DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Jadetech: Multi-Jade
by francois e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2017 02:43:20

Just bought it and it is too expensive for what's inside.

And I also rank down the lack of follow up and delivery on the game. I posted when there was still a forum and never was answered and nowdays there is no longer a website...



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Jadetech: Multi-Jade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Jadepunk: Tales From Kausao City
by Cal E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2017 18:54:20

Simply a great book. The setting and style are beautifully brought to life, the writers absolutely deliver a strong concept and immersive, detailed world. They also managed to bring some great new gameplay ideas to the table, while also being accessible, and explaining the FATE system for anyone that has not tried it yet. It is the ultimate resource for those who love steampunk, wuxia, and FATE!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jadepunk: Tales From Kausao City
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Jadepunk: Tales From Kausao City
by K. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2017 22:43:11

This product is so good. I bought it on an impulse when I saw the cover. I thought, "Any book that looks that cool must be worth it." And it is.

The game world is incredible. The book is laid out both functionally and beautifully. The playability is almost limitless. Do yourself a favor; go ahead and buy it now.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jadepunk Tales: Vigilance Committee Volume One
by Zachary S. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2015 07:02:36

This module is so darn seductive. It reads so very easily that the information jumps out at you. I feel I could run it for a group with no preparation at all. Who ever did the editing and layout did a fantastic job.

It also does a great job of covering the feel and mechanics of the Jadepunk setting. I was on the fence about the setting. I like the mechanics but I didn't really want to use the setting itself since I am heavily invested in another setting currently. Well this module made me change my mind. I am going to let my group explore Kausao city as they wrote it. 1) So i do not have to tinker with these modules as they were lovingly crafted and 2) I fear I might tweak something only to later learn it was a deliberate wrong note intended as a hook for an event in a later book.

Get this module. For the price you will not regret it. Heck get it for the presentation alone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jadepunk Tales: Vigilance Committee Volume One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Jadepunk: Tales From Kausao City
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2015 19:10:30

In one sentence, Jadepunk is a fantastic addition to any roleplayer's collection. It uses the Fate system for its core rules, but doesn't offer the freeform character creation found in the vanilla version of Fate. This is a good thing.

Jadepunk is so tied to its setting that its more rigid rules, which superficially resemble character classes found in other RPGs, that it doesn't need to offer open-ended character creation choices. The setting resembles ancient China with a western feel. This game keeps from becoming cultural appropriation as it presents a diverse population that liberally draws from Asian, European and other cultures.

If you like martial arts, gunslingers, the steampunk ethos, class warfare, comic books or anime, there's something here for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jadepunk: Tales From Kausao City
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Naramel: Jadepunk Martial Supplement
by Ron F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2014 19:25:28

This is an supplement for Jadepunk, and as such, is an excellent piece of work.

In its 21 pages you get Assets (Jadepunk-specific stunts/extras) specifically suited to Naramel martial arts. The assets are done really well, and are backed up by great setting background material. The supplement ends with two example Naramel martial characters.

If you like Fate, or you like Jadepunk, pick up this supplement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Naramel: Jadepunk Martial Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Jadepunk: Tales From Kausao City
by Philip G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2014 19:06:26

This review is of the physical book as well as its contents.

Upon Receiving this product through the post I eagerly opened the package, revealing the beautiful cover art. I picked it up and it felt and looked more like a supplement than a complete core rule book. I must admit that I was expecting something a little thicker, but upon inspection it is a pretty well rounded book. It manages to capture the feeling of the world and explains things just enough to give you a good understanding of how things work. This book is printed in colour and as such shows off the beautiful artwork that runs through it. Surprisingly enough this book contains all the rules you need to just pick up and start playing. It is written in a style that is straight forward, simple and refreshing gets the point across with little effort.

For a full colour RPG this is a nice addition to the fate collection with some surprisingly ingenious changes to the way skills are portrayed.

If there were one thing I would like to see in the future, It would be a complete physical product containing all the jade tech supplements etc in a single larger publication.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Jadepunk: Tales From Kausao City
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Jadepunk: Tales From Kausao City
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/26/2014 05:31:56

Man nehme eine Hand voll blutrünstiger Pistoleros, ein Bündel fernöstliche Kampfkunstlegenden, eine Prise Steampunk und eine Packung Korruption, verrühre alles gründlich miteinander und erhitze das Gemisch für einige Stunden im Ofen. Heraus kommt Jadepunk, ein freudiger Genremix für Fate Core, der längst nicht so abgedreht daher kommt, wie es die Zutaten vermuten lassen.

Rezension: Jadepunk (Fate Core) — Eastern trifft auf Steampunk

Western-Feeling und fernöstliche Kampfkunst? Was sich auf den ersten Blick anhört wie Vanilleeis und Oliven entpuppt sich bei näherem Hinsehen als spannende Verbindung mit Zündstoff. Durch die Entdeckung farbiger Jade und ihrer mystischen Eigenschaften ist die Welt nicht mehr wie sie war.

Kausao City, erbaut auf einem der reichsten Jadevorkommen weltweit, ist Dreh- und Angelpunkt des Jadehandels. Die vier größten Nationen herrschen dort gemeinsam im Form des Neuner-Rates: Je zwei Gesandte einer Nation mit einem unabhängigen Gouverneur an der Spitze.

Der amtierende Gouverneur sitzt bereits viel zu lange auf seinem Thron und die Bevölkerung, die zum Abbau der wertvollen Jade gezwungen wird, leidet unter Korruption und Unterdrückung wie nie zuvor. Um diesem tyrannischen Regime die Stirn zu bieten, hat sich eine lose Gemeinschaft, die Jianghu, zusammengefunden und dem Rat und seinen Schergen den Kampf angesagt.

Inhalt

Kernelement des Fate Core Settings ist das Mineral Jade, dessen unterschiedlichen Färbungen fantastische Eigenschaften zugeschrieben werden: Grüne Jade ist für ihre Härte und Schutzwirkung bekannt und wird vor allem zur Herstellung von Hiebwaffen und Rüstungen verwendet. Rote Jade leistet mit ihrer explosiven Natur in der Schusswaffen- und Sprengstoff-Fertigung gute Dienste. Aus blauer Jade werden medizinische Gerätschaften hergestellt oder die Steine selbst werden zur Kühlung eingesetzt. Weiße Jade ist mit dem Element der Luft verbunden und wird dafür eingesetzt, die mächtigen Luftschiffe der großen Nationen in den Lüften zu halten. Schwarze Jade, die nur in und um Kausao City vorkommt und deren Fähigkeiten noch nicht einmal zur Gänze erforscht wurden, rundet das Mineralienquintett ab.

Wer jetzt an Geisterstein aus Deadlands denkt, liegt genau richtig. Wie das mystische Gestein aus dem Horror-Western Rollenspiel sorgt auch Jade nicht nur für einen steten Quell gewalttätiger Auseinandersetzungen, sondern auch für unerhörte technische Entwicklungen. Während Kausao City eine Mischung aus einer Western-Boomtown und einer feudalchinesischen Stadt darstellt, erlaubt der Einsatz von Jade Technologien wie Schusswaffen, Fluggeräte oder Energieschwerter.

Dabei wirkt dieser Technologiesprung keinesfalls plump oder unpassend, im Gegenteil, Jade als mystisches Gestein fügt sich sehr schön in den Hintergrund mit ein und wirkt für diese Welt glaubhaft. Die vier größten Nationen von Jadepunk sind an Völkern aus unserer Welt angelehnt und sorgen für einen interessanten Kulturenmix. Das von Irland und Schottland inspirierte Aerische Imperium haust in den Cairn-Bergen und hat mit seinen fliegenden Schiffen die Lufthoheit der Welt inne. Wenig überraschend finden sich in ihrer Heimat die größten Vorräte an weißer Jade, aber auch rote Jade steht den Aeren zur Verfügung. Das Seefahrervolk der Kaiyu wiederum verfügt über große Vorkommen blauer Jade und ist Südseestämmen nachempfunden. Die nomadischen Naramel ähneln in Aussehen und Verhalten den afrikanischen Tuareg. Als letzte große Nation werden die Túyang vorgestellt, eine Art chinesisches Volk. Mit den Almac und Gahul werden zudem zwei geringere Nationen eingeführt, die im Laufe der Jahre von den großen Reichen an den Rand der Auslöschung gebracht wurden. Ein kurzes Kapitel über Religionen in Kausao City rundet die Weltbeschreibung ab.

Kausao City selbst wird leider nur knapp beschrieben, bleibt in großen Teilen absichtlich vage, um den Spielern die Möglichkeit zu geben, selbst die Details gestalten zu können. Kausao City ist grundsätzlich eine gespaltene Stadt: Auf der einen Seite stehen der Rat der Neun, seine Wachen und Beamten, reiche Jade-Händler und Unternehmer, auf der anderen Seite die unterdrückte Bevölkerung, die in bitterer Armut ihr Dasein fristen muss. In dieser Stadt ist ein Leben nur das Bestechungsgeld wert, dass man zu zahlen imstande ist.

Nach einer sehr kurzen Einführung zu den einzelnen Vierteln folgt ein ebenso kurzes Kapitel über die Jianghu und deren Ziel, die herrschenden Verhältnisse zu stürzen. Dabei sind die Motive keinesfalls nur edel. Obwohl der Großteil der Jianghu aus Selbstlosigkeit handelt, existieren auch Organisationen innerhalb der Jianghu, die nur den eigenen Vorteil im Sinn haben. Leider bleibt diese Beschreibung sehr oberflächlich. Es existiert jeweils nur eine Beispielorganisation für eine wohlmeinende bzw. für eine egoistische Ausrichtung der Jianghu und die Ausgestaltung wird vollkommen der Spielgruppe überlassen. Die Beschreibung kommt daher insgesamt etwas dünn daher und es bleiben viele Fragen offen, was einen schalen Beigeschmack hinterlässt.

Auch bei den Regeln geht Jadepunk eigene Wege. Anstatt sich übermäßig mit Fähigkeiten zu belasten, gibt es hier gerade mal sechs Stück: Aristokrat, Ingenieur, Entdecker, Kämpfer, Gelehrter und Schurke. Alles was ein Charakter tun oder lassen kann subsumiert sich unter einer dieser Fähigkeiten. Auf die bei Fate Core üblichen Stunts und unterschiedliche Stressbalken wurde komplett verzichtet, dafür wurden Assets eingeführt, die eine Zwitterrolle zwischen Aspekten und Stunts einnehmen. Ein Asset kann übrigens selbst auch eigene Aspekte haben, womit die Erstellung eines Assets in Einzelfällen beinahe an die Komplexität eines eigenen Charakters heranreichen lässt. Ein Asset kann hier so ziemlich alles sein, von persönlichen Waffen oder Jadetech-Gegenständen über Gefolgsleute bis zu speziellen Kampfkunststilen. Die sonstigen Fate Core Regeln wurden übernommen und um einige wenige sinnvolle Regelanpassungen ergänzt.

Ein abschließendes Kapitel für den Spielleiter wiederholt nochmal die grundlegenden Informationen des Fate Core Regelwerks und ergänzt diese um eine NPC-Übersicht und Sonderregeln zur Erstellung eigener Stadtviertel. Einige Beispielcharaktere und ein Index runden das Regelwerk ab.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis Für knapp 15 USD erhält man eine spannende Welt, die auf 139 Seiten leider ein bisschen dünn beschrieben ist. Bedenkt man, dass man für einen geringen Aufpreis zum Teil die doppelte und dreifache Menge an Inhalten erhält, ist der Preis nicht unbedingt überteuert, ein wirkliches Schnäppchen ist das Werk aber auch nicht.

Erscheinungsbild Der tolle Einband verspricht, was der Band nicht halten kann. Das PDF präsentiert sich puristisch. Nur wenige Seiten verfügen über einen eigenen Hintergrund und wenn dies der Fall ist, stört dieser leider auch noch den Textfluss, da der Kontrast zum Text nicht immer ausreichend ist. Ansonsten ist die Lesbarkeit sehr gut. Die Qualität der Illustrationen schwankt zwischen ordentlich und stimmungsvoll, leistet sich aber ab und an auch einen Ausrutscher nach unten.

Randinformationen sind stets hinterlegt, aber selten einheitlich. Munter wechseln sich braune Farbkleckse, aus der Seite herausgerissene Bereiche und Pergament ab und sorgen so für einen sehr unruhigen Eindruck. Die Karte von Kausao City wurde auch bewusst einfach gehalten und gibt nur einen rudimentären Einblick in die Stadt. Entfaltungsmöglichkeiten schön und gut, aber hier erwarte ich von einem professionellen Rollenspielprodukt einfach mehr.

Fazit Jadepunk hinterlässt bei mir einen gespaltenen Eindruck: Die Idee der Welt hat mich innerhalb von Sekunden in ihren Bann gezogen und mich zum Weiterblättern animiert. Das Konzept strahlender Helden, die sich einem grausamen Regime entgegenstellen und zwischen östlichen und westlichen Haudraufmethoden wählen können? Grandios! Leider sind die bereitgestellten Informationen sehr steril gehalten und schaffen es nicht, den Funken überspringen zu lassen. Das Produkt hat unheimlich viel Potential, das aber durch uninspirierte und zu oberflächliche Beschreibungen verschenkt wird. Die krass vereinfachten Regeln hinterlassen hier auch mehr einen halbfertigen Eindruck anstatt den eines überzeugenden Konzeptes. Der völlige Verzicht auf die Darstellung eines funktionierenden sozialen Gefüges ist nur noch enttäuschend. Die maue Präsentation tut ihr Übriges, den spannenden Ersteindruck zu egalisieren. Immerhin ist Jadepunk ein günstiger Fate Core-Ableger. Mit klassischen Fate Core-Regeln und viel Kreativarbeit kann dieser Rohdiamant daher eventuell doch zum Funkeln gebracht werden.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Jadepunk: Tales From Kausao City
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2014 14:38:55

This is an amazing game and world, I love the what this game brings to the table such as assets! The quality is really awesome! I can't wait to see more from this amazing setting!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jadetech: Red Jade
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2014 14:44:03

As the second installment of the Jadetech series, Red Jade has some very big shoes to fill, following Green Jade. Green jade is versatile and widely used, while red jade is more specific in its uses. Overall, the book is really well done, with the high quality writing and art that I've come to expect from Reroll Productions. If you've read Green Jade, the introduction to Red Jade will be a pleasant surprise, and if you haven't read Green Jade, you should.

The history and evolution of how red jade was found and first used is great for story fodder, and excellent background that helps you delve deeper into the history of the world. Even small things like how powdered red jade was originally used as gunpowder and later turned into solid-state cartridges shows how the ingenuity of the peoples of Jadepunk are striving to make things better.

The assets provided are just what one would expect from a book about explosive jade: guns and grenades. Surprisingly, there is a red jade melee weapon, and a mastercrafted bow for playing violin. The last one goes to show how red jade can be used for emotional expression, and lets you know that it's not all about blowing stuff up.

However, I was disappointed in the lack of red jade infusions. I may have read too much Harry Dresden, but the two infusions I was hoping to see didn't even warrant a mention: a lust potion, and a potion of energy—after all, red jade is the jade of courage and power. Besides, Red Jadebull potion is just too good a name to pass up!

The lack of infusions is the only thing preventing a 5 out of 5 review. The rest of the book is awesome, and exactly what I expected and wantrf from the red jade book. Definitely a positive addition to my digital "bookshelf."



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Jadetech: Red Jade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Jadetech: Red Jade
by Walt R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2014 09:31:52

Jadetech: Red Jade marks another stellar addition to the Jadepunk line. From weapons that gave me shivers (The Glass Cannon reminded me of haunting, real world weapons: The EFP) to the catastrophic effects of improperly refined red jade, this supplement grants special insight into the element for Jadepunk players and Gm's alike. The art and layout are sublime. The superb overall look makes these products stand out in a sea of low production values and cobbled together products. Reroll should be labeled as the stand out newcomer of the year!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jadetech: Green Jade
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2014 16:16:31

A 16 page booklet for only $2.99? Even if I wasn't a Jadepunk fan the low price and attractive cover art would make this an impulse buy. But I am a fan of Jadepunk, so it's a must-have!

Jacob Possin knocked the writing out of the park on this one! There is so much history and setting detail contained in this booklet it's insane. The properties and histories in just the sidebars alone are worth the price of admission!

Not to mention the jade-tainted creatures! Both "natural" tainted due to long-term exposure and the equivalent of genetic engineering, if you want to upgrade your guard dog, green jade is the way to go. Side note, mad props for including rodents of exceptional stature!

It also contains quite a few green jade assets. From lightsabers to Thor's hammer to the shirshu from Avatar: The Last Airbender, it's got it all! Oh, I almost forgot the green jade potions. I like how the flaws are listed as "based off of asset creation roll." Way to remind me that potions are created during play, not by paying refresh!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jadetech: Green Jade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Jadepunk: Tales From Kausao City
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2014 16:23:04

Being a fan of the Fate system I've been scouring DTRPG for Fate-related products and came across Jadepunk. It's has a unique new way to build assets for your character, and good writing. I've also been a member of the Fate community on Google +, and the author is also a member. He has been very responsive to questions and comments on the forums, which is a big plus. If you like steampunk, Legends of Korra, or wuxia, get this game. You won't be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jadepunk: Tales From Kausao City
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates