DriveThruRPG.com
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Avalon Clip Art Collection 5
by Jeremy Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2015 06:23:09

This is a grab bag of various line art/gray scale images. Most of the images are well done, a big step up from their other art

It's a mix of fantasy, sci-fi, steam punk, and real world stuff and there seems to be quite a bit of anthromorphic animals. There's also a nice selection of undead, including about 7-8 skeletons wielding various weapons. I'll probably end up using 30% of this, which is a great deal.

On the down side, it's in a PDF, which usually isn't a big deal, except not all the images are easily copied and pasted. In some cases, the box, when you select a picture, does not fully contain the picture. Or in a few, it copies bits of a neighboring picture. But that's not too hard to get around.

It would also have been nice to get artist credits for each image, so I can give proper credit.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art Collection 5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Comic Book Adventures Preview #2
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2015 10:46:20

It was ok, I'd imagine. I don't really own any other material so it was rather confusing to say the least. However, I'm sure it would have been fine if I did.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Comic Book Adventures Preview #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Comic Book Adventures Preview #2
by R2R R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2015 04:30:59

Congratulations, you've made the all-male list of contacts and informants. Exactly 0 women out of 9 NPCs? Nice try, but no cookie.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
The main mission book offers many female contacts and heroes to work with. Some of the main story plots focus on female characters and their strong role as both heroes and villains.
Comic Book Adventures Preview #2
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2015 15:52:58

While you do need the rulebook to understand some of the character statistics - like almost every potential snitch requires you to have a different rating on things to get information from them - the starter does give enough to show that the book will be quite good. The write up of the sample episode is well done, giving everything you need, plus a bit more. Definitely makes me want to see the game itself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Comic Book Adventures Preview #2
by Daniel H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2015 12:35:22

I'm a little skeptical of the idea of a solo RPG (without a GM/DM), and the low quality of this preview doesn't reassure me.

The PDF includes (1) a list of contacts and informants, each with a few prerequisites and available missions; (2) a map of "Hero City"; (3) a two-page adventure; and (4) two sample characters.

The text is full of punctuation errors, erratic capitalization, and other errors. The book opens with a comma splice: "Want to play a super hero RPG, but have no one around to game with, well Avalon is here to save you from your boredom." The introduction has further problems: "If you don't not have the listed ally or contact you may not take mission from that contact. You must also meat all listed prerequisites to take on the missions listed."; "It's a new century and that's calls for a new type of hero."

The sample adventure is a generic "rescue the kidnapped rich guy" thing for a brand-new character. As a preview, this adventure doesn't make me want to check out the full game. If there were signs of an intriguing overall plot, I might be willing to overlook all the textual errors. But instead this is strike two.

Since there's no GM, the narrative of the adventure includes branch points based on PC choices or skill checks. The text is formatted as ordinary paragraphs; it would be easier to work with these branch points if they (and the points they lead to) were marked. I can imagine marginal symbols: "If your skill check was successful, go to marker A. If not, go to marker D."



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi Genre [BUNDLE]
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/27/2015 21:32:16

Sci-fi clip art. It is in PDF format, so not very useful if you are planning on reusing it. Fine for printing out at the game table. Wish I had seen some samples first. Not really to my liking.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi Genre [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi Genre
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/27/2015 21:28:51

Sci-fi clip art. It is in PDF format, so not very useful if you are planning on reusing it. Fine for printing out at the game table. Wish I had seen some samples first. Not really to my liking.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi Genre
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi 2
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/27/2015 21:28:31

Sci-fi clip art. It is in PDF format, so not very useful if you are planning on reusing it. Fine for printing out at the game table. Wish I had seen some samples first. Not really to my liking.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wizards and Gunslingers
by Jon M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2014 02:12:45

Custom system, but well organized. I haven't played it, but giving 5 stars because it's complete with rules, setting, maps, tools to quickly construct scenarios, put together NPCs and good tips for new GMs. Definitely leans towards creative role-playing and story telling and not for crunchy combat. Good for groups that want to have an adventure, rather than groups who want to compare how many hitpoints their weapon can dish out per round. (You can probably sense my own bias here)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wizards and Gunslingers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DICE-Tractions: Dice Racing, Mini-Game #104
by Dierk D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2014 12:50:54

11 Seiten ? Stimmt: 1 Cover, 1 Inhaltsverzeichnis, 3 Seiten Regeln, ... UND 6 SEITEN WERBUNG! Normalerweise bin ich Besseres von Avalon gewöhnt! Das zweite Mal bei Avalon eingegangen. Nie mehr bei diesem Preis-Leistungsverhältnis!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DICE-Tractions: Dice Racing, Mini-Game #104
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DICE-Tractions: Dice Football, Mini-Game #106
by Dierk D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2014 12:45:20

18 Seiten ? Stimmt: 1 Cover, 1 Inhaltsverzeichnis, 6 Seiten Regeln, dann nochmal 4 Seiten die Zeichnungen vergrößert... UND 6 SEITEN WERBUNG! Normalerweise bin ich Besseres von Avalon gewöhnt!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DICE-Tractions:  Dice Football, Mini-Game #106
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroes Weekly, Vol 2, Issue #20, The Ancients
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2014 12:53:03

Sounds like an interesting idea, but there is no "there" there. A supervillain team of ancient magical creatures? Awesome! But all that you get is five small paragraphs giving type of creature and attitude, plus a write up of a minion. That's right, the villains have not a single stat or hint as to powers. I feel ripped off at a dollar, if I'd paid four dollars for it I'd be livid. Avoid.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Heroes Weekly, Vol 2, Issue #20, The Ancients
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

APMR #1, Avalon Mini-Games #120
by alain D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2014 18:20:17

this is a" no purpose" miniature rules. the cost for weapons or armor/defense is not indicated. many mistakes. (bastard sword supposed to be more lethal are not). it' s impossible to hit an ennemy with a sword who deal 1 dammage, if a light armor deduct 2 dammages...and what about shield? etc... are you kidding? No, you deceive people. It's a shame, i' feel so angry. these "rules" worth nothing. The Worst rules I ever seen.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
APMR #1, Avalon Mini-Games #120
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Infinite Horizons Issue #2
by Mark G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2014 07:28:17

I'm giving Infinite Horizons #2 ezine 4 stars. If I had bought it, I'd go 3 but you get a lot here for free. First off, the cover art is really cool and I'm loving the alien. Must scour it to see if there's any description given for it (or stats). I think the prestige classes are good, especially the Guardian who I'd select as sort of an elite guard or guard leader, seems a bit more of a non-player character but can be worked around. I liked the one-handed shot feat, the new gear (lots of weapons!). The paper model by Fantasy Cutouts was really neat and is based on a most interesting ship design. Might have to have a go. There's also an excerpt from JD Wallington's Temple Alliance Origins, Book I called A New Beginning. Very atmospheric first-person tale. Scott Virtes' Alien Flop short story I liked even more, mainly because I enjoy dialogue. There's others I haven't even read yet. Loved The Horror of Colony 6 and the art samples of Gordon Napier!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Horizons Issue #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Avalon Quests
by Olivier M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2014 03:39:02

I was really excited about this product as I enjoy solo gaming, especially of the RPG kind, but there are very few options out there for such gaming.

Sadly, Avalon Quests feels unpolished to a point where it's uncomfortable to read through and use as reference. Mostly, my qualms are with the layout and organization of the rulebook and the travel book which make it rather hard to understand how things work. For example, the travel book references "Sections" multiple times, but these are not indicated. If you read everything, you can guess at which paragraph they begin, but having to do that isn't normal. The use of roman and arabic numerals to refer to the adventure or rules books is commendable, but remained confusing to me. Various typos do not help. The night encounters section is a blatant copy/paste of the day encounters, down to the table number being the same. As such, tables 3.3, 3.3.1 and 3.4 are noted 2.2 and so on.

Ultimately, it's a mess, and while I have been prodding at this in the hopes of getting some solo gaming going, I find myself exhausted and frustrated before I even start. Today I decided I wouldn't even think of trying this for a long while.

Other things of note about this product:

  • The adventure provided requires 6 PCs. I find this to be too much. Soloing is not easy to begin with and while I have played one-on-one games controlling 4 PCs, I can't imagine doing it with 6, especially without a GM to catch my mistakes. It might be worth trying a multi-player yet GM-less game with such a party though.

  • Art is really subpart, though tactical maps are provided for various encounters.

  • There is a lot of content, whether random region events or adventure specific encounters and quests, which makes it even more frustrating that I feel I can't get to it in a comfortable fashion.

Overall, there is a lot of potential here, but right now, it's a rough stone ripped off the wall and it's in need of some serious cutting and polishing before it can become pleasant to play.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Quests
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 353 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates