DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Seeds: Pulp II
by Geoff S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2005 00:00:00

Some interesting hooks here that should spark your imagination for use in a pulp campaign.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Pulp II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
by Cire H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2005 00:00:00

This is excellent. It helps a GM understand how a magical medieval society might work. Unlike a medieval society, a magical medieval society has... well, magic. And that can really change things. The book is a wealth of inspiration.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Well formatted, excellent resource. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Society: Beast Builder
by Jeffrey V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2005 00:00:00

This is an excellent, in depth look at monster design.


It contains an extensive catalogue and analysis of monster types and notes on ecology.


I think they have pitched the level just about right - its as much like a textbook as it needs to be to get all the detail across, but not to the extent that it gets boring or repetitive.


Its definitely not light reading, though.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The level of detail.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I'd have liked a bit more artwork to break up the text.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Beast Builder
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Geographica: Marsh & Aquatic
by Lisa H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2005 00:00:00

This is a compilation of monsters with a theme, this time creatures that are found in marsh or other aquatic settings. The book does that admirably.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The layout of the book makes it easy to find monsters both by type and by CR.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: While it was advertised as a compilation from many different sources, it would have been nice to have some additional information added to it, such as plot hooks and the like. Not necessary, of course, but a bit of added value.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Geographica: Marsh & Aquatic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Society: Beast Builder
by Steven T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/26/2005 00:00:00

If you were to compare d20 monster books to meals, it would be fairly accurate to call the MM a full three course meal ? a variety of dishes, all combining to make a full meal. A Magical Society: Beast Builder by Expeditious Retreat Press on the other hand is not some much a meal, as a well stocked gourmet kitchen full of the finest, most expensive ingredients just waiting for an Iron Chef to appear and transform these delicacies into a multitude of delicious dishes.


AMS:BB is an odd kind of ?monster book? in such as it contains no monsters. What Joseph Browning has done in this tightly packed PDF is distill every monster available in the SRD as well as ERP?s Monster Geographica: Underground book down to their components parts. He then takes these ingredients and shows how to recombine them into new combinations. But BB is more than just a ?recipe book? for combining; it might be more accurately considered an advanced course in ?cooking? up new monsters as well.


The book starts off with a brief two page introduction, where Browning spells out his ambitious goals. Beast Builder is ?the first book entirely dedicated to making good, exciting, and fun monsters.? Sounds good to me. However, a book with this goal is clearly aimed at GM?s, rather than players. In fact, DM?s are going to want to be sure to keep their players out of Beast Builder, so new monsters will keep their surprises until sprung on the unsuspecting PC?s.


Chapters one (Monster Concepts and Functions) and two (Monsters and their Environment) really set the stage to get a DM thinking in the right direction to create a new monster Chapter one?s concept and function section might be thought of as the ?metagame? of creating critters. Browning points out the variety of ways in which a monster can be used, the different roles available for these monsters, and encourages DM?s to consider ways to modify a monster to make it more exciting and fun, in keeping with his introductory philosophy. The basic environment types outlined in the SRD are further expanded here. Food chains, metabolism, reproduction, and socialization issues are all covered in this portion of the book in exhaustive detail.


There is some great material in these two chapters. I found the Concept portion to be full of great ideas that add challenge to monsters. Both these first two chapters contain data that not only achieves Beast Builder?s goal of helping DM?s create new monsters, but data that would also be readily useful for a DM just pulling monsters from a published product. The advice on identifying a monsters role in the game, as well as the advice on combining monster abilities and even other monsters to add challenge was some of the best monster related advice I?ve ever read in ANY RPG monster product.


After the appetizer of chapters one and two, chapters three (Monster Statistics), four (Type & Subtype), and five (Templates) are the ?meat & potatoes? or monster making. Here Browning goes into great depth on the mechanical aspect of creating a new monster. There?s the potential for this sort of material to be a dry read. But Browning gives plenty of examples, and even pauses for a ?Math Break? when absolutely necessary. The tables detailing Monster stats are clear and easy to read, without a lot of flashy graphics that would drain your print cartridge should you wish to print the material. If you?ve ever struggled flipping pages back and forth in the MM trying to invent a new monster, you?ll appreciate the clean detailed approach in Beast Builder. Determining the proper values for any monster is very easy, and after a little use the entire process becomes almost transparent. The Type and Subtype section is more than just a reprinting of this material from the SRD. While all that material is represented here, a Designer Notes section is included that also detail what sort of Special Attacks and Special Qualities that Type or Subtype of creature tends to have. The Templates section also benefits from this kind of approach, with templates being broken down into more types than the simple acquired and inherent types delineated in the core rules. As such, if you?d like to use east Builder to create Types, Subtypes, or even Templates for creatures rather than whole creatures, it should be a simple matter.


Chapter six ? Bits and Pieces introduces a new kind of magic item - The holistic magic item. Holistic items are made from the remains of monsters. Collecting a Blink Dog paw will allow a PC to create a charm making teleportation magic more difficult. These items require no special feats, skills or prestige class levels to create, merely the knowledge of such items existence. This allows a DM to simply introduce these minor magics into his campaign with very little extra effort. On the balance side, all the effects seem very minor, and the creation cost is quite high, which should keep these scavenged trinkets from outshining those items PC?s must invest xp into. The flavor of these items is excellent and very much in keeping with a medieval mindset. After all, in the era that sees the invention of such food delicacies as blood sausages and headcheese, and such products as drinking vessels made from animal bladders, is it really believable that adventurers would leave any part of a monster behind? These rules give PC?s a reason to realistically behave in this historically accurate manner.


At last we come to chapter seven ? Special Abilities and Conditions. This is the largest chapter in the book (covering nearly half of the page count), and rightly so, as it breaks down every SA, SQ and condition found in the SRD, as well as ERP?s Monster Geographica: Underground book. These 600 powers are broken down alphabetically, with extensive bookmarks allowing the reader to jump directly to any listing. The powers are each broken down into the stats the aspiring monster creator needs, with formulas as to how to determine any required DC?s. Even those powers that are listed in the SRD with flat numbers have had the math done to allow use of the power with any HD creature. The monster that the power is taken from is referenced with each entry, as well as listing the sourcebook each creature can be found in, whether SRD or MG:U. If multiple versions of a power exist (i.e. Ex, Su, or Sp), they are all referenced. Thoroughness is the watchword for this chapter. There are enough possible combinations of abilities in this chapter to create an almost limitless number of new monsters.


Three appendices round off Beast Builder. The first is the Monster Checklist. This quick reference tool walks you through every aspect of monster creation in a user-friendly paragraph format. If you follow this checklist completely, your new monsters will be a snap to create, and they will be properly formatted upon completion as well. This is an invaluable tool for any DM that wants to really wrestle with the nuts and bolts of the monster creation system.


The second appendix is the d20 Mechanic table. This table can be used to find accurate attack and save percentages for any creature. Personally, this table doesn?t do much for me. I recognize what it?s meant to be used for, but as my games are much more freeform, this appendix is of limited use for me. DM?s who want to really crunch numbers and squeeze ever ounce of power out each CR of monster will likely get more use out of this table however.


On the other hand, the final appendix, the Randomized Monster Generator is quite simply worth its weight in gold! The tables presented here provide the DM with a way to quickly generate a new, completely random monster. Even after just a cursory reading of this section, I was able to roll up three NEW fully statted, ready to play random monsters in under an hour. Like all random tables, the DM must show some restraint. Te first monster I generated with this system was a small ooze with five special features, after discovering that this ooze dealt double damage to objects, caused acid damage, and could use Prismatic Spray as a spell-like ability at will, I had a the perfect image of a critter I envisioned as the ?Rainbow Ooze? looking like an iridescent slick of oil floating on water. Of course the final two powers coming up as a Smother attack and Superior Two Weapon Fighting seemed like two much of a good thing, so I chose to drop them, leaving the Rainbow Ooze weaker in total power, but stronger thematically.
Beast Builder finishes with two pages of OGL, and three pages of ?Shameless Advertising?<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The ability to crank out rules-correct monsters in near infinite variety is simply awesome. As a DM that likes to make new and original monsters, Beast Builder has been invaluable to me. In the first two months I have owned this product I have created over 50 new monsters. Most of them have already seen use in my games. his product is usable in any campagn immediately.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: As I said in my review, the d20 Mechanic Table in the second appendix wasn't that useful to me. There's nothing wrong with per se, and for a less experienced DM it will likely be a vital tool. However, for me, it was less helpful.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Beast Builder
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Geographica: Underground
by Patrick W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2005 00:00:00

A great collection of creatures. Great to see some 3.0 critters updated to 3.5. Very useful product with a nice layout that makes full use of the PDF format.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Geographica: Underground
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Geographica: Underground
by Yair R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2005 00:00:00

I was very impressed with this work. There is a wide variety of monsters, and although some were banal or uninteresting there were lots of ones I could definitely use and a few I was tempted to base a campaign on. They are very easily and comprehensively referenced, and it's easy to print just the ones you want.
Note that it has lots and lots of creatures in it, but no pictures. You'll just have to rely on that rusty imagination of yours.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The ability to print out just the creatures I want, the campaign-making monsters.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Some of the monsters were not different enough from existing monsters or did not fit the underground theme. A few simply made no sense to me.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Supers
by Bobby F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2005 00:00:00

Simple layout with little graphics. The ideas are somewhat usable and it should come in handy. Each idea has three extra options to make some good ideas.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Supers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Supers II
by Bobby F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2005 00:00:00

Simple layout with little graphics. The ideas are somewhat usable and it should come in handy. Each idea has three extra options to make some good ideas.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Supers II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
by Dave M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2005 00:00:00

This is an outstanding supplement that no GM should be without.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Fantasy II
by Mary J. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2005 00:00:00

I just enjoy the concept behind these "Seeds" so well. I like reading through them; I suppose I'm just nosy that way. I've not utilized any one "seed" as of yet, but they are worthy of consideration when I do eventually need one!
<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Fantasy II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2005 00:00:00

If you haven't bought this yet, get off your kiester and do so! This is one of the best products ever written!


I mean that.


Buy it.


Now.


This is a wonderful look at the whole "realism" thing and will most likely change the way you look at things in your campaign for a long time to come. It is chock full of forms and worksheets that are easily printed out or cut and pasted so that you can use it to model your own campaign.


Now get to it!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Medieval Society: Western Europe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Horror
by Marsha W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2005 00:00:00

I've written reviews on this site for the Seeds series before, so that should tell you that I certainly like them well enough to keep buying them. :)


Seeds: Horror is another useful tool for GMs looking for adventure/campaign ideas. I've never run a horror game before, so I bought this product hoping I could get some ideas for a one-shot adventure for Call of Cthulhu d20, or perhaps a mortals adventure for the new World of Darkness. I immediately saw the possibilities: you can take one idea and flesh it out into a one-, two-, or three-session adventure; you can take another idea and use it for a jumping-off point for a campaign; you can take still another idea, flesh it out, and use it for a PC or NPC's background; you can string ideas together for a campaign, or merge them together for a complex, epic adventure.


Remember that idea seeds presented in this product are exactly that: seeds. You have to plant them, water them, and nurture them in order to get the final product. If you can't take a basic concept like, "The PCs are invited to a Hallowe'en night seance in an allegedly haunted house; when they arrive late to the event, all of the other participants have vanished, and on the seance table is a tarot deck of nothing but Death cards"*, and nurture that into a full-blown one-shot, this product is not for you.


*That's not a seed from this product, by the way; it's an idea for one of my own adventures.


<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Everything. Particularly good for the GM starting into the horror genre for the first time and looking for ideas. Very flexible: I saw ideas that are appropriate for everything from Call of Cthulhu to the New World of Darkness to All Flesh Must Be Eaten.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Horror
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Modern
by Marsha W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2005 00:00:00

I'm one of those game masters who can take an idea and run with it, but has a hard time coming up with the idea in the first place. The Seeds series is a great way to get those creative juices flowing, and for a low, low price, too.


I hadn't run any kind of modern adventure before, and so Seeds: Modern was especially useful to me; this product helped me develop and flesh out a one-shot adventure. Don't buy it if you're looking for a full-fledged module. That's outside the scope of this product. But for something to help you break your game-writer's block, this is just the thing.


Also: it's well laid out, easy to read, and comes in both full-color and black-white options (which helped me save on ink when printing. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Everything<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Modern
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Seeds: Supers
by Marsha W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2005 00:00:00

I bought this because I needed something to help kick start my brain for my first-ever Mutants & Masterminds game. I'd been very happy with Seeds: Modern and figured this would be helpful as well.


It wasn't quite as helpful to me as Seeds: Modern, but that was because of my personal taste, not anything wrong with the product. While I do like superhero games, I tend to like them dark, gritty, and fairly realistic. The adventure seeds presented in this product are more geared towards four-color superhero gamees, which is perfectly cool if you're into that. It's a testament to the flexibility of the ideas presented in this product that I was still able to adapt one of the ideas from Seeds: Super to the kind of gritty adventure I wanted to write.


In the end, I'd still recommend the product, especially to anyone who likes four-color games. If you're pretty creative, the Seeds series won't do much for you, but if you're prone to bouts of writers block, they sure can help you get unstuck.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Flexibility of ideas<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: A little too four-color oriented for my taste, but that's just me. As far as four-color goes, I think those adventure seeds would be pretty fun as games or one-shots!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Seeds: Supers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 242 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates