishing efforts. The text is well written, entertaining and engaging; it feels like I'm chatting with a knowledgable GM, partaking of his wisdom. It was an exceptional analysis of the monsters of the SRD, and the list of Special Abilities was outstanding!

There are a few typos which stood out for me. I suppose, though, that this indicates how rare they are, since they stood out. Having done proofreading work for another D20 company, I'd have to say I was impressed with the layout as well as the general high quality of the work. I'll be compiling a list of the typos to send on to XRP, in the hopes that the product will be updated. If that happens, you won't even seen them should you decide to purchase this product.

I would personally recommend this product to anyone interested in building their own monsters in d20, whether for their own campaign or for publication. It's simply amazing!

LIKED: The level of detail was exquisite, far beyond what I expect from most d20 publishers these days (sad to say). The charts are very helpful, and I'm just awed and impressed with the list of over 600 special abilities for my perusal. I do hope that the future holds at least occasional updates to the product in this area, as further books are added to the list of those analyzed.

DISLIKED: I only have a few small problems with the product. While there's a reference to a CR estimation scheme in another product, there's very little further notes given on this elusive art. Also, some of the special abilities needed a bit more cleansing of their original creature references, but these are only small details compared to the expansive nature of this project.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Beast Builder
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2005 00:00:00
This is probably one of the best purchases I've made in quite a long time.

LIKED: Just about everything.

DISLIKED: One minor detail in Chapter 5 - this works for BUYING - what about SELLING? Also, what about bulk purchases (i.e. simulating caravans, merchants, traders, etc.)?

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 236 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates