DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
HYPERLANES Sneak Preview: Outlaw
by Jose A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2017 09:04:42

I have been looking forward to Space D&D for a while now. A sci-fi system that doesnt use funky dice or complex charts? Awesome!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HYPERLANES Sneak Preview: Outlaw
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

HYPERLANES Sneak Preview: Outlaw
by Chris S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2016 15:34:36

The document I downloaded was corrupt. I'll double check, but I'm fairly sure that the problem is not on my end.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Wander
by Walt R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2016 17:24:24

A nice collection of items and locations for a campaign the Wandering Walk, or for most other Numenera campaigns. There are also a few short stories to help kindle the GM's imagination.

This isn't a 'maps + room by room details' kind of supplement. The locations in this product will need your own details added but you could probably make an entire campaign just finding and exploring the Drifting Archive (just one of the locations).

There are a few new foci based on what type of Wanderer a PC may be, whether a Peregrine, Bandit, etc. These give some excellent RP possibilities and bring some nice flavor to the game.

There are some spelling errors, usually a misapplied homonym (such as fair instead of fare) that may or may not make you reread a passage.

All in all, very much worth the $3.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Wander
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Earth Codex
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2015 16:26:18

This is a well written and broadly useful set of descriptors and Foci for modern Earth. Any Cypher campaign that focused on the modern world and society will find useful material for characters, and a cyphers to work into the game.

My only regret is that I wish there had been more suggestions for Earth based campaigns. While there are several broad overviews, a few worked examples would have really helped me get a better handle on how to use some of this material in a Strange campaign. (admittedly, I am less familiar with Strange than Numenera, so a more experienced reader may not share my opinion.)

Overall, this a really solid product, useful and well worth the price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Earth Codex
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Earth Codex
by Henry d. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/27/2015 11:53:07

(Full disclosure--I received a copy for review purposes.)

Another fine little supplement for The Strange! As seems to be the standard with anything from RCG, they pack a lot of information in to a relatively small package, including notes on three particular flavors of play, new foci, new descriptors, and (especially) new cyphers.

If you're running The Strange and are thinking about having your group spend more time on Earth proper, or if you want to tailor your campaign to one of the three presented 'flavors' (high tech espionage, military operations, or mingling with high society and big politics), then this is a truly useful supplement to have. It's also good for a normal game if, as invariably happens, someone in your group wants to fine tune a particular focus--the line between Idolized By Millions and Harnesses Social Media is a thin one, but those nuances can be vital. (If you want to be sneaky about it, this is helpful for those occasions when you have two players who want the same Focus.)

As with the Translation Codex, if there is a downside to this, it lies in the abundance of material provided! There simply isn't enough time to use everything in here, but you'll almost certainly find something worth your trouble.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Wander
by Greg S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2015 17:07:31

This is an exceptional supplement. I tend to think of all my Numenera adventures in terms of the Wander, and this gave me many new insights to that theme's potential. The places you might see were well done, with very good color notations. The people (and foci) were well done, though the least surprising. My favorite was actually the list of 36 events...things that could happen to you while on the Wander. These were very original, and each could be a one-off amusing event, or a whole storyline.

In all, well worth what it cost.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Wander
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Celestial Wisdom
by Zach A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2015 10:54:26

Preface: This supplement is FREE (currently). There is literally no reason not to get it, as it's also very, very good.

This is a great third-party supplement on multiple levels:

  1. It fills a narrative space in the world of Numenera that is an exciting one only briefly touched on in MCG releases. MCG intentionally leaves design space open for GMs, which I like, but this GM is just going to pay for some Ryan Chaddock PDFs for the heavy lifting in some areas.

  2. The quality of the content, in this case "data gods" and many things surrounding them and the "datasphere" are very well fleshed out and give lots of great opportunity for exciting story hooks and player involvement.

  3. A wide variety of exciting character options. Who isn't excited about the focus "resurrects dead gods"? ANSWER: NO ONE. That and the other options in this book are well thought out and will certainly add to any campaign that wants to include god-like figures as movers and shakers in the Ninth World.

I will certainly be picking up more of RCG's supplements as time goes on. The quality and quantity are an absolute steal for under $10, and this free one has certainly motivated me to pick up more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Celestial Wisdom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Wander
by Grant H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2015 19:02:22

Fantastic addition to the game, especially for those interested in exploring beyond the hints in the core book and guidebook. I'm incorporating three of he organizations in my first campaign, and will reference it often for plot hooks. Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Wander
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wits Alone
by Colin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2015 13:54:42

I love the supplements but out by Ryan Chaddock but this one is particularly useful. The syndicates and law enforcement groups, with accompanying foci, are sure to add depth to any Numenera game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wits Alone
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Paracosm: Volume One
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2015 00:27:52

I love maps, and I love this collection.

The first thing I noticed was the Acrobat UI saying "This file includes fillable form fields." What? In a map?

You get 3 versions each of five big continental maps. A landform map, a hexmap, and a map with with those fillable form fields for places of interest. Name that city whatever you like. Put your campaign there right on the map.

The first map is Divided by Stone, and this continent is split up by giant mountain ranges. Start your campaign here, and then go over the mountain passes for higher level dangers there. Perfect for a FRP type game.

From Desert to Ice. Like a lot of stressful environments in your campaign? This is a great map.A nice overland trek across this map would be great. Less Shires, more Mordors. :)

Out of the Wastes. And you thought Desert to Ice had a lot of badlands? This is 90% badlands. I'm thinking Mad Max would fit right in.

Deep in the Jungle has (wait for it!) lots and lots of Jungle. And a bit of dry land too, maybe a savanna. Jungle kingdoms, lizard people, big nasty snakes. Maybe a giant ape?

Amidst the Ruins is the strangest map. Geometric shapes that can't be natural blend with organic looking lands. Giant scale constructs, hundreds of miles on a side. Numenera, or strange sci-fi ruins on another planet.

The last two maps don't look down, they look up. Constellation maps. No hex version, no fillable form version. Just constellations you could use in your campaign. Print them out and show your players. "The Eye," "The Gateway," and "The Unicorn" are all up in the sky. What's your sign?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paracosm: Volume One
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Celestial Wisdom
by Donald F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/17/2015 08:16:53

While not as flashy as MCG products, Mr. Chaddock, as a one man publisher, puts out a pretty darn good and crunchy product. Very much enjoyed the tour of a small portion of the Ninth World's digital landscape. The supplement weights in at ~48pp. and has four sections: Data Gods, Lost Power, Dritty Tools and Azure Steel Seeds.

Data Gods has a collection of wildly differing sentient programs or AIs hovering in the data-sphere, entombed or trying to find their way into the Ninth World all waiting to manipulate the world or gather followers. Each entity consumes a page and gives you lots of things to think about. If you don't find something that doesn't tweak your interest (I doubt it) you can always use these as a template for your own. Particular favorites of mine where the Archivist, the Life Force and the Old Ones (why would take to long in this venue). This section alone gets you creative juices flowing.

Next up Lost Power, includes an assortment of several new powers to add to Nano, Jack and Glaive tiers as well as additional descriptors and foci. Ryan suggests that these are for characters closer to the data-sphere, I suggest that you as the GM could also use same to bring the data-sphere element closer to the characters. There's enough to chew on here to make some pretty nifty NPCs at the very least if the PCs are not taking this route. You can design a range of NPCs to help or confound your players from really savvy cyber-nanos to psychotic data-cult shaman. I'm particularly fond of Blessed and Ghostly Descriptors. I see having a lot of fun with those! There are a half-dozen foci which all take different directions to engage your PCs or NPCs, I can read into these the feel of everything from religious (good to bad), Mad-Max to Mad-Science and over to Matrix-style or cyber-punk play and a few others. Again, I have a few favorites near and dear to my heart, but I'll let you figure out your own.

In Dritty Tools you are provided a randomized list of a hundred additional oddities, always a handy thing to have to dish stuff out of provide even more inspiration to GMs. To be honest, I found a fair number of these to be more like small unlimited use Cyphers or Artifacts when you consider what some of these oddities allow a PC or NPC to do when relating to data, AIs, robots, etc. I mean really, there's one device here, if I read it and interpret it here at it's most basic level, that could "conceivable" get a Dread Destroyer to turn tail and run away from you for an hour. Regardless, there is a lot of fun reading and inspiration in the oddities list. A small few seem too overlap (by chance) with devices from Sir Arthour's Guide and another small few would seem like mundane technology to you and I, but would add extra depth to characters in how they use them or to a scenario or your overall campaign. Pretty nifty all in all. You as GM should decide where you wish to balance the oddities, leaving them as such, developing cyphers or even artifacts from them. For the more powerful oddities, if you leave them as oddities that PCs regularly use, but they have far reaching affects in play, maybe you can add a GMI for every time they are used? Your call, mileage may vary. Ryan has also provided a hockey-sock full of Cyphers and Artifacts directly related to accessing, manipulating or protecting one's self from all the prior mentioned techno or digital entities. You can never have enough of these. Again, lots of inspiration and mileage to be mined for ideas, scenarios, quests, etc., if not outright used and abused. I'll only add that I like the added touch of the three part artifact quest. Epic!

The seeds section titled "Azure Steel Seeds" provides four short narratives of differing events that PCs may stumble across in your Numenera setting, should you decide to use them. Personally, I already had a dozen or more percolating in my mind from the prior sections by the time I got to this section of the book. One or two are near and dear to my heart due to related interests. That aside they should give you, as a GM, some notion how to write a short synopsis for events, scenarios when they come to mind or when you steel them from an element of your favorite SF novel, short story, TV show or movie. Think of freezing a scene, at a frame of time in one of those, transposing it, making it your own, setting it loose and letting the PCs run with it. That's what you have here.

Being published as PDF's and printing them out, I have found that format handy for marginalia. You might want to have a pen in hand when reading through this product, just to jot down little notes or inspiration. Which brings the only negative I have to give to Mr. Chaddock - the graphic borders in the margins of this product are too wide/dark, making margin marking difficult and are needlessly heavy on printer ink. Lighten these up, based on MCG or other industry product standards and you'll have a better but already "winning" product.

My money was well spent purchasing this product and I look forward to reviewing his other products that I have already purchased, as I get the opportunity.

Don Fougere @CircaGIS



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Celestial Wisdom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Translation Codex
by Bryon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2015 12:43:00

Right now, this is an absolutely essential book to playing the Strange. The corebook, while it features some very creative options, is very limited. Some Foci are tied to specific recursions and you wind up feeling like people are stepping on one another's toes if you are using only the core Foci.

Ryan Chaddock's Translation Codex meanwhile provides a couple of great ideas for recursions, but the real win here is the huge number of Foci for five different flavors of settings: High Fantasy, Low Fantasy, Modern, Science Fiction, Psionics and a number of smaller categories including Westerns and Myths. This is almost essential for folks to put together a really in-depth group and make the characters they really want to.

My only complaint (and it's a small one) is the new Foci don't include starting equipment. The corebook Foci do, so if players are mixing between the Corebook and the Translation Codex, they can get a little muddied on who starts with what. Other than that tiny quibble, this book 100% meets everything I was hoping for.

Final thoughts: If you're either a player or a GM and playing the Strange, snag this. It's worth every penny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Translation Codex
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Translation Codex
by Neal T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2015 11:37:05

Disclaimer: I received a review copy of this product from Ryan Chaddock Games.

This is EXACTLY the product I needed for my Strange campaign. I was really suffering from a lack of Foci variety when coming up with recursion ideas. This product fixes all that. It blows my options wide open for creating new recursions and giving my players interesting foci to go along with them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Translation Codex
by Emily T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2014 09:37:32

I am enjoying "The Translation Codex" The core works of the The Strange were lacking in Foci and this helps fill the void. In addition you get a number of new recursions to pair the foci up with. It lacks a little in the artwork department, definitely not up to Monty CooK standards. But, it packs the pages full of useful and inspiring words to make up for it.

If you play The Strange, you want this book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Translation Codex
by Andrew R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2014 20:58:38

WOW, MAN. This thing is ACES. There are Foci in here that make so much sense within the context of the game, that I am frankly surprised they're not in the core book.

I'm not crazy about the presentation, and there are a few errors general grammar and vocabulary ("grizzly" in place of "grisly", etc.), but there's also a focus called "Discovers Recursions", as well as one that lets you die over and over again to the benefit of the team -- yes, "Dies" is effectively the Redshirt focus. [Everybody together on three: 1, 2, 3 -- "WELSHIIEEEEE!!!!"]

If you have "The Strange" but not this, you're missing out. PERIOD.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 45 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Gift Certificates