DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Dust Warfare: Core Rulebook
by Tony C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2012 15:16:43

Now the download works! Knew you guys would get it fixed. The game itself is very enjoyable. I would rank it as one of the best army level 28mm games currently available. Excellent mechanics that provide a believable command experience without complicated rules. Plus the models are very nice!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dust Warfare: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogue Trader: Into The Storm
by Christian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2012 13:25:33

A great book, but the last update is buggy.
on every page you get an error "Wrong operand type".



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: Into The Storm
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deathwatch: Rites of Battle
by Lars-Emil S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2012 05:44:26

Good quality and good price only negative is that all bookmarks in one list instead of organized by chapter drags down the experience.


Content in book is invaluable as it opens for characters from new chapters. Also good is the new deeds that gives GM the possibility to make story related advaces to the players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: Rites of Battle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deathwatch: Mark of the Xenos
by Lars-Emil S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2012 05:40:30

Good quality and good price only negative is that all bookmarks in one list instead of organized by chapter drags down the experience.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: Mark of the Xenos
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: The Book of Change
by Will G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2012 10:32:16

Great presentation and a lot of useful content.


Pros:
Excellent presentation.
In-depth look at the corruption mechanic and its effects on characters in the game world.
A full-length adventure focused on the machinations of Tzeentch.


Cons:

Recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: The Book of Change
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Player's Guide
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/14/2012 06:38:17

One of the core strengths of Games Workshop is that they really know how to develop an in-depth game world and they have chosen Fantasy Flight to translate this vision into an RPG. When I read the first offering of WH RPG, I was put off a little by the seeming novelty factor of the cards, funny dice and other accoutrements required to be purchased that only worked for this one game.


The Players Guide goes a long way to addressing this issue for me, and in many ways, makes playing the game a lot more enticing. Whilst this is essentially a 'big book of rules', the writing style is such that the concepts are usually understandable on the first reading and the conceptual flow of information in logical. It covers all aspects of playing the game and provides some sidebars for the GM (such as 'Encumbrance and common sense', a must read for all GMs). Everything from character creation, to playable races, gear, combat and healing and spellcasting are covered as well as some of the more exotic questions. Want a suit of Gromril armour (and what dwarf doesn't?) or dream to swing one of the blades of Hoerth? The rules are here for your pleasure.


Included are a ton of careers (both the basic and advanced careers) drawn from four other supplements and the cards are all presented in the Appendix.


The narrative elements are also included, giving an insight to the world of Warhammer (my favourite being the section which reinforces the 'Skaven Myth', which has been a great part of Warhammer since its' earliest days).


I did mention that the 'novelty factor' was the initial reason why I didn't become too invested in the game. Chapter 14 'WHRP Lite' has changed my opinion, as the designers have realised the players and GMs have probably had a wide range of reactions to the system. Chapter 14 not only recognises this, but offers some alternative methods of play scaled to taste. Given this inclusion, I'll be laying hands on a few other supplements and applying the ideas. It has quite seriously given me a new appreciation for an already great game.


As a Fantasy Flight product, you can expect fine writing, consistently high editing, and a canny eye for artistic layout. I've purchased almost every book in the 'Dark Heresy' line from the same company and can honestly say that they apply the same high standards to both game lines. I am glad to see the lower price has now been applied, and don't have a problem recommending it as good value at the $25.00 price point.


If you have been hesitant to jump into the game, consider this your 'jumping-in' point.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Heresy: The Chaos Commandment
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/29/2012 23:44:21

'The Chaos Commandment' is, simply put, 40K at its' finest. Out of the three game lines from Fantasy Flight, I have always preferred 'Dark Heresy' for the tone of the game and the fact that the characters are often simple denizens of the forty-first millennium. It is from this perspective that the horror that is core to this system can bubble to the surface.


The first two instalments of this series were lively, spectacular romps through the 40K universe, hinged on classic icons of the setting that lent a feeling of dark gothic sci-fi infused with an almost Cthuhlu-like feeling of dread.


The themes of 'Church of the Damned' are continued in this tome, and any fans of the Eclesiarchy and the cult of the God-Emperor will find plenty to sink their proverbial teeth into. The authors have taken one of the most blasphemous possibilities and made it the focus of the final story arc - anyone truly immersed in their character (especially as an Agent of the Inquisition) will hopefully respond in appalled outrage. The role-playing possibilities are incredibly rich for the final scenes, especially in terms of the mop-up from this operation.


There is a strong action-adventure mood to all three interlocking adventures, from the assault of the Hive world (which offers characters the chance to 'get tactical', take command of squads and hijack vehicles in the service of the Inquisition). Those looking to indulge in high-octane, military/James Bond action sequences need look no further. this continues the tradition of 'Church of the Damned' which opens with a Valkyrie-assisted assault and I get the feeling that the designers have played through this several times before offering a final product - and have obviously made little tweaks along the way to ratchet up the excitement level.
This military bent is present in subsequent scenes, especially the final assault, and the cast of units in the battle lend an epic feel to the culmination of the series.


It is a difficult product to review in-depth without giving too much away, but rest assured that Fantasy Flight have capped this series off well. I mentioned in my review of Part 2 that I hoped it would end 'with a bang, and lots of fire' and someone at Fantasy Flight was obviously listening - and delivered.


I've found this trilogy to be much more exciting, horrifying and immersive than the 'Haarlock Legacy' trilogy, despite the high production value and attention to detail shown in the latter. The writers have hit their stride with this newest trilogy, embraced the 40K universe whole-heartedly and added - in my opinion - something which resonates as strongly as any GW canon.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy: The Chaos Commandment
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogue Trader: Core Rulebook
by Christian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2012 12:20:58

Great Roleplaying Game, the last Update is of high Quality again (Searchable texts and correct bookmarks), all errors fixed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Grimm: Core Rulebook
by Daniel H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2012 14:22:23

This is one of the more beginner friendly RPG systems out there. Plus, it is set in a place in which any Grimm fairy tale could come into play, which is a lot of fun for the narrator. It could use a larger reference section, which is why I'm only rating it 4 stars. I'm currently playing one game of this right now, and it's great how the setting gives rise to great role playing opportunities. Best played with a group that is creative and quick on their feet.


Really enjoying the game I'm playing of it so far. Besides, the reimagining of Humpty Dumpty as the mad Rotten King is great. Also, their conception of the Ocean as a character is wonderful as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Grimm: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deathwatch: First Founding
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2012 11:16:09

The fluff is awesome, the rules are okay, but I really picked it up for the new chapters. We made a custom (random) chapter with Rites of Battle for our campaign, but we rolled up Iron Hands as a progenitor, and that meant we had gaps in the rules. I'm happy with my purchase, and I look forward to trying the adventure and having more detailed traitor legions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: First Founding
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deathwatch: Core Rulebook
by Ian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2012 08:25:40

This was my 1st try at using the website, and in truth I already own the deathwatch rules so know what a great system and game it is. I was really happy with the website and download and urge anyone who is worried about a PDF rule book to take the plung. The PDF is easy to use and no different to the hardcopy book, apart from now being easy to carry about.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Omens of War
by Antonio T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2012 05:54:09

Don't buy this! This product is incomplete! its a guide on how to use actions cards that are not included in the book and thus mostly useless unless you already own the cards (which you can only get by buying a box that includes this book anyways...). Most of the relevant info is not actually included in this pdf.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay: Omens of War
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deathwatch: Game Master's Kit
by Christian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2012 08:27:52

new layout allows flawless print of the GM Screen. Great content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: Game Master's Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogue Trader: Game Master's Kit
by Christian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2012 08:26:42

Great GM Screen and Adventure.
The new layout allows flawlwess printing of the GM Screen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: Game Master's Kit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deathwatch: Mark of the Xenos
by Dennis S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/22/2012 15:10:20

Mark of the Xenos is an excellent addition to the Deathwatch line, and about as close as we'll get (thus far) to a truly comprehensive monster book for the Warhammer 40k RPGs. Pretty much everyone you'd want to kill as a Space Marine is here (except the Eldar and Necrons, sadly), from all the big-name Chaos daemons, to the Tyranids, the Tau's broadside and pathfinders, and the Orkz' boys, nobs and warbosses. If you've got the Deathwatch core rulebook, then you've got the complete set, basically, of tyranid, chaos and tau adversaries for the Jericho Reach, and are unlikely ever to be at a loss for enemies to throw at the Space Marines. What's more, the book is laden with adventure seeds, lore, and fluff ideas for you to base missions and campaigns around, so you can easily take the book and pretty much immediately start running missions out of it. It's fantastic. I just wish that, at some point, we'd get a book that I could review as "completely comprehensive" – with all the iconic adversaries in one place.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: Mark of the Xenos
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 121 to 135 (of 281 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates