DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Player Paraphernalia #133 The Sorcerer's Secrets Vol I, Core Bloodline Expansions
by Kim F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2017 05:22:56

This was originally reviewed on the Open Gaming Network.

There is, of course, a scoring system, similar to that used elsewhere, in a 5-star rating, which we have determined as follows:

1 – Bad 2 – Mediocre 3 – Decent 4 – Good 5 * – Excellent

The following review is an OPINION piece and only reflects the opinion and tastes (because ultimately, all reviews will be based on personal taste) of the reviewer.

That disclaimer out of the way, let’s get on with the show!

This week we give you Player Paraphernalia #133 The Sorcerer’s Secrets Vol I, Core Bloodline Expansions!

Publisher: The Knotty-Works Author: John Buckley Cover Artist: Jeremy Hart System: Pathfinder

Page count: 10 (cover, 1-page credits/OGL, table of contents), 7 pages of content, 1 page back cover)

Right, so let’s look at the cover first. This one doesn’t actually tell us much, though the outline for it, does bring to mind an old leather book with engravings. I have to say that the differences in the text-types is a little off-putting, especially the “133” that’s in stark white, and sticks out badly compared to the Player Paraphernalia (I’m assuming that’s part of the artwork, as opposed to overlaid afterward). But let’s skip to the contents….

First up we have a page explaining what the book is about (sorcerers), and how to give their limited spell selections more options, by expanding on their bloodline bonus spells. This sounds like a good idea, and this can be summed up briefly by A) letting a character choose a single spell from 3 for each bloodline or B) letting the character swap that one around each day, between those 3 spells. It seems like a good idea, but I would have liked for it to dive into the favored class bonus for humans since they can add more spells. I’d basically have liked an option C, that just allowed the sorcerer to use that favored class bonus instead. (That’s my own personal home-campaign solution to it).

Right, onto the bloodlines…

Straight up, I have to say that there’s one thing I’m really missing, although John has mitigated it somewhat. It states “The following bloodlines are available in Paizo’s Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Core Rule Book™.”, which is true, but it, on the very first bloodline, dives into spells from other books. It’d have been nice to have an asterisk or similar marking showing where the various spells come from. Thankfully John has linked the PDF up so that it leads to the relevant spell on d20pfsrd.com, but this is something I might otherwise have used where I would have no internet connection.

Each core bloodline is then presented, with a short introduction (like the one in the Core Rulebook), and each level of spells have a listing of between 2 and 6 spells for the sorcerer to choose from, for his bloodline spell (using options A and B) as mentioned above. This is basically the rest of the book, listing spells and bloodlines from the core rulebook, so I’m going to finish this section here.

And so we come to the conclusion:

This is a book without much original content, which is a bit of a downer. The options are good, however, and due to the low price point, I don’t feel cheated on buying this. Likewise, John has gone to the trouble of linking up all the spells, even if they’re not marked for where they’re from. It’s therefore quite difficult to judge where this should be rated, as it’s a book that I feel that I’m unlikely to look at often, but I might well use the actual options that he has presented in preference to my normal one, of allowing the favored class bonus to grow, since this allows for more interesting gameplay and meaningful choice.

As such, I’m going to rate this a 4-star, but it comes with 2 caveats: 1) If you’re looking for truly original content, you need to look elsewhere. But if you would like some fun options for your sorcerer, and don’t mind a lot of listings of spells you already know, you could well have some use out of this. And 2) If this had been more than it was at $1.79 it would not have been more than a 3-star.

Nice work John, but please give us something more “contenty” next. :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Player Paraphernalia #133 The Sorcerer's Secrets Vol I, Core Bloodline Expansions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Player Paraphernalia #1/2 Secondary Skills
by David _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2017 13:10:47

The PDF only contains a single alternate rule which is really quite minor and basically is just bartering the GM for ranks in certain skills. Not worth reading.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Player Paraphernalia #1/2 Secondary Skills
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your brief review. This was an initial promotional issue that was produced in 2014. There are other promotional issues that have more content, including archetypes and additional class skills that may be of more interest.
Chains 1 Page Background
by Kai P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2017 02:42:00

I like this release of the Knotty Works a little less than other titles of their product range: the “washed” effect (I don´t know how to call it any other way, as I am not a native speaker) lets you think twice before you use a small font size in your title. But if you are looking for the heavy-metal-hell” approach in your product (and the other offers of The Knotty Works do not fit your bill somehow), this one will be it.

Plus, the price and license condition is more than fair and a true treat for those who just begin to release their own material.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Chains 1 Page Background
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Knotty Works Backgrounds Set 7
by Kai P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2017 02:37:44

By now, this one became one of my standard covers for non-mutated post-apocalyptic list/item titles. Before, I found it hard to find a suiting cover, as I looked for something dark but non-flamboyant and matter-of-fact. This set does the trick.

The price and license condition is more than fair and a true treat for those who just begin to release their own material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knotty Works Backgrounds Set 7
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black & White 3 Page Background
by Kai P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2017 02:34:42

This thorny-looking piece of b/w background forms the background for personal-use character sheets in a dark-fantasy FATE(tm) micro-campaign of mine, and I happy that I have found it. I can also see its use in the printer-friendly versions of dark-fantasy-themed PDF products.

The price and license condition is more than fair and a true treat for those who just begin to release their own material.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Black & White 3 Page Background
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Silver Cool 3 Page Background
by Kai P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2017 02:31:36

The title looks a bit plain to me, but this might only be me (I would have suggested a different color for the details on the corner spaces, as I think that silver on light blue looks a bit sallow). Never the less, the background fills a niche: if you need something that is linked to both “future / scifi / technology” and “cold / ice”, you should not look further but pick this one up. It is clear-cut, fits the aforementioned themes perfectly and offers a fine touch to your release while still providing more than enough writing space.

The price and license condition is more than fair and a true treat for those who just begin to release their own material.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Silver Cool 3 Page Background
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Black & White 1 Page Background
by Kai P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2017 02:26:23

A good b/w page background for SciFi titles that are meant to be printer friendly. I used it in both commercial products and free hobby/community releases by now (a bit of background turns a good text into an appreciated PDF) and did not regret the purchase, nor do I see myself doing so in the future.

The price and license condition is more than fair and a true treat for those who just begin to release their own material.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Black & White 1 Page Background
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rituals 1 Page Background
by Kai P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2017 02:23:21

A wonderful page-background for releases centered on magic and/or summoning. The details in the text space a wonderful, as are those near the corners and the picture arrangement in general. I will not use it for ALL of my products (as it has a rather strong “them” that does not lend itself to each and any fantasy title), but when I am going to write further “dark spellbooks”, it will be more than handy (as I found out already with a release of mine).

The price and license condition is more than fair and a true treat for those who just begin to release their own material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rituals 1 Page Background
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Coppery Coolness 2 Page Background
by Kai P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2017 02:20:06

This is another title from The Knotty Works that I really admire. The polished look makes it “posh”, the writing space is an eye-catcher as well but not interfering with the readability of the text and last but not least, the whole picture arrangement makes it usable for both SciFi and Science-Fantasy (at least, it does so in my books).

The price and license condition is more than fair and a true treat for those who just begin to release their own material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coppery Coolness 2 Page Background
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Knotty Works Backgrounds March Celtic Set 1
by Kai P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2017 02:16:36

This is a rock-solid package for those who begin to publish “generic fantasy” titles, especially in regard to item/list-based releases. The seven different color versions allow the author to establish “product lines” which the customers may be able to identify by the cover alone (and it is good to fit different moods or backgrounds of adventure material as well).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Knotty Works Backgrounds March Celtic Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Apocalyptic 1 Page Background
by Kai P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2017 02:13:28

I love this background. I really do. The playful little details near the corner turn it into something special, but it still does not interfere with the writing space.

For Mutant Future(tm)-compatible releases, I cannot think of a better background, and I guess that it will suit other radioactive OSR-clones as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalyptic 1 Page Background
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Burnt Umber 3 Page Background
by Kai P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2017 02:09:59

I was unsure at first if the style of this page would fit my products. It reminded me of wood somehow and I wondered if this would really look good. Well, I found out it does! I use it for titles centered on dwarfs or fantasy in general.

As with all of the products from the Knotty Works, the price and license condition is more than fair and a true treat for those who just begin to release their own material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Burnt Umber 3 Page Background
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Player Paraphernalia #91 The Metamorphosis (New Oracle Mystery)
by Angel M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2017 18:00:23

Boasting an evolution pool, this Oracle mystery is highly customizable!

See my fullr eview here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RoOdp-tZylQ



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player Paraphernalia #91 The Metamorphosis (New Oracle Mystery)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Player Paraphernalia #82 The Esotericist (Archetype Class)
by Angel M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2017 08:52:02

4/5 using my own grading rubric for TTRPG products!

Want to know how I arrived to this score?

Check out my video review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6qYWQlly6Tk



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Player Paraphernalia #82 The Esotericist (Archetype Class)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mutant Future Mutant Lord Screen Inserts
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2017 12:20:35

Great inserts for those looking to put together a MF GM screen. The multiple layers are a fantastic option for those with varying asthetic and printing options.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutant Future Mutant Lord Screen Inserts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates