DriveThruRPG.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
7th Sea: Crescent Empire
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2017 13:21:06

What You Will Find Inside Crescent Empire

Probably the biggest expansion of 7th Sea yet in terms of fluff. Within these pages, there's summaries of the following nations:

  • Not-Turkey (a new Empress has taken the throne, dealing with courtly and harem intrigue while trying to reform the whole Empire; this region should evoke a very Game of Thrones feeling)
  • Not-Israel/Palestine (without the real world... issues, the Israelis and Palestinians are working together to shore up the Empress and recover from a magical attack that made half of their tribes disappear)
  • Not-Iran (a country tearing itself apart, where only a few of the rebels can be described as Heroes, the previous Empreror was the Shah's boyfriend, and he plots to overthrow the Empress while his people rise against him)
  • Not-Arabia (the strongest soldiers in the Empire left reeling from climate change that turned their plains into a desert, the Djinn are flocking to their lands and causing more and more trouble)
  • Not-Jerusalem (a devout city-state tied to two of the Prophets, run by an ancient order of Assassins and an immortal Guardian that is no longer so immortal; some of the Assassins are straying from their path and becoming Villains)

Each nation comes with a new unique Sorcery, stats on their most important heroes and villains, and unique Backgrounds to choose from at character creation.

New Advantages.

Summaries of the religions that came before the Vaticine Church (Not-Judaism, Not-Islam, Not-Zoroastrianism, Not-Orthodox Christianity) along with their practices and core beliefs.

New enemy types, focusing mostly on the Djinn as beings similar to (but definitely different from) the Avalonian Sidhe and the Sarmation Dievai.

New Duelist Schools.

A new type of Dueling that's essentially a form of Battle Rapping/Yo Mama fight.

Rules for running Mass Battles, of sizes ranging from one village against another, to one Empire against another, along with a level-up system for your troops if you fight multiple battles.

What You Will NOT Find

Pirate/sailing content. This book is entirely focused on courtly intrigue and setting expansion. There is nothing here if you're looking for expanded Pirate rules, new ship backgrounds, trading rules, etc. Most of the Character Backgrounds are fitting for campaigns that never go near the ocean.

Rules for running a Kingdom. You may be able to raise and fight with an army now, but there are no rules for running the Kingdom from which that army is raised.

Content regarding how the Empire and Theah's nations interact, and vice versa. The only thing set in stone is that Numa (Not-Greece from Pirate Nations) and the Crescent Empire hate each other. For a book that's 70% fluff, this is something that is sorely missed.

In Conclusion

A good book if you want to run a game that has a spiritual/political focus or that never goes near the water. You could easily run a game with just this book and the free rules available on the John Wick Presents site if those are the things you want.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Crescent Empire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
7th Sea: Khitai Quickstart
by Ian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2017 12:33:32

Pretty cool storyline, and seems it would be easily adaptable to any rules system, which is what I plan to do with it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Khitai Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Cut to the Chase: Dramatic Chase Sequences
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2017 22:56:05

Tom's Cut to the Chase is a fantastic resource, possible the best I've seen of the Explorer's Society supplements so far. If you're at all intersted in 7th Sea, you should definitely pick it up. Here's some of the best parts about it:

  • Momentum! One of the biggest complaints people have about 2nd Edition is that they don't know how to challenge their Players. Momentum, the use of a "Target" number of Raises that Heroes are working towards over the course of several Rounds is a great way to help mitigate some of those concerns, especially since the Actions of the Heroes can shift Momentum in their favor or against them.
  • There's TONS of examples throughout the text, helping you get a really good idea about how to use each of the pieces
  • Several references for when you're suffering from Creative Fatigue that you can throw at your Players.
  • Examples of now Skills could be used, even ones you might not expect like Perform and Empathy, during a Chase.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cut to the Chase: Dramatic Chase Sequences
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Cathay: Jewel of the East (Swashbuckling Adventures)
by Mark E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2017 09:07:32

By FAR the worst of the 7th Sea line. The power creep in Cathay makes this totally unplayable with the original game. Then theres the fact that they tried to shoehorn in all of the far east into one tiny book. My advice? Dont buy this unless its the only area your players will be.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cathay: Jewel of the East (Swashbuckling Adventures)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Cards on the Table
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2017 15:53:19

I was just about to build a tool like this for myself when I saw these. These cards are attractive and well laid out, and come with several excellent examples for use. Cards are color-coded for easy recognition, but the coloring isn't critical, which means you'll be fine running these off on your black-and-white printer. Use of ink and color is conservative, so you won't burn through your toner cartridge printing these.

If you're a 7th Sea GM and you're looking for a tool to help you choose Opportunities and Consequences on the fly, or just to help remind your players of the Opportunities/Consequences you've already chosen, I recommend these.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cards on the Table
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
The Castle
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2017 06:53:55

The Castle is an excellent adventure. Each stage/step is made of several steps and you can make the adventure you want: more action, less action, more horror/less horror, choose the ending you want – the tools are there, just pick and go. It’s not perfect – there are minor typos (e.g. see page XX), and there could be more consequences/opportunities for each scene and reminders about the scene overall importance: For example there is a library, which is the key location for most of the approaches. The text could remind us that, for example „if you decided that you want to lift the curse, the library offers this and that pieces of information.” But these are minor things, and an experienced GM can manage easily. It took us 5 hours to complete and I rushed the ending a bit, since the group decided to fight the Villain. Using all the scenes it can be easily stretched to probably 8 hours, and with bare bones (4 scenes shoud do it) – down to 3 or 4. As such, it is much, much better as a starting adventure than “The Caliberi Letters” for one fundamental reason: the story it tells has a beginning and an end, therefore is much more meaningful for the players than the Letters (which is really and intro to a much larger story and players don’t care about its conclusion). If you’re wondering which of the two you should get – get this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Castle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
The Ninth Eye
by Evan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2017 12:10:55

I bought this primarily to see a good example of how a 7th Sea adventure is constructed, and that's what I got! The theme is not really in line with what I want for my games, but I thought it was well-written and useful for my purposes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ninth Eye
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
The Big Book of Little Games
by Kristopher R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2017 00:15:03

My only complaint is it does not include Dragon: A little game for little dragons. Yes that game was kind of incomplete and uses the same system as Cat. But I still think Dragon is the best game John Wick ever made! Putting thatt gripe aside, the Big Book of Little Games delivers. I own the Flux and while the art is different, the content is the same. The text has a cleaner look. The Pdf has no book marks you you have to scroll and can't just jump to the game you want. But All the content is crisp black and white and seems printer freindly. Also some of the games seem to be able to mix and match together. Worth the price unless you already have all these games seperately.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Big Book of Little Games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
The Meretrices of Magdelene
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2017 21:34:20

A secret society of little guys looking out for the other little guys - that's kind of neat. It's a good concept that I wish had been expanded on more. Here are some things I'd like to see expanded on:

  • A description of what the Meretrices think of the various Nations and Secret Societies as well as possible conflicts and alliances.
  • Some fun plot hooks to draw heroes into the story outside of the earning and spending favor that can help me link the organization into my campaigns, and
  • An NPC or two that I can introduce to my Heroes so I don't need to just make something from the ground up.


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Meretrices of Magdelene
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Publisher Reply:
Hello! Thank you so much for the excellent feedback, I will consider an updated version!
Sweet Jenny
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2017 20:21:20

Wow. I was not expecting to find so much in this fun little resoure. I haven't had a chance to play the game itself yet, but just from reading throug the rules look like a solid game in itself, but what's REALLY neat about this resource is how it fits Sweet Jenny the card game into somethng that Heroes can play AND unlike a lot of little games within games lke this it has rules to make Heroes just outright awesome. You want a casino royal-esq scene where against all odds the Hero manages to come out on top? There are rules that allow players to make moves and manipulate play in a way to make that happen so that you can literally emulate your Hero being a card shark even if you - the player - are just okay at it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sweet Jenny
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Eldritch High: A Little Game about Wizards, Witches and Warlocks
by Caroline G. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2017 06:47:39

This is a very poorly put together system. The idea behind it is interesting. But the result that is this pdf file, is horrible. The whole booklet is poorly written and confusing. Stuff only being mentioned one time. And things being mentioned by several different names so you have to guess that they mean the same. There's also funktions that don't have any meaning in the game like fudge. Could never find out when or what that's for.

Almost impossible to make the characters you want as well unless you either want a jack of all trades wizard or a skillful fighter. Cause of the restriction to classes.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Eldritch High: A Little Game about Wizards, Witches and Warlocks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
7th Sea: Nations of Théah, Volume 1
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2017 19:15:28

The material covered in this book could have and should have been included in the core book. The content is far too "thin". While the material attempts to answer overall excluded content questions from the core book, it still feels very incomplete; and that there are two volumes priced separately just feels like a money grab.

I want information about playing a role playing game based on a good, solid setting, not a "The Once and Future King" retelling (T.H. White did a better job of telling that story). Overall, this lackluster book feels like a disjointed tall tale instead of role-play material. Headings, subheadings, basic paragraphs and bullet points. That's what you're buying. Rules? Stats? Solid Content? Nope.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Nations of Théah, Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
7th Sea: Compendium
by Chris T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2017 16:12:05

I bought this because I saw it on ForeverVerse. I looks cool. I haven't used it yet but WOOO! Pirates!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
7th Sea: Nations of Théah, Volume 2
by Tim F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2017 13:21:39

Great read! Adds a lot of much needed backpround information to the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Nations of Théah, Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
The Devil's Due
by Seth W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2017 15:10:22

A helpful resource for pirate adventures. Almost a must have if you plan to use The Devil Jonah as an important element in your campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Devil's Due
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 240 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates