DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ultimate Vehicles: Vehicle Creation Rules
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/05/2018 04:59:30

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This massive supplement clocks in at 64 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page foreword, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 58 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

This review was moved up in my reviewing queue as a prioritized review at the request of my patreons.

So, this book has a rather impressive goal – making vehicle creation truly modular. Vehicle, for this purpose, does not mean using Small or Tiny spacecrafts as submersibles, etc. The book focuses on vehicles that are somewhat “smaller”, and rules-wise, use hit point mechanics as opposed to hull points. Each size is assigned a numeric value – this is important, and though it is later referred to as such, the section that establishes it never explicitly states this, so let me do that for you: This numeric value would be the “size level,” and it determines the maximum number of modifications you can fit on the vehicle.

They are, as such, susceptible to being destroyed by hit point damage causing spells and effects. But does it succeed? Well, we begin by choosing an idea – after this, we choose the array that suits best the body of the design. Each body has a base cost per tier, and certain modifications are added after body selection. For example, if you want a hover tank, you first choose tank, then add the hover modification. These are jutted down on a piece of paper…or on the handy vehicle creation work sheet included! Now that is foresight, ladies and gentlemen! Nice! This step encompasses determining the size of the vehicle in question and choosing from 12 array types that include bikes, flying vehicles, walkers, trucks, etc. Vehicles come in 20 levels, with regular and maximum speed on a character scale, while the third speed rating denotes per hour movement. EAC and KAC ratings are provided per level and seem sensible for the respective vehicle types. Damage that exceeds the hardness of the vehicle is applied to a random passenger, and cover provided, if any, is similarly noted. Cool: Modifiers for Piloting at full speed are and regular speed are provided per level. There are a couple of minor editing glitches regarding plural “s,” missing prepositions and the like here, but I found the section to be pretty easy to grasp, though the pdf does sometimes become a bit inconsistent regarding level/tier, using them interchangeably – here, a revision of terminology has obviously not been implemented to the fullest extent.

Didactically, there are two components that first feel a bit odd: We note passengers, but there is no passenger stat per se included in the tables; instead, each vehicle body type notes the passengers in the beginning; this is slightly counterintuitive, since the previous rules explained by the pdf all refer to table entries. Secondly, vehicles get a Ram DC. This is 10 + tier of the vehicle (should probably be item level, analogue to SFRPG’s core rules) for collision, with damage governed by vehicle size. These are more unified and based, as a default, on d6s. Okay, got that. The Attack DC is equal to the “vehicle in DC modified by add-ons” – I stumbled over this “vehicle in DC” at first, but since it’s the same paragraph, I’m pretty confident, that the DC to ram it is meant. The presentation of this part of the rules could be slightly clearer. Now, this whole section becomes clearer once you reread the collision section in the SFRPG core book, but in a pdf that otherwise does a really good job explaining its rules, this stood out to me. As a nitpick, the collision damage type should be noted as bludgeoning.

The section also provides a couple of examples for this step of vehicle creation. A minor complaint here: Not all examples provided come with formatting of the stats, lacking bolding of elements. The material is functional, though. Visual representations of the respective vehicles bodies are provided.

As hinted at by the presence of modifications, which can range from pretty cosmetic to being complete overhauls of the base body – adding Military to a bike, for example, might well make it behave more like a Batman-Bike style 2-wheeled tank. All modification costs are added and then modify the cost ”per tier” – should probably be item level. The list of modifications is extensive and amazing: From advanced, really good materials to piloting an aged craft, armors of varying degrees, being capable of transporting other vehicles or mechas. These modifications are given in base percentages for the most part, with some offering a fixed cost per item level. Here, the book does get the distinction level/tier right – thankfully, otherwise it’d become really confusing: You see, the modifications do include starship materials and thruster modifications, allowing for the upgrade to essentially pseudo-starships, with hull points and starship options. Big kudos for attempting this step and incorporating it into the system!

This is not where the system stops, btw.: After the modifications, we come to the add-ons, which serve to distinguish vehicle functionality. These include additional passenger compartments, auto-piloting units, more hit points, more limbs, cargo spaces, adding ship or mecha expansion bays, applying ship weaponry. A vehicle can add its “size plus one add-on” – here, we once more refer to the numeric value that was deemed “size level” in the modification chapter, in case you’re wondering. Add-on bonuses, cost-wise, are added to the total cost, after modifications per level have been taken into account.

Finally, you can add finer details – gun ports, HUDs, sunroofs or luxury details. Et voilà!

The pdf also presents 6 feats and 4 piloting actions, which have in common that they disregard standard formatting for the like in pretty much every way possible – they are presented as though in an abbreviated table. The rules-language here is also kinda flawed, using terms like “give back” and, for example, this line “This allows a pilot to select a specific type of Int 15, Dex 15 vehicle and…“ – what? Pretty sure that those should be prerequisites… The rules-language here is really, really flawed and I frankly wished the page weren’t there. The piloting actions aren’t better, failing to specify their action type – this renders them unusable as written.

From there, we move on to dumb bombs, oil spills etc., using damage as based on the size of the vehicle in question. Damage types are not properly noted here, and verbiage isn’t always perfect, but thankfully never reaches the levels of non-function of the one page of feats and piloting maneuvers. The final chapters are devoted to a massive selection of sample vehicles, as well as a brief summary on the topics of destroying/repairing vehicles.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are not as tight as this book deserves. Layout adheres to a nice two-column full-color standard and we get quite a few, detail-wise decent, but inspiring full-color artworks. The pdf comes with bookmarks for each chapter.

Edward Moyer’s Ultimate Vehicles is a truly fantastic little system that can provide a metric ton of crazy vehicles for your interstellar adventures. There is a ton to love about this book – so much, in fact, I’d consider it to be a best of candidate. Alas, this book is a good example for my claim that good editors/devs are the unsung heroes of the RPG-industry. The book, good news first, does not lack crucial components and presents a functional system.

On the downside, though, the per se concise and well-presented rules are needlessly obtuse in some components. The inconsistencies between tier and item level; the fact that the rather important numerical values for sizes (size levels, as they’re called exactly once, a couple of chapters after being introduced) are not even bolded or otherwise emphasized or concisely defined with a unique term – this book, for the most part, manages to make the process of creating vehicles super-easy…only to become obtuse due to terminology inconsistency. I’ve had to skip back and forth a couple of times to get how the system works, and that is, in part, due to presentation and content editing snafus.

In short: This book requires some tolerance regarding these problems. But if you do get past these issues, you’re rewarded with a phenomenal toolkit that can enrich your game for years. Once you get past the imperfections, you’re rewarded. The entry-barrier generated by the book can potentially sink this pdf for you – unless you’re willing to look past the flaws and invest time in understanding the engine presented here, you will not have fun with this. For the formal issues, I should rate this down further. If the quality of the crunch was as bad as for the feats and piloting skill uses, the only part herein that simply doesn’t work, I’d consider this to be bad.

However, on the other hand, the book does deserve applause for what it does once you get how it’s supposed to work. Once you get it to function as it should, the book becomes amazing. And it doesn’t simply become a “bit” amazing, but rather, a MIGHTY, versatile toolkit you’ll adore.

This is, then, ultimately the best definition of a diamond in the rough. It is needlessly VERY rough in its components. But it can shine. Oh, can it shine. As a reviewer, I am utterly torn. The formal criteria regarding rules-consistency, etc. are simply not met by this book; were I to rate this on smoothness of didactic rules presentation and consistency, I’d have to rate this seriously down to something in the vicinity of 2 stars. However, on the other hand, the book does not deserve being called bad; heck, it doesn’t even deserve being called mediocre – it is, potentially, a truly inspired gem of a book, a book that could have easily been a Top Ten contender. I am, truly and thoroughly, torn.

If I rate this 3 stars, emphasizing the serious problems this has, I’d do the book a serious injustice; at the same time, if I do ignore the rather pronounced flaws this has, I’d be misleading the consumer. As a whole, I consider the flaws to be components that can be overcome, and with but one page of truly bad material in a book of this size and density, I feel justified in rating this 4 stars.

For me, as a person, this is a huge winner. If you can live with the caveats I noted, then you’ll love what this has to offer. Now, excuse me, I need to start building some vehicles…

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate Vehicles: Vehicle Creation Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rude Awakening
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/18/2018 06:33:13

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This module clocks in at 16 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover/advertisement, leaving us with 12 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

All right, first of all, this is FREE. Originally created as a One-Page-Dungeon, it surprisingly does not show this humble origin; the adventure is intended for 4 1st level characters, and sports a detailed read-aloud introductory text, that presumes that the PCs are in cryosleep, something allowed by the cryogenic pods, bulk 4, which is introduced herein. Once common, in a post-drift era, these have become more rare, and for a reason. The pdf also notes the details for good crew berths and the turbo caterpillar drive, which allow for underwater movement. The pdf also provides detailed rules for long cold sleep – while death is possible, it is EXTREMELY unlikely, and the pdf provides a variety of mental effects…and there may be special effects, like temporarily gaining the ability to detect thoughts (not italicized properly). This generator/hazard encompasses physical and mental effects, and in a nitpick, does not specify the condition-durations for the minor mental effects, but judging from the presentation and explicit statements regarding durations of more pronounced effects, I assume these to last for only the immediate aftermath of cold sleep. On the plus-side, I did enjoy the decision to highlight terrain features and rules-relevant components in small boxes; it makes running the module smoother.

Beyond that, we get stats for a new tier 3 spaceship, the devilfish, which looks just as you’d expect – like a spacefaring mantaray! Now, here, I feel the need to comment on the supplemental material this pdf provides. You see, the adventure comes with a massive archive that includes VTT-friendly versions of the maps employed herein, as well as a pdf that provides the maps once more. Why? Well, you can print out both main map and deck plan of the ship in full scale, large size, 32 x54 inches & 28 x 31 inches, respectively) and as an additional bonus, the main map of the module comes with a LAYERED version! Yes, you heard me. You can easily customize this as you see fit, and the supplemental map-pdf is even bookmarked! Right from the get-go, that is a pretty amazing feat right there, and even if you are not interested in the module per se, I’d strongly suggest checking this out for the maps! (Seriously, this type of map-support should be the standard!)

All right, this is probably as far as I can go without diving into deep SPOILER-territory, so potential players should jump ahead to the conclusion!

..

.

All right, only GMs around? Great! So, the PCs revive from cold sleep, only to find that, beyond the locker room that contains their equipment, there isn’t much left of their ship – a massive hull breach awaits, and while spacesuits with magnetic boots (to avoid the issues of…well, space and zero G) are available, there isn’t much oxygen left – the PCs will have to hustle to get to safety! Indeed, the adventure, which could easily work in a convention slot, can be rather lethal here…if you choose to. The PCs will have to jump across the hull breach, and the Acrobatics DC is stiff. Consequences-wise, being off-kilter…or, well, dead, provide two variants on different ways to run the module. Indeed, at DC 20, the Acrobatics checks to do the like are pretty stiff. As the PCs hopefully make their way past the pressurized and unpressurized collapsed drone bays. Speaking of which: The first combat encounter will be with a hostile drone, which annoyingly notes just “good/poor saves” in the statblock, instead of noting them. While it’s only a quick flip of the corebook to determine the proper saves, that still constitutes a comfort detriment – the drone should have proper monster stats, not stats based on the mechanic class feature. Another thing you’ll notice, is that the statblock formatting of the stats herein lacks a couple of blank spaces and that sometimes, line breaks are missing, making the statblock formatting feel a bit rough. While I’m nitpicking – it’s still “electricity damage,” not “electrical damage”, as a plasma-hazard erroneously notes.

Anyways, the PCs will have to make their way past hostile mercenaries and navigate the broken vessel they found themselves in – best before the oxygen runs out! This is particularly interesting, considering that quite a few hazards have the potential to break spacesuits and leak oxygen. On the downside, the implementation of hazards like this is not always as concise as it should be: There are instances where no damage type is given, though we clearly have, for example, fire damage. Similarly, there is no such thing as “heat damage” in Starfinder and “enflamed” space suits could also use a more precise rules language. Anyways, the PCs will make their way to the aforementioned mantaray-spaceship, where they should attempt to open the hangar doors and bypass the biometric locks to escape…but, alas, no rules for the like are presented.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are okay – I noticed quite a few formatting deviations, as well as issues regarding damage types, missing DCs and similar hiccups in the rules-language department. Layout adheres to a solid 2-column full-color standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. The cartography is the star of this pdf – the full VTT-support, player-friendly, layered maps, etc. – it’s worth the download all on its own.

Michael Tumey’s brief little introductory module is, theme-wise, fun and interesting, and the supplemental material is surprisingly detailed, testament to the care that went into this. The adventure works well as a forgiving introduction or as a really deadly convention-style/hardcore game. That being said, the module does falter and stumble a bit regarding the rules-language, sporting more issues in the details than I am frankly comfortable with. As a commercial supplement, I’d consider this to be a mixed bag, but it is actually FREE – and frankly, I’d consider this to be worth downloading for the maps. Considering that this is FREE, I consider this to definitely worth checking out. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 4 stars....and the maps warrant granting this my seal of approval; getting these for FREE is a huge deal and needs to be rewarded!

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rude Awakening
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Starships, Stations and Salvage Guide
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/04/2018 04:46:01

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This massive book clocks in at 176 pages, 1 page front cover,1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page introduction,1 page SRD, 1 page advertisement, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 170 pages, so let’s take a look!

This review was requested as a prioritized review at the request of my patreons.

So, this supplement begins with new spaceship frames, beginning with anthropomorphic/zoomorphic spaceship frames ranging from Tiny to Medium; the supplement notes that the Tiny frame acts as a power armor in the character scale – but, unless I am sorely mistaken, Starfinder’s core rules do not have power armor as a codified entity; this may be intentional, though, as we can probably assume that rules for them will be introduced sooner, rather than later. Since there are a couple of references to this throughout the supplement, I assume this to be intentional.

Anyways, we get minotaur-shaped ships, ones designed to look akin to crabs, raven-ships…and all of these come with at least one or more fully realized maps/floor plans. The next different frame type would be living frames, which need to be sustained and may, conversely, starve – think Lexx, for example. The sample ships here include a nice racer, but unlike pretty much all maps herein, the ship’s map has no grid. Tardegrade and scarab-based ships certainly make sense and make for a cool and somewhat icky theme that I really enjoyed. The map quality for e.g. the scarab-ship is rather impressive. In a nice callback (sans IP, obviously) to the classic Illithiad supplement, we also find a Nautilus-based ship here…which btw. sports 7 (!!!) decks – all as full-page, full-color maps!

Following the theme of spaceshifts that are alive, we go into Necropunk-ish territory, with undead spaceship frames, with 5 different frames provided and 4 space ships with full stats and, once more, lavish full-page maps – what about for example, an oxolotl-shaped ship? Yeah, that’s pretty cool as far as I’m concerned!

Now, the pdf also mentioned salvaging, and considering how important that aspect is bound to be in a scifi-setting, this definitely constitutes an important aspect to be filled. A total of 7 frames are provided for your edification, with 5 different sample ships, once more fully detailed with full-color maps, are found. Speaking of which: A full chapter is devoted to the details of salvaging materials: Beacons and how to access them, haul-in and on site salvage operations – the chapter is enjoyable and uses different tackles to provide an edge for the respective pilot. That being said, the rules otherwise are pretty nifty and I assume this to be the catch-all term for e.g. engineering auxiliary thruster drones providing a bonus to tackling…though, once more, the concept is somewhat hazy and e.g. the bonus they convey to Piloting is unnecessarily untyped, when it should probably be typed. I am not a fan of the ship grappling system being based on swingy opposed rolls, when Starfinder favors a fixed value as DC. The rules here are generally well-crafted, but the sequence of their presentation could imho be a bit tighter – there is no unified table for salvage tools and salvage/repair bays, which makes handling of this section slightly more awkward than it should be.

Speaking of expansion bays: The pdf devotes a whole chapter to the topic and notes tonnage and space in its own chapter. Expansion bays cost btw. 25% of the original frame, capping at 1 per size level, but they also reduce thrust by 1. Several variants of drop pods (with a fully mapped one), and from accelerator launch bays to advanced scanners to increase passive scanning range, brigs – the material covered here is great, even if the exact verbiage isn’t always perfect. “[…]that has an increased security system of DC 35[…]” is somewhat clunky and obviously should reference the Engineering skill; this does not break the book, mind you, but such hiccups, including some formal ones “maybe” instead of “may be” crop up throughout the book – a nitpicky editor would have helped polishing the like. Really cool: With a lich core, we have an engine that subsists on the lifeforce of the living, but references some rules that I couldn’t really reverse-engineer. I assume that, to a degree, they were once codified and have been lost there; we also have halved damage that probably should account for weaponry that extends to the ethereal, considering that that’s the justification. Now, don’t get me wrong – I complain about this kind of thing because I actually really like the scope and ambition of this book. There are a ton of things regarding ship customization and themes that this tome covers, which have so far been absent. The potential of this book is vast.

Want an example? Well, what about a shadow drive, which is powered by negative energy and comes with a table of strange oddities that accompany this drive? There also is a little table of updated critical effects, and we get rules for space stations, codified as tier 21, with a massive 1200 station build points! To account for the vast size, we get Colossal expansion bay rules as well as super weapon rules…there is quite a lot to love here and I’m most certainly going to tinker with these; as a fan of Gundam etc. and several scifi anime, the theme of space stations with hyper potent weaponry are something I enjoy. Anyways, the book also sports a pretty massive equipment chapter, which also offers new material for characters: Spider-shaped exploration drones, gravity shields that reduce damage dies by tier, which adds a bit of interesting rock-paper-scissors to the weapon type. Like that!

The book also contains a lot of really cool hazards – from asteroid showers to cometary trails, explosive shockwaves, straddling black hole event horizons, etc., this chapter provides a little treasure trove of tweaks for the GM to enhance encounters. An optional rule for decompression is also pretty interesting. The pdf also provides a brief, three-part adventure-sketch, though I wasn’t particularly keen on it – it’s pretty straightforward and mainly a way to showcase how to use the book.

This is, however, still not where the book ends: We get a massive ship reference chapter, (including even more full-page full-color maps!) which also features multiple high-level NPCs, and the final bestiary contains not just space liches, but also a couple of starship-sized monsters, including ginormous space worms, several properly realized drone stats, etc. I noticed a couple of hiccups in the stats, though. This chapter also presents a variant of the kitsune race for Starfinder, but the presentation here deviates significantly from the standard, with feats particularly not even remotely adhering to any Starfinder formatting conventions, Spell references not italicized, and a power level that exceeds the core races.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are okay; the massive book sports quite a few formal hiccups, and unfortunately, some of these have also reached into the rules-aspect of this book. The book is a VERY crunchy tome, and for these, precision is pretty important – and, don’t get me wrong, for the most part, the book is actually really precise and well-crafted. At the same time, there are deviations from how SFRPG usually handles some aspects of the game, and this, alas, can be found here and there, which is pretty jarring in contrast to the often interesting modifications and obvious knowledge the designer shows. This duality extends to the aesthetics-department: The 2-column full-color layout sports graphical elements that are pixilated on the borders and the artworks…well…they…exist. Some are solid (mostly those for mechanical things), but the majority are not exactly beautiful. At the same time, the cartography is so expansive it’s a joy, and the quality of the maps is significantly higher than either layout or artworks. In fact, with the vast amount of maps, this may well be worth the asking price for the maps themselves alone. Anyway, the pdf comes with bookmarks for the individual chapters, but not for specific ships or maps, which makes the navigation slightly less comfortable than it could be.

Edward Moyer’s massive tome has me torn as a reviewer. Not because of the aesthetics, mind you. I always advocate substance over style, and the pdf frankly provides a ton of bang for your buck. I’d rather have content than shiny stuff. On one hand, I loved a lot of the material; on the other hand, it is pretty evident that a really picky rules-developer or-editor would have made this massive tome a must-have book; as presented, I couldn’t help but consider this to be a bit less refined than what I’d have loved it to be. Considering the complexity of the Starfinder ship-rules, the sequence of presentation of the material itself within the book could have used a bit of restructuring. Do not misunderstand: As provided, this is a massive grab-bag, and the pdf contains something for pretty much every table, sporting the massive expansion for the SFRPG-rules that fully spaceship gaming can use.

While the editing inconsistencies and rules-aesthetic deviations would make me usually settle for a verdict as a mixed bag, the book at the same time also sports a surprising amount of truly interesting rules components that manage to do interesting things with the engine. Whenever the book’s minor flaws did show, I also found truly fun aspects here that made me smile and think about how to use this. As a fan of weird scifi/space opera, I adored the more far-out tricks herein, and the supplement also features the tools to run essentially a whole campaign (or at least a couple of adventures) based on salvaging. In short, this has a lot to offer. It is somewhat rough around the edges, requiring some modification and care by the GM, but the vast amount of different and neat maps elevates the supplement. As such, my final verdict will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4 due to the map quality and the cool material within.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Starships, Stations and Salvage Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Neptune Undersea Station map set
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2018 22:32:39

Great highly detailed maps I actually had to shrink them because the files were so large that some of my players would have had trouble viewing them through Fantasy Grounds.
I'm actually using the maps in a D&D game where there was previous technological society and this is going to serve as an outpost that they left behind on the elemental plane of water that my players will have to figure out. The only issue I've found is that in the PDF of the descriptions for the levels under the Marine Lab pylon all the room descriptions are copies of descriptions from the habitat levels with level 4 and 5 having no description. Not really a big deal as I can just fill that in myself just figured I'd mention it if you had any interest in fixing it even though I know this product has been here for a few years now so its unlikely it is being actively updated.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Neptune Undersea Station map set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for you review, Jeremy. I will see what I can do to fix the issue.
Rude Awakening
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2017 03:27:27

Other than a few bits of missing info and a couple of typos, there is nothing to complain about. You can wing the missing bits. You're a GM afterall. It's a great starting point for a Starfinder campagin or a wonderful little one shot. Get it and have some fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rude Awakening
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rude Awakening
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2017 00:26:20

It's free. Some niggling errors with spelling, missing stats, etc. A very interesting premise. This would be an out of the box start for any campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rude Awakening
by David S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 12:23:53

Full disclosure I haven't had a chance to run this yet

That being said I very much enjoy what I have seen. The traps seem organic to the setting. There is a wonderful sense of dread as the clock is running. Overall very excited to see what other adventures come out from Gamer Printshop.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
1880's Train Car Map Set
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2017 16:25:56

Good set of train cars that can be strung together for VTT. Set to 10' wide, the cars line up well with the tracks on the station map from same publisher.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
1880's Train Car Map Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rude Awakening Adventure and Map Set
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2016 22:57:16

The adventure is free but I'd gladly pay for a high resolution JPG version!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rude Awakening Adventure and Map Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Old West Train Station Map Set
by Paul L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2016 15:17:36

Scale is all wrong, 20 feet long horses, and 20 feet wide train tracks. This basically makes the printable pdf utterly useless. Such a shame, but I cannot recommend this set at all.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Old West Train Station Map Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Good catch! I've been so swamped I hadn't been able to correct this until just now. I've rescaled the map and redid the grid so that the scale is correct (with 10 foot long horses). Please download the updated version, and maybe update your review rating. Thank you.
25 Quick & Dirty Map Tutorials Guide Book - GPS2001
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2016 01:48:57

A great resource for the ambitious GM. Although I don't have a lot of knowledge of Photoshop, it was no problem for me to follow the helpful instructions of this book. But the great thing is that the author helps the reader achieve the same results with XARA Photo - and Graphic- Designer 9 or GIMP or Inkscape or Illustrator. So you don't necessary need to have such a powerful software! And there is a lot to learn, like depth in water, cliffs, forest paths, cobblestone, dungeons, top view of objects, villages, ship decks, regional maps (!) and much more - 25 tutorials to be precise. This is great and as a beginner like me you often are astonished of how easy it is to create certain beautiful and realistic effects. I heartily recommend this to any GM who has a very basic understanding of the aforementioned graphic programs and dreams of creating his own maps to visualize his world!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
25 Quick & Dirty Map Tutorials Guide Book - GPS2001
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rude Awakening Adventure and Map Set
by Sean P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2016 18:59:51

A fine and useful suppliment to ANY game. While not stated as "system agnostic" Rude Awakening would work as an adventure in any space-based tabletop rpg and has enough tension to make the game session a lot of fun! It does best as the first opening adventure but would fit in nearly anywhere in a campaign. The art is gorgeous and the map is compact but detailed enough for good play. The adventure has enough traps to be devilishly clever and enough combat to keep you engaged. Good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rude Awakening Adventure and Map Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the glowing review, it was a fun little product to create, and as a contest entry, I hope the judges feel the same!
25 Sci-Fi Flying Cars - Map Object Set
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2016 10:08:24

This set of Sci-Fi vehicles is a must-have for any gamer. The images are unique, original and down right fun!

The beautifully crafted images are delivered in a high resolution and vivid color. The PDF itself is nothing more than an overall glimpse of what you have at your disposal. The real "meat" of the product is the countless images in the zip file. You can use these images in your own games as tokens, or even scenery in a Sci-Fi setting.

I love the fact that these are SO adaptable in an endless capacity. Many publishers would say that they were 6mm tokens and put them in a 1" square. This fore-thinking publisher says, "Here they are, knock yourself out!" You can scale these as use in ANY setting that requires hovering vehicles. If you need some vehicles for your games that DON'T hover, simply snip the hover projectors off, and you have real world vehicles.

What about gaming tokens? Each image has a "wrecked" version of itself. You can easily create a double-sided token with the "fresh" car on one side, and the wrecked version on the other. If you have a vehicle that takes "X" amount of damage, flip the token, and it is now terrain.

Want to create maps for your super hero campaigns? The images are SO crisp and clear, they can be adjusted for 6mm - 28mm without losing quality, or visible pixelation. Does your campaign call for a burning hover semi? Done. Need some super cool Hover S.W.A.T. APCs? Done.

This set offers multiple colors options for the various vehicles, and in the zip files, you don't have to waste ink by printing out PAGES of vehicles to get the exact ones you want in the colors you want. Throw the images on a piece of paper the size you need, in the color you choose, hit "Print" and repeat!

I can't recommend this set highly enough, and I WILL be checking out other sets by this publisher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
25 Sci-Fi Flying Cars - Map Object Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks, David for your excellent review rating!
EN5ider Player Maps - Don't Wake Dretchlor
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2016 10:06:21

I liked the adventure, but the maps are painful to use as printed or VTT. The wood grain floors are horrid, nothing lines up perfectly, and the scales seem off.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
EN5ider Player Maps - Don't Wake Dretchlor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Interstellar Cargo Transport Ship Deck Plans
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2016 04:16:17

A handy product, always like a good container starship and this will be useful for Bulldogs!, Last Parsec, Firefly and other science fiction RPGs besides Traveller. Was going to ask for some detail of possible containers and the cargo hauler, but those are in the Sci-Fi Objects set you've released (which I also have). An nice variant of the ship, which I may work on, would be to have the containers replaced with a single large cargo bay with a gantry across the middle of it, the tram becoming a cargo elevator, giving you a shorter, slightly more wieldy ship that would be capable of landing on vacuum bound moons or worlds with a very thin atmosphere. The small ship's boat you've released can be added as a bonus, docked belly-to-side with that free starboard airlock.

One minor niggle, get someone to proofread the text next time guys, otherwise very pleased with this, will be looking for more in the future.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Interstellar Cargo Transport Ship Deck Plans
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I\'ll do another editing check, fix any errors, and upload the PDF again, so you can download a more correct version - probably next week. Thanks for the review!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates