DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Legend of the Five Rings: Game Master's Screen and Adventure
by Ja D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2016 03:52:18

I really would like to rate this higher, the adventure is good and the screen looks great - but the formatting for the pdf of the screen is awful. It is two pdf pages, each of which are about 4 pages wide - this doesn't allow me to actually print out and use the sheet at all so why did I buy it?

Please AEG, fix the pdf format so that it goes across 8 pages and is actually printable. I really want to rate this higher but I can't even use it as it is.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Game Master's Screen and Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deathwatch: The Emperor Protects
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2016 16:00:00

This supplement is fantastic, three great missions to run with your kill. It has everything you need to run a small campaign with your killteam.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deathwatch: The Emperor Protects
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Beyond
by drew l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2016 15:40:34

This book is fairly similar in format to the Enemies Within and Enemies Without, so if you are familiar with those two books then you know what to expect. There's a bunch of new worlds described with some interesting plot hooks, and some player stuff related to Ordo Malleus daemon hunters- special weapons and ammo, talents etc... It does include some new psychic powers, mostly related to demonology/summoning- I haven't looked at them too closely yet, but they seem like they would be of more use to villainous NPC psychers than PCs. That being said, an extreme radical acolyte might make use of them.

Of the three books I think that my favourite one is Enemies Without, but I like that there a lots of stat blocks for various daemons- not just Nurgle related ones (which was all we got in the Core book). I GM, so for me that is the highlight of this book, and my main reason for getting it. It should be noted that Daemons are pretty powerful RAW in 2e DH- for example the hellblades of the Bloodletters do something like 1d10+16 damage with a 5 Penetration- not sure how balanced that is. There's also rules for creating daemon princes, but I haven't had a chance to delve into those to deeply yet.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Beyond
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Merchant's Guide to Rokugan
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2016 11:59:50

This book is NOT what it says on the box. In fact, the disconnect between the cover text and contents led AEG to the unusual step of offering refunds for purchasers of this book when it was first published back when it was first released in print.

People were excited about a sourcebook of gear and money and actual pricing guidelines and the like, and they were hugely angry when this failed to deliver that.

Because this is the Kolat sourcebook.

It was a total bait-and-switch, and I absolutely understand people getting upset about it.

BUT if you're planning to use the Kolat heavily in your game, I'd argue that this is a near-essential book, even for 4e (although Enemies of the Empire for 4e is good enough for a more casual overview of the conspiracy and its methods).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Merchant's Guide to Rokugan
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Without
by Szabolcs G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2015 09:06:54

Hello dear DH loving fans.

Enemies Without is just another proof of the company's great love and...just kidding. :)

So, after the first readout, I found some absence/deficit in useful information about the xenos. I mean c'mon, I could and CAN use the wiki pages for W40k, but I payed $20 to found this in the book. And could I? Sadly, the answer is no.

Another WTF moment was when I saw that one of the new playeable characters is a heretech. WAT?! Guys, are you serious? Why? But after a few says I started to like the idea. A lot of folks are just hate the Empire of Man becouse they opress anything innovative. And here it is...the Heretech, whose sole reason is to be as innovative as a living being just can. Nice.

The artworks are gorgeous as always.

If the daemonic book will be as good as the first two accessory, 2nd ed will truly be the best choice instead of DH 1.0.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Without
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Within
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2015 17:01:00

Genuinely adds a great amount to the background and also provides some interesting new character options. Only real gripe is I found some of the plot ideas they gave pretty vague and washy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Within
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
by Brandon P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2015 16:32:44

I have played the system before and I am about to start another game it is really fun even though it can be quite lethal at the same time, but thats half the fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Android: Free Fall
by Brander R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2015 12:30:51

Just finished the book. I'm not at all familiar with the game so I my review is focused on the actual book.

Overall I liked it. Good detective in the near future, and a solid grasp on the technology elements. Sometimes the pacing was a little clunky, but forgivable. Worth a read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Android: Free Fall
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Only War: Shield of Humanity
by Peter S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 00:10:51

i love this book so damn much. it truly helps in advancing characters for the game. i definitely recommend that people who play the Only War series should definitely purchase this book to better their playing experience



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Only War: Shield of Humanity
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Within
by Hans O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2015 12:36:03

This latest system update to Dark Heresy 2.0 perpetuates the science fantasy (as opposed to science fiction) of the Warhammer Universe, but unlike earlier attempts to provide players and gm's with useful tools for creating engaging sessions I believe that Enemies Within is a solid step in the Right direction. While not nearly as robust in its gm toolkit as systems like Stars Without Number, this book none-the-less provides gm's with setting-appropriate adventures in the vein of the Abnett's Eisenhorn stories and Sandy Mitchell's "Innocence Proves Nothing." To me, the most engaging stories of 40k's grimdark are the those where ill- or mis-informed but no less goodly and skilled servants of the Imperium carry their torch into the deep and the dark places, look into the madness that therein dwells, and fight feverishly to burn out that rot with cleansing flame, and this supplement, more than any other fantasy flight has since put out, is their best effort to allow players fulfill that fantasy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Within
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arkham Horror: Dance of the Damned (Book 1 of the Lord of Nightmares Trilogy)
by stephane r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2015 16:19:58

I liked this story. This is pure lovecraftian spirit, with a lot of desperate characters that die in a horribly wrong way. But there are also 2 heroes that face the difficulties and finally overcome. They learn on their way, they do not understand everything but keep their sanity and make the story interesting to follow.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arkham Horror: Dance of the Damned (Book 1 of the Lord of Nightmares Trilogy)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

City of Lies Box Set
by Steve A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2015 22:26:38

Great box set! The only thing keeping this from a 5-star rating is the absence of the Introduction to Ryoko Owari. It's an 8-page booklet included in the original box set that lays out a starting point for GMs new to the City of Lies. Hopefully some day this will be corrected. Lucky for me, I found my old copy tucked inside another book on my shelf.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City of Lies Box Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Only War: Core Rulebook
by William V. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2015 12:08:04

I have to admit I was hoping to see Commissar Cain as an NPC along with his Valhallan comrades...

That aside, this is a great set of rules...one that brings the Imperial Guard to life. The rules are easy to read, although I would have liked to see character creation presented earlier in the process. Breaking it up the way it is, while making some sense, might be confusing for those new to RPGs in general. The regiment choices are interesting, and provide a fair amount of variety when it comes to designing adventures. The Comrade system is also slightly unclear, especially since the rules governing them are split into a number of different locations (Character Creation and Combat). It might be better to deal with them in Combat, since that's where the bulk of their rules are located.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Only War: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rogue Trader: Battlefleet Koronos
by Todd K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2015 17:41:43

The book itself is excellent, however the publisher is not taking advantage of the freedom PDF allows. The creatures in the book are still printed as though it was a physical product, instead of using extra pages so each creature or vessel only takes up one page, instead of being printed part on one page, and part on another.

For example, on page 104, the Planetary Assault ship has the picture and fluff on one page, and the statistics on page 105. If the Assault ship had been solely on page 105, only one page would be necessary to print out (or to view on various PDF readers).

This would lead to extra empty space in the book, but that could be filled with images or fluff stories (often associated with whatever else is on the page). Page 104 has a Soulcage ship, and adding a story at the bottom about one raiding a colony would be a good filler.

The filler could even be available online as a free download, for those that bought the physical copy.

So overall an excellent book, but FFG needs to take advantage of what PDF allows, instead of just doing a copy using the physical book's limits.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Trader: Battlefleet Koronos
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Within
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/27/2015 12:05:48

So, Acolyte, where do you look for heretics? Do you find them clearly on view, participating in foul rituals as part of organised cults that anyone may join? Or do you sometimes look closer to home...? Many cults start off benign and drift - often without intent, unwittingly even - astray. There's no knowing where you will find heresy and mutants, especially within the ancient worlds of the Askellon Sector.

This book delves deep into this often hidden menace with particular reference to the Askellon Sector in three chapters. The first looks at the history of the Ordo Hereticus, the second provides new options and rules information and the final chapter explores the worlds of the Askellon Sector and the cults lurking thereon.

Chapter 1: Hereticus details the origins, history and operations of the Inquisitors of the Ordo Hereticus, also known as Witch-Hunters, whose purpose is to protect mankind from the threat of betrayal from within. They seek out corruption and burn it, often fairly indiscriminately. They are zealous to a fault and do not like being thwarted. Even those who welcome them frequently regret it. Their origins are shrouded in mystery and they go to great pains to keep it that way, prefering to work in secrecy and without accounting for their actions to anyone. They would prefer to burn hundreds of innocents to get a heretic or two, than let even one get away. They also treat their Acolytes as disposable assets, so take care before you take service with such an Inquisitor.

There is plenty more here too: organisations of witch hunters and some of the cults that they pursue. There are details of the many and varied philosophies that they hold, which must lead to some interesting debates when several are gathered together.

Next, Chapter 2: Fury and Fire looks at new options and additions to the rules, beginning with a selection of new home worlds that you can select. These are of general interest even if you want to steer clear of the Ordo Hereticus. Perhaps an agri-world, a feudal one or a frontier world appeals. Next are the Orders Militant of the Adepta Sororitas — a background of warrior women in service to the Ecclesiarchy. More risky, you might choose a background as a mutant, that is, one born a mutant rather than having acquired mutations later on in life. New roles such as the fanatic and the penitent are also discussed. There is also an array of new (and vicious) weapons as well as new armours in which to encase yourself. A select of profane artefacts is followed by specialised talents described as the Art of Hatred, for the Ordo Hereticus is fuelled by hatred of their heretical prey rather than any compassion for those whom they would protect from them. Finally there is an account of the process known as an Inquest, the specialist form of investigation used by the Ordo Hereticus to uncover heretics, reflecting their somewhat casual relationship to truth and justice and quantifying it in game mechanical terms.

The final chapter is Roots of Heresy, and this is a detailed look at the worlds of Askellon with special reference to the heresies to be found thereon. Game Masters will find it very useful, as it spawns plenty of plot ideas, moreover there's also a section on how to create heresies of your own as well as how best to present the tell-tale signs to knowing Acolyte eyes.

There's plenty of information to draw on here, painting Askellon as a far darker place that the Calixis Sector featured in Dark Heresy 1e. Perhaps that's due to the sector's age, for with age it seems comes decay and corruption. Of course, my mischievous mind promptly wonders what happens when someone within the Ordo Hereticus itself slips over the edge, turns bad and embraces heretical ideas and practices? Or are their excesses a sign that this has already happened? Whether your Acolytes choose to serve the Ordo Hereticus or encounter them as they go about their business, this book will help you bring it all to life. Pass the torch...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Heresy Second Edition: Enemies Within
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 16 to 30 (of 347 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates