DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Within the Ring of Fire - Saga Book
by Bruce G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2016 15:15:29

I've been involved with RPG's since the beginning "little white box" of original D&D. I've got to admit, I didn't hold out a whole lot of faith that a new RPG could give me the old school feeling again. But this game did it. 206 pages of crunchy goodness. The setting is darn near unique (although most people will think of Discworld first). The combat system is fairly fast, and the "exploding" dice (which reminded me of Rolemaster) was a great touch. The 8 character races include some different touches, and each race was given its due. The advantages and imperfections sections reminded me of my long time favorite, GURPS. Moderate list of skills will not overwhelm a new player. The weapon skills are divided nicely, and will help guide players to the weapon(s) that they want. Weapons lead directly into Combat. The setting, however, sets this book =way= apart. Almost 50 pages to detail out the world, and there's plenty left to explore. Friends, reward youlselves by trrying this book out. Try the PDF if you're not sure it's your "cup of tea". I am proud to say that I have all four of the books about "Within the Ring of Fire" and I will say categorically that if another hardback is released, I'll be the first in line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Within the Ring of Fire - Saga Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Within the Ring of Fire - Saga Book
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2016 18:10:47

This rpg is fantastic. I have really enjoyed all of the players on youtube putting themselves out there on the interenet. This is a dark fantasy setting not like so many of the carbon copies that are out there. I bought this a long while ago now and I probably should of written a review of these books sooner. I was lucky enough to have some extra money and I got the hardback copy as well as the pdf version. Go out and get this book. A lot of sweat and tears as well as time went into making this such a great settting and rpg.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
77 Thrones - The Theological Codex
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2016 18:04:11

I really enjoyed this product a lot. It reminded me of the old ad&d 2nd edition Forgotten Realms Faith and Avatars book. This is a must have for Within the Ring of Fire rpg. Those worthy enough to call themselves Barbarians would be wise to get this tome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
77 Thrones - The Theological Codex
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Within the Ring of Fire - Saga Book
by Marshall C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2015 15:35:56

Remember the feeling you had when you discovered your first role playing game? The idea of limitless possibility and the thought that you may be able to live in another world through your imagination? Then after playing the game, it didn't quite live up to your expectations. Sure, maybe it was still fun, but it felt like a game, a game with less limits than the average computer game for sure but can you honestly say that it TRULY was what you thought it would be? Well if you have jumped from game to game, system to system, and setting to setting chasing that immersive experience that you never truly found, your search is over. BUY "WITHIN THE RING OF FIRE" RIGHT NOW AND NEVER LOOK BACK!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Within the Ring of Fire - Saga Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Within the Ring of Fire - The Book of True Names
by Austin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2015 16:15:04

this book is thus far the best quality of all the WtRoF books i've purchased. it also includes the most dynamic art work and concepts to help create many adventures in it's world. my only complaint is that i feel this book could have been combined with "77 thrones a theological codex" to help make the information more manageable, because as it stands it can be difficult to understand the hierarchies of spirits and it doesn't mention who many of the spirits serve causing you to have to go back and flip through "77 thrones" to see what angel or demon serves what divinity and what spirit serves what domain. i feel this book is extremely incomplete if you don't have "77 thrones" right next to you to look up what a lot of the context of this book. that being said this book is my favorite to just real through of all the books because the lore presented to all the spiritual beings in it are just so wonderful and draw inspiration from so many obscure mythologies. it is prevalent untold hours went into the making of this book and researching dozens of ancient religions and legends to build easily one of the most vibrant worlds. the rules for playing a magi spell casters are solid and creates by far some of the most unique player characters. it also provides dozens of new advantages to build you character in so many exciting ways. if you get any book along with the core book make sure it is this one. one last thing of note is magic items are fresh and awesome to create and read about.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Within the Ring of Fire - The Book of True Names
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Within the Ring of Fire - Monsters & Men
by Heathbrook B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2014 21:00:49

I recently finished reading Monsters & Men. This book is awesome in the truest sense of the word! I would go as far to call it mandatory reading for anyone running a long form WtRoF saga. Together with 77 Thrones the game feels much complete. There is endless opportunity for diverse roleplaying experiences contained within this book, through many playable species, that are so different and quirky from old fantasy troupes it makes for a very refreshing setting. The world of K'Vega'Thale is truly a strange and terrible place, and this is reflected more than ever in the species that inhabit it. There is just an abundance of ideas here. I recommend it highly for Flame Tenders and Catalysts alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Within the Ring of Fire - Monsters & Men
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Within the Ring of Fire - Saga Book
by david j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2014 08:14:23

First of all, the PDF is worth the price just for the Roleplaying section alone. It is a comprehensive instruction guide what is and how to roleplay. Far more than a 'just pretend' throwaway page, the chapter on immersion is a guide on using things like foreshadow, flashbacks and soliloquy. The Rules chapter is simple and fast (2d8 + bonus. Exploding die, meaning on '8' roll again and add. That's it). The races are so much more than character stats. It includes eating habits, currency and what they value, reproduction and relationships, and even unique racial disparity within each group. I am very impressed. It reminds me of Eclipse Phase, in the sense that there is almost too much information. IN A GOOD WAY. Playing in this world is a Flame Tender's challenge. I hope I'm up to it...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Within the Ring of Fire - Saga Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fey Wine ( Within the Ring of Fire )
by James R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2014 09:09:06

First off, this book is recommended for mature readers. It doesn't pull any punches regarding the societies of the setting, K'vega Thale.

If you are playing or planning to play (or GM) Within the Ring of Fire, Fey Wine will help set the tone and provide a solid depth of understanding of the importance of the world's divinities, the attitudes and interactions of the world's people, and just how menacing K'vega Thale is overall.

If you are not playing Within the Ring of Fire, Fey Wine is still very much worth reading as a stand-alone novel; the author has paid a lot of attention to giving the novel's setting a sense of versimilitude and telling an engrossing story, one that has not really been told before. Many fantasy novels rehash familiar themes or "borrow" from past writers; - not so much Fey Wine; - it's not a generic fantasy story. Well worth reading, check it out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fey Wine ( Within the Ring of Fire )
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fey Wine ( Within the Ring of Fire )
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2014 04:56:41

First off, I have had very few positive experiences with fantasy novels, so I was a bit sceptical when I heard there was going to be a novel to go along with "Within the Ring of Fire."

But, even after reading "Saga Book" and the "77 Thrones: the Theological Codex" cover-to-cover several times over (and watching the WtRoF playtesting vids on YouTube), I still found myself overwhelmed by the vast level of detail and expansive cast of characters. This ain't no Tolkien, D&D, elves 'n' dwarves kids' stuff - there's nothing else like it, and it takes some effort to wrap your head around this outlandish new setting. What I needed was a nice, concrete example of how the elaborate world of K'Vega Thale works in practice.

A "normal" game company might give us an adventure module for this purpose - but damned if Our Main Man would ever to stoop to such levels.

What we got was "Fey Wine": Two intertwined adventures with protagonists from very different walks in life.

It shows you how the many cultures, customs, races, spiritual beliefs and divinities of K'Vega Thale work together - right from the very first page.

And it provides a vivid, rich atmosphere which engages all of the senses and presents passionate, well-developed characters with convincing motives.

I could go into describing the plot, but there's no point:

if you're into WtRoF, YOU'RE GOING TO GET THIS - that's just all there is to it.

Not only is "Fey Wine" a superior fantasy novel in its own right, it is REQUIRED READING for running a successful WtRoF saga.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fey Wine ( Within the Ring of Fire )
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2014 10:50:56

'Fey Wine' is a story of parallels, in which we follow two main heros, A-Ya Doon the last worshiper of Luk-Coo and Aeffinea of the Freyean and seeker of the song of Cinder. Both characters follow the call of their divinitys and their roads intersect and pass over each other several times in the story, but one can draw lines to the extraordinarily romantic A-Ya and the passion of Aeffinea in not only their quests for romance, but the dangers they face and the drive to achieve what they set out to do.

The book also serves as not only an interesting character study, for while the main heros receive a bit more of the in depth look of character growth, one will find themselves attached to many of the supporting cast, laughing, rooting for, and maybe even having good reason to despise and pity them. You get a fully swing of interesting philosophy's, goals and drives, and a great look at the different mindsets of the different races.

Speaking of the Races, this book is almost like a tour book in certain respects through the world of K'Vega Thale. From the City of Trade and its 'Divinity Street' and The Homeland of the Freyean's, we journey through many different areas of the northern continent, the Forest of Fear, the Blue Ocean, The City of Bale, and even the Spire are all visited and painted with detail to give you more then enough of an impression of the world as well as a feeling of what these places are like and the average individuals opinion of them.

If you are a fan of 'Within the Ring of Fire' and want to know more about the world by some of the characters that live in it, this is a book I would recommend because it will answer a number of questions one may have, like the average persons knowledge of the divinitys, and just how the other races interact with each other in certain situations. Even if you have never picked up one of the game books, this is a great dark fantasy story that will whisk you away to another world full of interesting ideas of twisting the typical fantasy genre on its head.

I would love to give this a 5/5 however, there are a number of editing errors that can really throw one of without a little bit of re-reading, but do not let this put you off, the story is wonderful and despite the one or two times one might feel a little lost due to the error, it quickly asserts itself once again.

Hope you enjoy this story that could only be told Within the Ring of Fire



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
77 Thrones - The Theological Codex
by Matthew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2014 14:00:15

This book is simply GREAT. If you want to run a game in the world of "Within the Ring of Fire", this book is absolutely essential. The first 20 pages or so are dedicated to outlined mechanics for basic divine rituals and the paths that govern them, while the rest of the book is dedicated to fleshing out each of the 77 different divinities of K'Vegathale, their relationships with one another, plans for the future, and even specific rituals and powers that their followers receive for being truly devout to them. Every god, troll, dragon, and elder creator is unique, and you will never run out of inspiration from this book. This is simply one of the best source books I have ever encountered for any game line, and I cannot recommend it enough. It 0% body fat. Huge bang for your buck.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
77 Thrones - The Theological Codex
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Within the Ring of Fire - Saga Book
by Matthew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2014 18:40:24

UPDATED 3/22/2014

One of the main criticisms you will find in this review is that the book lacks any mechanics for invoking magic or religious power. I found it incredibly frustrating that they were omitted, and it made the game feel incomplete. I haven't changed my review score from a 4/5 to a 5/5 because I maintain that it was a poor design choice to do so, but I have found a solution to this problem, so don't let this ONE criticism deter you from enjoying a wonderful game with a fantastic setting. To obtain the official rules for 99% of the casting ability and religious rites, you simply need to head to the following link and download the free preview of the next sourcebook, "77 Thrones: The Theological Codex". The first 20 pages of that book are devoted to explaining these mechanics (and they are badass SO GO GET IT). If creator Ander Wood sees this, I would suggest he include that preview file with every purchase of the pdf and hard copies of the Saga Book so as to give players a complete game. The preview can be found at this page: http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/121309/77-Thrones--The-Theological-Codex

ORIGINAL REVIEW

I just got a pdf copy of the new indie game "Within the Ring of Fire" and I am thoroughly impressed by it. It is a dark fantasy game with a very strong mythology and a heavy focus on narrative over crunch. The mechanics are incredibly simple, and though I haven't tested them yet, seem to support storytelling over bean counting. This is a huge plus. While I can't say that I share the exact same philosophy as creator Ander Wood on immersive play (it is a game after all), I really do prefer games that are focused on spinning a good tale over min maxing characters and acquiring loot. On that account, this game delivers.

The opening chapter describing what roleplaying is is just wonderful. It really gets to the essence of what makes for a good game and has wonderful advice for game masters (referred to here as Flame Tenders) of any experience level. Speaking as a life long GM, I still found it refreshing and useful. I think this would be a great first game for any adult interested in roleplaying, but would be a terrible choice for younger players (the content is just too dark).

I was unaware of just how heavy the fantasy element was in this game when I was first learning about it. Someone had described this game to me as sitting somewhere between Game of Thrones (SOIAF) and Lord of the Rings, but I think this is about as far off base as you could possibly get. The mystical elements of the setting are FAR more prominent than either of those worlds (I mean clouds are life forms chrissake) and it is a truly unique world. All of the tired fantasy tropes have been recast, redefined, and placed next to entirely new fantasy creations. There is enormous variety in playable races and the game offers a wide range of options for character creation.

The core book offers enough information on deities and the geography of K'Vega-Thale to inspire a number of different games at the outset, but certain elements of the book seem to be sorely lacking in page count. The most glaring and obvious omission is the lack of mechanics (or even inspiration) for magic wielding characters. As I stated above, the fantasy element of this game world is front and center in the action, but there are no rules for creating characters that can tap into and wield the forces of magic and religion that dominate K'Vega-Thale. I have since learned that these rules are being planned for a future release that will deal with them in depth, but it seems like a poor design choice to omit it entirely from the core rule book of the game line. As a GM, I want to use these elements in the game, but I don't want to end up creating my own temporary rules only to find that they do not mesh with the canon of the game line at a later date. It's frustrating.

Also conspicuously absent seems to be any reference to the various monsters and wildlife populating the game world. Again, an analog to the DnD "Monstrous Manual" is currently in production, but apart from the playable races detailed in the beginning of the book, the reader isn't given any information on the various fantasy creatures that they might encounter.

These limitations certainly will not stop me from running and playing what is otherwise a GREAT first product from the new kid on the block, Raw Immersive Games, but it seems like this stuff should have OBVIOUSLY been included. That being said, I seriously can't wait to get my hands on the new source books as they are released. I love the game world and I am hungry for more. This is a great start and I am definitely hooked.

As a final note and possibly the highest praise that I can give to a game, "Within the Ring of Fire" really does inspire in me what Dungeons and Dragons always seemed to promise but could never deliver. This is the kind of game I was longing to play when I was 11 years old but only had access to AD&D 2nd Edition; its a game that encourages a strong story with simple mechanics that support theatrical/cinematic gameplay. Definitely something I can't wait to bring to my players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Within the Ring of Fire - Saga Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Within the Ring of Fire - Saga Book
by Adam A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/24/2014 22:14:46

This book is AMAZING.

The essay on role-playing and game mastering is the Holy Grail of good rpg advice.

This is the smartest, most concise statement on the subject that I have ever seen. Brilliant! Brilliant! Brilliant! This manifesto is supported by a super smart experience reward system that reinforces all those intelligent insights.

Also, the core mechanics are super easy to grasp (roll 2 exploding d8’s and add modifiers in an opposed check or against a set number) and support role-playing and not roll-playing.

There is brilliant use of Leitmotif in both the game’s terminology and in the setting content.

There seems to be a circular and cyclical logic touching every aspect of the book.

The setting is a brilliant deconstructionist take on familiar fantasy tropes.

The author manages to find some primal element or gem hidden in the familiar races, pantheons, and cosmologies and extrapolate a super-interesting, novel, and internally consistent twist and theme.

It is brilliant, clever, and subversive. Smart. Smart. Smart.

There are only minor criticisms.

While the mechanics are super-easy to grasp, the author did make the mistake of assuming the best in his audience and doesn’t reiterate or make explicit the number one should set for a passive challenge or test or roll.

The art work is a hodgepodge situation and doesn’t have a set aesthetic.

Individual the pieces are fairly good but the totality of the commissioned work doesn’t bowl one over in the same way that Numaneria or Dungeon Crawl Classic or Don’t Rest Your Head or Fate Core with a consistent art style that nails a certain ambiance or vibe.

Some of it has anime-esque aesthetic; some is of it charcoal rendering which recall the covers of Advanced Dungeons and Dragons Forgotten Realms; some of it has quality of an illustrated children’s book; some of it is photo-shopped photos.

None of it is bad, but with the exceptions of few pieces none of it says WITHIN THE RING OF FIRE tm.

This is still one of the best fantasy setting books I have ever read.

It has some of the smartest rules I have ever seen.

The spirit of the work, its heart, is that of Art.

And the opening essay is THE best.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Within the Ring of Fire - Saga Book
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2013 13:08:22

This is a fantastic book. The world presented in this book is diverse and full of flavor. There is an exceptional amount of detail put into the background of the game world. The game play mechanic is very innovative and fluid, and it does not get in the way of role playing the scene. The support provided by the book's creator is excellent. The actual presentation of the book is done very nicely, and stands in the same class as books from the big names in RPG. Couldn't be more pleased with this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Within the Ring of Fire - Character Mask
by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2013 13:02:57

I really like the Mask. Great concept, and the form is a very nice item to have, whether you are planning to print them down or go digital.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Within the Ring of Fire - Character Mask
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates