DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Legend of the Five Rings: Atlas of Rokugan Digital Map Pack
by Matt L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2016 14:56:15

This does contain the large map from the Atlas of Rokugan book as a single full color image in PDF. I greatly appreciate that I don't have to piece this together to get it printed as a single image at the print shop.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Atlas of Rokugan Digital Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The End Of The World: Zombie Apocalypse
by Jamie S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2016 14:45:25

Such a great game, the rules were really simple to get the hang of and it led to moments of comedy and terror. We'll go and get more of these games for new experiences



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The End Of The World: Zombie Apocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Masterwork Anthology
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/08/2016 16:41:23

While this product did not impress me terribly, the premise was a noble one, and in that I think this product succeeded. This product acts as a showcase of various different D20 ideas and vignettes that are at once well written and developed. However, this product is also a teaser, and does little to satisfy either a thematic itch or a mechanically inclined one. While many of the parent products can now be found for a nominal rate, it was a bit of a hard sell to think that this book would lead to more sales, though I can't say whether the efforts paid off or not, I can only speak to my own inclinations.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Masterwork Anthology
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragonstar: Starfarer's Handbook
by Roger N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2016 08:04:44

With Starfinder just announced, we can hope this setting gets a well deserved update.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonstar: Starfarer's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Game Master's Screen and Adventure
by Ja D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2016 03:52:18

I really would like to rate this higher, the adventure is good and the screen looks great - but the formatting for the pdf of the screen is awful. It is two pdf pages, each of which are about 4 pages wide - this doesn't allow me to actually print out and use the sheet at all so why did I buy it?

Please AEG, fix the pdf format so that it goes across 8 pages and is actually printable. I really want to rate this higher but I can't even use it as it is.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Game Master's Screen and Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Merchant's Guide to Rokugan
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2016 11:59:50

This book is NOT what it says on the box. In fact, the disconnect between the cover text and contents led AEG to the unusual step of offering refunds for purchasers of this book when it was first published back when it was first released in print.

People were excited about a sourcebook of gear and money and actual pricing guidelines and the like, and they were hugely angry when this failed to deliver that.

Because this is the Kolat sourcebook.

It was a total bait-and-switch, and I absolutely understand people getting upset about it.

BUT if you're planning to use the Kolat heavily in your game, I'd argue that this is a near-essential book, even for 4e (although Enemies of the Empire for 4e is good enough for a more casual overview of the conspiracy and its methods).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Merchant's Guide to Rokugan
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
by Brandon P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2015 16:32:44

I have played the system before and I am about to start another game it is really fun even though it can be quite lethal at the same time, but thats half the fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Android: Free Fall
by Brander R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2015 12:30:51

Just finished the book. I'm not at all familiar with the game so I my review is focused on the actual book.

Overall I liked it. Good detective in the near future, and a solid grasp on the technology elements. Sometimes the pacing was a little clunky, but forgivable. Worth a read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Android: Free Fall
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arkham Horror: Dance of the Damned (Book 1 of the Lord of Nightmares Trilogy)
by stephane r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2015 16:19:58

I liked this story. This is pure lovecraftian spirit, with a lot of desperate characters that die in a horribly wrong way. But there are also 2 heroes that face the difficulties and finally overcome. They learn on their way, they do not understand everything but keep their sanity and make the story interesting to follow.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arkham Horror: Dance of the Damned (Book 1 of the Lord of Nightmares Trilogy)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of Lies Box Set
by Steve A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2015 22:26:38

Great box set! The only thing keeping this from a 5-star rating is the absence of the Introduction to Ryoko Owari. It's an 8-page booklet included in the original box set that lays out a starting point for GMs new to the City of Lies. Hopefully some day this will be corrected. Lucky for me, I found my old copy tucked inside another book on my shelf.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City of Lies Box Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Android: Free Fall
by Mike K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2015 19:52:33

I read this from the point of a GM trying to find out about the Android universe. I felt the story was engaging and enjoyed reading it.

It goes into some of the factions and how they relate to each other. It covers legal jurisdiction as the protagonist is a police force detective. It covers different types of equipment. It has a space elevator in parts of the story and goes into some detail on it. It did a little on hacking, but more about who would do it than a first person perspective. There is no magic. :)

The fact that there is no magic, really makes me want to see an Android RPG. I am really hoping that since this has been added to DriveThruRPG that a bunch of source books are coming. I like ShadowRun, but would like to see this genre without magic also.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Android: Free Fall
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Unexpected Allies 2
by Duncan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2015 13:13:10

I acquired this as both the Acrobat form and the print on demand. While others have reviewed the content, I would like to review based on the print quality. For anyone that has purchased Strongholds, you will find a similar quality to this PoD product. The cover is glossier than other Alderac L5R 4E publications, and is missing that matte texture. Colour illustrations that appear vivid in the Acrobat version are washed out. Perhaps this is due to the paper selection, which seems to be of a less flexible, lesser quality than books Alderac has published themselves. As with several other 4E publications, there are spelling errors littered throughout the text, as though the copy editors were in a hurry to have this issued. I think readers have come to expect this as Alderac certainly generates more revenue from the cards than the role-playing game and spends more of their resources there. Nevertheless, the quality of the paper aside, I am glad to have this as something I can take with me, and this has not discouraged me from ordering other PoD only products.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Unexpected Allies 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rokugan
by Rafael M. Date Added: 04/04/2015 13:31:31

I want my money back! Drive thru should be ashamed of selling such a piece of garbage of PDF. It is a VERY poor scan of the book. I could not be more disappointed.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Rokugan
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The End Of The World: Zombie Apocalypse
by Jason W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2015 19:05:55

AWESOME. The game is simple, yet elegant. The rules are a watered down version of FFG Star Wars...the best parts. Instead of using specialized dice, you use regular 6 sided dice. There's some good iOS apps to simulate rolls, including Genius Dice, which lets you set the different dice and colors.

I see this game as a great gateway RPG. It's easy to get friends to join, because they just play themselves. The lands and locations aren't hard; it's just outside your door, and the dice mechanic is so easy that most people understand it after showing them an example. Also, zombies are such a fad, most people will be intrigued by the premise.

If you're on the fence, grab it. I am very happy with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The End Of The World: Zombie Apocalypse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The End Of The World: Zombie Apocalypse
by Charles U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2015 22:10:14

The end has come...

The End of the World: Zombie Apocalypse is the first of four apocalyptic role-playing games from table-top veteran company Fantasy Flight Games. The first installment, Zombie Apocalypse, shows a very unique take on not just the standard zombie trope, but the table-top RPG in general.

The book is broken up into three major sections: Playing the Game, Running the Game and Scenarios.

Playing the Game introduces the player to the rule-set, covering everything from character creation to conflict and death. Character creation is sleek and streamlined, allowing even first-time role-players to jump into the game quickly. C=Players are strongly encouraged to portray themselves in order to make the action more visceral, but players can certainly make any type of character that they want.

The game system, which runs on d6's, enables fast, gritty combat and harrowing choices. The characters feel much more vulnerable, which combined with the system creates a very tense setting overall. Hit points, the standard measure of nearness to death, is instead replaced by Stress and Traumas. Take too much stress and your character dies, or maybe goes insane. Traumas have in-game penalties to actions, but alleviate Stress. It's an amazing system which has players constantly questioning whether they should convert Stress to Trauma, or ride the fine line between life and death without the penalties associated with Traumas.

Running the Game is a much shorter section, informing the GM how to handle encounters and balance them with narrative, how to handle the menagerie of complex NPC's the characters are sure to encounter during their struggle to survive the gnashing teeth of the undead and how to determine how long a campaign should go.

Scenarios, the last section of the book, is the meatiest. It features five completely different origins for the zombie apocalypse, complete with timelines to demonstrate how a plague-borne zombie virus pans out vice zombies created from the radiation emitted from a fallen meteor.

Each scenario lays out the basic premise, then goes on to explain the truth of the event versus what a character might think is happening. This is followed by a very detailed timeline, starting from the initial outbreak to months or even years in the future.

This is just part of the magic, however. In addition to how events play out during and immediately after the outbreak, each scenario also details how it can be played post-apocalypse.

Each scenario gives a wide range of pre- and post-apocalypse NPC's that the characters are likely to encounter. In addition, there are a large selection of events that the characters could be expected to face, from traffic jams to military evacuations.

All in all, while no game is perfect, this one is pretty close to the mark. With sleek artwork adorning silky smooth pages, there is enough information within the tome of undead to fuel a player's nightmares from now until the End of the World!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 31 to 45 (of 224 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates