DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Primeval Thule 5e Campaign Setting
by david w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2017 16:46:15

Just got my printed copy in today, and I'm really impressed. You really can't tell that it's POD, unless you had the published version right next to it (I do). Looks great! We'll see how it holds up over time, but I'm pleased enough to be eager to purchase more POD products! Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Primeval Thule 5e Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alternity Science Fiction RPG Beta Test Edition
by Eduardo S. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2017 08:36:31

I love old Alternity over most of the other games because the mecanics where so awsome to be true, but I still find problems, most of them where kind a easy to fix withy some house rules others where a real pain.

When I first saw the Alternity 2017 I almost cry of joy, but some time in this buiseness tell me to be carefull. And this is what I found.

1) Old timers hate that is no longer roll-low mechanic, not me, you can pretty much try anything , you may do it or not, but you wont get a critical, at least not at the beta, I like that. 2) Combat system, simple, easy to handle, quick to play, I like that action escence are better and more quicker, all you need is the track time on the table. 3) System of wounds and armor, a little more friendly to characters, but you can really deal hard damage with the proper rank on the skill or a lucky roll. 4) Versatility on the skills, great, you no longer need to be good on a specific stat to get that skill, veary cleaver, you may be smart or cunning, strong or agile, nice.

For now it looks like a very nice step forward, i give it 4 stars with the beta, lest see the finel product



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Alternity Science Fiction RPG Beta Test Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Primeval Thule Campaign Setting (for the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game)
by Mathew R D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2017 08:10:17

I won't be lengthy on this, as so much has been said. I just want to say that I have not seen a setting in a "third party" product that has inspired me as much as this campaign setting book. This is the love child of Conan and the Forgotten Realms. Each page I read has me wanting more. I am very excited about this, and any future products in this line.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Primeval Thule Campaign Setting (for the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alternity Science Fiction RPG Beta Test Edition
by Jeff J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2017 02:24:40

I just wanted to say, I backed the Kickstarter campaign (Expedition level) because I loved the original Alternity so much, and on paper the new rules looked great. However, after finally getting around to a play test, I am worried I may have made the wrong decision.

With myself in the GM spot, my group and I just completed the "Escape From The Institute" adventure. Even thought the adventure itself was slickly designed, we came away with a number of issues that left us somewhat disappointed.

Our group found the new combat system to be very slow. The new initiative system sounds like a fantastic idea, but is a pain to keep track of. Furthermore, weapons either have minimal effect or are overpoweringly powerful. In comparison to the original system, the new damage track is functional, but my whole group found it terribly clunky and unrefined. Another issue was with attack rolls, it is just as easy to hit a fast dodge character than it is a slow moving tank, where's the resistance modifier's?

If your going to keep the Alternity name, then I don't feel this level of change in the terminology and mechanics are appropriate... Even the little things annoyed me. I found Average, Excellent and Stellar to be way harder to remember than Ordinary, Good or Amazing.

The best part of the old system was the roll low mechanic, seeing what you need to roll right there on your sheet and then getting assigned step penalties was elegant and brilliant; also much easier to figure out a skill on the fly. It was brilliant; the new system seems like everything was inelegantly shoehorned to fit the high-roll mechanic. This change was unnecessary.

I want to love it, I really do, I even tried, but overall the combat just wasn't fun. Almost nothing I loved about the old game has been carried over and I'm left feeling a bit disappointed. The new mechanics looked great on paper, but failed in execution for our whole group. It seems they were altered just to call it a new edition, not in any way that make an actual improvement to them. Isn't this the point of making a new Alternity, improvements?

I understand the need to try and update things, but I think the wrong things have been changed. I think it would be far better to keep the core mechanics the same as the old system, they weren't perfect but most things were better, at least, in comparison to these beta rules.

Just my two cents, I'll reserve complete judgment until I see how the final books turn out. These are just my (and my groups) opinions on the beta. I hope they keep working on it, I think they could do a lot better before it releases.

We will tackle the other two adventures down the road and see how they play, maybe the some of the issues will smooth out once we get the rules down.

I love the new Protostar setting, it seems set up for grand adventure. Can't wait for that, even if I end up running it in old Alternity.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Alternity Science Fiction RPG Beta Test Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alternity Science Fiction RPG Beta Test Edition
by Leonardo N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2017 20:16:32

This is crap. The up die system with the same old mechanic is what killed this game for me in the first place. It sucks. I think you should instead just re-make the Stardrive campaign and change the system to a generic d20 system or a more storytelling focused system like7th Sea. But this crap again? No thanks.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Alternity Science Fiction RPG Beta Test Edition
by Jason O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2017 17:53:44

I've done a pretty lengthy playtest of this, both in the initial adventure and the new one. I have to say, having been a long time Alternity fan, that this new system is looking extremely promising. I really like the way initiative and damage work. Both are far superior to the old system imo.

I am cautious as to how expanded systems like magic, psionics, etc will work but am hopeful from what I have seen so far.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alternity Science Fiction RPG Beta Test Edition
by Joe M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2017 14:17:46

i had the frist one this look like a winner to updade this great game form the 90s i hope it will a big hit thank you fore frading this reviem



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alternity Science Fiction RPG Beta Test Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2017 18:44:43

First some caveats about my review. First this is based on an initial read-through and not a detailed playtest as yet. When that changes I will probably come back to modify the review. Second, I am a huge fan of the original Alternity RPG. I fell in love with it when I got a preview quick start packet (similar to this one in fact) bundled with a copy of Dragon magazine about a year before the system was released. It is the one RPG I have a complete collection of and every one of my longest campaigns was run using the alternity rules... at least initially.

With that background out of the way, I have to say this version of Alternity is... very different. It seems to get as much of it's game DNA from Strands of Fate as from the game it is named after. The new durability system, armor and talents all seem to be pulled almost completely from the crunchier of the fate variants available. The initiative system is very interesting, I like the idea of what you decide to actually do in a turn influencing how quickly you get to do it, but I'm afraid it might wind up being a little clunky to keep track of in practice, though the using the provided initiative tracker may help with that in actual play. The skill system also feels a little clunkier than I would like after being switched from a roll under to a roll over system...

Ultimately this isn't the old Alternity, but then that isn't really what the intent was... this is the child of Alternity and the many systems that have been developed since its release. Is it close enough to the originial Alternity to really scratch the itch that many of us have for that fondly remembered system? No, but taken on it's own merits and ignoring the name it definitely holds some promise. Unfortunately I am afraid that Using the name Alternity is likely to cause a bit of backlash similar to what D&D 4th edition experienced, because it just changes far more than some will be comfortable with while using the same name. Admittedly I am disappointed to see that "my" alternity isn't really here any more, but this new system seems like a strong one and one I will definitely take out for a spin soon.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Alternity Science Fiction RPG Beta Test Edition
by Christopher W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2017 12:23:58

Ah yes. Alternity 2.0 is here and the beta for it is a piece of crap. This is disappointing from somebody who enjoys Alternity a lot and was looking forward to seeing a new edition.

Unfortunately, in its current form, this beta basically says to Alternity, "Nope. We're going to use your mechanic, adjust things a bit and screw the rest."

I don't usually write reviews for RPG products but I had to here. I would like the designers to answer something: Why in the world did you decide that a roll over mechanic using the Alternity system would work? IT DOESN'T. This is a convulated attempt of taking the Alternity name and make a 'new and improved' system.

I REALLY hope that the designers go back to the drawing board because as it stands now, when this new system comes out officially, I will not even look to buy it.

Yes, I know this is a beta but still... no way would I want to play this.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Primeval Thule Traveler's Guide
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2016 02:37:18

Look, this is an amazing setting, and this book is a great showcase of that. I was on the fence about the 5th edition kickstarter, but then I saw that this primer was free and I grabbed it. I was instantly hooked. This is the setting for which I am most anticipating running a game, and it is because of the way that they have set the world up to be compelling.

Not only is this setting about "Conan Meets Chthulhu", but it is also about playing in an age before recorded history when magic is real, but fading, and monsters stalk the Earth for another few heartbeats of history. Glaciers slowly encroach upon humanity like a sword of damocles and the world is equally at risk of falling into barbarity, depravity, or insanity.

Are you bad ass enough to carve a piece of Thule for yourselves, save the day, or just earn enough treasure to ride out the wintery apocalypse? Play the game and find out.

Seriously, this introduction to the setting should be enough to make you want to buy one of their campaign books.

5 out of 5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Primeval Thule Traveler's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Night of the Yellow Moon 5e
by Eric S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2016 14:10:18

After numerous troubleshoots and several downloads I still cannot view Night of the Yellow Moon in its entirety. I can get up to page 8 and that's it. I use my Samsung tablet, using Adobe Acrobat, and I've never had a problem before in reading any of my previous purchases....until this one. I'm not sure what the problem is, but I would like to know if anyone else is experiencing troubles with this particular file.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Night of the Yellow Moon 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Primeval Thule 5e Campaign Setting
by Harrison L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2016 13:31:04

I thought this book was fantastic. The setting is chock full of interesting locations, cities, plot hooks, and potential quests. The book did a great job setting the tone of the setting and helping GMs come up with ideas for adventures.

Some criticisms: some of the terminology (e.g. "combat advantage") are not quite 5e-standard, as are the monster statblocks. Some of the mechanics are obviously from other systems and don't make much sense in 5e, so overall the conversion is a bit spotty at times. However, since this is primarily a setting book I personally ignored/modified many of the inconsistencies and just used the gobs of awesome flavor and background in the rest of the book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Primeval Thule 5e Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Primeval Thule 5e Campaign Setting
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2016 13:45:08

A pleasure to read, some excellent adventures anda good 5e adaption Recommended



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Primeval Thule Traveler's Guide
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2016 12:18:45

Between the high quality artwork, the easy to follow to design, and the dozens and dozens of plot hooks, this is an excellent book for anyone looking for inspiration for a Conan or Lost World feel.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Primeval Thule Traveler's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Primeval Thule 5e Campaign Setting
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2016 02:53:30

What is Primeval Thule? Primeval Thule is an RPG campaign setting of the Sword & Sorcery genre. Primeval Thule 5e is the adaptation of the said setting to D&D 5e. There are already versions for 13th Age, Pathfinder and D&D 4e.

In game terms, Primeval Thule is an untamed continent in an alternate Earth, where savage people dwell in ruins of forgotten civilizations, battling horrors that might even come from other planes of existence.

How does it feel like? Imagine Conan-meets-Cthulu. Lots of barbarians, jungles, slavery and horror.

More specifically, the setting is at an age where civilization is somewhere between bronze and iron age. The technological level of medieval Europe that most settings are familiar with is absent. Here, basic metalworking provides items of copper and bronze, complex armor (like plate) do not exist, complex weapons (like hand crossbows) do not exist either. Also, magic (both arcane and divine) is considered rare and dangerous; clerics seldom have the divine favor to be able to cast spells and few are the people that can actually read and learn spells.

So, this is all about brawny barbarians battling monsters? No, far from it. There are factions that can add substantial depth to your campaign: corrupted officials, mad tyrants, evil cults. Things can be much less straightforward in Thule.

How about the Campaign Setting Guide? Well, the Primeval Thule 5e Campaign Setting will relieve $19.95 from your wallet for a watermarked PDF.

In 273 pages of high-quality PDF one can find pretty much everything to play and run games in Primeval Thule using D&D 5e rules.

The Guide can actually be broken down in two major parts:

Chapters 1 & 2 can be used as a Player's Guide, with Chapter 1 being a transfer of the Primeval Thule Traveler's Guide and Chapter 2 having all the available PC options. Also, part of Chapter 7 has new spells available, so I guess one can add this to the Player's Guide too.

Chapters 3 to 7 have pretty much everything needed from the GM (or DM, since this is for 5e D&D) in order to prepare and run adventures in this setting. We have a complete and thorough description of Thule, additional information on factions and major NPCs as also maps and detailed description of some sites and dungeons. Furthermore, Quodeth, the City of Thieves is presented in an even more detailed manner, providing ready material for multi-level adventures in this site alone (amongst this material are also three ready-to-run adventures) . But for me, the most interesting part of the book is Chapter 4. Here we have the guidelines of the authors to all the DMs that want to run adventures in Thule. And even more importantly, these guidelines expand from Thule to other Sword & Sorcery settings and Fantasy in general.

Furthermore, in Chapter 6 we have Bestiary, with some Thule-specific monsters, like the Abominable Sloth, the Sabretooth and the Mi-Go as also some notable NPCs and other humanoids.

The overall quality received from the Guide is top notch, except from some of the art that me personally think that could be better. With the PDF of the Guide you also get a High-res map of Thule, that is excellent to print and hang from your wall. Furthermore, you also get Player Reference Cards, that actually serve as a perfect hand-out in order to immerse players to Thule even further.

What's new with Thule? What makes Thule special? Apart from the aforementioned new monsters, this is a setting that tries to incorporate elements of horror to Sword & Sorcery Fantasy. This in turn can be made with the specific design of locations, factions, NPCs and monsters, but also with encouraging of the use of madness rules, in a way pretty similar to the Out of the Abyss official module of 5e D&D.

In the players options side, there is not much new. Players get a new race, Atlanteans, the descendants of a lost empire, that are basically higher breed humans. From the other races that we know from 5e D&D PHB, we have Dwarves, Elves, Halflings and Humans. The first three each have a specific Thulean subrace and Humans have four distinct ethnic groups (plus a couple of ideas for more). Of course, the designers provide the freedom to DMs to add whichever race they see fit.

The available classes are equally less. There is no new "Thulean" class available and from the ones that we know from 5e D&D PHB, the Paladins are excluded due to thematic clash with this setting. As for the others, it is stated that Bards, Monks and Sorcerers are extremely rare (so you may skip these options unless you HAVE to have them). The others are left pretty much the same, although I would propose some changes to all of them (but more of this later, I hope).

The big change is the introduction of Character Narratives. Character Narratives are a cross-breed of backgrounds as we've known them from 5e D&D and Prestige Classes. They give the character additional proficiences (skills or tools), link to the Setting and in some instances income and followers as the PC progresses in level. Of course, you may not use them with the backgrounds of 5e D&D or you might not use them at all, but they do provide a certain Thulean feel and they are a nice change. A Player may choose a Narrative at the start of the campaign and the designers state that this choice can be altered at a later stage, although I would be very strict about that.

We also have some new weapons, some new types of armor and of course new spells and magic items. The latter are a few, since this is generally a low-magic setting.

Would you run it then? I surely hope so. I love the low-magic setting, the dark feel and the brutality of the age. I greatly appreciate all the guidelines the designers give in order to run games in Thule and there is a wealth of information and ideas in the Guide.

I believe the greatness of a Setting Guide (and generally of products in our hobby) is measured in how many ideas you spurn when you finish reading it. And I got quite a few so this is why I'd recommend Primeval Thule 5e.

So, if you'd like to run a Sword & Sorcery Fantasy Horror Campaign, Primeval Thule is certainly for you, but it can be much more than that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Primeval Thule 5e Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates