DriveThruRPG.com
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG
by Adrian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2017 15:36:19

Review of the Hardback Edition I saw this was using the D6 System as developed by my all time favourite RPG company West End Games so went for the hardback/PDF option on whim and boy, am I glad I did. I had no prior knowledge of the setting until I saw the rules and it dragged me right in. The d6 system meshes well with Manga and the end result is a very good and entertaining product. The quality of the writing style is good. The use of art works well to illustrate the game and is far from gratuitous. I guess the best way to describe it, if I have to compare it to other products, is a WEG D6 version of Talsorian's Teenagers From Outer Space and GURPS IOU but with more action and, actually, potentially more humour. If you want to play school age humans, aliens, space princesses and the titicular ninjas then this WILL be for you. I am really looking forward to running this more often. Great job Battlefield

5 for quality 5 for writing 5 for rules usage 5 Overall



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Chronicles of Ardis: Concordance
by Lindsay B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2017 23:11:17

I very much enjoyed this escape from reality! The settings were uniquely descriptive and the characters were a joy to learn about. I am quite excited about the sequel! Well done, my friend! By the way, I have met Tracy. Super nice, and witty. All around great person. Check out the book! You won't be disappointed!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Chronicles of Ardis: Concordance
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG (Savage Worlds)
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2017 20:24:18

This is definitely a fun setting for Savage Worlds (having bought this to be part of a game of Ninja High School where I played what could only be summarized as, "Vanilla Ice, the Power Ranger"). However, it really feels like a rushed conversion that could have been run past an editor who's familiar with the Savage Worlds rules. The archetypes in Particular are a headache (Some have too many Attribute Points, others have stuff that could still be spent but you wouldn't know it unless you're familiar with Savage Worlds, and another has powers that do not exist as the Core Rules describe them). Also, one of the setting rules regarding Power Point use is half-missing on Page 25.

I'm not saying you shouldn't buy this... far from it, as Ninja High School is evidence that you can do 'Anime' style settings in Savage Worlds without reinventing the wheel. I'm just telling you to make sure that you're familiar enough with Savage Worlds that you can patch this puppy up before you try to run it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your honest review. Changes will be made and an new version will be uploaded as soon as possible. I appreciate your honest candor about the book. What happened, and what we failed to notice in the file, was that the wrong file was uploaded. Please excuse our mess, and be patient while we get this straightened out.
Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG
by Simon H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2017 12:42:07

Probably 3.5 stars if I'm honest. It's not bad but... see that blurb above this review? The one about the product? At the time of me writing this review it's about 80% based on the history of Ninja High School and 20% on the Ninja High School RPG, mostly stating that this is an RPG. That's kind of the attitude I think that was brought to making this product.

I don't actually have too many complaints about the RPG. It's a simple, solid adaptation with enough background info to get you into the world and enough rules detail to get someone new to RPG's started. There are some technical errors that caused me to raise my eyebrows but nothing egregious. But at the end of the day you'll look over it and get the feeling this was knocked together as a quick cash in: take Ninja High School, copy and paste together the d6 rules, put up some stats for some of the recognizable characters, throw in a page and a half of plot seeds then sell. Yeah, that's all there pretty much is to this.

Now, don't get me wrong, a competent GM (sorry, Principal) and/or fan of the series should be able to work with this. The basics are all there and they are usable. Hence why this gets the three star rating. But you get the feeling the company didn't actually care about this product and that in turn discourages you from playing it unless you bring in some real enthusiasm before you crack it open. Just know that you're dealing with a product that forgot to do things like check where Professor Steamhead's Intellect was before printing his stats.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ben Dunn's Ninja High School the Anime and Manga RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Chronicles of Ardis: Concordance
by Leanne F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/10/2017 23:20:29

I enjoyed the story presented in this book, and would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes detailed world settings, and is happy to keep track of lots of characters, so long as you are able to overlook a few flaws.

The book has a couple of issues, mostly in terms of editting, however any reader aware of this before they start and happy to overlook it should find an interesting story with some compelling character development over the entire tale and plot twists in the latter half of the book.

The second half of the novel really shows the author hitting his stride, and I particularly liked the differences in the characters that populate the setting, plus the feeling of depth, even on those occassions when things shifted gears a little unnaturally.

The book is a first novel, and feels like it, but I dont feel this is of any disservice in and of itself, it is simply a fact. Clearly, the author has a world well built in his head, and the ground work to write many and more stories in its divergent locales and cultures, and I would be eager to pick up a sequel if and when one is available.

For the price, I feel this a good novel worth a read, especially for lovers of complex settings.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Chronicles of Ardis: Concordance
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you so much for your review. You do have our apologies for any editing mistakes you find, editors are human too and they were just over looked. Before book two goes to press, we will re-edit this book and try to clean up any errors that still might be lingering in the book. This is the authors first novel, one which I loved, which is why I decided to publish it. You are right, the second half of the book really picks up and shows us the true depth of what Mr. Reeves is capable of doing. I am looking forward to the next book in the series, which I hope will be on the schedule in 2018. Again, thank you so much for your feedback, and your review of the novel. If you have any questions or other comments, please feel free to ask. We love feedback and if we can make the product better because of it, that much the better for not only us, but for our fans and customers as well. Jonathan M. Thompson, Publisher.
Sherwood: The Legend of Robin Hood (Swords & Wizardry Edition)
by Alan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2016 15:38:49

Just read this through, not played yet, but seems like a solid product. It provides a whole campaign in a no-to-low magic medieval England, with a full set of classes, "inventions" to replace magic items and ideas of how to run a Robin Hoodesque campaign ranging from grim to Flynn. However, the best part is probably the swashbuckling and acrobatic combat rules. These are perfect for giving some. Mechanical spice for rules light games like S&W and other retroclones. The books emphasis on a more espionage orientated adventure makes a change from dungeonbashing. ere's a gazetteer of medieval England and rogues gallery of Sherwood's finest, so putting together a fun one-shot for holidays should be pretty straightforward.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sherwood: The Legend of Robin Hood (Swords & Wizardry  Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pulp Fantastic
by David N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2016 07:22:46

This is an incredibly interesting book and an amazing look into a genre. Now I will say off the bat that it doesn't have the sheer quantity of setting material of something like Rocket Age and even though they've provided options for aliens I wouldn't use this book. Rocket Age really has that one covered.

It does however do an amazing job of analysing and breaking down pulp stories, showing the structures and the tropes. The rules feel like a natural fit and as well as providing many pre-made characters it also has plenty of guidance on implementing them and the themes they represent. It doesn't shy away from acknowledging some of the inherent nastiness of the themes either, instead preferring to leave decisions on such things in the hands of the GM.

Its more of a 1920s to 40s toolkit than anything else and feels wonderfully conversational. I actually picked it up due to the lack of an Earth supplement for Rocket Age and it definitely delivers. Also if you aren't familiar with the Vortex rules and want to pick them up I'd recommend this or Rocket Age over the Doctor Who rpg.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Fantastic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Open Anime
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2016 00:36:45

TimothyB got it right on most things, though I disagree on the lack of anime feel and emphasis on magical girls. True almost all the pictures are of computer generated girls with uh, large bras. And most of the character templates are called 'she' even though nothing in most insists that they must be girls. But then most of the characters in a most games are called 'he' in the rules, without ruling out girl characters. Large parts of the book are sections defining what anime's types and ways of doing things are. If you leave them out, of course it won't feel like anime. I really like the anything goes magic system. in short, if you just leave off a lot of the fiddly modifiers, iy makes a great system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Open Anime
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warren C. Norwood's Double Spiral War (Traveller)
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2015 18:05:42

For those who love this SciFi trilogy, this provides game rules for the Double Spiral War. Not that this is not your typical Traveller universe, the ships don't use jump drive and the empires in conflict each cover half of a small galaxy. If you are looking for Third Imperium material, this won't really work completely. On the other hand it has have some good ideas for a referee to borrow from for any sci fi campaign and is also great for creating a Traveller universe that uses some different technology than the typical one.

Variant rules in the book include alternative startship construction drives so the referee can create FTL ships more akin to those in the novel (though the Hunter/Killers using these rules are not a limited as those in the novels) and character career paths and world descriptions are included.

Overall this is a very complete book just lacking the Mongoose Traveller core rules book in order to play a detailed galaxy spanning campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warren C. Norwood's Double Spiral War (Traveller)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pulp Fantastic
by Samuel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2015 23:16:50

Pulp Fantastic is based on the Vortex rules system, as seen in games such as Doctor Who: Adventures in Time and Space, Rocket Age, and Primeval. The rules fit the setting - 1930s pulp action hero adventures - very well. This book is also full of lots of pulpy goodness, including everything you need to make characters like Indiana Jones, Doc Savage, the Shadow, etc., background information and a timeline, rules for gadgets and inventions, creature creation rules, and a solid bestiary. Unfortunately, it also contains an absurdly large number of editing and proof-reading errors, including incorrect page references, rules inconsistencies, and amateurish spelling and grammar errors. Due to that, I really can't recommend anyone purchasing anything more than the PDF, and I'm not even sure about that. I'm actually sorry now that I bought the hardcover. When I eventually do get a chance to run a pulp game with the Vortex system, I'll probably just use the Rocket Age book (so that I have coherent and readable rules to reference at the table), and maybe plunder this for some setting info. If the publisher would make it a point to hire a decent copy editor to give the PDF another pass, I'd definitely bump my rating up to at least 4 stars, and maybe consider using it on its own.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Fantastic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
These errors being addressed. I have no reason except that it was a very bad time in my life, as my wife just passed away and my mind wasnt totally on the game, for which you have my apologies. We are going over everything now with plans to upload a new pdf, and offer a discount for anyone wishing to purchase or repurchase the print version. I appreciate you letting me know of this, and I hope that the fixes will be to your liking.
Open Core Role Playing System Classic
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2014 13:01:51

Out of the 197 pages, 190 are the book. It was added here on August 15, 2005 (9 years ago!). Since then, no updates, or any support, etc. I've checked their site (Battlefieldpress.com): nothing there.

After reading the other reviews, I have to agree with certain parts: Tri-stat d20 power/traits, STR, copy/paste, etc. It could have been better, but seems either rushed, or half done in some ways.

I'm hoping they'll add some sort of update to improve and clarify some parts; it would certainly help.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Open Core Role Playing System Classic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gaslight Victorian Fantasy 2nd Edition (OGL Edition)
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2014 23:49:59

This book is amazing. I got this book after enjoying the savageworlds version. This is the first OGL book I have read in a long time that could draw me back into running d20. Its a full and complete book nothing else needed to play. This book could easily be used to run all kinds of Victorian as well as modern fantasy. This is what d20 Modern should have been. If I do run any OGL setting this is my new OGL main rule set. So much good in this book. The racial feat trees are just the touch of customization that is missing from a lot of OGL books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gaslight Victorian Fantasy 2nd Edition (OGL Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Swords and Wizardry Field Guide to City of Clocks
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2014 08:43:01

So I loved the setting of CoC and when I saw a "conversion" of sorts for S&W I jumped. What I got was a little more disappointing. It was only a portion of the S&W rules grafted onto the setting. The inclusion of the magic user class seemed shoe horned in instead of more blended to the setting. The book was advertised as being 88 pages but was actually only 58. That includes the OGL and other filler pages that don't actually have any game content. One of the setting specific races didn't even get the scant rules conversion as the other two. I was hoping for game stats for equipment, NPC write ups or even a bare bones bestiary. In the end the reader is just referred to the S&W core rules for any of that. I do not wish to degrade someone else's work but this feels very incomplete and leaves the GM with the lion's share of converting. At this point I would say this could be a free download or maybe $1-2. Not the same cost as the setting book.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Swords and Wizardry Field Guide to City of Clocks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I would like to address a couple of points, 1) the book was never advertised as being 88 pages, so I have no idea where the reviewer got that information. 2) the book was designed to be grafted onto existing S&W core rules, and not a complete game. However, the comment about the bestiary is a good one and will be added to the book. It will be given as an update to this book, so anyone that purchases this book will get the bestiary free.
Open Core Role Playing System Classic
by Arthur S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2014 01:59:24

It was looking good, until I read the STR chart. How the hell did they derive those numbers from the STR stat? It looks like they pulled numbers out of their ass for levels 1-10. I was hoping to use it for superhuman characters, where I knew how much the character could lift. Their chart maxes out at a dead lift of 880 pounds: how do I extend the STR table for someone of say, a hundred times normal human STR? There is no clear formula for higher STR. Hell, this isn't a drawback just for 'superhero' games. What if I want to stat out a giant in a Fantasy game? Or a demigod? Would it have really been that hard to come up with an equation?



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Open Core Role Playing System Classic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gaslight Victorian Fantasy 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds Edition)
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2014 21:18:25

Any one who knows me knows I love Victorian era mystery and horror. What stands out to me in Gaslight is its information on secret societies and hidden places. Every page gives me ideas for games I would like to run. Again for its size, this product is full of campaign starters. From secret societies pulling strings behind the scenes, to creatures of the night walking the streets of London. Magic, Monsters and Dark agendas. Its everything I could ask for in a Victorian era source book.

As a side note. I started off thinking Gaslight would make a great supplement to PEG's very own Rippers setting. Which I love. Now I feel Rippers would make a great supplement for Gaslight. Gaslight could take Rippers games well beyond the Rippers world. Gaslight has a (in my opinion) better social standings rules than Rippers does as well.

If your a Victorian era fan as I am, I don't think you can go wrong with Gaslight.

Here is my favorite line out of the entire book. "The head of MI 7 is the quiet yet brilliant Mycroft Holmes, elder brother of the noted detective." ......I'm SOLD!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gaslight Victorian Fantasy 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 52 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates