DriveThruRPG.com
Recherche









Retour
Autres commentaires laissés par cet éditeur:
Fireborn: Player's Handbook
par Asen G. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 10/30/2012 15:14:29

Very good game, which didn't get the attention it deserves. WARNING, I'm assuming you have and use the errata file. Don't know why FFG aren't offering it as a free download, but it's relatively easy to find on the Net. If you're not using it, the rules are a mess. That said, I like the mechanics. It's giving a very authentic feeling, and is one of the first games to solve both the issues of using mental actions in combat, and the issue of a character attempting multiple actions at once. Add to it playing in both modern-day London, and in the Mythic time, and you get a very entertaining game!



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Fireborn: Player's Handbook
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Legend of the Five Rings: The Book of Air
par Jay S. A. [Testeur star] Date Ajoutée: 09/26/2012 21:52:00

The Book of Air is the first of a new line of sourcebooks for the Legend of the Five Rings series of books, that uses an interesting approach towards expanding the setting.

L5R has always been an interesting setting with regards to the depth and detail of the society of Rokugan, and this series of supplements expands on it by breaking down the topics according to the themes of the five elements of Rokugan: Air, Earth, Water, Fire and Void.

The Book of Air focuses on the facets that are relevant to the element of Air, as broken down into various chapters that look into War, the Court, Magic, Enlightenment and the Setting. The book also provides a self-contained setting that can be dropped into any existing campaign. New Mechanics are also present in the book to sate the needs of those who are looking for new rules to implement into their games. Needless to say, every clan gets something out of this book, so Crab and Lion players need not worry about being left out in a book that seems so focused on the softer side of Rokugani life.

I’m pleased to say that the organization of each of the chapters is very well done, with the book going into extensive detail with regards to the facet being discussed. The role of archery for example, is treated in the general form, then broken down into the various specific traditions of each of the clans. The chapters go into detail with regards to War, Courtly Politics, Magic (my favorite chapter due to the Kitsu Spirit Legion), Enlightenment, the world of Rokugan and a Politics-heavy Campaign setting.

Each of these are discussed without interrupting with mechanics. Instead all of the fluff is presented up front, and all the mechanics sorted out in the final chapter. This makes for an interesting format as it makes rules lookups so much easier, while letting people who enjoy the fluff (or need them, as with most GMs) read and digest the information without switching back and forth from concept to rules thinking in every other page or so.

The Book of Air is a worthy addition to the excellent Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition line, expanding on topics and lending even more detail to the unique nature of the clans. Given the quality of the writing, combined with excellent artwork and layout and the new format of organizing the information in the book, I find myself looking forward to the rest of the series.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Legend of the Five Rings: The Book of Air
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
par Michael H. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 09/16/2012 21:16:19

I have been playing Legend of the Five Rings off and on since I discovered the first edition of the game back in 1999. I have always been a fan of Japanese history, culture and folklore (no expert by any means, just a fan). Prior to finding this game I had become hooked on Rurouni Kenshin and I was looking for a game that captured the mythical and epic nature of medieval Japan. Legend of the Five Rings was the game that filled that need for me.

Prior editions of the game were tied intricately to the ongoing storyline which was being driven by the Legend of the Five Rings collectible card game. While in a lot of ways this was a good thing it often left players of the RPG just a bit behind the curve when it came to developments in the setting, slaves to a game in which they had no say. The Fourth Edition of L5R has finally freed players from this burden and empowered players to enjoy the time frame in the setting they want to explore.

The second edition of the game was tied very closely to Dungeons & Dragons and overall it felt like an underdeveloped product although it did bring several interesting mechanics to the table. Third edition marked a separation from D&D but as time went on the game became more and more complicated to play. While no one can deny the quality of the game it was hard to play the game without feeling a bit overwhelmed. One of the major focuses of the fourth edition was returning the game to a simpler core set of rules which maintained the flavored development by previous editions without crippling players with an overpowering game system.

For the most part I feel the game succeeds at fulfilling that goal. I finally had a chance to play L5R 4E at GenCon 2012 and I walked away a very happy gamer. The system was easy to use but versatile enough to handle everything our group threw at the game master. Combat was fast, fun and deadly without being tedious to track. Each character was infused with the L5R flavor that we have come to know and love.

L5R 4E is a game that has finally come back into its own. AEG got everything right with this edition and once again I find myself 100% engaged with the product line.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Legend of the Burning Sands
par Jay S. A. [Testeur star] Date Ajoutée: 08/07/2012 00:44:47

After what seemed to be an eternity, Alderac has finally released the PDF version of the sought after Legend of the Burning Sands RPG into the wild.

Released back in the days of 3rd Edition L5R, Legend of the Burning Sands (LBS) was a huge thing for me when it came out as it broadened the scope of L5R's setting of Rokugan, and introduced new cultures and factions that were all interesting and potentially fun to play.

LBS takes place in Rokugan's sister setting, the Burning Sands. Despite sharing the same "World" the Burning Sands was an entirely different setting with it's own cultural norms and societies that are a far cry from the asian-inspired nature of Rokugan.

The Burning Sands is a harsh desert that holds multiple cultures, whose lives revolve around Medinat al-Salaam, the massive city ruled by the Caliph. Nine factions exist in the city: The Khadi, Qolat, the Ashalan, the Assassins, the Ebonites, The Jackals, the Ra'Shari, the Senpet and the Yodotai.

The city of Medinaat Al-Saalam is the focus of the game, and constitutes the majority of the attention to the setting. Everything from demographics to economics is given attention, and there's enough material for a GM to spin off more than enough plot hooks for a lengthy campaign.

Of these factions, seven are given a chapter to themselves. These are the Ashalan, Assassins, Ra'Shari, Senpet, Yodotai, Jackals and Ebonites, and compose the playable factions in the game. Each of these are given a thorough treatment which include their histories, secrets, methods and techniques unique to each faction.

The system is pretty much the Roll and Keep system with minor tweaks aimed towards showing how magic here is very different from importuning Kami in Rokugan. Familiarity with L5R is nice, but the system is treated in full as to not require the L5R corebook to run a game.

There's also a bestiary of the local wildlife, and a Jinn creation system to simulate these mysterious (and dangerous) beings native to the Burning Sands.

Legend of the Burning Sands is stuffed with information, and sometimes it feels that the artwork had to be sacrificed to make space. There's art for each of the factions, but aside from that, there's very little else out there. I don't mind, but it might intimidate a few readers who aren't used to seeing walls of text.

Despite its age, I still recommend Legend of the Burning Sands. It works well as both a standalone product and as a supplement for the L5R games, and introduces an entirely different setting with its own interesting cultures. The setting is still every bit as interesting and compelling as it was the first time I picked it up as a CCG, and I'm more than happy to see that I can now run my own adventures in the Burning Sands in tabletop form.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Legend of the Burning Sands
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Anima Beyond Fantasy: Core Rulebook
par Cedric C. [Testeur star] Date Ajoutée: 07/14/2012 21:54:12

Introduction: I'll admit not having played Final Fantasy or other Japanese video roleplaying games. I'm still familiar with genre, and even visuals alone will tell you that these fantasy games are quite different than their western counterparts. And, while Japan has its tabletop RPGs, few have been translated to American markets. Indeed, Anima, which looks on the surface to be a tabletop rpg version of Japanese computer rpgs, was originally published by Edge Entertainment in Spain. That doesn't make it any less qualified to be a thorough and detailed treatment of the genre. However, its complex character generation rule may put gamers off.

Character Generation: Anima character generation is flavorful but highly detailed and complicated. If you're the type who approaches character generation as a spreadsheet budget, or someone who must create a super-exotic mondo-unique uber-butt-kicking character (or, much worse, have a player who wants to be one), expect to spend quite a bit of time going through several chapter's worth of character creation options. But if you limit first characters to the same basics the sample character uses (yes, Ki, Magic, and Psychic abilities are not basic!), you should be able to play soon enough. After their first game, players you can your players recreate their characters or introduce new ones. If you do a search on "anima roleplay character generation", you should be able to find jmbowman's Anima character generator.

Combat: Anima combat is straightforward, with optional complexity. Each turn you have an action, often an attack. In an attack, you and your opponent both do a "skill die roll" of an attack skill (eg. Attack Ability) versus a defense skill (eg. Dodge). You then cross-index the difference (negative numbers can cause counterattacks!) against armor. This results in a percentage which you multiply against your weapon's damage to determine how much damage you actually do. (This is easier done than said, since Anima provides a table and 100% damage is a multiple of ten.) Additional rules and modifiers are provided for ranged and optional hand-to-hand and ranged attacks.

Sourcebook: Much of the gamemaster's section is source material: Gaia's history, Countries and Cities, Organizations (factions), The Supernatural World, and Powers in the Shadow (conspiratorial organizations influencing Gaia), Hell (supernatural worlds and their races), Light and Darkness (deities and mechanics for their gifts), and Supernatural Presence (how much of the world's reality is centered around a character -- including the PCs).

Gamemaster: Other gamemaster sections include gamemaster advice and guidelines, Common Characters (common NPC stats), Creation of Beings (detailed mechanics for creating special creatures), Creature Compendium (example creatures), and a character sheet.

Art and Layout: Bring out your iPads. At 322 full-color pages, you're not going to print this out. It's too bad that Anima doesn't have a printer-friendly or text-only version.

Conclusion: This is not a casual roleplaying game. The system is complicated, and the source material extensive. However, if you're looking for a detailed tabletop treatment of a Japanese video game, Anima is a definite choice.



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Anima Beyond Fantasy: Core Rulebook
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Legend Of The Five Rings Live Action Role-Playing Game
par James H. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 06/27/2012 17:34:37

Just on a read-through, this game looks rather good. Having played Mind's Eye Theatre, a game with a similar rules ethic (ie card pulls instead of hard skill), I can tell it's something that would work in practice. The information is well presented and clear, and I never got lost reading it.

A big problem I have is that the book promises a section on costuming, but doesn't deliver on this. It's a shame, because it's something that open-book LRP books tend not to delve into enough. It doesn't really detract from the presentation of the book or the quality of the game information, so this isn't a major thing.



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Legend Of The Five Rings Live Action Role-Playing Game
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Dust Warfare: Core Rulebook
par Don N. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 06/09/2012 00:24:31

I love the look of the book. The graphics are done very we'll. The reading compression is high. The only issue is the organization of the book. I find I have to constantly flip around the book because information is not grouped together very well.



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Dust Warfare: Core Rulebook
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Dust Warfare: Core Rulebook
par Dan C. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 05/25/2012 16:25:58

First off the quality is GREAT.

I purchased the download in addition to the Hard cover book. I would have purchased both no matter which came out first. It does have a couple typos, a couple charts were wrong, but overall it is a great game and I really enjoy it. They have already released a FAQ, covering the typos, fixing the charts and explaining a few areas.

I think the rule set is very easy to follow. Some people complain that it is not detailed enough, but I don't nor do my opponents have a problem with it.

I am a diehard fan of Dust both Tactics and Warfare therefore, my opinion is based as such. It is well worth the twenty dollars. I really like that with the same miniatures I can play two different but similiar games depending on my mood and my opponents.

I look forward to the additional releases and will purchase both hardcover and a download copy.

I really don't think you can go wrong with the download copy. This is the first time I have ever purchased anything from the Wargame Vault and if the quality is always this good then I know I will be making additional purchases.

Hope this is helpful.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Dust Warfare: Core Rulebook
par Lee L. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 05/25/2012 13:04:54

Dust Warfare is a full on miniature wargame, set in the world of Paolo Parente's world of Dust. Designed by Andy Chambers and Mack Martin, this alternate World War II game adds in a touch of the science fiction element. With various sized walkers that replace traditional tanks, Laser Grenadiers, Zombies and phaser weapons, this game steps froward from the Dust Tactics board game in so many ways!

While some were never upset with the idea of it being a miniatures board game, I know many who were waiting for this version of the game, as they didn't have the satisfaction brought about from the hobby elements of a true wargame. The cards used in games of Tactics are not used in Warfare. Instead, each unit has an entry in the book that has all its relevant information at your finger tips. The stats are also slightly different for some weapons, but that is out of a need to make them more playable in this new system. The addition of ranges to the weapons and movement for units enhances the game play in many ways. It allows for more tactical play and also allows for creative and stunning terrain elements to be added to your table. The terrain rules are quite unique in the fact that one piece of terrain may cause issues for a walker, but still be cause a troop to have no restrictions at all and vice-versa. It also means that scenarios can be flexible and story driven without sacrificing fun or smooth game play. These new rules were designed with organized play in mind as well. The tournament and campaign systems are set up to help organizers and players make each event a unique and rewarding series of games for the players involved. The Battle Builder for tournament play is a great addition to the system and something that as a playtester for Dust, I did not get to see until the rules came out. It is an awesome way for you to be able to look at your opponents list and them bid Scenario points towards the upcoming game to try and give themselves some advantage in terrain, objectives, or battlefield conditions. Each player has without sacrificing fun or smooth game play. These new rules were designed with organized play in mind as well. The tournament and campaign systems are set up to help organizers and players make each event a unique and rewarding series of games for the players involved. The Battle Builder for tournament play is a great addition to the system and something that as a playtester for Dust, I did not get to see until the rules came out. It is an awesome way for you to be able to look at your opponents list and them bid Scenario points towards the upcoming game to try and give themselves some advantage in terrain, objectives, or battlefield conditions. Each player has a limited amount of Scenario Points [2] to spend on these and a roll of 5 dice determines who has to start allocating their points first. These will be used in tournaments and can be used for pick up games as well.

Dust Warfare uses the same core mechanics for "hitting" and "damage", as well as actions, but that is about where they similarities end. Cover, saves, and reaction all work very different in this game. It is all a smooth transition and after a game or 2 you will not notice the changes that much [to be honest, I like these rules much better]. The rules are simple and easier to use and make the play move faster than in Tactics. Reaction, for example, you do not have to roll to try and react, you just get a reaction marker that removes an action from the unit. So, you can not react if you have already received a reaction marker this turn. They have also added rules for Suppression, this can affect your units actions as well as being a way of keeping track of if a unit is in retreat or not.

Each unit is worth a set number of AP and players agree upon a number of AP to play before selection their forces. The game has three different point ranges; Small [200 AP or less], Medium, also called a Tournament Engagement [between 201-400 AP] and Large [401 AP or more]. Players must choose at least one platoon, but may opt to add an additional platoon structure for each 150 AP [or part there of]. So in a 200 point game a player may opt to make one platoon or can have 2, keeping in mind that each platoon mush have at least a Command section and a mandatory 1st Section choice for each one. Each platoon may also take up to 1 Hero for each 150 AP [or part there of] allowed. Some Heroes also have a Special ability called Leadership that allows them to be the Command Section of your platoon. If you use them in this manner, they count as the Command Section, but also count toward the number of Heroes you can take.

The dynamic way you build a force and the scenarios you can play with these rules make the system and exciting and fresh new game. I for one can not wait to face an opponent with an all Zombie and Axis Ape army just to see what they can do!!!



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Dust Warfare: Core Rulebook
par Tony C. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 05/14/2012 15:16:43

Now the download works! Knew you guys would get it fixed. The game itself is very enjoyable. I would rank it as one of the best army level 28mm games currently available. Excellent mechanics that provide a believable command experience without complicated rules. Plus the models are very nice!



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Strongholds of the Empire
par Jay S. A. [Testeur star] Date Ajoutée: 05/10/2012 19:45:11

Strongholds of the Empire is yet another essential addition to any L5R 4th Edition Library. Any of the cities presented could spawn several dozen different campaigns that don’t even need to go beyond the city walls. There’s plenty of conflict and politics to go around, and for the ambitious, there’s always the extra challenge of playing in a campaign set in Toshi Ranbo, the Imperial City that is shared between the Lion and the Crane.

Well written, beautifully illustrated, and very useful for new and experienced L5R GMs and players alike, Strongholds of the Empire is a strong first entry into PDF sourcebooks, and I can only hope that Alderac continues to publish in this format.

This is an excerpt from the full review on my blog, if you'd like to read the full article, please visit: http://philgamer.wordpress.com/2012/05/11/legend-of-the-five-rings-review-strongholds-of-the-empire/



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Strongholds of the Empire
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Legend of the Five Rings: The Great Clans
par Devon K. [Testeur star] Date Ajoutée: 04/30/2012 23:35:28

Five Rings? Five stars! In my opinion, this book is a must have for anyone who is playing this game, or anyone who has any interest in the setting. The writing in the book is detailed and rich. The extra options are incredible and very, very fun.

The book is beautiful. The text is well written and grabs your interest from the start. The book goes deeper into the histories of the clans and really brings the conflicts between them and their origins to life. I especially enjoyed reading the Crane section, as I'm currently playing a Crane character. The information in this book gave me additional options and ideas to bring my character to life and make him much more interesting.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Legend of the Five Rings: The Great Clans
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
par Paul B. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/02/2012 14:02:33

I've always loved L5R, having purchased the last two editions; I purchased this out of curiosity with a negative 'Another edition comment' at the fore of my mind. I hadn't really like third editions look and feel, and was expecting similar. However, I was amazed at the quality of both the layout beauty of the book, it is easily one of the best looking rpgs I've ever had the joy to read. If anything it is perhaps a little too pretty as it is slightly distracting reading through the rules.

Having brought the pdf I was so impressed, I went on to purchase the dead tree version, and the subsequent rule books.

Be warned the approach to building characters has changed, the books acting as more of a toolkit than a blow by blow instruction list, which both allows for more character variation and better development.



Classement:
[5 sur 5 étoiles!]
Legend of the Five Rings 4th Edition
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Legend of the Five Rings: Game Master's Screen and Adventure
par Paul B. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 04/02/2012 13:47:15

I purchased the Dead tree version from ebay, I was more than a little disappointed by the quality compared to the 4th rules books which I rate highly. The Adventure is ok, a little short but ok. The screen on the other hand is very thin card, the Art work is ok and the table/info is useful, but when compared to the Screens for Dark heresy it is forced to hold its head in shame. And the moral of this story is stick with the PDF.



Classement:
[2 sur 5 étoiles!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Game Master's Screen and Adventure
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Grimm: Core Rulebook
par Daniel H. [Acheteur vérifié] Date Ajoutée: 03/23/2012 14:22:23

This is one of the more beginner friendly RPG systems out there. Plus, it is set in a place in which any Grimm fairy tale could come into play, which is a lot of fun for the narrator. It could use a larger reference section, which is why I'm only rating it 4 stars. I'm currently playing one game of this right now, and it's great how the setting gives rise to great role playing opportunities. Best played with a group that is creative and quick on their feet.

Really enjoying the game I'm playing of it so far. Besides, the reimagining of Humpty Dumpty as the mad Rotten King is great. Also, their conception of the Ocean as a character is wonderful as well.



Classement:
[4 sur 5 étoiles!]
Grimm: Core Rulebook
Cliquer ici pour afficher la description du produit

Ajouter à la Commande

Affichage 76 de 90 (sur 203 critiques) Pages de Résultats: [<< Prec]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Prochain >>] 
0 article
 Derniers Produits
 Gift Certificates