DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Astral Empires, Starship Design Components Book
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2016 05:42:29

NOt bad, but seems to be designed for making smaller craft. I don't think it would work very well for making large starships.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Astral Empires, Starship Design Components Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Hunters RPG
by Martin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2016 13:46:46

This book presents options to play a Gothic Horror themed campaign or a game set somewhere in 1911. This book does not provide a set of monsters or present locales or cities. It is important to note that the material contained herein is based on the Pathfinder Rules.


Almost half the book is dedicated to character origins and classes. Character origins are background that can help flesh out a character and also provide a few options beyond what is accessible through a class. Each origin also provide a summary explanation as to why a character from such origin would choose to become a hunter. These origins provide the same versatility that races provide in Pathfinder, though obviously, everyone is a human herein.


The next chapter presents character classes. Players can become exorcist, hunter, magician, murderer, scientist, scoundrel, soldier, spiritualist, vagabond, white witch, prize fighter. I will not into the details of all the classes, but most of them are built around talents that can be chosen from a list and bring diversity to each class. Many of these classes are not proficient with any weapons which I find quite refreshing because this book is set in a close approximation of our world (albeit more than a hundred years ago), so not everyone would be good at using a weapon. However, these classes usually have access to spells and other interesting abilities that more than make up for the lack of weapons. Of all the classes, I found the scientist the least appealing. It has similarities with the alchemist class, but the Scientific Gadgets class feature seems a bit over-complicated and I am not entirely sure what they are supposed to do. I did not get the chance the play with it, but I think I would need to see it in action to better understand the class. The last class, the prize fighter, is a monk archetype that works quite well in this more modern setting. It seems very fun play. The other classes seems interesting, but I think that the capstone for the Magician, transcendence, is an overpowered ability making the character pretty much immortal.


The next two chapters cover skills, feats an gear. They are expansion of what you have in the core rule book, providing new rules and adapting other rules where appropriate. A large portion of the gear is dedicated to firearms, which are not used in all pathfinder campaign.


The chapter on combat provides additional rules for using firearms in combat. The rules are fairly simple and the part on called shot presents easy rules to make combat more fun in my opinion. A brief chapter describes what life was like in 1911 and suggests resources to help bring this period to life for your players.


Chapter 8 provides tricks and tips on how to run a game for Monster Hunters. This is a nice chapter that helps to bring into perspectives the differences between a fantasy game and a gothic horror game. I feel however that many Ravenloft supplement back in the days of 2nd edition were doing a much better jobs at providing guidance than this chapter but still, the right elements are there.


The book ends with a short sample adventure that helps to emphasize on what was discussed in the previous chapter. the adventure is straightforward and lacks details, but does provide a nice starting point and great foundation should a Huntmaster (as GMs are called in this book) wishes to expand it.


Overall I really enjoyed this book. I did not get a chance to run a game using these rules yet, but I feel like it would be easy to do using this book as a reference. The additional rules are simple and easy to grasp. They feel appropriately grim and would make for nice change of pace. I like that the classes are simple and easy to play. I also liked the rules on called shots. Tough I am not a big fan of this, I think these rules made sense. If you liked Ravenloft of you would like to play in setting similar to what Bram Stoker and Mary Shelley described, than this is for you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Hunters RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Slayers of the Great Serpent
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2016 05:24:45

This is a solid adventure and a good start to what looks to be a fun adventure path to both run and play. It definitely had made me interested in finding the adventure modules that follow it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slayers of the Great Serpent
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Faces of Misery
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/06/2016 19:04:38

DO NOT BUY THIS!!
Instead of the aformantioned deck of inspiring cards I got a 22page polish document which I can't even read a single page of... I tried downloading it again 3 times but every time I got the same 22 page long polish all text thing... Throughly dissapointed, and it feels like I just thrown money out the window...



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Faces of Misery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
We are sorry for the confusion, the wrong file was attached to this product for some reason. We have fixed the error and uploaded the correct file and an email to everyone that has downloaded this product. As a suggestion for the future, instead of supplying a negative review, it would be best to either contact Avalon directly or One Book\'s customer service people and together we will solve any problem you have. Had you done so, we would have detected the error much sooner, instead of waiting until we got around to looking at reviews of our product, which we do not do very often, and have no notification that a new one has been generated. We hope you will enjoy the corrected work and find it a fun addition to your gaming.
Erpegowe Święta
by Robert E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2016 15:04:55

Dary trzech wiedźm. Trzy godziny sesji, dwóch graczy, mechanika Adventurers!, setting autorski. Wszyscy się zgodziliśmy, że przygoda rewelacyjna. Musiałem odrobinę zaadoptować do realiów settingu ale tylko drobna kosmetyka. Zabawa super. BARDZO polecam.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Erpegowe Święta
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

How to Spice Up Combat
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2015 07:24:14

The text consists of 12 pages, of these 4 pages are used entirely for 2 lists: 1. Music suggestions and 2. Quotes from popular movies to be used in RPGs. So without these lists the main text has about 8 pages.
The text is printer friendly (although I had to scale it down a bit) with lots of illustrations.


I believe the strength of this little text is the music list with about 40 suggestions (sometimes complete albums and sometimes several tracks from an album). fantasy: 8 suggestions, "Pulp combat": 1 and the rest is in the category"Modern/Cyberpunk/Sci-Fi". Some very good ideas, of course not a complete list.


The quotes are interspersed into the text and some more in a list to be found in the last chapter. Quality varies and I think the author would have come up with a better result, if he would have invented the quotes' part himself.


To me as a beginner GM the main text didn't help, in my opinion there was way to little information on how to make game (battle) mechanics easier or more efficient (i.e. faster).


My conclusion: 6$ for this item is way too much. In my eyes it comes down to how much you are willing to pay for the music list. I am very happy I bought at the same time another HOW TO Guide from this publisher, as otherwise I would have had a very poor impression of Avalon, and would have missed "How to be a great GM - Fan Edition", which may also be a little expensive but at least you get good quality for you money.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
How to Spice Up Combat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

How to be a Great GM, Fan Edition
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2015 02:30:22

The main text consists of 16 pages (at normal font size), the "fan" extras you get here are 7 d20 lists for randomly creating the basic structure of your next adventure.
The text is printerfriendly although I had to reduce the size a bit for it to fit the page (DIN A4)


As a beginner GM I really liked this little book, especially when it motivates and expands on psychological aspects of our hobby. Although I was tempted to give it a 4 star rating because of being slightly overpriced (6$), the quality deserves 5 stars and the publisher seems to be quite generous in offering discounts from time to time (which is why I gave it a try).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How to be a Great GM, Fan Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pathfinder Solo, Rogue
by Russell H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2015 15:22:12

Nice little one-shot, but a bit thin on plot--definitely not worth 5.99, and not sure it was worth the 2.93 I paid. A good introduction to the [very] basic mechanics of the game. Kudos for including a printable version... but why on earth was the character sheet, of all things, left out of the printer-friendly document?


Rework Avalon Solo Adventures Vol #1-5 into a single combined document (with redundant material edited out--no need to detail every aspect of character creation five times, etc.), and include a printable character sheet, and I'd drop 5.99 on it without reservation.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pathfinder Solo, Rogue
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Monster Hunters, Battles of Blood
by Quincy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2015 20:50:46

Haven't played it yet, but there's lot of good stuff in this book. The only thing that worries me is that it may be a little luck based: I am not sure about things like 1d10 damage for some weapons.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Hunters, Battles of Blood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Avalon Clip Art, Mages 3
by Jeremy Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2015 06:50:37

The quality of the art in this is excellent, however the images are difficult to use, since there is a lot of "noise" around the outlines of the image. At least some of them.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art, Mages 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Avalon Clip Art Collection 5
by Jeremy Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2015 06:23:09

This is a grab bag of various line art/gray scale images. Most of the images are well done, a big step up from their other art


It's a mix of fantasy, sci-fi, steam punk, and real world stuff and there seems to be quite a bit of anthromorphic animals. There's also a nice selection of undead, including about 7-8 skeletons wielding various weapons. I'll probably end up using 30% of this, which is a great deal.


On the down side, it's in a PDF, which usually isn't a big deal, except not all the images are easily copied and pasted. In some cases, the box, when you select a picture, does not fully contain the picture. Or in a few, it copies bits of a neighboring picture. But that's not too hard to get around.


It would also have been nice to get artist credits for each image, so I can give proper credit.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Avalon Clip Art Collection 5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Comic Book Adventures Preview #2
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2015 10:46:20

It was ok, I'd imagine. I don't really own any other material so it was rather confusing to say the least. However, I'm sure it would have been fine if I did.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Comic Book Adventures Preview #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Comic Book Adventures Preview #2
by R2R R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2015 04:30:59

Congratulations, you've made the all-male list of contacts and informants. Exactly 0 women out of 9 NPCs? Nice try, but no cookie.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
The main mission book offers many female contacts and heroes to work with. Some of the main story plots focus on female characters and their strong role as both heroes and villains.
Comic Book Adventures Preview #2
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2015 15:52:58

While you do need the rulebook to understand some of the character statistics - like almost every potential snitch requires you to have a different rating on things to get information from them - the starter does give enough to show that the book will be quite good. The write up of the sample episode is well done, giving everything you need, plus a bit more. Definitely makes me want to see the game itself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Comic Book Adventures Preview #2
by Daniel H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2015 12:35:22

I'm a little skeptical of the idea of a solo RPG (without a GM/DM), and the low quality of this preview doesn't reassure me.


The PDF includes (1) a list of contacts and informants, each with a few prerequisites and available missions; (2) a map of "Hero City"; (3) a two-page adventure; and (4) two sample characters.


The text is full of punctuation errors, erratic capitalization, and other errors. The book opens with a comma splice: "Want to play a super hero RPG, but have no one around to game with, well Avalon is here to save you from your boredom." The introduction has further problems: "If you don't not have the listed ally or contact you may not take mission from that contact. You must also meat all listed prerequisites to take on the missions listed."; "It's a new century and that's calls for a new type of hero."


The sample adventure is a generic "rescue the kidnapped rich guy" thing for a brand-new character. As a preview, this adventure doesn't make me want to check out the full game. If there were signs of an intriguing overall plot, I might be willing to overlook all the textual errors. But instead this is strike two.


Since there's no GM, the narrative of the adventure includes branch points based on PC choices or skill checks. The text is formatted as ordinary paragraphs; it would be easier to work with these branch points if they (and the points they lead to) were marked. I can imagine marginal symbols: "If your skill check was successful, go to marker A. If not, go to marker D."



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 348 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates