DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Genesys Core Rulebook
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2017 18:37:27

Excellent multi-genre system. Genesys Core is the same basic system as used in the various FFG Star Wars RPGs, which means it uses a series of color-coded dice with symbols to track varying degrees of success and failure. The Genesys book is much tighter in design and explanation than it's SW predecessors, and does an excellent job at explaining the dice mechanic for anyone who is worried about using symbols instead of numbered dice.

The rules provide direct support for six genres: fantasy, science fiction, space opera, steampunk, modern and weird wars. These map to six of the worlds/settings from FFG board and minis games such as Runescape and Android, and no doubt those will get sourcebooks down the road. Additional content provides spot rules for genres such as horror, pulp and even some superhero advice.

Despite that support, the meat of the rules is in its toolkit design....it gives you examples to work from, and plenty of rules for tailoring the system to suit your genre and setting of choice, with lots of guidance on building equipment, skills and opponents. The mechanical framework is light enough that this really isn't such a big deal. In terms of toolkit design it reminds me more of how Fate Core does things than, say, how GURPS or Hero System would tackle it....Genesys is a multigenre system, but it is a very lite system mechanically compared to the latter two.

That said, I really enjoy that it has a robust skill system, a decent range of talents and advice on some good core archetypes, plenty of interesting examples for genre support and even a decent magic system. This looks like an excellent and easy game to experiment with various genres for both short and long campaign design. It's also a very nicely illustrated book with its own distinct look.

Although you can subsitute regular dice (a pain) or Star Wars Dice (just convert the symbols, its easy) you will otherwise want/need at least one pack of Genesys dice to run this, though. One pack does not feel like enough, though....I plan to buy enough for everyone at my game table to use. So keep this in mind, it will require that extra level of investment or conversion effort. Outside of that, this game is a solid A+ and my favorite discovery of the year.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Genesys Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tannhauser: Revised Rules
by Len T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2017 05:54:51

This second edition of the rules makes the game worth playing. As said previously, if you have the game then get these rules. This edition is clearer, more complete and fixes a lot of things that were unclear or left out in the set that came in the box. I really started to enjoy the game after getting these rules.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tannhauser: Revised Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings RPG Beta Rulebook
by vincent r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2017 02:11:35

Well here we go. I have been on the beta since it was released by FFG. My thoughts on the Beta are.

  1. This is not a beta its a errata/proofreading club.

  2. The dice system is not an issues, as the custom dice kind of work here.

  3. The issues are with the character creation system(4), skill system(5), weapons(6), strife system(7), and abilities(8).

  4. Character creation in this game is for lack of a better word a game of mad-lids.For those that are unfamiliar with these. A mad-lib is a story with missing nouns, verbs, etc that you fill in the blanks to form a story. The current system does just that. You go through and at the points it tells you you pick a skill, ring, or advantage/disadvantage. This takes one of the most important parts of role-playing out of the players hands and turns it into a MMO. FFG answer is, this is how they want it to fight power-gamers and force players to take disadvantages.

  5. The skill system is a mess. The game uses what they call an approach system, where you come up with some narrative/excuse for why you want to use a ring on the roll. Just to be clear rings are the traits of this game. Nothing is set with just a few exceptions, so most players will look for any reason to use their highest ring. The skills themselves are just as bad. First we have skills like Martial Art[melee] which cover every non range weapon in the game. Then we have Seafaring. the writers can't seem to makeup their minds if they want to be general or specific.Overall the system is a mess and the only fixes so far have been to patch issues like the missing perception skill with more rules on how to use the broken system to get around it.

  6. The Katana, the most iconic weapon in a samurai game seems to be made out of glass in the beta. To be fare all edged weapons are fragile in this beta. The Razor-Edged trait was added to most edged weapons in the game. While this trait allows you to use some abilities it also states that if you hit and you do not do damage something that can happen quite often your weapon brake. Other issues are the inclusion of non-Rokugan weapons such as crossbows and Chinese weapons that have never been in L5R before.

  7. What can I say about the strife system other then why. This system is your typical FFG system to force you to role-player how they want. The system is like all their narrative games build into the dice. You get strife if you chose a dice face that includes one. If your strife equals or exceeds your composer you are compromised. You suffer and inability to use strife faced dice until you unmask. For lack of a better word, until you make a fool of yourself. Which is better, but not by much then the original rule that you unmasked immediately after equals or exceeds your composer. Overall the system is terrible, but due to design can't be remover as it is connected to a lot of the abilities in the game.

  8. A lot of Abilities as stated above are linked with the strife system, some to the point that all they do is remove or use strife. Most other abilities are either limited in their usefulness or just useless most of the time.

  9. The biggest issues here is that FFG seem to have already decided what they want out of the game and don't care what the players think. The only changes that have been made so far have been cosmetic like renaming things or just adjusting abilities/traits so they are usable.

  10. void is gained by failing rolls because of your disadvantages. and the rule are designed so you have to role-play to the GM approval to get them.

overall it is clear that FFG, contrary to their statements did not buy this IP due to their love for it, but just as a cash-cow like most of their other IPs.

I figured this out when I watched a FFG podcast about the L5R LCG and only one person of the group responsible for it had ever played the original game before, and the others just voiced their issues with the AEG product.

I would give this game a -3 star rating if I could, but I'll just say my suggestion is to give it a pass and stick with 4th ed.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings RPG Beta Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Game Master's Screen and Adventure
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2017 13:37:52

Nice PDF, Only problem was when printing it ? it's in a format that cuts off pages, so wording is cut, I had to shave paper with the sissors to make the sentences line up ? Other than that I would recommend printing it to other GM's,



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Game Master's Screen and Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arkham Horror: Hour of the Huntress
by Paul H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2017 23:29:13

I enjoyed this ebook, though it was rather too short for my taste. A lot of time was devoted to character development and backstory but the the book ended; my assumption is that there will be further adventures in future short stories but I was left a little deflated at the end as much was left unexplained and unresolved.

I felt that some of the characters were a little stereotyped; from gentile Parisian to gun toting, follower slaying machine, tom boy mechanic, other worldly academic, nice-but-dim, skeptical cop.

All if that said though, it was thouroughly enjoyable to read and I read it from virtual cover to cover in a couple of sessions over a couple of days, and was genuinely disappointed when there were no more pages to turn. More please, now the characters are established so all the more room for plot.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arkham Horror: Hour of the Huntress
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings RPG Beta Rulebook
by Jesse T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2017 10:14:23

So far, I'm very intrigued.

First, let's address the dice concerns. I like FFG Star Wars, although I've never bought the special dice. There's a lovely free website that rolls and tallies your result for you, and I'm sure the same will exist for this new version L5R. Otherwise, I can buy the app for less than a normal set of dice would cost. I know people really crave that physical sensation of rolling dice, but that's just not important to me.

Here's what I like. This ruleset is really focusing in on the emotional conflicts that drive good samuari stories. The clash of duty and personal desire. The difference between what is proper and what is effective. I adore that stuff, and yes, you can have those things in your stories without mechanical incentive, but by having the mechanics reinforce and drive those themes, they become much more present and important.

I like how school advancement is handled. The worksheets might seem cumbersome, but that advancement method better fits with the story of what's going on than the previous method of totalling everything on your sheet to determine your insight.

Like Star Wars, the rules don't read as elegant. The core mechanic is simple, but there's so many little moving parts that I expect players to wrestle with a learning curve before it clicks.

What I don't like. I know this is a beta so it's imcomplete, but it's ridiculous not to have at least one Bushi school for each Clan. I'm sure the completed product will have more schools, but that was really jarring for me.

Still, I like the direction this game is going and will almost certainly buy in when it's available. I'm also going to try to run a couple of demo sessions with folks experienced with FFG Star Wars, just to see how it works at the table, but I haven't done so at time of writing this review.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings RPG Beta Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings RPG Beta Rulebook
by Joel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2017 22:45:06

FFG's new edition for Legend of the Five Rings is a combination of the Roll and Keep system from 4e and the narrative dice system from Star Wars. The system uses two dice (6-sider for Ring rolls, 12-sider for Skll Rolls) instead of six and is quite simple. Target Numbers are similar to 4e, just divided by 10. Dice explosions still exist, which is great!

Overall, the book reads very much like 4e, which is great and there's a lot of content for a Beta, coming in at over 230 pages. I haven't had a chance to play it, but as a die hard fan of L5R 4e and owner of all of the books, the system looks quite smooth and easy to play while having more nuance than 4e could offer. The book also includes an adventure, which is nice.

Don't be scared off by "special dice". If you're ignoring or hating on the system for just that, you're selling yourself short. It's definitely Legend of the Five Rings. It's still Roll and Keep. Honestly, the only controversial part should be the "omission" of the Mantis Clan, but that's due to story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings RPG Beta Rulebook
by Jonathar M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2017 16:58:29

Fantasy Flight is the best company available to revive the best setting I've ever played. The beta looks great for now, I can't wait to see where the game goes from here. HIDA!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings RPG Beta Rulebook
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2017 11:53:31

Fantasy Flight Games perpetrates another blatant cash grab utilizing a beloved franchise. If we are to go by the example of their Star Wars system, the custom dice they heavily advise utilizing for the L5R system will be ludicrously overpirced per set (I couldn't find a set for less than fifteen dollars for Star Wars) and will require a minimum of two sets for a starting character, with more needed as the character advances. I'll be giving the final product a hard pass.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings RPG Beta Rulebook
by Bobbie L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/05/2017 02:14:21

Just skimming through the book, the first thing I noticed that instead of using normal dice for a d6 and a d12 they changed it to special dice that has symbols on them instead of numbers. Now I enjoy my dice collection but I really see no reason why they couldn't just use a d6 and a d12 with the numbers instead of these symbols. Now in order to really try out the game or play it as it is written you have to buy these special dice or convert a d6 and a d12 over to work with the symbols such as a roll of a 1 on a d6 is a blank where a roll of a 6 is this symbol. To much work to use basic dice.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings RPG Beta Rulebook
by Timothy P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2017 21:06:44

If you liked what fantasy flight did to starwars RPG then you might like this. If you liked L5R as it was before then this is probably not for you.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Grimm: Core Rulebook
by Guntis V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2017 09:27:35

I love the idea. I love this game's world and its inhabitants. Linear d6 system is also cool. However, now that I'm about to lead a Grimm game, I found what I don't love. The thick maze of intertwined trait advantages and disadvantages, requiring to have read and memorized a lot of the book. Without a concise guidance for newcomers. Will have to make a lot of notes to avoid being lost in the seemingly simple rules. But I'll do it, the game is worth the effort. Damn, maybe I should write a beginner's manual for this game later on?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Grimm: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2017 17:02:29

Fantastic system. My freinds and I have been burned out by D&D lately and this was a great breath of fresh air. The adventure itself is very focused on investigation and a little inflexible about following the bread crumbs, and the resolution leaves a bit to be desired. Aditionally there are a few numbers missing from the pre-gens in back. Aside from that my group had a great time and will be returning to Rokugan with relish.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legend of the Five Rings: Imperial Archives
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2017 17:31:43

I was very pleased I bought the “Imperial Archives” supplement for the Legend of the 5 Rings game. The supplement provided a vast amount of information about the minor clans that was long overdue and not only presented it in a very accessible layout but a graphically pleasing one as well. The amount of detail will not leave the buyer disappointed. I would wholeheartedly recommend it to any other gamer who was interested in this system.

Dwellyn Myrddin



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Imperial Archives
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Extraordinary Adventures of Baron Munchausen
by William C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2017 15:56:27

Easily the most entertaining to read rulebook of any game I've come across. Whereas the actual rules of play would probably fit comfortably on a single page, they are related in the voice of the Baron himself, and he is predictably prone to digressions, tall tales, deadpan humor and general nonsense. I recommend reading this in an overstuffed chair by the fireplace with a a glass of Madeira ready to hand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Extraordinary Adventures of Baron Munchausen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 214 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates