DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Peter S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2016 00:06:06

I'm giving this 4 Stars.... for now...


Based on the test session I ran (which was admittidly off the cuff) the set up of the rules felt very odd. Fights felt strange, performing actions felt strange etc.


I feel like this strangeness/weirdness came from a few places., the first being that I'm more used too/like the random chance inherent in most systems and the "complete control" over scenes in 7th Sea 2nd Edition kind of threw me for a loop. The second place I feel the weirdnes comes from is that I may have "run it wrong" in a sense as I'm used to using the results of chance to aid in telling the story, here I need to base it around resource management... which is something new to me, so if I run it a few more times I may like it more.


Other than that though, the book is beautiful, the lay out is great and the rules are easy to understand. Also my group found Character Creation to be fun and evocative without being too time consuming.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Charles P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2016 08:52:05

I really liked this book. Quite a few good story hooks built into the various Country descriptions.


The system seems really interesting for telling stories, instead of focusing on crunching mechanics.


It probably won't be a great system for people focused on heavy combat or simulation junkies, but as long as people know that going in, I believe they'll enjoy the system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2016 16:18:50

Finally a new version of 7th Sea. The PDF is nice looking and is easy to read. The rules are specifically designed to leave a lot up to the descriptive skill of the players and the GM, for better or worse.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Brandon D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2016 13:31:49

I've played a lot of different RPG's and I appreciate how rules can make or break a game. 1st ed. 7th Sea was hands down the best at swashbuckling. Sure it had flaws and required a lot of house rules, but the game mechanics and the emphasis on drama allowed for swashbuckling like no other game had ever achieved. For an example if you want to hop onto a cannon using your feet to direct it at a band of pirates, then just before it fires you grab a rope, swing past some gunfire, sneak a kiss from the captive noble woman (while still swinging) then land in front of the pirate captain to begin your epic sword fight... Then 7th sea would not only allow you to do so, but reward you for doing it! 7th Sea 2 modifies many of the previous game mechanics, adds a narrative spin to the rules, and updates the world of Theah. This isn't a shiny new cover with fixes to the old rules, this is an entirely new 7th Sea!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Anthony D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2016 14:32:48

Like many others, I backed this the very moment I could and started devouring every detail I could. Without going into too much detail (check my blog for more thoughts and reviews), here's what I will say about 7th Sea without comparing it to the 1st Edition (that's for the blog).


(TL;DR: I'm giving the game 4 stars because it's solid, easy to use, versatile, has great potential, and is overall a good game even factoring in the flaws. Yes, I loved 1st Edition, no, it had little to do with influencing my rating)


The setting of 7th Sea is like our real-world Europe, only with a heavy dose of fantasy. What if England recieved the magic and glamour of King Arthur's court? What if Italy was ruled by men who use Machiavelli's "The Prince" as a rulebook? What if France had non-stop heroics like we see in The Three Musketeers? What if the monsters from fairy tales were real, and were roaming the dark, blood drenched countryside of Germany as it recovers from the Thirty Years War?


7th Sea answers all of this, and then some.


The game is built around the idea that you are playing a hero. You are supposed to ride the chandelier to another floor and trap the villains with it in the process. You should find yourself in a trap and have a clever means of escape. Getting hit should only cause a scratch that motivates you to greatness.


7th Sea's mechanic is simple to learn and rather versatile, relying solely on d10s and a flexible pass/fail mechanic. Character creation is a breeze (seasoned 7th Sea players had characters finished in minutes, newbies took just a hair longer), and action scenes move at a rather fast clip.


Magic is handled well here, requiring the expenditure of a Hero Point (tokens you get by doing awesome things or playing up weaknesses/quirks), but you can do amazing things such as turning into an animal or teleporting to another location.


The art is great (even if it is a bit odd at times), it is a full-color rulebook that makes great use of colors and artwork, and is pretty well laid out.


The game is easy to learn, easy to tweak, and has some worthwhile mechanics that improve it's versatility (I'm in love with the Villain mechanics of Strength and Influence, honestly).


Like others have mentioned, it's not perfect (no game truly is). It has a number of typos that still survived the editors and the revisions offered by backers (I found a number of typos I called out that are still there). Some parts of the book feel a bit unfinished, some on purpose (i.e. "the decision is up to the GM"), some possibly accidental (feels like some areas are lacking and had things on the cutting room floor). Some rules are a bit odd, such as how magic is "scaled" (only one magic has "ranks" for abilities, while the rest simply give the power in question), which may leave players and GMs a bit frustrated. There are also some elements of the setting that are lacking or left vague, making it a bit difficult to run the game out of the box without having access to many elements of the 1st Edition setting books (I find myself often picking up the 1st Edition corebook or nations books for information during my games and hoping they won't be changed too drastically).


There are more books coming, and I am hoping that, going forward, they will help fill in the gaps we have in this book and improve upon the product quality.


That said, I will give this game 4 stars. It's a great game with a solid foundation, a strong and passionate fanbase, and some great talent behind it. While it may have angered some fans of the 1st Edition, I found many of the changes refreshing, and the changes I'm wary about can be easily changed. The game is also versatile, allowing for easy modifications or hacks (I'm working on a Dishonored hack that is moving along surprisingly well).


Is it a perfect game? No, it isn't, but it's a great game for anyone who likes swashbuckling, stories of derring-do, and fantasy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2016 13:10:31

I backed this game on Kickstarter and after reading the new rules I love the new rules and lore



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2016 23:24:55

As you will no doubt notice, I don't normally review games. I am doing it here however to address some of the compliments and complaints that have been said here by others. As you can see, I did not give this a five star review. That is not to say it isn't a great game and rather quick to pick up. Nor is it saying that this game doesn't have its flaws. In truth, the dream of a perfect game for every setting is a pure fantasy andf those that believe they have found it are deluding themselves.


The reason for my four star rating has something to do with what a person wrote in the one star review here. They called this game a fan-fiction. It's not. It is also not the game that many of us fell in love with back those any years ago. What it is in many ways is a love letter to all us fans of the original setting and a way for us to introduce new friends to this world we have waxed poetically about for the last several years.


That being said, there are those that have felt betrayed by the fact that the game doesn't follow the trend of having every nuance explored and it being a hundred percent faithful to the original. Most of the gameplay and much of the fluff has been rewritten with a whole nation added to the continent of Theah and the game being pushed away from the ultra detailed minutia oriented character creation and obsessive game balance towards what it was trying to convey in the first place. A game where you play as a cinematic hero.


Is this game for everyone? No, but then what game is? It is a niche that I hope to introduce my friends to and share an adventure on the high seas for a long time. A thanks to the good folks at John Wick Presents and here's to a good journey over the next several months.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2016 13:59:18

Backed this product on Kickstarter based on pure potential, which it more than realized. 7th Sea (Second Edition) is streamlined for fun, fast and interactive storytelling. It embraces players making decisions and collaborating with the GM.


Most of the core rulebook is focused on setting, conflict, and character creation/development (you know, storytelling); with helpful hints for the GM througout. Mechanically, 7th Sea eschews lots of rules and tables to keep the game fast and fun. It is designed so your characters begin as demi-gods and improve from there: players/groups who enjoy grindy dungeon crawls may find the lack of peril (and relative lack of loot) unfulfilling. For myself, 7th Sea's focus on being able to say "yes" to the players is delightful.


Incredibly pleased with this product, looking forward to the upcoming source books!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by fione n. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2016 16:50:42

When John Wick started his Kickstarter campaign for a second edition of 7th Sea, I was as excited as seemingly half the internet. I backed his campaign and was rewarded with a preview pdf. When I got it, it looked very promising - for an early alpha stage. Shortly after, I got a second version, with a few spelling mistakes less. Still looked promising, with still a lot to do. Two weeks later, it went into print.


I still struggle with the idea of something that got so much support to get thrown on the market in such an unfinished fashion. John Wicks collected enough money to pay an army of writers for several years. Did he use it? Not on the rulebook, at least.
This book is not a rulebook for an RPG. IT IS A FANFICTION.
Yes, it has interesting ideas. Like I said, SO much potential. But to understand even a part of it, you have to know and love the original. There is no way for new players to join in the magic of 7th Sea with this book. The texts contradict the rules, particularily in the sorcery department, some information appears at multiple sections of the book, some does not appear at all. I have never been so disappointed in an RPG rulebook before.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Jay S. A. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/30/2016 05:26:03

To call this a 2nd Edition feels like a bit of a misnomer. John Wick has taken the old 7th Sea, tossed the old Roll and Keep mechanics overboard, and rewrote much of the setting and history to create this new version of 7th Sea. As such, it feels more fitting to use a term more commonly applied to movies: a reboot.


A More Cinematic Experience


7th Sea's new mechanics lend itself to a style of play where the player characters are Heroes with a capital "H". Men and women with amazing skill and luck to live out larger-than-life adventures.


The new system is fairly straightforward. Upon declaring the character's action for the turn, they roll a pool of d10's determined by the sum of their Trait and Skill. Players then assemble sets of 10 from the results of the roll, with each set counting as a Raise. These are then used to "buy" narrative achievements such as successfully meeting a goal, taking advantage of an opportunity, or just avoiding harm.


On the GM's part, their job is to present the players with Opportunities and Threats within the scene, each one building towards a cinematic encounter between the Heroes and the opposition, be it a horde of goons, a devious trap, or the villain of the story.


You're not the World, but a Stage


GMs who cleave towards a more simulation-based philosophy of running a game will find themselves somewhat challenged by the chief conceit of 7th Sea second edition. The game is engineered so that your role is not that of a director rather than that of a referee.


Threats and Villains exist so that you can highlight the Heroes. And even the character creation ensures that the Heroes know exactly what they're getting into, and how they'd like each tale to end.


This eliminates a lot of the creative input from the side of the GM, and those who are used to a more open, sandbox method might find themselves lost as to how to properly run the game.


Pretty as it gets


I will say that the artwork and layout for the book is gorgeous, with full colour illustrations and easily readable text. The lack of over-sexualised images is a major plus, and I found a few pieces that took into account the LGBT fans as well, something that I feel will be very much appreciated.


Conclusions


7th Sea Second Edition isn't an old car with a new coat of paint. It's a familiar shade of paint on a brand new car. If you're looking for more of the old, then you might want to be prepared to be surprised.


However, if you're looking for a game that delivers rope-swinging swashbuckler-y fun with the ability to take your own story by the reins, then this is the game for you. John Wick clearly knew what he wanted to do with the game, and didn't waste time killing sacred cows to make it happen.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Isaac R. D. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2016 10:36:29

7th Sea Second Edition is a rules light story focused swashbuckling rpg. Return to a reimagined Theah as you sail the seven seas, duel vicious villains, search ancient ruins, and attend grand balls wrought with political tension. This edition uses D10s like the original, but with a different twist. The book also covers everything in one beautiful high quality pdf that took the first edition two books to go over. I am extremely happy with my purchase and heartily recommend 7th Sea Second Edition to anyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2016 05:40:46

7th Sea (2nd ed.) is the new generation of a heart warming, lovable game of adventure, daring do and swashbuckling in the land of Theah.


Will you go help unearth dangerous relics of an ancient race from ruins lost in steamy jungles or maybe buried in the catacombs beneath ancient moldering mausoleums and find that it's a matter of leverage whilst the merchant prince's guards hunt you down?


Or perhaps you will be hanging from the rigging prepared to board ship as you and your scurvy bunch of Sea Dog friends chase down a treasure galleon for Queen, Country and Glamour!


The new system is very narrative driven, you roll for an advantage and then describe how that advantage is used to achieve your goals... eventually.


Be witty, be quick and most of all have a wonderful time sailing the seven seas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Elyezer L. d. C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2016 23:42:25

As a kickstarter backer I was already impressed by the interesting new system they came up with. When the book finally came to me through the previews they sent me I was instantly hooked. I just couldn't stop reading. Every section was better than the one before. Their focus on role-playing is amazing, the system is really simple and makes you really use your imagination, beeing the GM or a player. Every play is a risk, every scene has so many angles, so many things to explore.
The only reason I won't give a perfect score to the book is because I missed a world history section. Don't get me wrong, the story is there, but you have to piece it together trhough out the book.
All in all, it has been close to a decade since I last found a RPG book that got me so excited to play. Keep up the good work guys.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Iam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2016 18:03:20

Fun and easy. If you are familiar with FATE it is very similar with an emphisis on being thematic, dramatic, big, and using "raises" to accomplish your desired actions, which you are encouraged to describe to the GM and party, and be a hero. Very high seas drama and a lot of fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
by Nick J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2016 15:33:37

Haven't quite finished it, but everything I've read has been absolutely fantastic. I started playing in a 7th Sea adventure over on gamersplane.com and am having a blast. Also, any any gaming system that has a mechanic called "The McClane Effect" which makes the characters more awesome the more damage they take is brilliant!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 167 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates