DriveThruRPG.com
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Grimm: Core Rulebook
by Stu V. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/12/2009 23:46:07

Although none of the hosts have yet played it, we are all very excited to try a game. The players portray ordinary school-aged children who are whisked away to a magical world where fairy tales are true ... and twisted.

We've analyzed the game system, and we've found it simple to learn and elegant.

A more extensive review is available on our podcast, Happy Jack's RPG Podcast, Episode 14 (http://www.happyjacks.org/?p=348). Note: the podcast in general is NSFW and contains explicit content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grimm: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Midnight Chronicles Package
by Robin U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2009 06:02:31

Firstly, I have to say that the film has very impressive production values for the budget. Not only is this a remarkably pretty film, and you can tell it's a labour of love, and since this is one of the best settings for D&D to ever come out, and definitely one that deserves updating to 4e, I'm going to feel really bad for bringing up the following:

The file format is the 'apple-only' .mov type. I had never heard of such a thing, but it meant I had to use VLC to play it. Not a roadblock to watching it, but unhelpful- doubly so since it meant I had a lot trouble streaming it to the Xbox to watch it on the TV.

This film is terrible and feels like it has nothing to do with Midnight. Sorry, but it's just a waste of time - and it's not just a poor film, but a poor Midnight film. The whole story misses what I felt were the most interesting elements of the RPG setting in favour of, ultimately, a bad monster movie. It has a painfully disjointed pace that makes the whole film drag, and beyond a few scenes which are interesting, I found myself not caring one bit what happened next. You get the impression that there's a larger story going on, but it's infuriating that your not told any of it and have to assume the reasoning behind most of the plot. The main flaw in the film, though, is the characters. While the acting is OK, the characters obediently shuffle through the obvious plot to its conclusion, making decisions almost entirely for plot purposes. Also, some characters and character abilities get conveniently forgotten to make things more dramatic.

And finally I won't spoil anything, but if every sprawling dungeon, library and bottomless-chasm-with-rickety-rope-bridge was really under that town, the whole place should have collapsed inward years ago.

On the plus side, I get an original 4e Midnight adventure and the original game in PDF, which was definitely appreciated. I haven't looked through the adventure properly, except to gasp in horror at the vardatch weapon stats, but anything new for a Midnight RPG is awesome.

tl;dr: The frustrating afternoon I spent allowing the file to be watched on the TV was wasted by the film itself. Avoid.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Midnight Chronicles Package
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Midnight Chronicles
by Bo M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2009 15:24:25

The world of Midnight is different from your 'normal' fantasy setting in one major way... the 'bad guys' control the world; 100 years ago (in their timeline) they won, good people are pretty much criminals now. Dark, gritty and all about survival it is a wonderful change of pace from the standard fare of the 'cookie cutter' Tolken-ish worlds.

For those of you that already enjoy the world of Midnight, the movie portrays it perfectly - ironically making it perfect for the television series that the movie was made from. There are no large battles (stealth is the only way 'good' can hope to survive) and very little magic (a blessing for TV people worried about special effects budgets). The movie is very story and character driven and while there are very few 'flashy' effects the quality of the production is on par with anything a major Hollywood studio would put out.

Highly Recommended



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Midnight Chronicles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Midnight Chronicles Package
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2009 20:25:45

For $14.95 this is one hell of a good package. First and foremost, you get a feature-length movie with great production values. Second, you get the core rulebook for the Midnight campaign setting, which at 400+ pages would have been a huge value at the price by itself. You also get the movie scripts and a free adventure module set in the town in which the movie is based. Wonderfully good value.

The movie: The film is really a long pilot for what I hope will become a tv series; the SyFy channel would go great with this. If youare not familiar with midnight you get a brief rundown in the film; thousands of years ago the god of evil was cast out of heaven onto the world of Aryth, but in so doing a Veil was raised that prevented the gods from interfering with the world in any way...but also cut off the dark god Izrador and everyone else on Aryth from leaving the world in any way, including through death. Three times Izrador rose up against the people of Aryth, and the third time he won the battle. It has been 100 years of a world in Shadow.

Though the plot is really about the rise of two diametrically opposed heroes -- one for good and one for evil -- most of the movies focus goes to the evil legate Mag Kiln. And it's great that it does, but it's one of the few movies that really shows things from the bad guy's perspective. Charles Hubbell is excellent as the dark priest destined for great power. His companion Kruce is an interesting and likeable character,despite being on Team Evil. Chuzara the young legate that goes to Blackweir with Mag Kiln is OK as a character, but she makes up for it in good looks. ;)

Anyone familiar with the campaign setting with enjoy all of the references to the gaming world. Being that the movie is made by the company that created the game system maybe that's obvious but worth pointing out. I just wish we had the chance to see more of the orcs and some of the Fell in action. There isn't a lot of combat or flashy magic in use, possibly because of budget constraints, but what we do see looks good.

Midnight 2nd Edition Core Rules: Midnight has become my favorite campaign setting over the years, to the point I've made the definite SRD for it (http://darknessfalls.leaderdesslok.com). Having this massive volume in PDF at a more-than-reasonable price is fantastic. Only down side is that at over 400 pages it really should have bookmarks.

The scripts are, well, scripts. I don't usually pay much attention to such things, but if you like that sort of thing it's all there for you.

The adventure: From a marketing standpoint, it was a pretty good idea to release the adventure in D&D 4E format. This allows curious gamers who enjoy 4E an opportunity to see what playing in the Midnight world is like. From a Midnight gamer's standpoint, it's a horrible slap in the face. FFG published one campaign adventure for Midnight, Crown of Shadows, but it was made for the 1st edition of the game (3.0 rules). They never released another adventure until now, and while it's great to have another one, it's ridiculous to me that they provide a 4e module for a game written for 3.5, even going so far as to include the 3.5 campaign core rules which are useless in playing the adventure! If this is a sign that FFG is planning on re-releasing Midnight for 4E I am disappointed, as I am not a fan of the system. I would much rather see them move into Pathfinder.

However, overall the Midnight Package is still a phenomenally good value. Excellent movie and great game!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Midnight Chronicles Package
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Midnight Chronicles Package
by Brendon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2009 21:30:23

I bought this as an impulse purchase not really sure what I'd get.

What I expected: A medium quality Indie film with decent effects and an okay story. A standalone RPG with an adventure that I would maybe look at and, if I was lucky, run an adventure in.

What I got: A movie that both looks and sounds fantastic with fun characters that brings to life a world I hadn't expected much from. A hungry thirst for a sequel that I eagerly await! An RPG much like Monte Cook's Arcana Evolved in that it is more of a spin-off of DnD 3.5 (a system that I greatly adore). I greatly recommend this bundle to fans of role-playing in a dark and gritty fantasy world.

The only thing that put me of was the 4th Edition adventure. The rule book provided is under the v3.5 rules so I feel they should have made the adventure with the same system. However, I still intend on running the story, while simply changing a few stat blocks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Midnight Chronicles Package
by Jason W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2009 14:11:21

Wow! This movie is impressive. It really captivated me, and gave me a sense of wonder about the world of Midnight. I am very impressed they did this as the production quality was stellar (although not LoTR, but com'n money was no object there). I was slightly disappointed they didn't resolve one of the characters more fully, but that only added for my hunger for a SEQUEL! Com'n Fantasy Flight! Technically, there were no issues, good video, good sound quality, played fine, could skip around the video quickly to rewatch parts. Also, for the movie (in two definitions), the Midnight core book, the script, and everything else included the value was quite high for the price. I'm quite satisfied with the purchase that I almost didn't make (I was on the fence about it).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Midnight Chronicles Package
by James P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2009 10:43:06

This is not a review as much as a warning - The Heart or Erenland, the new Midnight adventure included in this package is for D&D 4e.

This was a huge surprise and disappointment to me since (1) Midnight is a D20/OGL setting and (2) there was no indication in the product description that this is a 4e product.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of War: The L5R Companion
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2009 11:48:58

If you are looking for very detailed information on the Crab, Lion and Unicorn Clans especially as it relates to how they wage war then this book is for you. Well written with plenty of new material and the scan is good. However, you will need access to Emerald Empire to get the full use of the book and a few other books as Alderac did not reprint anything in this book that was in other books, even books that are no longer in print.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of War: The L5R Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Art of the Duel
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2009 10:58:10

Art of the Duel is a highly focused supplement to the Legend of the Five Rings RPG. As the name suggests, this book gives all sorts of background on the dueling traditions of Rokugan. However, it doesn't just stick with the familiar Iaijitsu and Taryu-jiai from previous editions, but goes beyond, showcasing dozens of styles of competitions with full rules.

While most of the game text and the new schools are geared towards duels or games, that by no means restricts them. Included are some fantastic character options for most builds. Do yourself a favor and check this out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Art of the Duel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Way of the Crane
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2009 14:23:18

My review isn't about the material of the book. The material is excellent; one of the better clan books in the series. My review is about the quality of the scanned PDF; there are many pages that the edges are cut off and not a just a few letters here and there, but chunks of artwork and full words. Some of the pages are crystal clear and some are fuzzy, but not impossible to read. In addition, this book like the rest in the Five Rings series is not bookmarked in any fashion, just a scan of the book presented "as is."

If like me, you wanted a PDF copy for review for your games, then this is good buy for the price as long as you are willing to overlook the many errors. I have to say that I am dissappointed that Alderac has not devoted the time and effort to release one of their premiere games in higher quality PDF form.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Way of the Crane
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Magic of Rokugan
by Don W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2009 22:41:05

Not bad if all you want is extra magic for Shugenza....



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Magic of Rokugan
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: 3rd Edition Revised
by Alan K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2009 05:43:48

Having longed to try this game for years, I finally get the chance to own it and hopefully try it with a group of fellow roleplayers. Sadly my joy at getting a bargain in the recent GM Day, was quickly shattered after looking at the PDF.

For those complaining of poor quality, my first advice is don't use Adobe. The pages look fuzzy and out of focus, which is nothing to do with the PDF; I tried a free PDF reader and got clear, crispy pages.

The main reason this is a disappointment, is the laziness of the people who created this PDF. There are no bookmarks in this PDF, so to look for anything you need to search or go from page to page. Using a free PDF reader, I have already added my own bookmarks to this PDF. I can also arrange the pages into an order that makes character creation, so much easier; then going back and forth between hundreds of pages; i.e. from the Clans at the front to the back for the Schools to the middle for the Attributes.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: 3rd Edition Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: 3rd Edition Revised
by Robert J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2008 23:11:46

Waiting to down load. I would realy like RPG and am waiting to dowm load.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonstar Player's Companion
by Davin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2008 20:00:27

A useful, but not essential suppliment to the Dragonstar Campaign. 60% of the book is new PrC classes unique to Dragonstar. The new spells help expand the role of the spellcaster in this Sci-Fi setting. Spellware is interesting but I was disappointed in it since I specifically bought this book to obtain it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonstar Player's Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creatures of Rokugan
by Marcus G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2008 09:59:48

Good information on various creatures. These creatures are specific to the mystic nature of Rokugan.

The organization is simple, the art work is ok, character description is relatively thorough. Pick this book up if you want to add a little flare to your game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creatures of Rokugan
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 136 to 150 (of 202 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates