DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
How to be a Great GM, Fan Edition
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2015 02:30:22

The main text consists of 16 pages (at normal font size), the "fan" extras you get here are 7 d20 lists for randomly creating the basic structure of your next adventure. The text is printerfriendly although I had to reduce the size a bit for it to fit the page (DIN A4)

As a beginner GM I really liked this little book, especially when it motivates and expands on psychological aspects of our hobby. Although I was tempted to give it a 4 star rating because of being slightly overpriced (6$), the quality deserves 5 stars and the publisher seems to be quite generous in offering discounts from time to time (which is why I gave it a try).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How to be a Great GM, Fan Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pathfinder Solo, Rogue
by Russell H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2015 15:22:12

Nice little one-shot, but a bit thin on plot--definitely not worth 5.99, and not sure it was worth the 2.93 I paid. A good introduction to the [very] basic mechanics of the game. Kudos for including a printable version... but why on earth was the character sheet, of all things, left out of the printer-friendly document?

Rework Avalon Solo Adventures Vol #1-5 into a single combined document (with redundant material edited out--no need to detail every aspect of character creation five times, etc.), and include a printable character sheet, and I'd drop 5.99 on it without reservation.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pathfinder Solo, Rogue
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Hunters, Battles of Blood
by Quincy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2015 20:50:46

Haven't played it yet, but there's lot of good stuff in this book. The only thing that worries me is that it may be a little luck based: I am not sure about things like 1d10 damage for some weapons.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Hunters, Battles of Blood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Avalon Clip Art, Mages 3
by Jeremy Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2015 06:50:37

The quality of the art in this is excellent, however the images are difficult to use, since there is a lot of "noise" around the outlines of the image. At least some of them.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art, Mages 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Avalon Clip Art Collection 5
by Jeremy Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2015 06:23:09

This is a grab bag of various line art/gray scale images. Most of the images are well done, a big step up from their other art

It's a mix of fantasy, sci-fi, steam punk, and real world stuff and there seems to be quite a bit of anthromorphic animals. There's also a nice selection of undead, including about 7-8 skeletons wielding various weapons. I'll probably end up using 30% of this, which is a great deal.

On the down side, it's in a PDF, which usually isn't a big deal, except not all the images are easily copied and pasted. In some cases, the box, when you select a picture, does not fully contain the picture. Or in a few, it copies bits of a neighboring picture. But that's not too hard to get around.

It would also have been nice to get artist credits for each image, so I can give proper credit.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art Collection 5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Comic Book Adventures Preview #2
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2015 10:46:20

It was ok, I'd imagine. I don't really own any other material so it was rather confusing to say the least. However, I'm sure it would have been fine if I did.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Comic Book Adventures Preview #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Comic Book Adventures Preview #2
by R2R R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2015 04:30:59

Congratulations, you've made the all-male list of contacts and informants. Exactly 0 women out of 9 NPCs? Nice try, but no cookie.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
The main mission book offers many female contacts and heroes to work with. Some of the main story plots focus on female characters and their strong role as both heroes and villains.
Comic Book Adventures Preview #2
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2015 15:52:58

While you do need the rulebook to understand some of the character statistics - like almost every potential snitch requires you to have a different rating on things to get information from them - the starter does give enough to show that the book will be quite good. The write up of the sample episode is well done, giving everything you need, plus a bit more. Definitely makes me want to see the game itself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Comic Book Adventures Preview #2
by Daniel H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2015 12:35:22

I'm a little skeptical of the idea of a solo RPG (without a GM/DM), and the low quality of this preview doesn't reassure me.

The PDF includes (1) a list of contacts and informants, each with a few prerequisites and available missions; (2) a map of "Hero City"; (3) a two-page adventure; and (4) two sample characters.

The text is full of punctuation errors, erratic capitalization, and other errors. The book opens with a comma splice: "Want to play a super hero RPG, but have no one around to game with, well Avalon is here to save you from your boredom." The introduction has further problems: "If you don't not have the listed ally or contact you may not take mission from that contact. You must also meat all listed prerequisites to take on the missions listed."; "It's a new century and that's calls for a new type of hero."

The sample adventure is a generic "rescue the kidnapped rich guy" thing for a brand-new character. As a preview, this adventure doesn't make me want to check out the full game. If there were signs of an intriguing overall plot, I might be willing to overlook all the textual errors. But instead this is strike two.

Since there's no GM, the narrative of the adventure includes branch points based on PC choices or skill checks. The text is formatted as ordinary paragraphs; it would be easier to work with these branch points if they (and the points they lead to) were marked. I can imagine marginal symbols: "If your skill check was successful, go to marker A. If not, go to marker D."



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi Genre [BUNDLE]
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/27/2015 21:32:16

Sci-fi clip art. It is in PDF format, so not very useful if you are planning on reusing it. Fine for printing out at the game table. Wish I had seen some samples first. Not really to my liking.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi Genre [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi Genre
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/27/2015 21:28:51

Sci-fi clip art. It is in PDF format, so not very useful if you are planning on reusing it. Fine for printing out at the game table. Wish I had seen some samples first. Not really to my liking.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi Genre
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi 2
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/27/2015 21:28:31

Sci-fi clip art. It is in PDF format, so not very useful if you are planning on reusing it. Fine for printing out at the game table. Wish I had seen some samples first. Not really to my liking.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art, Sci-Fi 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wizards and Gunslingers
by Jon M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2014 02:12:45

Custom system, but well organized. I haven't played it, but giving 5 stars because it's complete with rules, setting, maps, tools to quickly construct scenarios, put together NPCs and good tips for new GMs. Definitely leans towards creative role-playing and story telling and not for crunchy combat. Good for groups that want to have an adventure, rather than groups who want to compare how many hitpoints their weapon can dish out per round. (You can probably sense my own bias here)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wizards and Gunslingers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DICE-Tractions: Dice Racing, Mini-Game #104
by Dierk D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2014 12:50:54

11 Seiten ? Stimmt: 1 Cover, 1 Inhaltsverzeichnis, 3 Seiten Regeln, ... UND 6 SEITEN WERBUNG! Normalerweise bin ich Besseres von Avalon gewöhnt! Das zweite Mal bei Avalon eingegangen. Nie mehr bei diesem Preis-Leistungsverhältnis!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DICE-Tractions: Dice Racing, Mini-Game #104
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DICE-Tractions: Dice Football, Mini-Game #106
by Dierk D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2014 12:45:20

18 Seiten ? Stimmt: 1 Cover, 1 Inhaltsverzeichnis, 6 Seiten Regeln, dann nochmal 4 Seiten die Zeichnungen vergrößert... UND 6 SEITEN WERBUNG! Normalerweise bin ich Besseres von Avalon gewöhnt!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DICE-Tractions:  Dice Football, Mini-Game #106
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 357 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates